Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Job Search

Career Database

 Databases with a focus on general career help.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Known for its unprecedented depth of coverage, this comprehensive career research database is organized into three main sections: through Industries and Careers, users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions.

Films on Demand: Career & Job Search

This collection contains hundreds of videos with focused collections on career exploration, career fields and industries, career success skills, and a substantive job searching skills section (including portions on job searching, resume/cover letter building, interviewing, and following-up).

Occupational Outlook Handbook Online

The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide the overwhelming majority of jobs in the United States.

Vocations & Careers Collection

Vocations & Careers Collection makes it easier for you by providing content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.




Career Books

Knock 'em dead social networking: for job search and professional success
by Yate, Martin John

9781440569715045079569713Martin YateSocial Networking: For Job Search and Professional SuccessNetwork your way to success! New York Times bestselling author Martin Yate has helped millions of job seekers land the job they want. Now, he shows you how to use his proven social networking strategies to build your brand and market your skills across an ever-growing network. Today, most employers use popular social media platforms like LinkedIn, Google+, Facebook, and Twitter for recruitment. With millions of professionals also social networking, it's essential to create a brand that stands out. With Knock 'em Dead Social Networking , you can learn how to integrate social networking into every aspect of your job search. You'll learn how to create compelling social media profiles that dramatically increase your visibility, how to build professionally relevant networks, and how to reach out directly to the hiring managers who can most influence your career. You'll develop networks that help you navigate a long work life, and gain greater control over your professional destiny. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5382.7 .Y37 2014 Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5382.7 .Y37 2014
Knock 'em dead social networking: for job search and professional success Book Cover




Promote yourself : the new rules for career success
by Schawbel, Dan

9781250044556Dan Schawbel; Marcus Buckingham (Foreword by, Introduction by)Promote Yourself: The New Rules for Career Success New York Times and Wall Street Journal Bestseller " Promote Yourself is a perfect read for young people starting their 'real' job, or veterans who want to up their game." ---Daniel H. Pink, #1 New York Times bestselling author of To Sell Is Human and Drive How people perceive you at work has always been vital to a successful career. Now with the Internet, social media, and the unrelenting hum of 24/7 business, the ability to brand and promote yourself effectively has become absolutely essential. No matter how talented you are, it doesn't matter unless managers can see those talents and think of you as an invaluable employee, a game-changing manager, or the person whose name is synonymous with success. So, how do you stand out and get ahead? The subtle and amazingly effective art of self-promotion is the razor-thin difference between success and failure. By drawing on exclusive research on the modern workplace and countless interviews with the most dynamic professionals, career guru and founder of Millennial Branding Dan Schawbel's Promote Yourself gives you the new rules for success, and answers your most pressing questions about your career: * What are managers really looking for? * What do you do if you're stuck at work? * How do you create a personal brand for professional success? * How do you use social media for networking to propel your career? Promote Yourself frees you from the outdated rules for getting ahead and lays out a step-by-step process for building a successful career in an age of ever-changing technologies and economic uncertainty. By basing your personal brand on the rock-solid foundation of hard, soft, and online skills that are essential to get the job done right and by knowing exactly what managers value, Schawbel provides you with the unique skills and message that you'll need today and for the rest of your career. Promote Yourself: The New Rules for Career Success is the definitive book on marketing yourself and building an outstanding career. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5381 .S2853 2013
Promote yourself : the new rules for career success Book Cover




Bound-for-career guidebook : a student guide to career exploration, decision making, and the job search
by Burtnett, Frank

9781607097600Frank BurtnettBound-for-Career Guidebook: A Student Guide to Career Exploration, Decision Making, and the Job SearchWhile the American workplace affords many and varied career options, the process of determining what to do with one's life remains a significant challenge. The Bound-for-Career Guidebook views career identification, selection, entry, and progression as part of a larger developmental process--the career development process. This book addresses the incredible importance that change plays in education and career. What we need to know and the skills required to perform our work roles are affected dramatically by change, and all workforce members must possess the ability to learn and adapt. Empowered students and workers are better able to guide themselves through their personal career journeys. The Bound-for-Career Guidebook, with its information and exercises, will point you in the direction of opportunities and options that are realistic, desirable, and achievable. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5382.5.U5 B874 2010
Bound-for-career guidebook : a student guide to career exploration, decision making, and the job search Book Cover




