LMC @ GCC Logo
LMC Logo
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Identity Bar - Glendale Community College, Glendale, Arizona
Link to GCC Homepage Link to Library Homepage Suggestion Box Ask a Librarian

Databases: A - Z


Academic Search Premier
AccessScience
Accunet/APPhoto Archive
The African American Experience
America's Newspapers
Article First (First Search)
Biography Research Center
Business Source Premier 
Chronicle of Higher Education

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
ClasePeriodica (First Search)
CollegeSource™ Online (on campus only)
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CQ Researcher Online
CultureGrams™
Daily Life
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Ebooks (First Search)
ebrary

ECO (First Search)
Encyclopedia Britannica
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Ethnic Newswatch
First Search databases
Gale Opposing Viewpoints
Gale Virtual Reference Library
General OneFile (InfoTrac)
GPO (First Search)

Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians
Health Source - Consumer
Health Source - Nursing/Academic edition
Hoover's Company Reports
Humanities and Social Sci Retro
International Critical Tables...
Issues and Controversies
JSTOR

Knovel Critical Tables
LexisNexis™

The Latino American Experience
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
MagillOnHistory
MasterFILE Premier
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
The Merck Index
Military & Government Collection
NetLibrary
NewsBank
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Oxford Reference Online 
Papers First (First Search)
PQ Hist. News. NYTimes
Proceedings (First Search)
Professional Development Collection
Project Muse
ProQuest Newspapers
PsycARTICLES® 
PsycINFO®
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection
Reader's Guide Retrospective
Regional Business News
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Scientific American Archive Online
Smithsonian Physical Tables
Today's Science
Vocational and Career Collection
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega
World Almanac (First Search)
World Cat (First Search)
World Cat Dissertations (First Search)
World Folklore & Folklife

Database Descriptions and Publisher Information

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) provides full text coverage for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including 3,100 peer-reviewed journals.

Accunet/APPhoto Archive (Accuweather) is a database of 50 million images from the AP archives (includes photographs, graphs, etc.).

The African American Experience (Greenwood) provides access to numerous reference materials and primary resources.

America's Newspapers (NewsBank) provides access to full-text coverage of major United States daily newspapers.

Article First (OCLC) An OCLC index of articles listed on the table of contents pages of journals. Dates covered: 1990 to the present; updated daily.

Biography Research Center (Thomson Gale) contains biographies from Gale Group resources, full-text articles, and the Complete Marquis Who's Who (r).

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) provides full text for nearly 3,600 scholarly business journals (approximately 1,050 peer-reviewed).

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) is designed specifically for nursing programs in academic institutions as well as hospital libraries, CINAHL Database with Full Text covers a wide range of topics, including nursing, allied health, alternative therapies, biomedicine, consumer health, and health administration. This database offers over 1,200 titles (with more than 260 in full text) and coverage from 1982 to the present.

ClasePeriodica (FirstSearch) index of Latin american journals in the sciences and humanities.

CollegeSource™ Online (Career Guidance Foundation) provides catalogs and web links for over 19,000 U.S. and international colleges and universities. ON CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost) is a full text online resource focusing on communication and mass media topics.

CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press) is the full text electronic equivalent of the print publication which is kept on the index stand near the Information Desk. This resource provides excellent overviews and analyses of contemporary issues.

CultureGrams™ (ProQuest) Provides information for 177 world countries and all U.S. States: maps, flags, anthems, symbols, history, climate, population, etc. Includes cultural information on customs, etiquette, etc..

Daily Life (Greenwood) provides access to cross-disciplinary resources regarding numerous world cultures.

ECO (OCLC) An OCLC collection of scholarly journals that includes all of the originial content and images of articles. It lets you view abstracts and full-text articles from journals to which your library or institution subscribes. Dates covered: 1995 to the present.

Encyclopedia Britannica (Encyclopedia Britannica) provides the typcial, high quality essays on topics plus cross-references and links to related information and web sites.

ERIC (EBSCOhost) The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) database, provides references and abstracts to journal articles and reports on education topics.

Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest) is a full text collection of about 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press providing a perspective on the history, culture and news of diverse peoples. Content includes approximately 400,000 articles, editorials, columns and book reviews dating back to 1990. Searchable in both English and Spanish with both languages represented in the full text entries.

First Search databases (OCLC) Collection of 13 electronic databases covering a variety of different subjects and materials. Select ALL DATABASES to choose indexes available for use. The FirstSearch databases are available through a program of the State Library of Arizona.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Thomson Gale) Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources, such as Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations, Encyclopedia of World Biography, World Education Encyclopedia, Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America.

General OneFile (Thomson Gale) - a comprehensive periodical resource that includes 5,156 full-text titles with more than 39 million databases records. It includes both popular magazines, specialized journals, newspapers, and wireservices. Former title: Expanded Academic ASAP.

GPO (OCLC) Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Includes a bibliographic citation in each record. Dates covered: 1976 to the present. Producer: U.S. Government Printing Office.

Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (Oxford Univ. Press) "...universally acknowledged as the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. This great work is widely used throughout the academic and professional community, and revered by music lovers worldwide."

Health Source - Consumer (EBSCOhost) can be used to search for information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 165 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.

Health Source - Nursing/Academic edition (EBSCOhost) provides over 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 560 journals.

Hoover's Company Reports (LexisNexis) provides in-depth records of public and private companies worldwide and overviews of the key industries in which those companies operate.

