Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

General Sources

Our Online Reference Collection

Search for Online Reference Articles

  

World Folklore & Folklife

Credo Reference

Gale Virtual Reference



Reference Books in the Library (North Campus)

 

Reference Books at the GCC North Library

 

 

The Facts on File encyclopedia of world mythology and legend
by Mercatante, Anthony S; Dow, James R

9780816073115Anthony S. Mercatante; James R. DowThe Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and LegendThe Facts On File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend, Third Edition is a complete revision that provides an even more extensive survey of myths, legends, and folklore from around the world. With assistance from a team of scholars, James R. Dow has revised and updated the entire text in this comprehensive resource. This new edition boasts approximately 3,000 entries, 150 of which are new; a substantially updated bibliography; an overhauled art program, with hundreds of new images; and, a new guide to Internet sources on world mythology and legend. Entries include important scholarly terms, figures important in folklore and mythology, the historical figures that have inspired myths and folklore, and the authors who wrote down folktales or used folklore and mythology extensively in their work. Many new entries focus on the mythology and folklore of Cambodia, Tibet, Ukraine, and other areas. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - REF - BL303 .M45 2009
The Facts on File encyclopedia of world mythology and legend Book Cover







Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman mythology
by Roman, Luke; Roman, Monica

9780816072422Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman MythologyGreek and Roman mythology has fascinated people for more than two millennia, and its influence on cultures throughout Europe, America, North Africa, the Middle East, and elsewhere attests to the universal appeal of the stories. ""Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology"" examines the best-known figures of Greek and Roman mythology together with the great works of classic literature that are the sources for our mythological understanding. This new encyclopedia presents ancient mythology from a literary perspective and features numerous illustrations from both ancient and modern works of fine art to show how myths have been transmitted in visual form through the ages. The entries include: Greek and Roman gods and heroes, such as Athena, Achilles, Apollo, Heracles, Odysseus, Orpheus, Poseidon, and Zeus; Mythological creatures, such as Cerberus, the Gorgons, the Minotaur, and Pegasus; and great works of literature that provide the sources for classical mythology, including the plays of Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides; the ""Aeneid of Virgil""; the ""Iliad and the Odyssey"" of Homer; and the ""Metamorphoses"" of Ovid and much more. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - REF - BL715 .R65 2010
Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman mythology Book Cover







Dictionary of Native American mythology
by Gill, Sam D; Sullivan, Irene F

9780195086027Sam D. Gill; Irene F. SullivanDictionary of Native American MythologyPassed down from generation to generation, the myths and rituals of Native Americans form a rich religious and cultural base from which all members of each society can create and maintain a sense of community, physical and emotional health, identity, family, and self. Such traditions, handeddown through stories and rites, stand as the lifeblood of every Native American culture. This thoroughly illustrated and carefully researched guide explores the amazing array of mythical beasts, heroic humans, and nurturing spirits that make up the fascinating spectrum of Native American mythology. With over one thousand alphabetically arranged entries, representing over one hundreddifferent Native American cultures, readers can quickly explore the meaning of hundreds of elements of Native lore--from names, phrases, and symbols, to images, motifs, and themes. Accompanying essays take a closer look at other issues related to the origin, development, and perpetuation of NativeAmerican mythology, such as the Christian influence on myth, varying mythology between tribes, storytelling, and more. We learn about such mythical creatures as Apotamkin of the Maliseet-Passamaquoddy tribe of the Southeast (a bogey monster with long hair and huge teeth who, through the fear hegenerates, keeps small children from straying onto thin, newly frozen ice in the winter and unguarded beaches in the summer), ritual healing ceremonials such as the Southwestern Navajo's Uglyway ceremony (a ceremony to remove and protect against the forces of chaos and disorder that give rise toillness), and the Marau ceremony of the Hopi Indians of the Southeast (a complex ceremony concerned with rain, the ripening of corn, and the fertility of women, as well as rites of initiating new members into the society). This compelling volume honors the richness of the beliefs and values of themany peoples of native North America, from northern Mexico to the Artic Circle. In addition, a complete bibliography of primary sources and secondary sources points the way to further research, making this the perfect reference for anyone interested in the mythical history of America's originalinhabitants. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - REF - E98.R3 G46 1994
Dictionary of Native American mythology Book Cover




Reference Books in the Library (Main Campus)

 

Reference Books at the GCC Main Library

 

 

