Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Landing the Job

Career and Job Search Video Collection

The GCC Library boast a significant Career and Job Search Video Collection.  Here are is a link to the full collection along with some helpful videos. 

Films on Demand: Career & Job Search

This collection contains hundreds of videos with focused collections on career exploration, career fields and industries, career success skills, and a substantive job searching skills section (including portions on job searching, resume/cover letter building, interviewing, and following-up).




Featured Books to Help You Land the Job

 

All Work, No Pay: Finding an Internship, Building Your Resume, Making Connections, and Gaining Job Experience
by Berger, Lauren

9781607741688Lauren BergerAll Work, No Pay: Finding an Internship, Building Your Resume, Making Connections, and Gaining Job ExperienceLand Killer Internships--and Make the Most of Them! These days, a college resume without internship experience is considered "naked." Indeed, statistics show that internship experience leads to more job offers with higher salaries--and in this tough economy, college grads need all the help they can get. Enter Lauren Berger, internships expert and CEO of Intern Queen, Inc., whose comprehensive guide reveals insider secrets to scoring the perfect internship, building invaluable connections, boosting transferable skills, and ultimately moving toward your dream career. She'll show you how to:   Discover the best internship opportunities, from big companies to virtual internships Write effective resumes and cover letters Nail phone, Skype, and in-person interviews Know your rights as an intern Use social networking to your advantage Network like a pro Impress your boss Get solid letters of recommendation Turn internships into job opportunities   With exercises, examples, and a go-getter attitude, this next-generation internship manual provides all the cutting-edge information students and recent grads will need to get a competitive edge in the job market. So what are you waiting for? - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5381 .B3647 2012
All Work, No Pay: Finding an Internship, Building Your Resume, Making Connections, and Gaining Job Experience Book Cover







The 2-Hour Job Search
by Dalton, Steve

9781607741701Steve DaltonThe 2-Hour Job Search: Using Technology to Get the Right Job FasterA job-search manual that gives career seekers a systematic, tech-savvy formula to efficiently and effectively target potential employers and secure the essential first interview. The 2-Hour Job Search shows job-seekers how to work smarter (and faster) to secure first interviews. Through a prescriptive approach, Dalton explains how to wade through the Internet's sea of information and create a job-search system that relies on mainstream technology such as Excel, Google, LinkedIn, and alumni databases to create a list of target employers, contact them, and then secure an interview--with only two hours of effort. Avoiding vague tips like "leverage your contacts," Dalton tells job-hunters exactly what to do and how to do it. This empowering book focuses on the critical middle phase of the job search and helps readers bring organization to what is all too often an ineffectual and frustrating process. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5382.7 .D35 2012
The 2-Hour Job Search Book Cover




Use your Head to Get Your Foot in the Door
by Mackay, Harvey

9781591843214Harvey MackayUse Your Head to Get Your Foot in the Door: Job Secrets No One Else Will Tell YouNew York Times, Wall Street Journal , and USA Today bestseller "You can have the finest moves in the talent contest, you can boast a trophy speed-dial list on your iPhone, you can possess the single-mindedness of Paul Revere and be as self-assured as Muhammad Ali . . . and you still won't nail the job unless you know how to mold and merchandise your personal pitch. If this is true when times are booming-and it is-you can only imagine how true it is in times like these." Harvey Mackay, Fortune magazine's "Mr. Make- Things-Happen," has written five New York Times bestsellers, including one of the most popular business books of all time- Swim with the Sharks Without Being Eaten Alive . Now he returns with the ultimate book on how to get, and keep, a job you truly love whether you're twenty-one, fifty-one, or seventy-one. The average person will have at least three career changes and ten different jobs by age thirty-eight. In this era of downsizing and outsourcing, you can never be sure your job will still exist in five years- or five weeks. So you'd better think of your career as a perpetual job search. That demands a passion for lifetime learning and the skills for relentless and effective networking. Mackay shows you how to be at your best when things are at their worst. His hard-hitting topics include: - beating rejection before it beats you - warning signals that you might be losing your job - acing interviews - negotiating the job you want not the job they offer - taking advantage of the way bosses make hiring decisions - blending the latest contact tools with old-fashioned face-to-face networking Uplifting, amusing, and jam-packed with proven tips, Use Your Head to Get Your Foot in the Door will guide you through the toughest job market in decades. It's also the definitive A-to-Z career resource for the rest of your life. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HF5382.7 .M324 2010
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5382.7 .M324 2010
Use your Head to Get Your Foot in the Door Book Cover




Knock 'em Dead Social Networking
by Yate, Martin John

9781440569715045079569713Martin YateSocial Networking: For Job Search and Professional SuccessNetwork your way to success! New York Times bestselling author Martin Yate has helped millions of job seekers land the job they want. Now, he shows you how to use his proven social networking strategies to build your brand and market your skills across an ever-growing network. Today, most employers use popular social media platforms like LinkedIn, Google+, Facebook, and Twitter for recruitment. With millions of professionals also social networking, it's essential to create a brand that stands out. With Knock 'em Dead Social Networking , you can learn how to integrate social networking into every aspect of your job search. You'll learn how to create compelling social media profiles that dramatically increase your visibility, how to build professionally relevant networks, and how to reach out directly to the hiring managers who can most influence your career. You'll develop networks that help you navigate a long work life, and gain greater control over your professional destiny. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5382.7 .Y37 2014
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5382.7 .Y37 2014
Knock 'em Dead Social Networking Book Cover




