Skip to Content

GCC Logo

Featured Books

Expand List: Display All Titles on List, including non-GCC titles
Sort By: Rank | Author | Title | Year | Call Number |



Featured Graphic Novels

(Librarian Selected)



Road to Perdition
by Collins, Max Allan; Rayner, Richard; Lappan, Robert

9781563894497Max Allan Collins; Richard Rayner (Illustrator)Road to PerditionThe basis for the major motion picture, ROAD TO PERDITION is an enthralling crime noir story of revenge, morality and family loyalty. Michael OSullivan is a deeply religious family man who works as an Irish mob familys chief enforcer. But after his elder son witnesses one of his fathers hits, the godfather orders the death of OSullivans entire family. Barely surviving an encounter that takes his wife and younger son, OSullivan and his remaining child embark on a dark and violent mission of retribution against his former boss. Featuring accurate portrayals of Al Capone, Frank Nitti and Eliot Ness, this book offers a poignant look at the relationship between a morally-conflicted father and his adolescent son who both fears and worships him. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




The Annotated Sandman
by Gaiman, Neil; Klinger, Leslie S; Kieth, Sam; Dringenberg, Mike

9781401233327Neil Gaiman; Leslie S. Klinger; Dave McKean (Artist, Cover Design by)Annotated SandmanA NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Meet the Endless, a family of immortals that govern all aspects of life and death throughout the universe. However, one of theirown lays captured--Dream, the Lord of Sleep. As Dream makes his escape and returns to his duties after 70 years of imprison-ment, he encounters countless characters from myth, legend and comics, from Lucifer himself to the tragic Greek hero Orpheusto the HELLBLAZER John Constantine. New York Times best-selling author Neil Gaiman's transcendent series SANDMAN is often hailed as the definitive Vertigo titleand one of the finest achievements in graphic storytelling. Gaiman created an unforgettable tale of the forces that exist beyondlife and death by weaving ancient mythology, folklore and fairy tales with his own distinct narrative vision. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




Julio's Day
by Hernandez, Gilbert

9781606996065Gilbert Hernandez (Artist); Brian Evenson (Introduction by)Julio's DayIt begins in the year 1900, with the scream of a newborn. It ends, 100 pageslater, in the year 2000, with the death rattle of a 100-year-old man. The infantand the old man are both Julio, and Gilbert Hernandez's Julio's Day is hislatest graphic novel, a masterpiece of elliptical, emotional storytelling thattraces one life -- indeed, one century in a human life -- through a series ofcarefully crafted, consistently surprising and enthralling vignettes. There ishope and joy, there is bullying and grief, there is war (so much war -- this isafter all the 20th century), there is love, there is heartbreak. This Fantagraphics titles was chosen by NPR as among the best books of2013. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




The Color of Water
by Kim, Tong-hwa; Na, Lauren

9781596434592Kim Dong Hwa; Lauren Na (Translator)The Color of WaterWhen Ehwa goes to the town festival, she meets a handsome young wrestler named Duksam who's eager to catch her eye. After he wins the festival wrestling championship, he and Ehwa begin to meet, sneaking spare moments to be together. But a shadow falls on their romance when Master Cho sends Duksam away and asks for Ehwa's hand in marriage himself It is then that Ehwa discovers the pain of heartbreak - and that love is always complicated. In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn , from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a trilogy about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability










The Quitter
by Pekar, Harvey; Haspiel, Dean; Loughridge, Lee; Brosseau, Pat

9781401204006Harvey Pekar; Dean Haspiel (Artist, Cover Design by)The Quitter""Pekar's most poignant and satisfying effort to date."--THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW"Dean Haspiel. . . .performs with virtuoso flair in THE QUITTER"--THE NEW YORKER"Brutally honest."--ROLLING STONE★"A searingly honest memoir. . . . Pekar's work dignifies the struggle of the average man."--PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, starred In this virtuoso graphic novel, Harvey Pekar -- whose American Book Award-winning series American Splendor was the basis for the celebrated film of the same name -- tells the story of his troubled teen years for the first time, when he would beat up any kid who looked at him wrong just to win the praise of his peers. And when he failed to impress, whether on the football team, in math class, in the Navy or on the job, he simply gave up. A true tour-de-force, THE QUITTER is the universal tale of a young man's search for himself through the frustrations, redemptions and complexities of ordinary life.With gritty, atmospheric artwork by indie-comics luminary Dean Haspiel (American Splendor, Opposable Thumbs), THE QUITTER is both Pekar's funniest and most heart-wrenching work yet, an unforgettable graphic novel for all those, like Pekar, who have tried, failed and lived to quit another day. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




