Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
-
AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
(2000 - current)
Subjects:
Science·
AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Publisher: McGraw-Hill
-
African American Experience
Subjects:
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
Provides access to numerous reference materials and primary resources related to African American history and culture.
Publisher: Greenwood
-
Biography Research Center
Subjects:
Biography·
Over 1.5 million biographies of people from throughout history, around the world and across all disicplines. Includes materials from Gale Group reference titles, full-text magazine articles, and the Complete Marquis Who's Who (r).
Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
-
Daily Life Online
Subjects:
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
English & Literature·
History·
Provides access to cross-disciplinary resources regarding numerous world cultures, showing how people lived their lives in the past and in the present. Allows for browsing by Region, Time Period, & Subject.
Publisher: Greenwood
-
First Search (Gateway)
Subjects:
Librarian Tools·
Collection of multiple electronic databases covering a variety of different subjects and materials. Select LIST ALL DATABASES to choose from among those available for use. The FirstSearch databases are made available through a program of the State Library of Arizona.
Publisher: OCLC
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Subjects:
General / All Subjects·
Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources, such as Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations, Encyclopedia of World Biography, World Education Encyclopedia, Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America.
Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
-
History Reference Center
(Varies - current)
Subjects:
Biography·
History·
History Reference Center is a full text history reference database for undergraduate research. It features full text for more than 2,400 reference books, 135 leading history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, photos, maps and video.
Publisher: EBSCOhost
-
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology
Subjects:
Science·
'It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compunds, and pure substances.'
Publisher: Knovel
-
Knovel Critical Tables
Subjects:
Science·
'This important, interactive knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 13,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have 385 solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have 500 compounds.'
Publisher: Knovel
-
Latino American Experience
Subjects:
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
Comprehensive online resource that features reference and scholarly works.
Publisher: Greenwood
-
Magill's Medical Guide
Subjects:
Medicine & Nursing·
Magill's Medical Guide is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.
Publisher: Salem Press
-
MasterFILE Premier
(Varies by publication - current)
Subjects:
General / All Subjects·
Provides full text for over 1,730 of periodicals. Coverage includes nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more.
Publisher: EBSCOhost
-
Merck Index
Subjects:
Science·
This standard reference for chemistry data is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Publisher: CambridgeSoft
-
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Subjects:
English & Literature·
General / All Subjects·
The Oxford English Dictionary is the ultimate authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases, unparalleled in its accuracy and comprehensiveness.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Art and Architecture
Subjects:
Arts & Humanities·
Searches 10 Art or Architecture reference titles including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Biological Sciences
Subjects:
Science·
Access to 10 biology reference sources including dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Classics
Subjects:
Arts & Humanities·
English & Literature·
History·
Access to 6 classics reference sources relating to the classical world including latin dictionaries and companions to classical literature and civilization.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Earth & Environmental Sciences
Subjects:
Science·
Provides access to 8 reference titles including dictionaries and companions to ecology, geography, weather, earth sciences, and the environment.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Economics and Business
Subjects:
Business·
Provides access to business and economics related dictionaries and handbooks including publications on accounting, statistics, finanance, economics, business management, and more.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Food and Nutrition
Subjects:
Medicine & Nursing·
Provides access to 3 reference resources related to food and nutrition.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - History
Subjects:
History·
Provides access to more than 25 history resources, primarily dictionaries, encyclopedias, and companions to particular aspects of Western history.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Law
Subjects:
Government & Law·
Provides access to 6 guides, companions, and dictionaries related to law, law enforcement, courts, and legal terminology.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Literature
Subjects:
English & Literature·
Access to 17 literature reference sources including dictionaries of literary terms and companions to national literatures.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Medicine
Subjects:
Medicine & Nursing·
Psychology·
Provides access to 8 medical reference sources related to the body, nutrition, medicine, public health, psychology, and sports medicine.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Military History
Subjects:
Military·
Provides access to reference sources primarily, but not exclusively, focused on US military history.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Mythology and Folklore
Subjects:
English & Literature·
Provides access to 8 mythology and folklore including dictionaries of regional and world mythology, superstitions, and fables.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Natural History
Subjects:
Science·
Provides access to 7 reference publications on plants and animal life.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Performing Arts
Subjects:
Music·
Arts & Humanities·
Provides access to 10 reference sources related to theatre, dance, music, and opera.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Physical Sciences & Mathematics
Subjects:
Science·
Provides access to 9 reference resources related to the physical sciences including astronomy, cosmology, chemistry, physics, space exploration, and mathematics.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Politics and Social Science
Subjects:
Government & Law·
Provides access to 20 reference sources related to politics and social sciences.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference - Religion and Philosophy
Subjects:
Religion & Philosophy·
Provides access to 10 religion and philosophy reference texts, including dictionaries and companions to various world religions and the bible.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference Online
Subjects:
General / All Subjects·
Provides keyword and subject access to over 175 key Oxford dictionaries, quotation collections and reference works. Comprehensive coverage of over 20 broad subject areas.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
ScienceDirect
(1998 - current)
Subjects:
Science·
Medicine & Nursing·
ScienceDirect provides access to science, technology and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.
Publisher: Elsevier
-
Smithsonian Physical Tables
Subjects:
Science·
This classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.
Publisher: Knovel
-
World Almanac
(1998 - current)
Subjects:
General / All Subjects·
A fundamental reference source. Dates covered: 1998 to the present; updated annually.
Publisher: OCLC
-
World Folklore & Folklife
Subjects:
Arts & Humanities·
Music·
History·
English & Literature·
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
This provides a wealth of resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as their geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.
Publisher: Greenwood
|
|