How to Write Better Resumes and Cover Letters
by Criscito, Pat

9781438001470Patricia K. CriscitoHow to Write Better Résumés and Cover LettersWritten by an expert career advisor, this book shows job seekers how to summarize and advertise their skills clearly and effectively for résumé presentation. But just as important, it also advises on how to get the most out of word processing software by using an appropriate typeface and a logical layout to produce an elegant and truly effective résumé. In today's job market, the résumé must also be Internet-friendly and adaptable for e-mail. Author Pat Criscito enlightens her readers with a virtually fail-safe 12-step process for producing that perfect résumé adaptable to all formats needed for a comprehensive job search. She also offers detailed advice on creating an attention-catching cover letter. Both beginners seeking their first job and professionals looking to advance their careers will find the help they're looking for in this newly updated edition. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5383 .C742 2013
How to Write Better Resumes and Cover Letters Book Cover




Crazy Good Interviewing
by Molidor, John B; Parus, Barbara

9781118295144John B. Molidor; Barbara Parus (As told to)Crazy Good Interviewing: How Acting a Little Crazy Can Get You the JobHow acting a little crazy and thinking outside of the box can get you the job you want Ever hear of a job candidate stretching out on the interviewer's floor to fill out an application? Or an applicant who sees nothing wrong with texting during the interview? Securing a job interview is a golden opportunity. The crazy-bad behavior described above will not net a job offer. Crazy Good Interviewing shows readers that crazy-good behavior, however, can make an applicant stand out favorably in a sea of mediocrity. Take the candidate who created a keynote presentation on his iPad to show what he could bring to the job or the one who created a DVD highlighting her abilities. Crazy Good Interviewing is a book geared toward those who are looking for work in this tough economy. Addresses how slightly eccentric behaviors can tip the scales in the applicant's favor Delves into how to access your three key strengths, how to use body language effectively, how to prepare a five-sentence history that builds a bridge to the interviewer, and more Turn just plain crazy into crazy-good, and land the job at your next interview. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5549.5 .I6 .M65 2012
Crazy Good Interviewing Book Cover







Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters
by Yate, Martin John

9781440536809045079536807Martin YateCover Letters: Cover Letter Samples and Strategies You Need to Get the Job You WantWrite a cover letter that will get you the interview In this newest edition of the bestselling cover letters guide, Martin Yate shows you how to dramatically increase your chances of landing an interview with a dynamic cover letter. Inside this book, you'll find all-new examples of cover letters and learn how to use his proven methods to: Determine the relevant keywords that will send your application to the top of database searches Effectively display your personal brand and the transferable skills you bring to a job Conduct a simple web search to find contact information and get your material in front of managers and recruiters Figure out when you should mail a hard copy of your application to the recruiter instead of sending an e-mail With the help of this trusted authority, you will finally be able to differentiate yourself from the competition and land the interview! - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5383 .Y378 2012
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5383 .Y378 2014
Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters Book Cover




The Elements of Resume Style
by Bennett, Scott

9780814433935Scott BennettThe Elements of Resume Style: Essential Rules for Writing Resumes and Cover Letters That WorkIt's amazing the misinformation found in most resume books! Scott Bennett has hired hundreds of people in a variety of industries, and he knows firsthand what kind of resume sparks an employer's interest-and which ones fail. In The Elements of Resume Style , he warns against popular "tricks' that tend to backfire-and instead shows readers how to craft clear, compelling, targeted resumes and cover letters that actually work. In this new edition, readers see that whether it's on paper or online, the rules are the same: use clear, dynamic language-and keep it short and focused. Now covering social media, the online application process, and more, this indispensable guide provides: More than 1,400 action words, statements, and position descriptions that help sell your skills and experience - Hundreds of words, phrases, and vague claims to avoid - Advice for handling employment gaps, job-hopping, and requests for salary history and requirements - Sample resumes, response letter, inquiry letter, informational interview request letter, references, and more - Surprising tips for acing the interview Competition is intense no matter what your field, but this candid book's time-tested tools will make you stand out-and help get you the job you deserve! " - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5383 .B423 2014
The Elements of Resume Style Book Cover




This is How to Get Your Next Job
by Kay, Andrea

9780814432211Andrea Kay; Richard N. Bolles (Foreword by)This Is How to Get Your Next Job: An Inside Look at What Employers Really WantEven in a bad economy, companies have job openings they can't fill. Considering the millions of people who are out of work or unhappily employed, how can that be?What are job seekers doing to turn off employers? And what is it that employers want but aren't finding? Leading career expert and syndicated columnist Andrea Kay asked employers one simple question: why didn't you hire the last ten people you interviewed? What it came down to, every time, wasn't a matter of skills or experience, but how applicants seemed based on what they said or did. From lack of preparation, to pushiness, to a subtly defensive attitude, it's the simple behaviors prospective employees exhibit before, during, and after interviews that stand between them and job offers. Based on candid insights from real-life employers, and featuring a foreword by Richard Nelson Bolles, bestselling author of What Color Is Your Parachute? , this book helps job hunters take control of how they come across to the people in charge of hiring. From "20 Things You Should Never Do' to a "Would You Hire You?' test, This Is How to Get Your Next Job helps readers show hiring managers who they are and why they're the perfect fit for the job they seek. " - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5382.7 .K39 2013
Online
This is How to Get Your Next Job Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District