LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian
CONNECT arrow
AP Images
 
Description
Over 1,000,000 current and historic captioned photos drawn largely from the Associated Press database of images. The archive includes contemporary news images, historical figures, celebrities, and images drawn from key events of the 20th century as well as graphics, audio, and text files. [View extended description.]
Titles Indexed:
More than 1 million photos; 4500 hours of audio.
Coverage
1826 - current
Subjects
Contemporary Issues · History · News ·
Types of Materials
Full Text · Primary Sources · Image Resource ·
Scholarly Articles
Access
Remote Access Available · eGCC authentication or campus access required.
Vendor / Publisher
Accuweather
Extended Description
The AP Images database is a supplemental research tool that allows learners to search four databases that provide a sensory journey using photographs, audio sound bytes, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. The databases include: 1) International Photos - Containing the entire Photo Archive database of over one million photos with full captioned text. Users can search on multiple criteria including time, people, concept, color, photo type and category; 2) Graphics - Includes charts, tables, maps, graphs, logos, timelines, Spanish graphics and "how-to" tips; 3) Audio - A retrospective with over 4,500 hours of audio clips from the 1920's to 48 hours ago; and, 4) Text - Associated Press news stories and headlines.
Proxied URL
http://libproxy.gc.maricopa.edu/login?url=http://apimages.ap.org/unsecured/logip.aspx
Unproxied URL
http://apimages.ap.org/unsecured/logip.aspx   [CONNECT]
Related Information Box

Subscription databases are licensed by the Maricopa County Community College District.

Off-campus access restricted to GCC students, faculty and staff, that have activated their eGCC account.


Related Links Box

LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: November 02, 2009