Skip to Main Content GCC Library Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian
CONNECT arrow
Latino American Experience
Database Icon  
Description
Dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos; explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the US. [View extended description.]
Titles Indexed:
Coverage
Subjects
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies ·
Types of Materials
Full Text · Encyclopedia & Dictionaries · Primary Sources · General Reference Source ·
Scholarly Articles
Access
Remote Access Available · eGCC authentication or campus access required.
Mobile Access
Partially Optimized: Proxied Link | Unproxied Link
Vendor / Publisher
ABC-CLIO
Extended Description

Designed and developed under the guidance of Latino librarians, LAE offers unparalleled depth and content that meets the specific research and curriculum needs of students, teachers, and librarians. The Analyze sections pose historic quandaries that invite learners to examine issues from all angles and develop their critical-thinking skills, while easy-to-use search and browse features facilitate research at every level.

Coverage ranges from precontact Aztec and Maya societies to 21st-century political issues like recent immigration law to cultural themes like coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. The Latino American Experience is an indispensable electronic research and learning resource that provides learners with far more than history lessons with facts and figures; it gives voice to the Latino experience through Latino authors and contributors.

Features
• Content includes hundreds of primary documents and media, including speeches, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and vivid historical photographs
• Faceted searching allows for fast and powerful refinement of search results
• Ongoing content updates enrich the site throughout the school year—at no additional cost

Highlights
• Developed under the guidance of Advisory Editor Dr. Ilan Stavans and leading scholars, this resource provides trustworthy content by authorities in the field
• Covers history and culture from all the countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula, including content on modern-day Latin American countries, the history of the Hispanic Diaspora, and indigenous peoples
• Ties into curriculum standards with content and features geared to state-required studies on Latino history

Proxied URL
http://libproxy.gc.maricopa.edu/login?url=http://latinoamerican2.abc-clio.com
Unproxied URL
http://latinoamerican2.abc-clio.com   [CONNECT]
Related Information Box

Subscription databases are licensed by the Maricopa County Community College District.

Off-campus access is restricted to GCC students, faculty and staff.

MEID username and password are required.


Related Links Box

Library Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage Access Mobile Site

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by Library Web Group
Modified: Modified: January 29, 2013