Skip to Content

GCC Logo

Library Databases

GCC Library > Databases Page

Other Database Viewing Options

Databases by Subject

General / All Subjects

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database with more extensive full text holdings than Academic Search Premier, including over 9,000 full text journals. Includes 459 unique titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases. 

MasterFILE PremierMasterFILE PremierProvides full text for over 1,730 of periodicals. Coverage includes nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more.  

GALE PowerSearch (Gateway)GALE PowerSearch (Gateway)A comprehensive periodical resource that includes 5,156 full-text titles with more than 39 million databases records. It includes both popular magazines, specialized journals, newspapers, and wireservices. Former title: Expanded Academic ASAP. 

JSTORJSTORProvides access to scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature. 

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

EBSCOhost (Gateway)EBSCOhost (Gateway)Provides access and search capabilities to multiple databases available from EBSCOhost. Full-text articles, citations, and media options vary per database. 

Films On DemandFilms On DemandProvides access to more than 6000 films in various subjects from Films for the Humanities & Sciences and other leading educational film vendors. 

KanopyKanopyAn on demand streaming video service providing more than 26,000 educational films each year. It contains works from distributors such as BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection and more. 

Show More...

General Reference

Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing. 

Credo ReferenceCredo ReferenceProvides full-text access to ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS and other reference sources. WORD COUNT of EACH ARTICLE is available when browsing. 

Global Road WarriorGlobal Road WarriorThis resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.  

National Geographic Virtual LibraryNational Geographic Virtual LibraryNow National Geographic and Gale, part of Cengage Learning, have partnered to bring vast resources to digital life with our National Geographic Virtual Library. This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine  every page of every issue  along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. 

Show More...

Arts & Humanities

ARTstorARTstorAccess to artistic images including African-American, American, Classical, and Literary Studies collections as well as Music history, Photography and many more collections. 

Humanities SourceHumanities SourceDeveloped through a merger of EBSCO & H.W. Wilson databases, it contains more than 1520 full text journals pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes 591 unique titles (40.8% of its collection), as compared to current GCC Library databases. 

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

Films On Demand: AnthropologyFilms On Demand: Anthropology380+ documentary films related to anthropology. [August 2011] 

Gale Reference - Art, Film & MusicGale Reference - Art, Film & MusicThis database is a collection of Gale Virtual Reference's Art, Film, and Music reference books. 

Anatomy.TVAnatomy.TV 

Show More...

Biography

Biography In ContextBiography In ContextOver 1.5 million biographies of people from throughout history, around the world and across all disciplines; includes audio, video, and images. 

Gale Reference - BiographyGale Reference - BiographyThis is a collection of Gale Virtual Reference's Biography reference books. 

History Reference CenterHistory Reference CenterFull text history reference database for undergraduate research featuring more than 2,400 reference books, 135 leading history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, photos, maps and video. 

Literature Resource Center (Gale)Literature Resource Center (Gale)Provides literary overviews, biographies, and criticism for more the 128,000 writers; includes index to extensive Gale literary series. 

Business

Business Source PremierBusiness Source PremierAccess to scholarly, popular, and trade publications related to Business; includes country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, and industry overviews. 

Small Business Reference CenterSmall Business Reference CenterThis resource provides up-to-date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books. 

ReferenceUSAReferenceUSAThis resource provides access to creating marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, and locate businesses. 

Gale Reference - BusinessGale Reference - BusinessThis database consists of Gale Virtual Reference's Business Collection, which boasts 15 different business reference resources, such as the Business Plans Handbook, the Encyclopedia of Management, Encyclopedia of Small Business, and American Industries and Careers. 

Phoenix Business JournalPhoenix Business JournalThis resource provides access to local business news. Additionally, there is access to other major cities in the United States, regarding business news. 

Films on Demand: Business/EconomicsFilms on Demand: Business/EconomicsHundreds documentary films to choose from 7 specific subject areas within the business and economics. 

Show More...

Careers

Ferguson's Career Guidance CenterFerguson's Career Guidance CenterKnown for its unprecedented depth of coverage, this comprehensive career research database is organized into three main sections: through Industries and Careers, users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions. 

Occupational Outlook Handbook OnlineOccupational Outlook Handbook OnlineThe Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide the overwhelming majority of jobs in the United States.  

Survey of American Industry & CareersSurvey of American Industry & CareersThis comprehensive encyclopedia provides details facts and information about a wide range of American industries and careers. 

Show More...

