Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Computer/Network Systems Analyst

Computer/Network Systems Analyst Books

Career guide for the high-tech professional
by Perry, David

9781564147431David PerryCareer Guide for the High-Tech Professional: Where the Jobs Are Now and How to Land ThemGetting the exact job you want with the company you want is either highly improbable or a cinch. It's highly improbable if you play by the old rules, a cinch if you play by the new rules and go about your task in the ways suggested by David Perry in Career Guide for the High-Tech Professional.If you're willing to look upon finding a job as a job unto itself, you're going to reap exceptional rewards from this book. It does not contain shortcuts, tricks, or anything unethical. But it does feature ultra-solid advice along with the rich details of landing the job of a lifetime.Career Guide for the High-Tech Professional is filled with job-finding wisdom and the actual things you must say in your cover letter, on your resume, and during your interviews. Nothing is left to chance. Every detail is covered. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5382.5.U5 P39 2004
Career guide for the high-tech professional Book Cover










Cracking the tech career: insider advice on landing a job at Google, Microsoft, Apple, or any top tech company
by McDowell, Gayle Laakmann

9781118968086Gayle Laakmann McDowellCracking the Tech Career: Insider Advice on Landing a Job at Apple, Microsoft, Google, or Any Top Tech CompanyBecome the applicant Google can′t turn down Cracking the Tech Career is the job seeker′s guide to landing a coveted position at one of the top tech firms. A follow-up to The Google Resume , this book provides new information on what these companies want, and how to show them you have what it takes to succeed in the role. Early planners will learn what to study, and established professionals will discover how to make their skillset and experience set them apart from the crowd. Author Gayle Laakmann McDowell worked in engineering at Google, and interviewed over 120 candidates as a member of the hiring committee - in this book, she shares her perspectives on what works and what doesn′t, what makes you desirable, and what gets your resume saved or deleted. Apple, Microsoft, and Google are the coveted companies in the current job market. They field hundreds of resumes every day, and have their pick of the cream of the crop when it comes to selecting new hires. If you think the right alma mater is all it takes, you need to update your thinking. Top companies, especially in the tech sector, are looking for more. This book is the complete guide to becoming the candidate they just cannot turn away. Discover the career paths that run through the top tech firms Learn how to craft the prefect resume and prepare for the interview Find ways to make yourself stand out from the hordes of other applicants Understand what the top companies are looking for, and how to demonstrate that you′re it These companies need certain skillsets, but they also want a great culture fit. Grades aren′t everything, experience matters, and a certain type of applicant tends to succeed. Cracking the Tech Career reveals what the hiring committee wants, and shows you how to get it. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HC79 .H53 M33 2014
Cracking the tech career: insider advice on landing a job at Google, Microsoft, Apple, or any top tech company Book Cover




Tech job hunt handbook: career management for technical professionals
by Grossman, Kevin W; Ross, Doug

9781430245483Kevin W. GrossmanTech Job Hunt Handbook: Career Management for Technical ProfessionalsTech Job Hunt Handbook is a career management book--just for technology professionals--that reflects today's new economic realities. The world of work is constantly changing, and staying professionally relevant while competing for more specialized tech jobs in areas like cloud computing, mobile and social applications, and big data in a highly competitive global economy is critical. The world is churning out hungry programmers and developers in record numbers, making the global labor market highly competitive. It is now essential to plan a campaign to get a better job as well as your overall career. Retooling your skills and re-branding yourself is mandatory whether you're seeking a new job or intent on retaining current employment. Readers of the Tech Job Hunt Handbook will find tools, practical guidance, and recommendations on how to find the best new tech jobs, how to get noticed, how to ace interviews and get hired, and how to keep those new jobs--until it's time for a better one. As you will learn, learning how to assess and then invest in career management skills leads to long-term competitive advantage and a happier working life. Tech Job Hunt Handbook--for recent graduates, risk-taking innovators, and tech veterans alike--shows how to build a comprehensive online professional profile, identify the companies you're interested in and who you know at those companies, approach interviews with confidence, uncover opportunities in your current company, and understand the new emerging technology markets that could lead to a career rebirth. This book will help you: Find a new or better tech job. Stay relevant and employable despite constant new developments. Manage your tech career for long-term success. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5382.7 .G76 2012
Tech job hunt handbook: career management for technical professionals Book Cover




Find an IT job: information technology careers from bioinformatics to web design
by Love, Paul E.

9781475283679Paul LoveFind an IT Job: Information Technology Careers from Bioinformatics to Web DesignInformation Technology encompasses a wide variety of careers - so many that people looking for a job in IT may not be aware of all the choices. Information Technology includes jobs ranging from systems design and computer programming to network administration, cyber security, health informatics, computer forensics, technical writing, and web design. There are literally dozens of options available.This book offers a quick overview of some of these possible IT careers to give you an idea of what each job involves, what the job market is like and which careers may match your interests and qualifications. Each job summary covers the educational or other background needed to get hired in that field, as well as the type of daily tasks involved and what skills are necessary. There are also tips on how to get started in a particular field, including information about on-line tutorials, instructional videos, books, certifications, and college courses.In addition to the job summaries, this book deals with which social networking sites can be the most help to you, which IT skills are the most in demand, and which are the most beneficial certifications to have. There are also some suggestions on how to land that job in IT and a list of additional resources - web sites, books, forums, videos, and other material that may be useful to you.Just remember - once you get a job in whatever IT career field you choose, be prepared to continue learning. IT professionals need to absorb new concepts almost every day in order to keep up with the constant and rapid changes in Information Technology. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - QA76.25 .L68 2012
Find an IT job: information technology careers from bioinformatics to web design Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District