Answering tough interview questions for dummies
by Yeung, Rob

9781118679944Rob YeungAnswering Tough Interview Questions for Dummies®A guide to stunning your interviewer with perfect answers to stumping questions In today's competitive job market, a stellar interview lends you an edge over the competition, which can make or break your chances at a new career. Answering Tough Interview Questions For Dummies, 2nd Edition teaches you how to perform professionally and productively under stressful interview conditions. With this handy guide, you'll learn to breeze through tricky questions and accentuate your most impressive qualities. This updated second edition features a ten-step guide to having a great interview, ten tips for projecting confidence, ten techniques for trouble-shooting your job search, 200 tough sample interview questions with detailed advice and model answers, proven strategies to combat nerves, and guidelines for perfecting your social media presence and handling questions that may arise from an online search. There is no need to enter an interview feeling unprepared with this guide by your side. Rob Yeung's holistic approach helps you make a positive first impression Shows you how to prepare to answer questions regarding your online presences (and how to avoid embarrassing search results) Provides essential preparation so that you can familiarize yourself with tricky questions before embarking on the stressful interviewing process Whether you're an entry-level worker or a mid-level professional, Answering Tough Interview Questions For Dummies prepares you to blow the competition away with your poised and professional responses. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5549.5.I6 Y46 2014
Answering tough interview questions for dummies Book Cover




Knock 'em dead job interview
by Yate, Martin John

9781440536793045079536791Martin YateJob Interview: How to Turn Job Interviews into Job OffersLand the job you want! The interview is one of the most crucial moments of the job search experience and your chance to show your potential employer that you have what it takes to succeed in the position. In order to do that in today's highly competitive job search environment, though, you'll have to find a way to stand out from the crowd. Using his twenty-five years of experience, New York Times bestselling author Martin Yate has established a set of rules for job interviews that is sure to get you noticed. Instead of memorizing canned answers, Yate provides you with an explanation of the thought behind more than 300 questions and answers, so that you'll always know what the interviewer is really asking and how you should respond. Packed with information on handling stress questions and weird interview venues, this book also teaches you how to keep your cool--and confidence--from the moment you step inside the building. With Knock 'em Dead Job Interview , you will finally be able to differentiate yourself from the competition and score the job! - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5549.5 .I6 Y373 2013
Knock 'em dead job interview Book Cover




Career quizzes : 12 tests to help you discover and develop your dream career
by Liptak, John J.

9781593574444John J. LiptakCareer Quizzes: 12 Tests to Help You Discover and Develop Your Dream CareerCareer Quizzes helps readers look inside themselves and make better choices. A career counsellor for 20 years and one of the America's leading developers of career assessments, author John Liptak takes readers on a journey of self-discovery that will help them find work they love and develop their career from start to finish. Each chapter centers on an easy, fun, and revealing assessment that coaches job seekers through the successive steps in the career exploration and job search process. The book includes assessments of job satisfaction, work/life balance, career needs, interests and skills, work values, personality, entrepreneurial readiness, and much more. Most importantly, unlike many other assessment, based books on the market, Career Quizzes not only helps job seekers discover a rewarding career path, but it helps them walk that path as well. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5381.5 .L568 2008
Career quizzes : 12 tests to help you discover and develop your dream career Book Cover




What color is your parachute? : guide to job-hunting online
by Mark Emery Bolles and Richard Nelson Bolles

9781607740339Mark Emery Bolles; Richard N. BollesWhat Color Is Your Parachute? - Guide to Job-Hunting Online: Career Sites, Cover Letters, Gateways, Getting Interviews, Job Search Engines, Mobile Apps, Networking, Niche Sites, Posting Resumes, Research Sites, Super Sites and More Before you start your Internet job-hunt, there are some things that you must know, like:      *   Why are job sites like Monster and CareerBuilder so stunningly ineffective? *   What can you do to make sure your resumes survive the elimination process? *   How do you find the information that search engines like Google can't? *   How can you tell the difference between a genuinely helpful job board, and a website designed only to collect resumes? *   When are hobby forums more helpful than business networking sites? *   When is the Internet not helpful when job-hunting? *   What is the fatal flaw of all social networking sites?   The Guide to Job-Hunting Online, 6th Edition , not only answers these questions and many more, but shows you how to comprehensively and effectively use the Internet for all aspects of your job-hunt. This companion to What Color Is Your Parachute? , the best-selling job-hunting book in the world, has been completely rewritten for our changing times and includes hundreds of updated website recommendations and descriptions. The Guide to Job-Hunting Online shows you how to quickly find the data that will be most helpful to you, how to identify and research the places where you will most enjoy working, how to leverage the power of social networking sites, and how to use your Internet time most effectively, avoiding the common pitfalls and setting you up for success. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5382.75.U6 B65 2011
What color is your parachute? : guide to job-hunting online Book Cover




I don't know what I want, but I know it's not this : a step-by-step guide to finding gratifying work
by Jansen, Julie

