Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

This guide lists selected sources for literary criticism of "The Rocking-Horse Winner " by D. H. Lawrence.

Reference Books

  • Short Story Criticism, (Ref PN 3373 .S389) Volume(s):
    • 4: 200-01, 206, 212, 221, 229-230, 233, 238
    • 19: 250-291 (Essays reproduced in Literature Criticism Online database.)
  • Masterplots II Short Story Series, (Ref PN 3326 .M27)
  • Short Stories for Students (Ref PN 3373 .S56) Volume(s):
    • 2: 230-244

General Collection Books (may be checked out)

  • Burgess, Anthony. Flame into Being: The Life and Work of D. H. Lawrence. (PT 6023 .A93 Z574 1985)
  • Hobsbaum, Philip. A Reader's Guide to D. H. Lawrence. (PR 6023 .A93 Z63137)
  • Kearney, Martin F. Major Short Stories of D. H. Lawrence: A Handbook. (PR 6023 .A93 Z63667) pp. 173-206.
  • Thornton, Weldon. D. H. Lawrence: A Study of the Short Fiction. (PR 6023 .A93 Z298)

Videos

  • Center for Humanities (Producer) (1990). Literature and psychology characters in crisis. Rocking-Horse winner (2 videocassettes PN56.pg3L58 1990). Available from Circulation Desk

Online Resources (Reference Articles and Databases)

Selected full-text articles (database/-s) in brackets after the citation. There are many others for this short story.

  • Literature Criticism Online. Provides the full-texts of essays in Short Story Criticism 19 (1995): 250-291, "The Rocking-Horse Winner by D. H. Lawrence."
  • Literature Resource Center
  • Literature Online (LION)

    Use periodical databases such as Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, and others for recent journal articles like those posted below.

  • Bentley, Greg. “Hester and the homosocial order: an uncanning search for subjectivity in D. H. Lawrence’s 'The Rocking Horse Winner.'" D. H. Lawrence Review 34-35 (Jan 2010) 55. [Literature Resource Center].
  • Burroughs, William D. "No Defense for 'The Rocking-Horse Winner.'" College English 24.4 (1963). [JSTOR]
  • Davies, Rosemary Reeves. "Lawrence, Lady Cynthia Asquith, and 'The Rocking-Horse Winner.'" Studies in Short Fiction 20.2-3 (1983). 121-126. [Academic Search Premier]
  • Davies, Rosemary Reeves. "'The Rocking-Horse Winner' Again: A Correction.'" Studies in Short Fiction 18.3 (1981): 320-322. Full-text available in database: Academic Serach Premier.
  • Goldberg, Michael. "Lawrence's 'Rocking-Horse Winner,': A Dickensian Fable." Modern Fiction Studies 15 (1969): 525-536. Microfilm Collection.
  • Goodman, Charlotte. "Henry James, D.H. Lawrence, and the Victimized Child." Modern Language Studies 10.1 (1979): 43-51. Online. [JSTOR]
  • Koban, Charles. "Allegory and the Death of the Heart in 'The Rocking-Horse Winner.'" Studies in Short Fiction 15 (1978): 391-396. Full-text available in Academic Search Premier.
  • Martin, W. R. "Fancy or Imagination? 'The Rocking-Horse Winner.'" College English 24 (1962): 64-65. [JSTOR.]
Revised and updated by Pam Rigg, Fall, 2008.

Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Last modified: Friday April 19 2013