Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Career Planning

Online Career Planning Resources

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring detailed information of career salaries, outlooks, educational requirements and much more.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Choosing a career is a challenging decision. Many different professions can suit your skills, interests, and goals. Here you can learn about 94 different industries and career fields and thousands of professions to find the one right for you.

ONET Online

O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!

GCC Career and College Book Search

At the GCC Library, we have an entire collection of books and resources dedicated to helping students make informed career and college choices. This link takes you to a search box that will allow you to search this collection for resources.

GCC Career Databases

Here is a full listing with descriptions of the GCC Library's online career resources.



Career Planing Books

Top 100 Careers for College Graduates
by Farr, J. Michael

9781593573188Michael FarrTop 100 Careers for College Graduates, Seventh Edition: Your Complete Guidebook to Major Jobs in Many FieldsExplore 100 careers requiring four-year and higher degrees, assess which ones match your skills, and get the job you want quickly with this authoritative resource. In one time-saving volume, job seekers and students find everything they need to research careers; learn about pay, outlook, education, and skills needed for the 100 jobs; match their personal skills to the jobs; and take seven steps to land a good job in less time. This book provides thorough, current, and interesting descriptions of 100 major jobs for people with bachelor's and higher degrees. The jobs are organized into five groups: professional/doctoral degree, master's degree, bachelor's degree plus work experience, bachelor's degree, and jobs that may not require a bachelor's degree but are often held by college graduates. Each description is about two-to-three pages long and written as an easy-to-read narrative. A newly updated special book-within-a-book section describes the seven steps that cut job search time in half and includes sample targeted resumes by professional resume writers. A new, easy-to-use assessment matches your personal skills with the characteristics of the occupations described in the book. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5382.5.U5 F374 2007
Online
Top 100 Careers for College Graduates Book Cover




Bound-for-Career Guidebook
by Burtnett, Frank

9781607097600Frank BurtnettBound-for-Career Guidebook: A Student Guide to Career Exploration, Decision Making, and the Job SearchWhile the American workplace affords many and varied career options, the process of determining what to do with one's life remains a significant challenge. The Bound-for-Career Guidebook views career identification, selection, entry, and progression as part of a larger developmental process--the career development process. This book addresses the incredible importance that change plays in education and career. What we need to know and the skills required to perform our work roles are affected dramatically by change, and all workforce members must possess the ability to learn and adapt. Empowered students and workers are better able to guide themselves through their personal career journeys. The Bound-for-Career Guidebook, with its information and exercises, will point you in the direction of opportunities and options that are realistic, desirable, and achievable. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5382.5.U5 B874 2010
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5382.5.U5 B874 2010
Bound-for-Career Guidebook Book Cover




Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
by Ferguson Publishing

9780816085033Ferguson Publishing (Prepared for Publication by)Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition, 5-Volume SetThe five-volume Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition is an essential resource for public, college, high school, and junior high school libraries; career centers; guidance offices; and other agencies involved with career exploration and planning. Along with revisions and updates, each article has been expanded to a new, more comprehensive format, and many new articles have been added. Each article offers detailed career information, sidebars, and other user-friendly features, including a new Career Ladder, which shows common career paths for each profession, and new sections, such as Unions and Associations and Tips for Entry. Called out by graphic icons are the top fastest-growing careers and the top careers that experts predict will add the greatest number of positions. This edition features: Comprehensive overviews of 120 career fields and industries The latest information on job duties, salaries, and employment trends for more than 820 professions Sidebars providing additional reading on industry issues and history, useful Web sites, industry jargon, and much more Hundreds of photographs of people at work Career articles keyed to two different government classification systems Career Guidance section in Volume 1, providing information on interviewing, job hunting, networking, writing r#65533;sum#65533;s, and more A comprehensive job title index in each volume, plus additional indexes in Volume 1 Extensive online references Information on using social networking sites for job-hunting, electronic r#65533;sum#65533;s, and more. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLR - HF5381 .E52 2015
Glendale CC North Library - REF - HF5381 .E52 2015
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance Book Cover




The Top 100 Fastest-Growing Careers for the 21st Century
by Ferguson Publishing

9780816083596FergusonThe Top 100: The Fastest-Growing Careers for the 21st CenturyThe Top 100: The Fastest-Growing Careers for the 21st Century, Fifth Edition gives readers the inside scoop on jobs projected to experience the fastest growth, the greatest opportunity, and the best earnings through 2018, according to statistics from the U.S. Department of Labor. This informative resource examines a wide range of industries, including computers, education, engineering, finance, food, health care, and more, as well as job opportunities at various levels of skill and education. Each job article describes the job duties; required education, training, and skills; expected earnings; and much more. An introduction explains how the jobs were selected and includes overviews of the most popular career fields. Jobs covered include: Athletic trainers Biomedical engineers Computer software engineers Environmental engineers Financial examiners Home health aides Occupational therapist aides Personal financial advisors Physician assistants Veterinarians and more. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5382 .T59 2011
The Top 100 Fastest-Growing Careers for the 21st Century Book Cover







Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
by Ferguson Publishing

9780816085033Ferguson Publishing (Prepared for Publication by)Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition, 5-Volume SetThe five-volume Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition is an essential resource for public, college, high school, and junior high school libraries; career centers; guidance offices; and other agencies involved with career exploration and planning. Along with revisions and updates, each article has been expanded to a new, more comprehensive format, and many new articles have been added. Each article offers detailed career information, sidebars, and other user-friendly features, including a new Career Ladder, which shows common career paths for each profession, and new sections, such as Unions and Associations and Tips for Entry. Called out by graphic icons are the top fastest-growing careers and the top careers that experts predict will add the greatest number of positions. This edition features: Comprehensive overviews of 120 career fields and industries The latest information on job duties, salaries, and employment trends for more than 820 professions Sidebars providing additional reading on industry issues and history, useful Web sites, industry jargon, and much more Hundreds of photographs of people at work Career articles keyed to two different government classification systems Career Guidance section in Volume 1, providing information on interviewing, job hunting, networking, writing r#65533;sum#65533;s, and more A comprehensive job title index in each volume, plus additional indexes in Volume 1 Extensive online references Information on using social networking sites for job-hunting, electronic r#65533;sum#65533;s, and more. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLR - HF5381 .E52 2015
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance Book Cover




Salary Facts Handbook
by JIST Works

9781593575151JIST Works, Inc. Staff (Created by)Salary Facts Handbook: The Definitive Source of Pay Information on 800 JobsSalary Facts Handbook gives the most accurate and detailed pay information available on 800 jobs at 11 levels of education and training. No other resource matches its interesting, easy-to-use format; its vast and varied information; its many useful rankings of jobs by demographic, geographic, educational, and other criteria; and the size and validity of its information source. Highlights include: a quick salary finder with salaries for 800 jobs, including starting pay; mean and median pay; and wages by state, metropolitan area, and industry, pay-boosting advice to negotiate your best salary, learn if you are you underpaid, leverage your skills, and increase your pay, eye-opening lists to compare wages for jobs organized in interesting ways, including by training and education level, industry, and city. Discover how age, gender, veteran status, and other factors affect earnings. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HD4975 .S253 2008
Salary Facts Handbook Book Cover




Do What You Are
by Tieger, Paul D; Barron-Tieger, Barbara

9780316167260Paul D. Tieger; Barbara Barron-TiegerDo What You Are: Discover the Perfect Career for You Through the Secrets of Personality TypeAlready a classic in the genre, DoWhat You Are has helped hundreds of thousands of people find truly satisfying work. Do What You Are introduces Personality Type - how you process information, make decisions and interact with the world around you - and shows you which of the 16 types describes you best. It lists dozens of occupations that are popular with people of your type. Then, using workbook exercises and real-life examples to highlight the strengths and pitfalls of each personality type, it shows you step-by-step how touse your unique strengths to customise your job search,ensuring the best results in the shortest period of time.And if you plan to stay in your job, Do What You Are provides savvy advice for getting the most out of your current career.Every other career guide offers generic, one-size-fits-all advice. But because it is based on personality type, Do What You Are helps you determine what you need to be more successful and satisfied. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BF698.9.O3 T54 2007
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BF698.9.O3 T54 2007
Do What You Are Book Cover




Building Your Career: A Guide to Your Future
by Sears, Susan Jones; Gordon, Virginia N

9780137084524Susan J. Sears; Virginia N. GordonBuilding Your Career: A Guide to Your FutureThis text is for undergraduate courses in Career Development or Career Planning. The fourth edition of Building Your Career actively engages students in a new career decision-making model that involves reflecting, exploring, deciding and preparing for their immediate and long-term futures.Students progress through a process that uses the Internet and other hands-on activities to discover how their interests and strengths are compatible with the possible occupational and educational alternatives that they identify. Students also learn how to mount a job search and determine their readiness for the changing work world and the skills needed to succeed in the jobs of tomorrow. Instructors will find the process outlined in this book easily facilitates how they organize and develop their course. Supplemental materials and local information can be added to enhance the learning experience. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5381 .S449 2011
Building Your Career: A Guide to Your Future Book Cover




Work Your Strengths
by Martin, Chuck; Guare, Richard; Dawson, Peg

9780814414071Chuck L. Martin; Richard Guare; Peg DawsonWork Your Strengths: A Scientific Process to Identify Your Skills and Match Them to the Best Career for YouEver feel like you're in the wrong job, maybe even the wrong career? You may be right. But before you make another move, consider this: Your brain is hardwired with a unique combination of 12 different Executive Skills-the cognitive strengths that determine how well you will perform in a particular role. Your strongest and weakest Executive Skills can make the difference between big-time career success and years of disappointment and failure. Work Your Strengths helps you avoid "trial-and-error' career moves by matching your strengths to the jobs that call on those skills specifically. Based on the authors' two-year study of more than 2000 top-performers at hundreds of organizations of all types, from Fortune 500 companies to nonprofits, the book reveals which strengths correlate with success in different jobs. Take a one-time, free online profile to determine your unique strengths and weaknesses and then use that information to identify your ideal career path. Not ready for a move yet? Work Your Strengths can also make a world of difference in the job you're in now. It can help you not only focus on the projects best suited for you but also recognize skills in others and assign tasks accordingly. So whether you're planning a jump to the career of your dreams or justwondering how to make your current job easier and more rewarding, Work Your Strengths gives you the science and the system to find your success. " - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5381 .M3714 2010
Online
Work Your Strengths Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District