Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Study Skills and Strategies

Study Skills and Strategies

 

Student's Guide to Writing College Papers
by Turabian, Kate L; Colomb, Gregory G; Williams, Joseph M

9780226816302Kate L. Turabian; Gregory G. Colomb (Editor); Joseph M. Williams (Editor); University of Chicago Press Staff (Editor)Student's Guide to Writing College PapersHigh school students, two-year college students, and university students all need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. In the new fourth edition of Turabian's popular guide, the team behind Chicago's widely respected The Craft of Research has reconceived and renewed this classic for today's generation. Designed for less advanced writers than Turabian's Manual of Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition , Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams here introduce students to the art of defining a topic, doing high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging and solid college paper. The Student's Guide is organized into three sections that lead students through the process of developing and revising a paper. Part 1, "Writing Your Paper," guides students through the research process with discussions of choosing and developing a topic, validating sources, planning arguments, writing drafts, avoiding plagiarism, and presenting evidence in tables and figures. Part 2, "Citing Sources," begins with a succinct introduction to why citation is important and includes sections on the three major styles students might encounter in their work--Chicago, MLA, and APA--all with full coverage of electronic source citation. Part 3, "Style," covers all matters of style important to writers of college papers, from punctuation to spelling to presenting titles, names, and numbers. With the authority and clarity long associated with the name Turabian, the fourth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers is both a solid introduction to the research process and a convenient handbook to the best practices of writing college papers. Classroom tested and filled with relevant examples and tips, this is a reference that students, and their teachers, will turn to again and again. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - LB2369 .T8 2010
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - LB2369 .T8 2010
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers Book Cover




Critical Thinking Toolkit
by Caroselli, Marlene

9780814417409Marlene CaroselliThe Critical Thinking Toolkit: Spark Your Team's Creativity with 35 Problem Solving ActivitiesUnimaginative. Risk-adverse. Prone to group-think. These are not just empty complaints about today's employees. A recent article in Newsweek found solid data that proves a "creativity crisis" is plaguing America. Yet critical thinking, the ability to approach a problem both analytically and creatively, is the bedrock of success for companies and their people. Fortunately, it's a skill that can be learned. The Critical Thinking Tool Kit aims to get employees thinking better and faster with 35 hands-on activities and ready-to-use assessments. Team members work on challenging assumptions, brainstorming divergent ideas, and then pinpointing the ones that best benefit an organization. And they'll learn to do it in real-life speed--quickly! The training exercises in The Critical Thinking Tool Kit offer an invigorating departure from the everyday--with the potential for big payoffs in the form of enhanced "on-your-feet" thinking, innovative problem-solving, and profitable idea generation from everyone on the team. " - Description from Syndetics
Online
Critical Thinking Toolkit Book Cover




Guide to Learning and Study Skills
by Bingham, Rosie, Ms; Drew, Sue, Ms

9780566092336Sue Drew; Rosie BinghamThe Guide to Learning and Study Skills - For Higher Education and at WorkSkills in learning and studying are vital to ensure success in higher education study, whether at undergraduate or postgraduate level, in university, college or in the workplace. Skills are needed in reflection, analysis, communication and recording information to produce good work, to engage effectively in a group, to carry out a project or perform well in exams; personal skills are needed to handle time and pressure and to relate to others on a course or in the workplace. This new guide builds on the hugely successful materials the authors have developed over the last 15 years. Along with highly practical guidance on traditional learning skills, The Guide to Learning and Study Skills provides direction for students on learning in a blended environment; the increased use of personal and professional development planning, continuing professional development and work-based learning. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Guide to Learning and Study Skills Book Cover




Presentation Skills for Students
by Van Emden, Joan; Becker, Lucinda M

9780230243040Joan Van Emden; Lucinda M. BeckerPresentation Skills for Students Presentation Skills for Students is a practical, accessible guide for all students in further or higher education. It discusses speaking effectively in seminars, tutorials and formal presentations and helps with career research including a practical step-by-step guide to a successful job interview. Regular checklists and the friendly down-to-earth style make this an ideal reference tool. The second edition: -          reflects the changes in technology -          includes new material in the job search and job interviews chapter -          highlights the hazards of using social networking sites -          includes illustrations, which add both clarity and humor. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - PN4129.15 .V36 2010
Presentation Skills for Students Book Cover




How to Study in College
by Pauk, Walter; Owens, Ross J. Q

9781133960782Walter Pauk; Ross J. Q. OwensHow to Study in CollegeOver a million students have transformed adequate work into academic achievement with this best-selling text. HOW TO STUDY IN COLLEGE sets students on the path to success by helping them build a strong foundation of study skills, and learn how to gain, retain, and explain information. Based on widely tested educational and learning theories, HOW TO STUDY IN COLLEGE teaches study techniques such as visual thinking, active listening, concentration, note taking, and test taking, while also incorporating material on vocabulary building. Questions in the Margin, based on the Cornell Note Taking System, places key questions about content in the margins of the text to provide students with a means for reviewing and reciting the main ideas. Students then use this technique--the Q-System--to formulate their own questions. The Eleventh Edition maintains the straightforward and traditional academic format that has made HOW TO STUDY IN COLLEGE the leading study skills text in the market. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - LB2395 P3 2014
How to Study in College Book Cover