9780143116998Julie JansenI Don't Know What I Want, but I Know It's Not This: A Step-by-Step Guide to Finding Gratifying WorkThe quintessential guide to kick-starting your career- now updated to address the challenges of today's economy With our current economic situation, more people are unemployed now than at any other time in recent history and many who do have jobs are overworked, maxed out, and miserable. In this revised and updated edition of I Don't Know What I Want, But I Know It's Not This , career coach Julie Jansen shows how anyone unhappy with their employment-or lack of-can implement a real and satisfying career transformation. A range of quizzes and per#65533;sonality exercises help readers to identify the type of work for which they're best suited, and then Jansen shows them how to transform this uncertain time from a period of crisis into an opportunity for positive change.. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5384 .J36 2010
I don't know what I want, but I know it's not this : a step-by-step guide to finding gratifying work Book Cover




Aptitude, personality and motivation tests [electronic resource] : analyse your talents and personality and plan your career
by Barrett, James

9780749458362James Barrett; Jim BarrettAptitude, Personality and Motivation Tests: Analyse Your Talents and Personality and Plan Your CareerIn today's competitive workplace more and more companies are using tests to vet job applicants and assess staff. It is essential that candidates gain the skills needed to perform to the best of their ability under test conditions.If you're about to sit such a test and you want to ensure that you come out of it well, or if you are just looking for some guidance on career choices, you'll find lots of spot-on advice in this 3rd edition of Aptitude Personality and Motivation Tests. It is packed with brand new and improved practice tests that will help build a profile of your personality, skills and abilities, so you are able to prepare for the real tests, find your ideal career, plan a career change or simply explore your potential. - Description from Syndetics
Ebsco HF5381.7 .B67 2009 EB Electronic Book
Aptitude, personality and motivation tests [electronic resource] : analyse your talents and personality and plan your career Book Cover







The Times ready made job search letters
by Williams, Lynn

9780749455750Lynn WilliamsThe Times Ready Made Job Search Letters: Winning Letters and E-mails to Help You Get Your Dream JobA well-written letter can help you to secure a job interview. It directs attention to your good points and away from your weaker ones, helping you to create the right impression and get your point across clearly and concisely. Whether you have considerable experience, are looking for a first job, or returning from a career break, you need to be able to write a professional, business-like letter. Your letter is the first thing that the employer sees, so the impression that they get at this stage will stay with them.This fully revised new edition of Readymade Job Search Letters gives advice on style, presentation, the best words to use, common mistakes to avoid, and writing effective email job applications. It will help you to make a favourable impression, inform, persuade and build a good relationship with the people you write to in order to get that interview. It also provides a wide selection of letters for different situations that can be adapted for individual use, such as: speculative enquiries to a company, requests for an introduction, replies to an advertised vacancy, applications for promotion, cover letters for CVs.Punchy and informative and with supporting online downloadable sample letters, Readymade Job Search Letters is essential kit for any serious job-hunter. - Description from Syndetics
Ebsco HF5383 .W55 2009 EB Electronic Book
The Times ready made job search letters  Book Cover




The career coward's guide to changing careers
by Piotrowski, Katy

9781593573904Katy PiotrowskiThe Career Coward's Guide to Changing Careers: Sensible Strategies for Overcoming Job Search FearsThe second book in the revolutionary Career Cowards series helps you tackle one of the most intimidating job search situations you might ever encounter: changing careers. Maybe you're unhappy with your current work, or maybe you've been laid off in an industry that is losing jobs. In her friendly and comforting style, career coach Katy Piotrowski walks you though all the basic steps of transitioning from your current career to a new one that you will love! You'll learn to identify several great-fit career options, make a confident choice about the best career, create a fun, doable career-change plan, and transition into your new career smoothly and successfully. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5384 .P56 2008
The career coward's guide to changing careers Book Cover




The Twitter job search guide
by Whitcomb, Susan Britton

9781593577919Susan B. Whitcomb; Chandlee BryanThe Twitter Job Search Guide: Find a Job and Advance Your Career in Just 15 Minutes a DayThis groundbreaking book, from three leading career experts, shows readers how they can gain momentum in their job searches and careers through "tweets" that consist of fewer characters than a standard text message. Readers learn how to exponentially increase the size of their personal and professional networks by exchanging ideas, demonstrating subject-matter expertise, enhancing their reputation, and developing a "fan club." As the definitive guide to using Twitter in the job hunt, this book addresses how individuals can build their professional brand, boost their online identity, find job leads, discover unadvertised positions, research companies, uncover industry trends, prepare for interviews, and raise their value as an expert in their field. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5382.7 .W486 2010
The Twitter job search guide Book Cover




The power formula for LinkedIn success : kick-start your business, brand, and job search
by Breitbarth, Wayne