Communication

Communication and Mass Media CompleteCommunication and Mass Media CompleteProvides quality research in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. 

PsycARTICLESPsycARTICLESContains more than 26,000 searchable full-text articles from 42 peer-reviewed journals published by APA and allied organizations from 1988 to the present, with earlier years in production. Full-text articles will be linked to the PsychInfo database as well. 

Show More...

Contemporary Issues

Opposing ViewpointsOpposing ViewpointsCurrent & controversial issues resource that provides access to 'viewpoint' articles, reference materials, magazines, newspapers, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia on current topics. 

Issues and ControversiesIssues and ControversiesProvides current, in-depth, and objective information on contemporary issues. Coverage begins in 1995. This is the on-line version of the print Issues and Controversies collection on the Contemporary Issues Index table. 

CQ ResearcherCQ ResearcherCongressional Quarterly provides in-depth unbiased reports of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.  

Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing. 

PBS VideoPBS VideoYou have access over 401 core films from PBS.  

Show More...

Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies

Global Road WarriorGlobal Road WarriorThis resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.  

Countries, Peoples & CulturesCountries, Peoples & CulturesCountries, Peoples & Cultures series is complete with specific information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments and 10 major world religions.  

Gale Reference - Multicultural StudiesGale Reference - Multicultural StudiesThis database consists of Gale Virtual Reference's collection of multi-cultural and ethnic studies reference resources. 

Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.  

Show More...

Education

ERICERICERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. This database provides full text of digests along with educational and education-related journals.  

Gale Reference - EducationGale Reference - EducationThis is a rich reference collection of educational resources from the database Gale Virtual Reference Library. 

Teacher Reference CenterTeacher Reference CenterTeacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.  

Chronicle of Higher EducationChronicle of Higher EducationConsidered the number one source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.  

Show More...

English & Literature

Literature Resource Center (Gale)Literature Resource Center (Gale)Provides literary overviews, biographies, and criticism for more the 128,000 writers; includes index to extensive Gale literary series. 

Literary Reference CenterLiterary Reference CenterProvides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Includes biographies, criticisms, summaries, and more. 

Humanities SourceHumanities SourceDeveloped through a merger of EBSCO & H.W. Wilson databases, it contains more than 1520 full text journals pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes 591 unique titles (40.8% of its collection), as compared to current GCC Library databases. 

Literature Criticism Online Literature Criticism Online Provides full text pdf-only access to Short Story Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Drama Criticism.  

Poetry & Short Story Reference CenterPoetry & Short Story Reference CenterPoetry & Short Story Reference Center provides a robust collection of poetry and short stories to enhance your librarys literary collection. 

Gale Reference - LiteratureGale Reference - LiteratureThis collection brings together a large collection of reference works in literary criticism and literature form the database Gale Virtual Reference Library. 

Show More...

Government & Law

LexisNexis AcademicLexisNexis AcademicComprehensive database for searching general newspapers (domestic and foreign), law, business, medicine and health.  

Criminal Justice Abstracts w/Full TextCriminal Justice Abstracts w/Full TextProvides full text access to more than 320 magazines and journals covering topics such as criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, forensic science, probation and parole. Includes 186 unique titles (58.3% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Legal Information Reference CenterLegal Information Reference CenterProviding many of the top consumer legal reference books, full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers.  

Gale Reference - LawGale Reference - LawThis is a collection of legal reference sources from the database Gale Virtual Reference Library. 

Show More...

History

America: History and Life with Full TextAmerica: History and Life with Full TextAmerica: History and Life with Full Text covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.  

History Reference CenterHistory Reference CenterFull text history reference database for undergraduate research featuring more than 2,400 reference books, 135 leading history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, photos, maps and video. 

Historical Index to the New York TimesHistorical Index to the New York TimesFull text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 through 2007. Includes full page images and advertisements. 

American Periodicals SeriesAmerican Periodicals SeriesThis database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historical publications. 

Salem HistorySalem HistorySalem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets including the Decades collections, Definiting Documents, Great Lives, etc. 

Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Through HistoryProvides access to cross-disciplinary resources regarding numerous world cultures, showing how people lived their lives in the past and in the present. Allows for browsing by Region, Time Period, & Subject. 

World Folklore & FolklifeWorld Folklore & FolklifeResources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.  

Gale Reference - HistoryGale Reference - HistoryAccess 50+ reference titles related to history. 