Learn to Listen; Listen to Learn 2: Academic Note-Taking
by Lebauer, R. Susan

9780138140007Roni S. LebauerLearn to Listen, Listen to Learn 2: Academic Listening and Note-Taking  The newly expanded Learn to Listen, Listen to Learn series prepares students for the rigors of academic classwork, helping them acquire the listening-comprehension and note-taking skills necessary for success.   This two-book series offers students valuable tips for getting the most from college lectures, including note-taking skills, organization of information, recognition of language cues, and the acquisition of vocabulary. Students are shown how a typical lecture is organized, using extensive excerpts and transcripts from authentic lectures on high-interest topics from a wide range of academic discipline.   Features: Includes new and updated material, including expanded vocabulary , extension, and post-lecture activities to encourage students to discuss, research, and write about ideas raised in the lectures. Teaches students how to recognize lecture organization , and how to evaluate and predict information. Focuses on the acquisition of vocabulary , especially from the Academic Word List, and on the recognition of language cues. Prepares students for academic testing with TOEFL-style test questions throughout the text.  Audio CDs are also available for this text. Click on the links to the left of this page to purchase the Audio CDs.   See also Learn to Listen, Listen to Learn 1 . - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - LB2393 .L434 2010
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - LB2393 .L434 2010
Learn to Listen; Listen to Learn 2: Academic Note-Taking Book Cover




Interpersonal Messages: Communication and Relationship Skills
by DeVito, Joseph A

9780205688647Joseph A. DeVitoInterpersonal Messages: Communication and RelationshipUpdated in a new 2nd edition, Interpersonal Messages stresses the importance of politeness, cultural awareness and ethical principles within daily interpersonal interactions by engaging students with its lively and accessible insight to interpersonal skill development. By creating a foundation for the reader, Interpersonal Messages gives room to understand the concepts of interpersonal communication and to develop the skills necessary to apply what they've learned. With a focus on skill-building, this book helps the reader to understand how to master interpersonal communication and relationship skills. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BF637 .C45 D5 2011
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BF637 .C45 D5 2011
Interpersonal Messages: Communication and Relationship Skills Book Cover







Goal Setting
by Wilson, Susan B; Dobson, Michael Singer

9780814401699Susan B. Wilson; Michael S. DobsonGoal Setting: How to Create an Action Plan and Achieve Your GoalsWhy is it that some people consistently seem to get more done than others? The answer is that they know how to set specific, achievable goals for themselves...and then follow through on them. This revised and updated edition of Goal Setting features worksheets, quizzes, and other practical tools, giving readers powerful techniques they can use to set a goal, make a plan, and acquire the resources and power necessary to achieve their objective. The book shows readers how to: act upon their objectives in a precise, targeted way * recognize obstacles and overcome them * become more assertive * change counterproductive behavior * establish priorities * make the most of their time Achieving goals takes hard work and discipline. This expanded edition of Goal Setting gives readers the tools and techniques to accomplish anything. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5549.5.G6 W55 2008
Online
Goal Setting Book Cover




Best Practices: Time Management
by Hoover, John

9780061145636John J. Hoover; John HooverTime Management: Set Priorities to Get the Right Things DoneThere are only twenty-four hours in a day, but you can make them count. Time Management, a comprehensive and essential resource for any manager on the run, shows you how. Learn to: Set and prioritize goals, objectives, and tasks Create an effective schedule Avoid distractions and interruptions Respect other people's time Build a time-conscious organization The Collins Best Practices guides offer new and seasoned managers the essential information they need to achieve more, both personally and professionally. Designed to provide tried-and-true advice from the world's most influential business minds, they feature practical strategies and tips to help you get ahead. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HD69.T54 H66 2007
Best Practices: Time Management Book Cover




Passing Exams for Dummies
by Sherratt, Patrick

9780730304425Patrick Sherratt; Jim SmithPassing Exams for Dummies®Release your potential and get better exam results Do you panic at the thought of exams? Do you think you're just not the academic type? No matter how old you are, exams can be stressful'but they don't need to be. This essential guide provides expert tips on how to change your mindset, improve how you learn and revise, control your anxiety, and get good marks'whether you're studying at school, college, or university, or to advance your career. In Passing Exams For Dummies , you'll get hands-on, expert help to find out what motivates you and how you learn best; make your brain more receptive to incoming information and cope with exam pressure and anxiety; improve your reading style and condense your notes using visual mapping techniques; learn association techniques using memory pegs; use visualization to mentally and physically rehearse passing your exams; and more. Fully updated to reflect new research in how the brain thinks, learns, and remembers Information on the key role that astrocytes play in learning and the five key principles for rapid learning (attention, sensory input, solid effort, emotion and time sequence) that get these astrocytes engaged more quickly Reworking of terminology used in the model of the mind to bring the book fully up to date and simplify the content If you're preparing for a school, college, university, or career-related exam, Passing Exams For Dummies has you covered. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - LB3060.57 .S54 2013
Online
Passing Exams for Dummies Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District