AP Images

GCC Library > Databases by Subject Page > AP Images

CONNECT arrow
AP Images
Database Icon NO ACCESS - SUBSCRIPTION HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED - NO ACCESS
 
Description
Current and historic captioned photos drawn largely from the Associated Press database of images. Includes some audio and text files. [View extended description.]
Titles Indexed:
More than 1 million photos; 4500 hours of audio.
Coverage
1826 - current
Subjects
History · News ·
Types of Materials
Primary Sources · Image Resource ·
Scholarly Articles
Access
Remote Access Available · MEID authentication or campus access required.
Vendor / Publisher
Accuweather
Extended Description

The AP Images database is a supplemental research tool that allows learners to search four databases that provide a sensory journey using photographs, audio sound bytes, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. The databases include: 1) International Photos - Containing the entire Photo Archive database of over one million photos with full captioned text. Users can search on multiple criteria including time, people, concept, color, photo type and category; 2) Graphics - Includes charts, tables, maps, graphs, logos, timelines, Spanish graphics and "how-to" tips; 3) Audio - A retrospective with over 4,500 hours of audio clips from the 1920's to 48 hours ago; and, 4) Text - Associated Press news stories and headlines.

Proxied URL
http://libproxy.gc.maricopa.edu/login?url=http://apimages.ap.org/unsecured/logip.aspx
Unproxied URL
http://apimages.ap.org/unsecured/logip.aspx   [CONNECT]

Information

Off Campus Access:
Most databases may be accessed by GCC students, staff and faculty from off-campus - MEID username and password required.

If you have difficulty connecting, contact the GCC Library Reference Desk at 623.845.3112.

Ask a Librarian

Chat