Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Children's Literature Overview

Children's Literature and Literacy

CC image on Flickr, "Children's Literature is central to children's literacy." by Denise Krebs

Children's Literature and Literacy Image

Children's Books (Juvenile Materials)

LINK to catalog search of children's books

Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature

A-Z Guide to Topical Articles

Children's Literature in Education - Journal

Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience.

Kay Vandergrift's Children's Literature Page

Kay Vandergrift's Social History of Children's Literature

History of Children's Literature, Facsimiles of historical children's books, Early illustrators, and more.

American Library Association - Book, Print & Media Awards

International Children's Digital Library

The ICDL Foundation promotes tolerance and respect for diverse cultures by providing access to the best of children's literature from around the world.

Papers: Explorations into Children's Literature - Journal

A scholarly publication devoted to critical essays on childre.'s literature, published three times a year. Articles include evaluations, history, and comparative discussion.



Children's Literature Overview Resources - Pearltrees

Children's Literature Overview, by kpastores


Books on Children's Literature

Children's literature: classic texts and contemporary trends
by Montgomery and Watson

Provides students with high quality critical material on a selection of important classic and contemporary children's books. From Louisa May Alcott's Little Women to J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone to Melvin Burgess's Junk, each has been selected because they are children's favorites and because they are widely studied on university courses. These case studies explore children's literature across a variety of genres and ages. - Description from Syndetics
GCC and GCC North
Children's literature: classic texts and contemporary trends Book Cover




Children's and YA Books in the College Classroom
by Dial-Driver, Ford and Beam

Describes how to use such works as Where the Wild Things Are, The Tale of Peter Rabbit, Swamp Thing, Percy Jackson, and Harry Potter to introduce complex concepts and spark interest in difficult subjects. The contributors describe innovative teaching strategies using dystopian fiction, graphic narratives, fairy tales and mythology. Often overlooked or dismissed by teachers, children's literature can support student learning by raising levels of academic rigor, creativity and critical thinking. - Description from Syndetics
GCC
Children's and YA Books in the College Classroom Book Cover




Children's literature: a reader's history, from Aesop to Harry Potter
by Seth Lerer

"Children s Literature "charts the makings of the Western literary imagination from Aesop s fables to Mother Goose, from "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" to Peter Pan, from "Where the Wild Things Are "to Harry Potter. The only single-volume work to capture the rich and diverse history of children s literature in its full panorama, this extraordinary book reveals why J. R. R. Tolkien, Dr. Seuss, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Beatrix Potter, and many others, despite their divergent styles and subject matter, have all resonated with generations of readers. - Description from Syndetics
eBook
Children's literature: a reader's history, from Aesop to Harry Potter Book Cover







Everything I need to know I learned from a Children's Book
by Anita Silvey

"What children's book changed the way you see the world?" Anita Silvey asked this question to more than one hundred of our most respected and admired leaders in society, and she learned about the books that shaped financiers, actors, singers, athletes, activists, artists, comic book creators, novelists, illustrators, teachers... With its full color excerpts of beloved children's books, this book is a treasury and a guide. - Description from Syndetics
GCC and GCC North
Everything I need to know I learned from a Children's Book Book Cover







Wonderfully Wordless, The 500 Most Recommended Graphic Novels and Picture Books
by Martin, William Patrick

Wonderfully Wordless is the ultimate guide to wordless and almost wordless books. Its 500 exemplary titles are a composite of 140 sources including recommendations from reference books, award lists, book reviews, professional journals, literary blogs, and the collections of many of the most prominent libraries in the United States and the English-speaking world. Wonderfully Wordless is organized by theme and format and readers should have no problem zeroing in on their favorite topics. There is a full spectrum of wordless fiction and nonfiction, concept books, visual puzzles, board books, cloth books, woodcut novels, graphic novels, and more." - Description from Syndetics
GCC
Wonderfully Wordless, The 500 Most Recommended Graphic Novels and Picture Books Book Cover




Databases that relate to Children's Literature

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

Provides literary overviews, biographies, and criticism for more the 128,000 writers; includes index to extensive Gale literary series.

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

World Folklore & Folklife

Resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District