9781608324330Wayne BreitbarthThe Power Formula for LinkedIn Success: Kick-Start Your Business, Brand, and Job SearchNEW EDITION AVAILABLE: Search for "The Power Formula for LinkedIn Success (Second Edition - Entirely Revised)" 2nd Edition of the world's most popular LinkedIn book Completely updated, expanded, and supplemented with 10 valuable new resources Tens of thousands have used Wayne Breitbarth's LinkedIn secrets to harness the power of LinkedIn. They've learned how to find (and be found by) the right people. This has resulted in lucrative new customers, great new jobs, and, of course--more income. And most people have only scratched the surface of LinkedIn's potential. In this updated and expanded 2nd Edition of his bestselling book The Power Formula for LinkedIn Success, Breitbarth includes LinkedIn's newest features and shares strategies for capitalizing on them. And if you think you're at a social-media disadvantage because you entered the business world before the rise of Facebook, this seasoned businessman shows you how just the opposite is true. Your experience and business network actually give you a leg up in harnessing the benefits of LinkedIn. As an added bonus, Breitbarth includes a 6-week, 2-hour-per-week startup plan and weekly maintenance plan that will motivate you to make the most of your time on LinkedIn. Whether you are an entry-level professional, a CEO, or anywhere in between, you can benefit from this practical introduction to a powerful networking tool. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HD30.37 .B74 2013
The power formula for LinkedIn success : kick-start your business, brand, and job search Book Cover




How to write better resumes and cover letters
by Criscito, Pat

9781438001470Patricia K. CriscitoHow to Write Better Résumés and Cover LettersWritten by an expert career advisor, this book shows job seekers how to summarize and advertise their skills clearly and effectively for résumé presentation. But just as important, it also advises on how to get the most out of word processing software by using an appropriate typeface and a logical layout to produce an elegant and truly effective résumé. In today's job market, the résumé must also be Internet-friendly and adaptable for e-mail. Author Pat Criscito enlightens her readers with a virtually fail-safe 12-step process for producing that perfect résumé adaptable to all formats needed for a comprehensive job search. She also offers detailed advice on creating an attention-catching cover letter. Both beginners seeking their first job and professionals looking to advance their careers will find the help they're looking for in this newly updated edition. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library HF5383 .C742 2013
How to write better resumes and cover letters Book Cover







Same-day résumé
by Farr, J. Michael

9781593573836Michael FarrSame-Day Resume Second Edition: Write an Effective Resume in an HourWhile other huge tomes bog down the busy job seeker with too much information, this compact guide gives the reader the essential tools to apply for jobs on the fly. Also includes advice on cover letters, JIST Cards, thank-you notes, online resumes, and job search strategies. This book includes: step-by-step instructions to write a great resume, dozens of sample resumes from professional writers, worksheets to organize your work history, cover letter tips, cards and thank-you notes coverage on steps for putting together Internet and scannable resumes, and tips to use your resume in the job search. - Description from Syndetics
Ebsco HF5383 .F322 2007 EB Electronic Book
Same-day résumé Book Cover




Resume, application and letter tips for people with hot and not-so-hot backgrounds
by Krannich, Ronald L; Krannich, Caryl Rae

9781570232404Ron Krannich; Caryl KrannichResume, Application and Letter Tips for People with Hot and Not-So-Hot Backgrounds: 150 Tips for Landing the Perfect JobEvery year, millions of people conduct a job search that involves writing resumes and letters and/or completing applications. However, many of these job seekers make numerous writing mistakes that prevent them from landing job interviews. Reflecting the experiences of many jobseekers, employers, and career experts, this book outlines 150 tips for creating more effective resumes, letters, and applications. Rich with quizzes, examples and websites. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5383 .K73 2006
Resume, application and letter tips for people with hot and not-so-hot backgrounds Book Cover




Knock 'em dead cover letters
by Yate, Martin John

9781440579066Martin YateCover Letters: Cover Letters and Strategies to Get the Job You WantGreat strategies for writing killer cover letters! At a time when every job seeker needs an edge, Martin Yate, CPC, shows you how to dramatically increase your chances of landing an interview with a dynamic cover letter. Using his 25+ years of experience, he has built a practical, easy-to-follow approach to creating every type of letter you will use in a job search. Inside this book, you'll find all-new examples of cover letters and learn how to use his proven methods to: Determine the relevant keywords that will send your application to the top of database searches Effectively display your personal brand and the transferable skills you bring to a job Conduct a simple web search to find contact information and get your material in front of managers and recruiters Figure out when you should mail a hard copy of your application to the recruiter instead of sending an e-mail With Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters, 11th Edition , you will grab employers' attention--and score the job you want! - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HF5383 .Y378 2014
Knock 'em dead cover letters Book Cover











Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District