Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Books

A Short Guide to Writing About Literature
by Barnet, Sylvan and Cain, William E.

Emphasizing writing as a process and incorporating new critical approaches to literature, A Short Guide to Writing about Literature, provides accessible, step-by-step instruction for improving students' written work related to literature. Ideal as a supplement to any course where writing about literature or literary studies is emphasized.
Glendale CC Library General PE1479.C7 B3 2000
A Short Guide to Writing About Literature Book Cover




Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
by Baldick, Chris

The best-selling Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms (formerly the Concise dictionary) provides clear and concise, and often witty definitions of the most troublesome literary terms from abjection to zeugma. It is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language.
Glendale CC Library General PN41 .C67 2008
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms Book Cover




A Handbook to Literature
by Harmon, William and Thrall, William Flint

This handbook provides an alphabetical listing of more than 2000 important terms and facts in literature, linguistics, rhetoric, criticism, printing, bookselling, and information technology.
Glendale CC Library General PN41 .H355 2003
A Handbook to Literature Book Cover




A Handbook of Critical Approaches to Literature
by Guerin, Wilfred L.

This handbook provides an overview of literacy criticism covering a wide variety of approaches.
Glendale CC Library General PN81 .G8 1992
A Handbook of Critical Approaches to Literature Book Cover




Masterplots
by Mazzeno, Laurence W., editor

A classic reference work for more than sixty years, Masterplots provides fundamental reference data, plot synopses and critical evaluations of the most important works in all genres throughout history and around the world.
Glendale CC Library Reference PN44 .M33
Masterplots Book Cover




Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
by Gale Research Company

As a convenient source of wide-ranging critical opinion on early literature, this series contains excerpts from criticism through the ages on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians and writers.
Glendale CC Library Reference PN88 .C552
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism Book Cover




Nineteenth-century Literature Criticism
by Harris, Laurie Lanzen and Gale Research Company

This series provides critical responses to the works of nineteenth-century authors.
Glendale CC Library Reference PN761 .N56
Nineteenth-century Literature Criticism Book Cover




Contemporary Literary Criticism
by Riley, Carolyn, editor

Series provides readers with critical commentary and general information on more than 2,000 authors.
Glendale CC Library Reference PN771 .C59
Contemporary Literary Criticism Book Cover




Twentieth-century Literary Criticism
by Gale Research Company

This series provides critical responses to the works of twentieth-century authors.
Glendale CC Library Reference PN771 .T86
Twentieth-century Literary Criticism Book Cover




Poetry Criticism
by Gale Research Inc.

Each volume of this reference provides substantial critical essays and biographical information on four to eight major poets from all eras.
Glendale CC Library Reference PN1010 .P499
Poetry Criticism Book Cover




Drama Criticism
by Gale Research Inc.

Series assembles critical responses to the writings of the world's most renowned playwrights and provides supplementary biographical context and bibliographic material to guide the reader to a greater understanding of the genre and its creators. Each volume of this resource covers four to eight significant dramatists or plays.
Glendale CC Library Reference PN1601 .D59
Drama Criticism Book Cover




Short Stories for Students
by Gale Research Inc

Contains concise synopses of the storys plot, characters and themes, along with a brief author biography, a discussion of the storys cultural and historical significance and excerpted criticism.
Glendale CC Library Reference PN3373 .S56
Short Stories for Students Book Cover




Novels for Students
by Gale Research Inc.

Series contains easily accessible and content-rich discussions of the literary and historical background of works from various cultures and time periods.
Glendale CC Library Reference PN3385 .N68
Novels for Students Book Cover




Shakespearean Criticism : Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and poetry, from the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations
by Harris, Laurie Lanzen. Scott, Mark W. and Gale Research Company

This detailed series provides comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of the plays and poems of William Shakespeare.
Glendale CC Library Reference PR2965 .S43
Shakespearean Criticism : Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare's Plays and poetry, from the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations Book Cover




Magill's Survey of American Literature
by Kellman, Steven G.,editor

A unique combination of biography and critical analysis, Magill's Survey of American Literature is an indispensable guide.
Glendale CC Library Reference PS21 .M34
Magill's Survey of American Literature Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District