Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Specialized Resources

One Search

Enter Search Terms to Begin Finding Resources

  

            

 

 

Helpful Hints:

One search strategy would be to enter in your area of interest and add: AND Mexico. For instance, if your topic is Politics, type in Politics AND Mexico. Doing so will require your results to include both terms, effectively narrowing your politics search to those items that mention Mexico.




Featured Online Resources

Below are a few of the specialized databases we carry in the library that can be particularly helpful when studying the country and culture of Mexico.  However, you might find additional helpful databases on our Databases by Subject page.

ARTstor

Access to artistic images including African-American, American, Classical, and Literary Studies collections as well as Music history, Photography and many more collections.

Biography In Context

Over 1.5 million biographies of people from throughout history, around the world and across all disciplines; includes audio, video, and images.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Films On Demand

Provides access to more than 6000 films in various subjects from Films for the Humanities & Sciences and other leading educational film vendors.

Latino American Experience Online

Dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos; explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the US.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

Provides literary overviews, biographies, and criticism for more the 128,000 writers; includes index to extensive Gale literary series.

World Folklore & Folklife

Resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.




Featured Books in the Library

 

Mexico Guidebook
by Noble, John

9781742208060John NobleMexico #1 best-selling guide to Mexico Lonely Planet Mexico is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Explore the Maya ruins and superb beaches of Tulum, savour regional specialities amid the colonial charms of Merida or party hard at the dazzling resort of Puerto Vallarta; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Mexico and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet's Mexico Travel Guide: Color maps and images throughout Highlights and itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential info at your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - history, ancient civilizations, economy, education, the drugs war, religion, sports, architecture, sculpture, painting, music, cinema, literature, folk art, food and drink, landscape, wildlife, environment Over 120 maps Covers Mexico City, Veracruz, Yucatan Peninsula, Chiapas, Oaxaca, central Pacific coast, central highlands, baja California, Copper Canyon and more The Perfect Choice: Lonely Planet Mexico , our most comprehensive guide to Mexico , is perfect for both exploring top sights and taking roads less traveled. Looking for a guide focused on Cancun Cozumel & the Yucatan? Check out Lonely Planet's Cancun Cozumel & the Yucatan guide for a comprehensive look at all these areas have to offer. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet, Sandra Bao. About Lonely Planet: Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveler community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travelers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves. *Best-selling guide to Mexico. Source: Nielsen BookScan. Australia, UK and USA. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - F1209 .N59 2014
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - F1209 .N59 2014
Mexico Guidebook Book Cover




Manana Forever?: Mexico and the Mexicans
by Castaneda, Jorge G

9780375404245Jorge G. CastañedaMañana Forever?: Mexico and the MexicansWhy are Mexicans so successful in individual sports, but deficient in team play? Why do Mexicans dislike living in skyscrapers? Why do Mexicans love to see themselves as victims, but also love victims? And why, though the Mexican people traditionally avoid conflict, is there so much violence in a country where many leaders have died by assassination? In this shrewd and fascinating book, the renowned scholar and former foreign minister Jorge Castañeda sheds much light on the puzzling paradoxes of his native country. Here's a nation of 110 million that has an ambivalent and complicated relationship with the United States yet is host to more American expatriates than any country in the world. Its people tend to resent foreigners yet have made the nation a hugely popular tourist destination. Mexican individualism and individual ties to the land reflect a desire to conserve the past and slow the route to uncertain modernity. Castañeda examines the future possibilities for Mexico as it becomes more diverse in its regional identities, socially more homogenous, its character and culture the instruments of change rather than sources of stagnation, its political system more open and democratic. Mañana Forever? is a compelling portrait of a nation at a crossroads. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - F1210 .C425 2011
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - F1210 .C425 2011
Manana Forever?: Mexico and the Mexicans Book Cover




Singing for the Dead: the Politics of Indigenous Revival in Mexico
by Faudree, Paja

9780822354314Paja FaudreeSinging for the Dead: The Politics of Indigenous Revival in MexicoSinging for the Dead chronicles ethnic revival in Oaxaca, Mexico, where new forms of singing and writing in the local Mazatec indigenous language are producing powerful, transformative political effects. Paja Faudree argues for the inclusion of singing as a necessary component in the polarized debates about indigenous orality and literacy, and she considers how the coupling of literacy and song has allowed people from the region to create texts of enduring social resonance. She examines how local young people are learning to read and write in Mazatec as a result of the region's new Day of the Dead song contest. Faudree also studies how tourist interest in local psychedelic mushrooms has led to their commodification, producing both opportunities and challenges for songwriters and others who represent Mazatec culture. She situates these revival movements within the contexts of Mexico and Latin America, as well as the broad, hemisphere-wide movement to create indigenous literatures. Singing for the Dead provides a new way to think about the politics of ethnicity, the success of social movements, and the limits of national belonging. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - F1221 .M35 F38 2013
Singing for the Dead: the Politics of Indigenous Revival in Mexico Book Cover