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology (Knovel) "It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compunds, and pure substances."

Issues and Controversies (Facts.com) provides current, in-depth, and objective information on contemporary issues. Coverage begins in 1995. This is the on-line version of the print Issues and Controveries collection on the Contemporary Issues Index table.

JSTOR (JSTOR) provides access to scholarly journal articles.

Knovel Critical Tables (Knovel) "This important, interactive knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 13,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have 385 solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have 500 compounds."

The Latino American Experience (Greenwood) is a comprehensive online resource that features reference and scholarly works.

LexisNexis™ (LexisNexis) is a comprehensive database for searching general newspapers (domestic and foreign), law, business, medicine and health, and popular reference sources. ON CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY.

Literature Online (ProQuest) offers a fully searchable archive of nearly 200,000 poems, plays, and prose works by key authors from Literature online, together with structured access to the best of current and historical criticism. More than 500 "Study Pages" devoted to the most commonly studied contemporary and canonical authors feature a range of full-text resources carefully selected for their relevance, including poems, plays, novels, biographies, etc.

Literature Research Center (Thomson Gale) provides literary criticism, essays, and biographies for more the 120,000 writers, including in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors..

MagillOnHistory (EBSCOhost) provides access to historical reference materials. Some of the documents are available in various formats: full-text, charts, graphs, and/or maps.

MasterFILE Premier
(EBSCOhost) provides full text for over 1,840 periodicals covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Click here for a complete title list.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) From the National Library of Medicine, this database provides abstract from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

The Merck Index (CambridgeSoft)- standard reference for chemistry data.

Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost) Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals in military and government fields.

NewsBank (NewsBank) contains articles from Arizona newspapers as well as from local and regional newspapers in the U.S. The Arizona Republic is covered from 1999 to the present.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED). (Oxford Univ. Press) Comprehensive coverage of the OED online - the ultimate authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases, unparalleled in its accuracy and comprehensiveness, the OED is the supreme reference work for anyone who loves the language."

Oxford Reference Online (Oxford Univ. Press) provides access to 100 key Oxford dictionaries and reference works. Comprehensive coverage of over 20 broad subject areas.

PapersFirst (OCLC) An OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide; covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. Dates covered: 1993 to the present; updated 24 times per year.

Proceedings (OCLC) An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings; covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library Document Supply Centre; contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference. Dates covered: 1993 to the present; updated 2 times per week.

ProQuest Hist. News. NY Times (ProQuest) The New York Times is considered the "official" U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. This product provides comprehensive digital coverage dating back to the first issue in 1851 through 1999. Coverage from 1999 to present of the NYT is provided full-text in the ProQuest Newspapers database (described next).

ProQuest Newspapers (ProQuest) contains both articles and indexing to articles from the country's leading newspapers.

  • The New York Times (Late, East Coast edition) Full-text: Jan., 1999 to current; Indexing/Abs: Jan., 1989 to current
  • New York Times Magazine Full-text: Jan., 1999 to current; Indexing/Abs: Jan., 1986 to current
  • New York Times Book Review Full-text: Jan., 1999 to current; Indexing/Abs: Jan., 1986 to current
  • The Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition) Full-text: Jan.2, 1984 to current; Indexing/Abs: Mar.5, 1982 to current
  • The Washington Post Full-text: Dec. 8, 1997 to current; Indexing/Abs: Feb. 1, 1988 to current
  • The Los Angeles Times (Record edition) Full-text: Jan. 1990 to current; Indexing/Abs: Feb.1, 1986 to current. Now a separate link.
  • The Christian Science Monitor Full-text: May, 1990 to current; Indexing/Abs: Sept.30, 1988 to current

Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost) Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 600 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

PsycARTICLES® (EBSCOhost) contains more than 26,000 searchable full-text articles from 42 peer-reviewed journals published by APA and allied organizations from 1988 to the present, with earlier years in production. Full-text articles will be linked to the PsychInfo database as well.

PsycINFO® (EBSCOhost) provides indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, also includes abstracts for dissertations, books and book chapters ranging in date from 1887 to the present.

Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection (EBSCOhost) is a comprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Reader's Guide Retrospective (H.W. Wilson), covering the years 1890 through 1982, this database provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Note: this is not a full-text database.

Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) provides full text coverage from 75 regional business publications - journals, newspapers, newswires.

Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) provides fulltext articles from more than 300 journals (over 250 are peer-reviewed)

Scientific American Archive Online. (EBSCOhost) Full-text coverage from 1993 to he present with complete text and graphics.

Smithsonian Physical Tables (Knovel) "Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers."

Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCOhost) provides full text coverage for 400 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Reader's Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text. Full text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.

World Almanac (OCLC) A fundamental reference source. Dates covered: 1998 to the present; updated annually.

WorldCat (OCLC) An OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. It contains all of the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries and offers millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Over 48,000,000 records have been added since 1971. Updated daily.

World Folklore & Folklife (Greenwood) provides a wealth of resources related to folklore.

Related Links Box
Related Links Box

LMC Homepage GCC Homepage MCCCD Homepage

John F. Prince Library - Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale, Arizona 85302 - 623.845.3109
Library & Computer Center - Glendale Community College North - 5727 W. Happy Valley Rd - Glendale, AZ 85310 - 623.845.4109
Legal Disclaimer; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
Last modified: Tuesday March 04 2008