Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Check These Books Out

Browse the Contemporary Issues Collection

Many books compile materials that support both sides of a particular issue. Examples include titles in the following series.You  can browse this material by clicking on the links below. 

  • Opposing Viewpoints
  • Current Controversies
  •  At Issues
  •  Contemporary World Issues

GCC Main

GCC North



Featured Titles

IJournalism
by Espejo, Ramón

9780737769555Ramon EspejoJournalismEach title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This volume of Oppposing Viewpoints discusses the changing face of journalism. The Internet has revolutionized the way we view media, and this text explores the ethical issues facing journalism today, how jourmalism should be practiced and journalists be; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model...not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & GCC North
IJournalism Book Cover




LGBT youth issues today : a reference handbook
by Newton, David E.

9781610693158David E. NewtonLGBT Youth Issues Today: A Reference HandbookThe increasing numbers of LGBT teenagers who choose to live their lives as "out" youth face unique issues within their schools, families, and communities. This book provides information that will help LGBT youth overcome their challenges and give non-LGBT youth a better understanding of sexual identities different from their own. * Addresses the major issues faced by LGBT youth, such as gaining acceptance of their sexual identity in the school environment or finding a means to survive after rejection by their family members * Examines historic societal attitudes toward same-sex relationships involving young people, allowing readers to grasp how the general population's thinking has evolved * Reviews and discusses the findings of literature on the causes of homelessness and suicidal ideation among LGBT youth * Presents examples of ways in which LGBT youth have developed the skills that enable them to deal with their unique issues and concerns * Includes an extensive list of resources and organizations that can provide additional information and assistance to both LGBT and non-LGBT individuals - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & GCC North
LGBT youth issues today : a reference handbook  Book Cover




Sexual assault on campus
by Lasky, Jack, editor.

9780737775600Jack Lasky; Greenhaven Press Staff (Contribution by)Sexual Assault on CampusOpposing Viewpoints Series For over 25 years, the Greenhaven Press Opposing Viewpoints Series has developed and set the standard for current-issue studies. With more than 90 volumes covering nearly every controversial contemporary topic, Opposing Viewpoints is the leading source for libraries and classrooms in need of current-issue materials. Each title explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications. By choosing from such diverse sources and including both popular and unpopular views, the Opposing Viewpoints editorial team has adhered to its commitment to editorial objectivity. Readers are exposed to many sides of a debate, which promotes issue awareness as well as critical thinking. In short, Opposing Viewpoints is the best research and learning tool for exploring the issues that continually shape and define our turbulent and changing world. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main GCC North
 Sexual assault on campus Book Cover










Encyclopedia of bioethics
by Post, Stephen Garrard

These volumes cover ethical issues in the areas of medicine and biology such as abortion, drug abuse, and euthanasia.
GCC Main-Reference
Encyclopedia of bioethics Book Cover








Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District