Mexico's Once and Future Revolution
by Joseph, G. M; Buchenau, Jurgen

9780822355175Gilbert M. Joseph; Jürgen BuchenauMexico's Once and Future Revolution: Social Upheaval and the Challenge of Rule since the Late Nineteenth CenturyIn this concise historical analysis of the Mexican Revolution, Gilbert M. Joseph and J#65533;rgen Buchenau explore the revolution's causes, dynamics, consequences, and legacies. They do so from varied perspectives, including those of campesinos and workers; politicians, artists, intellectuals, and students; women and men; the well-heeled, the dispossessed, and the multitude in the middle. In the process, they engage major questions about the revolution. How did the revolutionary process and its aftermath modernize the nation's economy and political system and transform the lives of ordinary Mexicans? Rather than conceiving the revolution as either the culminating popular struggle of Mexico's history or the triumph of a new (not so revolutionary) state over the people, Joseph and Buchenau examine the textured process through which state and society shaped each other. The result is a lively history of Mexico's "long twentieth century," from Porfirio D#65533;az's modernizing dictatorship to the neoliberalism of the present day. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - F1234 .J835 2013
Mexico's Once and Future Revolution Book Cover




Food Culture in Mexico
by Long, Janet; Vargas, Luis Alberto

9780313324314Luis Alberto Vargas; Janet Long-SolisFood Culture in MexicoSince ancient times, the most important foods in the Mexican diet have been corn, beans, squash, tomatillos, and chile peppers. The role of these ingredients in Mexican food culture through the centuries is the basis of this volume. In addition, students and general readers will discover the panorama of food traditions in the context of European contact in the sixteenth century--when the Spaniards introduced new foodstuffs, adding variety to the diet--and the profound changes that have occurred in Mexican food culture since the 1950s. Recent improvements in technology, communications, and transportation, changing women's roles, and migration from country to city and to and from the United States have had a much greater impact.Their basic, traditional diet served the Mexican people well, providing them with wholesome nutrition and sufficient energy to live, work, and reproduce, as well as to maintain good health. Chapter 1 traces the origins of the Mexican diet and overviews food history from pre-Hispanic times to recent developments. The principal foods of Mexican cuisine and their origins are explained in the second chapter. Mexican women have always been responsible for everyday cooking, including the intensive preparation of grinding corn, peppers, and spices by hand, and a chapter is devoted to this work and a discussion of how traditional ways are supplemented today with modern conveniences and kitchen aids such as blenders and food processors. Surveys of class and regional differences in typical meals and cuisines present insight into the daily lives of a wide variety of Mexicans. The Mexican way of life is also illuminated in chapters on eating out, whether at the omnipresent street stalls or at fondas, and special occasions, including the main fiestas and rites of passage. A final chapter on diet and health discusses current health concerns, particularly malnutrition, anemia, diabetes, and obesity. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GT2853.M6 L66 2005
Online
Food Culture in Mexico Book Cover




The Fight to Save Juarez: Life in the Heart of Mexico's Drug War
by Ainslie, Ricardo C

9780292738904Ricardo C. AinslieThe Fight to Save Juárez: Life in the Heart of Mexico's Drug WarThe city of Ju#65533;rez is ground zero for the drug war that is raging across Mexico and has claimed close to 60,000 lives since 2007. Almost a quarter of the federal forces that former President Felipe Calder#65533;n deployed in the war were sent to Ju#65533;rez, and nearly 20 percent of the country's drug-related executions have taken place in the city, a city that can be as unforgiving as the hardest places on earth. It is here that the Mexican government came to turn the tide. Whatever happens in Ju#65533;rez will have lasting repercussions for both Mexico and the United States. Ricardo Ainslie went to Ju#65533;rez to try to understand what was taking place behind the headlines of cartel executions and other acts of horrific brutality. In The Fight to Save Ju#65533;rez, he takes us into the heart of Mexico's bloodiest city through the lives of four people who experienced the drug war from very different perspectives--Mayor Jos#65533; Reyes Ferriz, a mid-level cartel player's mistress, a human rights activist, and a photojournalist. Ainslie also interviewed top Mexican government strategists, including members of Calder#65533;n's security cabinet, as well as individuals within U.S. law enforcement. The dual perspective of life on the ground in the drug war and the "big picture" views of officials who are responsible for the war's strategy, creates a powerful, intimate portrait of an embattled city, its people, and the efforts to rescue Ju#65533;rez from the abyss. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HV5840 .M42 C5822 2013
The Fight to Save Juarez: Life in the Heart of Mexico's Drug War Book Cover




