Skip to Content

GCC Logo

Featured Books

Expand List: Display All Titles on List, including non-GCC titles
Sort By: Rank | Author | Title | Year | Call Number |



Once Upon a Crime...

(Librarian Selected)



After You With the Pistol
by Bonfiglioli, Kyril

9780241970317Kyril BonfiglioliAfter You with the Pistol'Mr Mortdecai, why do you suppose I and my superiors have preserved you from death at very very great trouble and expense?' Charlie Mortdecai - degenerate aristocrat and victim of his own larceny and licentousness - has no idea. Until it is made clear to him that he must marry the beautiful, sex-crazed and very, very rich Johanna Krampf. The fly in the ointment is that Johanna thinks nothing of involving poor Charlie in her life-threatening schemes such as monarch-assassination, heroin smuggling and - worst of all - survival training at a college for feminist spies. Perhaps, it's all in a good cause - if only Charlie can live long enough to find out. 'A rare mixture of wit and imaginative unpleasantness.' Julian Barnes 'Splendidly enjoyable. The jokes are excellent, but the most horrible things keep happening.' Sunday Telegraph 'At least of Hammett-Chandler weight, and in many ways surpasses them.' The Times Literary Supplement - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




The Bride Wore Size 12
by Cabot, Meg

9780061734793Meg CabotThe Bride Wore Size 12Heather Wells is used to having her cake and eating it too, but this time her cake just might be cooked. Her wedding cake, that is. With her upcoming nuptials to PI Cooper Cartwright only weeks away, Heather's already stressed. And when a pretty junior turns up dead, Heather's sure things can't get worse--until every student in the dorm where she works is a possible suspect, and Heather's long-lost mother shows up. Heather has no time for a tearful mother and bride reunion. She has a wedding to pull off and a murder to solve. Instead of wedding bells, she might be hearing wedding bullets, but she's determined to bring the bad guys to justice if it's the last thing she does . . . and this time, it just might be. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability







Playlist for the dead
by Falkoff, Michelle

9780062310507Michelle FalkoffPlaylist for the Dead"A page-turner that combines genuine intrigue with heartbreak and desire." --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and The Spectacular Now, Michelle Falkoff's debut is an honest and gut-wrenching novel about loss, rage, what if feels like to outgrow a friendship that's always defined you--and the struggle to redefine yourself. There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, Sam's best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs and a suicide note: For Sam--listen and you'll understand. To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But the more he listens, the more he realizes that his memory isn't as reliable as he thought. And it might only be by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he'll finally be able to piece together his best friend's story. And maybe have a chance to change his own. "An absorbing and sensitive read." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Falkoff lightens the substantial topics of grief, bullying, and suicide with Sam's engaging investigation." --ALA Booklist "Realistic and well-written. The strong characters, dialogue and the use of the playlist to structure the book make this a good pick for struggling readers." --School Library Journal "Falkoff treats a difficult topic with delicacy and care." --Publishers Weekly "Truly powerful moments." --Kirkus Reviews - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability







Mr. Monk is Miserable: A Novel
by Goldberg, Lee

9780451225153Lee GoldbergMr. Monk Is MiserableMore compulsive, page-turning fun in this all-new, original mystery starring the popular TV detective. Monk already ruined a trip to Germany for his longsuffering assistant Natalie. The least he can do is accompany her on a detour to France—and try not to ruin that too. In fact, Monk throws Natalie for a loop by announcing that he wants to visit the sewers of Paris. The historic underground maze of pipes and tunnels is famous for making the City of Light sanitary, and to Monk, that’s worth paying tribute to. The only problem is that their explorations lead them to another hidden world below the Parisian streets: the catacombs, filled with aging skulls and bones. Monk’s sharp eye catches sight of one skull that’s not so old—and that shows evidence of murder—pulling them into a case more twisted than the catacombs themselves. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




The pelican brief
by Grisham, John

9780385421980John GrishamThe Pelican BriefIn suburban Georgetown a killer's Reeboks whispernbsp;nbsp;on the front floor of a posh home... In a seedynbsp;nbsp;D.C. porno house a patron is swiftly garroted tonbsp;nbsp;death... The next day America learns that two of itsnbsp;nbsp;Supreme Court justices have been assassinated. Andnbsp;nbsp;in New Orleans, a young law student prepares anbsp;nbsp;legal brief... To Darby Shaw it was no more than anbsp;nbsp;legal shot in the dark, a brilliant guess. To thenbsp;nbsp;Washington establishment it was political dynamite.nbsp;nbsp;Suddenly Darby is witness to a murder -- a murdernbsp;nbsp;intended for her. Going underground, she findsnbsp;nbsp;there is only one person she can trust -- annbsp;nbsp;ambitious reporter after a newsbreak hotter than Watergatenbsp;nbsp;-- to help her piece together the deadly puzzle.nbsp;nbsp;Somewhere between the bayous of Louisiana and thenbsp;nbsp;White House's inner sanctums, a violent cover-up isnbsp;nbsp;being engineered. For somone has read Darby'snbsp;nbsp;brief. Someone who will stop at nothing to destroy thenbsp;nbsp;evidence of an unthinkable crime. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




