Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Children's Folklore - Fairy Tales

Folklore - Fairy Tales

Folklore - Fairy Tales Image

Fairy Tales

 Perrault, Anderson, Grimm, and ...

The complete fairy tales / Charles Perrault ; translated with an introduction and notes by Christopher Betts.
by Perrault

A pumpkin is transformed into a coach. Bluebeard's young wife unlocks the door of the forbidden room. Children lost in the forest find shelter, but the house belongs to an ogre. These and many other scenes from the stories of Charles Perrault reach deep into the imagination and are never forgotten. This superb translation by Christopher Betts exactly captures the tone and flavor of Perrault's world, and the delightful spirit of the originals. In addition to the classic prose tales--including The Sleeping Beauty in the Wood, Little Red Riding-Hood, Bluebeard, Puss in Boots, Cinderella, and Hop o' my Thumb--this new translation adds Perrault's tales in verse: a long poem on the subject of Patient Griselda; the notorious Donkey-Skin, often expunged from nineteenth-century collections; and the comic Three Silly Wishes. - Description from Syndetics
eBook and print; GCC and GCC North
The complete fairy tales / Charles Perrault ; translated with an introduction and notes by Christopher Betts. Book Cover
















Fairy Tales From Before Fairy Tales : The Medieval Latin Past of Wonderful Lies
by Jan Ziolkowski

9780472025220Jan M. ZiolkowskiFairy Tales from Before Fairy Tales: The Medieval Latin Past of Wonderful LiesWhen did fairy tales begin? What qualifies as a fairy tale? Is a true fairy tale oral or literary? Or is a fairy tale determined not by style but by content? To answer these and other questions, Jan M. Ziolkowski not only provides a comprehensive overview of the theoretical debates about fairy tale origins but includes an extensive discussion of the relationship of the fairy tale to both the written and oral sources. Ziolkowski offers interpretations of a sampling of the tales in order to sketch the complex connections that existed in the Middle Ages between oral folktales and their written equivalents, the variety of uses to which the writers applied the stories, and the diverse relationships between the medieval texts and the expressions of the same tales in the "classic" fairy tale collections of the nineteenth century. In so doing, Ziolkowski explores stories that survive in both versions associated with, on the one hand, such standards of the nineteenth-century fairy tale as the Brothers Grimm, Hans Christian Andersen, and Carlo Collodi and, on the other, medieval Latin, demonstrating that the literary fairy tale owes a great debt to the Latin literature of the medieval period. Jan M. Ziolkowski is the Arthur Kingsley Porter Professor of Medieval Latin at Harvard University. - Description from Syndetics
eBook
Fairy Tales From Before Fairy Tales : The Medieval Latin Past of Wonderful Lies Book Cover










Resources on Fairy Tales

Hans Christian Andersen

Full-text of many of Andersen's tales, along with biographical info on the author.

Grimm Brothers

Gives a chronology of the Grimm Brother's works as well as links to Children's and Household Tales.

SurLaLune Fairy Tale Pages

Classic fairy tales, annotated, with material on fairy tale studies. Full text.

Snow White Analysis

Full-text, analysis and teaching materials related to the story, from Rutgers University. Full text. From Kay Vandergrift.




Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District