Films on Demand: Archival Films & NewsreelsFilms on Demand: Archival Films & NewsreelsHundreds of short archival films from different eras of US history between 1919 and 1968. 

Show More...

Librarian Tools

LISTALISTALISTA indexes periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, online information retrieval, information management and more.  

Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary LoanEnables GCC affiliates to request materials from libraries outside of the MCCCD system. This system and service is available to students, faculty, and staff of Maricopa Community Colleges. 

WorldCatWorldCatAn OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. It contains all of the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries and offers millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages.  

Directory of Open Access Journals-DOAJDirectory of Open Access Journals-DOAJBrowseable and searchable e-Journal collection. Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.  

Show More...

Military

Military & Government CollectionMilitary & Government CollectionThis database is an index to citations/abstracts and cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals in military and government fields. 

Music

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

World Folklore & FolklifeWorld Folklore & FolklifeResources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.  

Show More...

News

ProQuest National NewspapersProQuest National NewspapersContains both articles and indexing to articles from the country's leading newspapers--Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post. 

Arizona RepublicArizona RepublicAccess to The Arizona Republic (1999 - present). Daily newspaper covers the state of Arizona, as well as local, national and international news.  

LexisNexis AcademicLexisNexis AcademicComprehensive database for searching general newspapers (domestic and foreign), law, business, medicine and health.  

Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.  

Historical Index to the New York TimesHistorical Index to the New York TimesFull text of the New York Times from the first issue in 1851 through 2007. Includes full page images and advertisements. 

Phoenix Business JournalPhoenix Business JournalThis resource provides access to local business news. Additionally, there is access to other major cities in the United States, regarding business news. 

Show More...

Nursing, Medicine & Health

Anatomy.TVAnatomy.TV 

CINAHL: A Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health LiteratureCINAHL: A Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health LiteratureComprehensive source of scholarly full text journals for nursing & allied health--including publications of the American Nurses' Association & National League for Nursing--covering biomedicine, management, behavioral sciences, clinical trials, evidence-based practice, consumer health, and more. 

Health Reference Center AcademicHealth Reference Center AcademicHealth Reference Center Academic is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. 

Show More...

Psychology

PsycINFOPsycINFOProvides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present. 

PsycARTICLESPsycARTICLESContains more than 26,000 searchable full-text articles from 42 peer-reviewed journals published by APA and allied organizations from 1988 to the present, with earlier years in production. Full-text articles will be linked to the PsychInfo database as well. 

Psychology and Behavioral Science CollectionPsychology and Behavioral Science CollectionComprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. 

EBSCOhost Psychology Databases (MultiSearch)EBSCOhost Psychology Databases (MultiSearch)Simultaneously searches Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycARTICLES, and PsycINFO. 

Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference LibraryProvides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing. 

Show More...

Religion & Philosophy

Religion & Philosophy CollectionReligion & Philosophy CollectionProvides fulltext articles from more than 300 journals, 250 peer-reviewed, covering topics of religious and philosophical studies. 

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

Gale Reference - ReligionGale Reference - ReligionThis collection contains a wide assortment or religion reference resources from the database Gale Virtual Reference Library. 

Show More...

Science

Anatomy.TVAnatomy.TV 

ScienceDirectScienceDirectScienceDirect provides access to science, technology, social science, and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.  

Nature International WeeklyNature International WeeklyScience-related online access to full-text articles dating 1997 to the current. Additionally, various online methods are available, such as RSS feeds, blogs, and other timely technologies that provide current scientific information. 

Science MagazineScience MagazineLeading weekly general scientific journal, publishing primary peer-reviewed research and breaking science news.  

Gale Reference - ScienceGale Reference - ScienceThis resource is a collection of scientific reference titles from Gale Virtual Reference Library. 

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry & TechnologyInternational Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry & TechnologyOriginally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council. 'It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances.' 

Show More...

Social Sciences

SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full TextContains more than 900 full text journals and magazines in addition to more than 250 full text books and monographs in the field of sociology. Includes 459 unique periodical titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

ScienceDirectScienceDirectScienceDirect provides access to science, technology, social science, and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.  

Criminal Justice Abstracts w/Full TextCriminal Justice Abstracts w/Full TextProvides full text access to more than 320 magazines and journals covering topics such as criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, forensic science, probation and parole. Includes 186 unique titles (58.3% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Show More...

Sports & Recreation

Research Quarterly for Exercise & SportResearch Quarterly for Exercise & SportThis publication offers the latest research in the art and science of human movement studies. 



Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District