Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
-
African American Experience
Subjects:
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
Provides access to numerous reference materials and primary resources related to African American history and culture.
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
-
Daily Life Through History
Subjects:
History·
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
Provides access to cross-disciplinary resources regarding numerous world cultures, showing how people lived their lives in the past and in the present. Allows for browsing by Region, Time Period, & Subject.
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
-
Latino American Experience
Subjects:
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
Dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos; explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the US.
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
-
World Folklore & Folklife
Subjects:
Music·
Arts & Humanities·
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
English & Literature·
History·
Resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
-
Merck Index
Subjects:
Science·
This standard reference for chemistry data is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Publisher: CambridgeSoft
-
Credo Reference
Subjects:
General Reference·
Provides full-text access to ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS and other reference sources. WORD COUNT of EACH ARTICLE is available when browsing.
Publisher: Credo Reference
-
History Reference Center
(Varies - current)
Subjects:
Biography·
History·
Full text history reference database for undergraduate research featuring more than 2,400 reference books, 135 leading history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, photos, maps and video.
Publisher: EBSCOhost
-
Legal Information Reference Center
Subjects:
Government & Law·
Providing many of the top consumer legal reference books, full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers.
Publisher: EBSCOhost
-
Literary Reference Center
Subjects:
English & Literature·
Provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Includes biographies, criticisms, summaries, and more.
Publisher: EBSCOhost
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Subjects:
General Reference·
Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing.
Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
-
GVRL: History
Subjects:
History·
Access 50+ reference titles related to history.
Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
-
Biography In Context
Subjects:
Biography·
Over 1.5 million biographies of people from throughout history, around the world and across all disciplines; includes audio, video, and images.
Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
-
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology
Subjects:
Science·
Originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council. 'It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances.'
Publisher: Knovel
-
Knovel Critical Tables
Subjects:
Science·
'This important, interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 13,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have 385 solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have 500 compounds.'
Publisher: Knovel
-
Smithsonian Physical Tables
Subjects:
Science·
This classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.
Publisher: Knovel
-
Oxford Reference Online
Subjects:
General Reference·
Provides full-text access to ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS and other reference sources including over 175 Oxford dictionaries, quotation collections and reference works. Coverage of over 20 broad subject areas.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - History
Subjects:
History·
Provides access to more than 25 history resources, primarily dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions to particular aspects of Western history.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Law
Subjects:
Government & Law·
Provides access to 6 guides, companions, and dictionaries related to law, law enforcement, courts, and legal terminology.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Science and Technology
Subjects:
Science·
Provides access to 8 reference titles including dictionaries and companions to ecology, geography, weather, earth sciences, and the environment.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Subjects:
English & Literature·
General Reference·
Multi-volume authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases; includes historic definitions and cites early use.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
CultureGrams
Subjects:
General Reference·
Communication·
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
Provides information more than 200 world countries, plus all U.S. states & Canadian provinces: includes maps, flags, anthems, symbols, history, climate, population, etc. Cultural information covers customs, etiquette, lifestyles etc.
Publisher: ProQuest
-
Salem Health: Magill's Medical Guide
Subjects:
Nursing, Medicine & Health·
Magill's Medical Guide is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.
Publisher: Salem Press
-
Salem History
Subjects:
History·
Salem History is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets.
Publisher: Salem Press
-
Salem Literature
Subjects:
English & Literature·
Includes access literary criticism and overviews via Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, Magill's Literary Annuals, and Masterplots publications.
Publisher: Salem Press
|