The Fallen Man
by Hillerman, Tony

9780060177737Tony HillermanThe Fallen ManHuman bones lie on a ledge under the top of Shiprock Peak, the remains of a murder victim undisturbed for more than a decade. Three hundred miles across the Navajo reservation, a harmless old canyon guide is felled by a sniper's bullet. Joe Leaphorn, recently retired from the Navajo Tribal Police, believes the shooter and the skeleton are somehow connected and recalls a chilling puzzle he was previously unable to solve. But Acting Lieutenant Jim Chee is too busy to take any interest in a dusty cold case ... until the reborn violence of it hits much too close to home. Enhanced CD: CD features an interactive program which can be viewed on your computer, including: a photo galary, an author Q & A and a 35 years of excellence timeline. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




Mystic River
by Lehane, Dennis

97800605847570 99455 01395 6Dennis LehaneMystic RiverThe New York Times bestselling novel from Dennis Lehane is a gripping, unnerving psychological thriller about the effects of a savage killing on three former friends in a tightly knit, blue-collar Boston neighborhood. When they were children, Sean Devine, Jimmy Marcus, and Dave Boyle were friends. But then a strange car pulled up to their street. One boy got into the car, two did not, and something terrible happened -- something that ended their friendship and changed all three boys forever. Twenty-five years later, Sean is a homicide detective. Jimmy is an ex-con who owns a corner store. And Dave is trying to hold his marriage together and keep his demons at bay -- demons that urge him to do terrible things. When Jimmy's daughter is found murdered, Sean is assigned to the case. His investigation brings him into conflict with Jimmy, who finds his old criminal impulses tempt him to solve the crime with brutal justice. And then there is Dave, who came home the night Jimmy's daughter died covered in someone else's blood. A tense and unnerving psychological thriller, Mystic River is also an epic novel of love and loyalty, faith and family, in which people irrevocably marked by the past find themselves on a collision course with the darkest truths of their own hidden selves. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




The Fall: A Novel
by Lescroart, John T

9781476709215John LescroartThe FallFrom New York Times bestselling author John Lescroart, a riveting new novel of legal suspense featuring Dismas Hardy and his daughter, Rebecca, now grown up and an associate in Hardy's law firm. Late one night, a teenage African American foster child named Tanya Morgan plummets to her death from the overpass above San Francisco's Stockton tunnel. But did she fall...or was she pushed? Rushing to produce a convictable suspect in the glare of the media spotlight, homicide inspectors focus their attention on a naive young man named Greg Treadway. Greg is a middle school teacher and he volunteers as a Special Advocate for foster children. At first, the only thing connecting him to Tanya's death is the fact that they shared a meal earlier that night. But soon enough, elements of that story seem to fall apart...and Hardy's daughter, Rebecca, finds herself drawn into the young man's defense. By the time Greg's murder trial gets underway, Dismas and Rebecca have unearthed several other theories about the crime: a missing stepfather who'd sexually assaulted her; a roommate who ran a call girl service; a psychologically unstable birth mother; and a mysterious homeless man who may have had dealings with Tanya. Or Greg Treadway himself, who is perhaps not all that he first appeared. But how will they get these theories in front of a jury? And if they can, what price will they have to pay? With signature suspense and intricate plotting, The Fall puts Dismas Hardy and his only daughter in the middle of one of John Lescroart's most complex and thrilling cases yet. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability




The Killer is Dying: A Novel
by Sallis, James

9780802779458James SallisThe Killer Is DyingA hired killer on his final job, a burned-out detective whose wife is dying slowly and in agony, a young boy abandoned by his parents and living alone by his wits. Three people, solitary and sundered from society. In what is at one and the same time a coming-of-age novel, a realistic crime novel and a novel of the contemporary Southwest, The Killer Is Dying is above all the story of three men of vastly different age and background, and of the shape their lives take against the unforgiving sunlight and sprawl of America's fifth largest city, Phoenix. The detective, Sayles, is looking for the killer, Christian, though he doesn't know that. Christian is trying to find the man who stepped in and took down his target before he had the chance. And the boy, Jimmie, is having the killer's dreams. While they never meet, through the course of the novel, all find community. - Description from Syndetics
Location/Availability









Award Lists

Featured Books

See Also


Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District


Modified: January 24, 2017