Skip to Content

GCC Logo
Library Banner Image Libraries

Change View

Titles Only
View Databases by Subject
View Databases by Title
View Databases by Type
View Databases by Publisher
Remove Sidebar / Print View
Mobile Optimized Databases

Database Subjects

General / All Subjects
General Reference
Arts & Humanities
Biography
Business
Careers
Communication
Contemporary Issues
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies
Education
English & Literature
Government & Law
History
Librarian Tools
Math
Military
Music
News
Nursing, Medicine & Health
Psychology
Religion & Philosophy
Science
Social Sciences
Sports & Recreation
Vocational & Trade

Information

Off Campus Access:
Most databases may be accessed by GCC students, staff and faculty from off-campus - MEID username and password required.

If you have difficulty connecting, contact the GCC Library Reference Desk at 623.845.3112.
One Search:
Search multiple databases with One Search.
Click upon the Icons for Database Information

GCC Library > Databases by Subject Page > English & Literature Databases

English & Literature

    Literature Resource Center (Gale) 

    Coverage Range: Varies - current
    Includes: Citations & Abstracts · Full Text ·
    Provides literary overviews, biographies, and criticism for more the 128,000 writers; includes index to extensive Gale literary series. Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning


    Literary Reference Center 

    Includes: Citations & Abstracts · Full Text · Encyclopedia & Dictionaries · General Reference Source · eBooks · eJournal ·
    Provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Includes biographies, criticisms, summaries, and more. Publisher: EBSCOhost


    Humanities Source 

    Coverage Range: 1907 - pres
    Includes: Full Text ·
    Developed through a merger of EBSCO & H.W. Wilson databases, it contains more than 1520 full text journals pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes 591 unique titles (40.8% of its collection), as compared to current GCC Library databases. Publisher: EBSCOhost


    Literature Criticism Online  

    Includes: Full Text · General Reference Source ·
    Provides full text pdf-only access to Short Story Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Drama Criticism. Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning


    Poetry & Short Story Reference Center 

    Includes: Citations & Abstracts · Full Text · eBooks · eJournal · This resource provides access to multiple databases.
    Poetry & Short Story Reference Center provides a robust collection of poetry and short stories to enhance your librarys literary collection. Publisher: EBSCOhost


    Gale Reference - Literature 

    Includes: Full Text · Encyclopedia & Dictionaries ·
    This collection brings together a large collection of reference works in literary criticism and literature form the database Gale Virtual Reference Library. Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning


    Humanities and Social Sci Retro 

    Coverage Range: 1907 - 1984
    Includes: Citations & Abstracts ·
    Offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Publisher: EBSCOhost


    Oxford English Dictionary (OED) 

    Includes: Full Text · Encyclopedia & Dictionaries · General Reference Source ·
    Multi-volume authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases; includes historic definitions and cites early use. Publisher: Oxford University Press


    Salem Literature 

    Includes: Citations & Abstracts · Full Text · Encyclopedia & Dictionaries · General Reference Source · eBooks ·
    Includes access literary criticism and overviews via Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, Magill's Literary Annuals, and Masterplots publications. Publisher: Salem Press


    World Folklore & Folklife 

    Includes: Full Text · Encyclopedia & Dictionaries · Primary Sources · Image Resource · General Reference Source ·
    Resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world. Publisher: ABC-CLIO


Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District


Modified: January 24, 2017