The Oxford companion to world mythology
by Leeming, David Adams

9780195156690David LeemingThe Oxford Companion to World MythologyCave paintings at Lascaux, France and Altamira, Spain, fraught with expression thousands of years later; point to an early human desire to form a cultural identity. In the Oxford Companion to World Mythology, David Leeming explores the role of mythology, or myth-logic, in history anddetermines that the dreams of specific cultures add up to a larger collective story of humanity. Stopping short of attempting to be all-inclusive, this fascinating volume will nonetheless be comprehensive, opening with an introduction exploring the nature and dimensions of myth and proposing adefinition as a universal language. Briefly dipping into the ways our understanding of myth has changed from Aristotle and Plato to modern scholars such as Joseph Campbell, the introduction loosely places the concept in its present context and precedes articles on influential mythologists andmythological approaches that appear later in the Companion. The main body of Leeming's work consists of A-Z entries covering all aspects of mythology, including substantial essays on the world's major mythological traditions (Greek, Native American, Indian, Japanese, Sumerian, Egyptian), mythological types and motifs (Descent to the Underworld, the Hero,the Trickster, Creation, the Quest), mythological figures (Odysseus, Zeus, Osiris, Spider Woman, and Inanna) as well as numerous interrelated subjects such as fairly tales and legends. The Companion also locates myth in our lives today, relating it to language patterns, psychology, religion,politics, art, and gender attitudes. Many of the better-known and more significant myths are vividly retold in this volume that will be illustrated with maps, more than 70 black and white images, and eight pages of color highlighting the central role art has often played in the transmission andperpetuation of myth. Following the entries, a rich section of appendices will include family trees of the major pantheons, equivalency charts for the gods of Greece and Rome, Babylon and Sumer, as well as other traditions, an extensive bibliography, and an index. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - BL312 .L44 2005
The Oxford companion to world mythology Book Cover







Man, myth & magic: the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion, and the unknown
by Cavendish, Richard

9781854357311Richard Cavendish (Editor)Man, Myth and Magic: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion and the UnknownA revised and updated edition of the encyclopedia originally published by B.P.C. Publishing in 1970. It is a comprehensive guide to all the world's major (and many of the minor) faiths, philosophies, legends, mythologies, and folklore, as well as literature, symbolism, superstition, and the supernatural, from the remote past to the present day. The depth of coverage varies from major articles of up to 10,000 words to concise, glossary-type entries in short paragraphs. Subjects of major interest include bibliographies of further reading. The mostly color illustrations, which appear on nearly every page, are crisp and varied. Volume 21 includes a detailed comprehensive index as well as a number of classified subject indexes. Targeted toward young adults, the fascinating (and fairly sophisticated) material will likely interest readers of all ages. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - BF1407 .M34 1995
Man, myth & magic: the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion, and the unknown Book Cover




A dictionary of African mythology
by Scheub, Harold

9780195124569Harold ScheubA Dictionary of African Mythology: The Mythmaker as StorytellerIn this marvelous collection of hundreds of fascinating, mysterious, and revealing tales, Harold Scheub captures the immense sweep and diversity of African mythology. Scheub offers an unprecedented collection of 400 stories, arranged alphabetically, that touch on virtually every aspect of religious belief. Here are gods and goddesses, epic heroes and divine tricksters, along with epics of the world's origins, the struggle between the human and the divine,and much more. Scheub covers the entire continent, from the mouth of the Nile to the shores of the Cape of Good Hope, including North African as well as sub-Saharan cultures. Here, for example, is the tale of Abu Zayd (from the Bani Hilal of Tunisia), an epic hero who battles a jinni; and here toois a myth of how the moon and the toad created the first man and woman, from the Soko of Congo. Scheub not only retells each story, but provides information about the respective belief system, the main characters, and related stories or variants. Perhaps most important, Scheub emphasizes the role ofmythmaker as storyteller--as a performer for an audience. He explores various techniques, from the rhythmic movements of a Zulu mythmaker's hands to the way a storyteller will play on the familiar context of other myths within her cultural context. In A Dictionary of African Mythology, Harold Scheub has constructed an invaluable bridge to the richly diverse oral cultures of Africa. In this magnificent collection, he not only provides hundreds of fascinating myths, but recaptures their cultural contexts--in which story and storyteller,tradition and performance, all merge. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - BL2400 .S24 2000
A dictionary of African mythology Book Cover











Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District