General Reference Databases
-
AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
(2000 - current)
Subjects:
Science·
AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Publisher: McGraw-Hill
-
Biography Research Center
Subjects:
Biography·
Over 1.5 million biographies of people from throughout history, around the world and across all disicplines. Includes materials from Gale Group reference titles, full-text magazine articles, and the Complete Marquis Who's Who (r).
Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
-
CollegeSource Online
(1994 - current)
Subjects:
Education·
Access to more than 39,000 course catalogs from U.S. and international colleges and universities. Includes complete cover-to-cover original page format of 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional schools, and international schools. Entries include a college profile and a link to their web page.
Publisher: Career Guidance Foundation
-
CQ Researcher
(1991 - current)
Subjects:
Contemporary Issues·
Government & Law·
Congressional Quarterly provides in-depth unbiased reports of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Publisher: CQ Press
-
Daily Life Online
Subjects:
History·
English & Literature·
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
Provides access to cross-disciplinary resources regarding numerous world cultures, showing how people lived their lives in the past and in the present. Allows for browsing by Region, Time Period, & Subject.
Publisher: Greenwood
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Subjects:
General / All Subjects·
Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources, such as Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations, Encyclopedia of World Biography, World Education Encyclopedia, Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America.
Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
-
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology
Subjects:
Science·
'It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compunds, and pure substances.'
Publisher: Knovel
-
Issues and Controversies
(1995 - current)
Subjects:
Contemporary Issues·
Provides current, in-depth, and objective information on contemporary issues. Coverage begins in 1995. This is the on-line version of the print Issues and Controveries collection on the Contemporary Issues Index table.
Publisher: Facts on File
-
Knovel Critical Tables
Subjects:
Science·
'This important, interactive knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 13,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have 385 solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have 500 compounds.'
Publisher: Knovel
-
Latino American Experience
Subjects:
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
Comprehensive online resource that features reference and scholarly works.
Publisher: Greenwood
-
Literature Criticism Online
Subjects:
English & Literature·
Provides full text access to Short Story Criticism and Drama Criticism.
Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
-
Magill's Medical Guide
Subjects:
Medicine & Nursing·
Magill's Medical Guide is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.
Publisher: Salem Press
-
Opposing Viewpoints
Subjects:
Contemporary Issues·
Current & controversial issues resource that provides access to 'viewpoint' articles, reference materials, magazines, newspapers, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia on current topices.
Publisher: Gale Cengage Learning
-
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Subjects:
English & Literature·
General / All Subjects·
The Oxford English Dictionary is the ultimate authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases, unparalleled in its accuracy and comprehensiveness.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
Oxford Reference Online
Subjects:
General / All Subjects·
Provides keyword and subject access to over 175 key Oxford dictionaries, quotation collections and reference works. Comprehensive coverage of over 20 broad subject areas.
Publisher: Oxford University Press
-
RefWorks
Subjects:
Librarian Tools·
English & Literature·
General / All Subjects·
RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool. It is designed to help gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. Visit the tutorials site to learn more.
Publisher: ProQuest
-
ScienceDirect
(1998 - current)
Subjects:
Medicine & Nursing·
Science·
ScienceDirect provides access to science, technology and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.
Publisher: Elsevier
-
World Almanac
(1998 - current)
Subjects:
General / All Subjects·
A fundamental reference source. Dates covered: 1998 to the present; updated annually.
Publisher: OCLC
-
World Cat Dissertations (First Search)
Subjects:
Librarian Tools·
All dissertations, theses, and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, on all subjects.
Publisher: OCLC
-
World Folklore & Folklife
Subjects:
Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies·
English & Literature·
Arts & Humanities·
Music·
History·
This provides a wealth of resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as their geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.
Publisher: Greenwood
-
WorldCat
Subjects:
Librarian Tools·
An OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. It contains all of the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries and offers millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages.
Publisher: OCLC
|
|