Persepolis
by Satrapi, Marjane

9780375422300Marjane Satrapi (Illustrator)Persepolis: The Story of a ChildhoodOriginally published to wide critical acclaim in France, where it elicited comparisons to Art Spiegelman's Maus , Persepolis is Marjane Satrapi's wise, funny, and heartbreaking memoir of growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution. In powerful black-and-white comic strip images, Satrapi tells the story of her life in Tehran from ages six to fourteen, years that saw the overthrow of the Shah's regime, the triumph of the Islamic Revolution, and the devastating effects of war with Iraq. The intelligent and outspoken only child of committed Marxists and the great-granddaughter of one of Iran's last emperors, Marjane bears witness to a childhood uniquely entwined with the history of her country. Persepolis paints an unforgettable portrait of daily life in Iran: of the bewildering contradictions between home life and public life and of the enormous toll repressive regimes exact on the individual spirit. Marjane's child's-eye-view of dethroned emperors, state-sanctioned whippings, and heroes of the revolution allows us to learn as she does the history of this fascinating country and of her own extraordinary family. Intensely personal, profoundly political, and wholly original, Persepolis is at once a story of growing up and a stunning reminder of the human cost of war and political repression. It shows how we carry on, through laughter and tears, in the face of absurdity. And, finally, it introduces us to an irresistible little girl with whom we cannot help but fall in love. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




Saga
by Vaughan, Brian K; Staples, Fiona; Stephenson, Eric (Graphic novelist)

9781607066019Brian K. Vaughan; Fiona Staples (Artist, Cover Design by)SagaWinner of the 2013 Hugo award for Best Graphic Story! When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall inlove, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous olduniverse. From New York Times bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan ( Y:The Last Man , Ex Machina ) and critically acclaimed artist FionaStaples ( Mystery Society , North 40 ), Saga is the sweepingtale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy andscience fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama foradults. This specially priced volume collects the first six issues of the smash-hitseries The Onion A.V. Club calls "the emotional epic Hollywood wishes it couldmake." Voted one of the top graphic novels of the year by the NYT , IGN, the Examiner , and SF Weekly . Voted Best Comic of the year by MTV Geekand Best New Series by Paradox Comics. Voted a finalist in the GoodReads Best GNof 2012 contest. Named one of Time Magazine's top 10 graphic novels for2013 - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




Boxers and Saints
by Yang, Gene Luen; Pien, Lark

9781596439245Gene Luen Yang (Illustrator); Lark PienBoxers and Saints Boxed SetGene Luen Yang is the National Ambassador for Young People's Literature. Boxers & Saints Boxed Set Edition One of the greatest comics storytellers alive brings all his formidable talents to bear in this astonishing new work. In two volumes, Boxers & Saints tells two parallel stories. The first is of Little Bao, a Chinese peasant boy whose village is abused and plundered by Westerners claiming the role of missionaries. Little Bao, inspired by visions of the Chinese gods, joins a violent uprising against the Western interlopers. Against all odds, their grass-roots rebellion is successful. But in the second volume, Yang lays out the opposite side of the conflict. A girl whose village has no place for her is taken in by Christian missionaries and finds, for the first time, a home with them. As the Boxer Rebellion gains momentum, Vibiana must decide whether to abandon her Christian friends or to commit herself fully to Christianity. Boxers & Saints is one of the most ambitious graphic novels First Second has ever published. It offers a penetrating insight into not only one of the most controversial episodes of modern Chinese history, but into the very core of our human nature. Gene Luen Yang is rightly called a master of the comics form, and this book will cement that reputation. This boxed set includes the trade paperback Boxers as well as the trade paperback Saints , packaged together in one slipcase. Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature A New York Times bestseller One of Publishers Weekly 's Best Comic Books and Best Children's Books of 2013 A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2013 A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of 2013 An NPR Best Book of 2013 - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




Wonderful Life with the Elements
by Yorifuji, Bunpei

9781593274238Bunpei YorifujiWonderful Life with the Elements: The Periodic Table PersonifiedFrom the brilliant mind of Japanese artist Bunpei Yorifuji comes Wonderful Life with the Elements, an illustrated guide to the periodic table that gives chemistry a friendly face. In this super periodic table, every element is a unique character whose properties are represented visually: heavy elements are fat, man-made elements are robots, and noble gases sport impressive afros. Every detail is significant, from the length of an element's beard to the clothes on its back. You'll also learn about each element's discovery, its common uses, and other vital stats like whether it floats or explodes in water. Why bother trudging through a traditional periodic table? In this periodic paradise, the elements are people too. And once you've met them, you'll never forget them. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability









Award Lists

Featured Books

See Also


Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District


Modified: January 24, 2017