The People's Guide to Mexico
by Franz, Carl; Havens, Lorena; Rogers, Steve; Rogers, Felisa Churpa Rosa

9781598809602Carl Franz; Lorena Havens; Steve Rogers (Editor); Felisa Churpa Rosa Rogers (Editor)The People's Guide to MexicoOver the past 35 years, hundreds of thousands of readers have agreed: This is the classic guide to "living, traveling, and taking things as they come" in Mexico. Now in its updated 14th edition, The People's Guide to Mexico still offers the ideal combination of basic travel information, entertaining stories, and friendly guidance about everything from driving in Mexico City to hanging a hammock to bartering at the local mercado . Features include: Advice on planning your trip, where to go, and how to get around once you're there Practical tips to help you stay healthy and safe, deal with red tape, change money, send email, letters and packages, use the telephone, do laundry, order food, speak like a local, and more Well-informed insight into Mexican culture, and hints for enjoying traditional fiestas and celebrations The most complete information available on Mexican Internet resources, book and map reviews, and other info sources for travelers - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - F1209 .F72 2012
The People's Guide to Mexico Book Cover







Mexican History: A Primary Source Reader
by Jaffary, Nora E; Osowski, Edward W; Porter, Susie S

9780813343341Buffington; Nora E. Jaffary (Editor); Edward W. Osowski (Editor); Susie S. Porter (Editor)Mexican History: A Primary Source ReaderMexican History is a comprehensive and innovative primary source reader in Mexican history from the pre-Columbian past to the neoliberal present. Chronologically organized chapters facilitate the book's assimilation into most course syllabi. Its selection of documents thoughtfully conveys enduring themes of Mexican history--land and labor, indigenous people, religion, and state formation--while also incorporating recent advances in scholarly research on the frontier, urban life, popular culture, race and ethnicity, and gender. Student-friendly pedagogical features include contextual introductions to each chapter and each reading, lists of key terms and related sources, and guides to recommended readings and Web-based resources. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - F1203 .M49 2010
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - F1203 .M49 2010
Mexican History: A Primary Source Reader Book Cover




Mexican Phoenix: Our Lady of Guadalupe
by Brading, D. A

9780521801317D. A. BradingMexican Phoenix: Our Lady of Guadalupe: Image and Tradition Across Five CenturiesJuan Diego, to whom the Virgin Mary appeared in 1531 miraculously imprinting her likeness on his cape, was canonised in Mexico in 2002 by Pope John Paul II. In 1999, the revered image of Our Lady of Guadalupe had been proclaimed patron saint of the Americas by the Pope. How did a poor Indian and a sixteenth-century Mexican painting of the Virgin Mary attract such unprecedented honours? Across the centuries the enigmatic power of the image has aroused fervent devotion in Mexico: it served as the banner of the rebellion against Spanish rule and, despite scepticism and anti-clericalism, still remains a potent symbol of the modern nation. This book traces the intellectual origins, the sudden efflorescence and the adamantine resilience of the tradition of Our Lady of Guadalupe and will fascinate anyone concerned with the history of religion and its symbols. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BT660.G8 B67 2001
Mexican Phoenix: Our Lady of Guadalupe Book Cover




San Miguel de Allende & Guanajuato
by Delgado, Kevin

9781581571318Kevin DelgadoExplorer's Guide - San Miguel de Allende and GuanajuatoNow in its second edition, this favorite guide has been restyled and is illustrated with full-color maps and photos throughout.Distinctive for their accuracy, simplicity, and conversational tone, the diverse travel guides in our Explorer's Great Destinations series meet the conflicting demands of the modern traveler. They're packed full of up-to-date information to help plan the perfect getaway. And they're compact and light enough to come along for the ride. A tool you'll turn to before, during, and after your trip, these guides include chapters on lodging, dining, transportation, history, shopping, recreation, and more; a section packed with practical information, such as lists of banks, hospitals, post offices, laundromats, numbers for police, fire, and rescue, and other relevant information; maps of regions and locales, and more. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - F1391 .S2 D45 2011
San Miguel de Allende & Guanajuato Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District