LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian
CONNECT arrow
World Folklore & Folklife
 
Description
This provides a wealth of resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as their geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world. [View extended description.]
Titles Indexed:
unknown
Coverage
Subjects
Arts & Humanities · Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies · English & Literature · History · Music ·
Types of Materials
Citations & Abstracts · Full Text · Encyclopedia & Dictionaries · Primary Sources · Image Resource · General Reference Source ·
Scholarly Articles
RECOMMENDED for accessing scholarly, refereed, and peer reviewed articles.
Access
Remote Access Available · eGCC authentication or campus access required.
Vendor / Publisher
Greenwood
Extended Description
Some articles have extensive bibliographies. Different versions of folktales are offered in their entirety--there are, for example, sixteen versions of the Cinderella tale. This provides access to D.L. Ashliman's collection of 656 folktales and legends. Tales span the centuries, from ancient oral tradition to urban legends. There are thousands of classic fairy tales, including all of the Grimm brothers and Hans Christian Andersen stories.
Proxied URL
http://libproxy.gc.maricopa.edu/login?url=http://folklore.greenwood.com
Unproxied URL
http://folklore.greenwood.com   [CONNECT]
Related Information Box

Subscription databases are licensed by the Maricopa County Community College District.

Off-campus access restricted to GCC students, faculty and staff, that have activated their eGCC account.


Related Links Box

LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Modified: Modified: November 02, 2009