Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Book Sources

Search for Books

 

  
   

            




Featured Books and eBooks

 

The handy mythology answer book
by Leeming, David Adams

9781578594757David A. LeemingThe Handy Mythology Answer BookStories centuries in the making, and many centuries worth of stories, are an integral part of modern society. Whether modern or ancient, every culture has its myths. Mythology forms our understanding of our origin, history, and traditions. They tell of our heroes and deities. Myths are vehicles for understanding religion, for learning language, and for understanding society, but they can often be difficult to understand and confusing. The Handy Mythology Answer Book examines and explains, in plain English, numerous myths and mythology. From the ancient Greek and Roman to Egypt and Babylon, from Native North American Indian to Celtic, Middle Eastern, Indian, Asian, African, and the lesser known myths from around the world, The Handy Mythology Answer Book has them covered. Whether it is the modern retelling of a classic myth or an ancient story about a Norse god, this helpful resource demystifies the myth, looks at different archetypes and motifs, and even shows how myths help explain our existence and institutions. It answers nearly 600 questions and offers fun facts about the treachery and violence, the inspirational and epic, the supernatural monsters and heroic mortals found in mythology, such as How and when did myths originate? What are the three primary myth types? What is the nature of Creation Myths? How can myths be compared to dreams? Why do humans tell myths? What was the Egyptian Book of the Dead? How is the epic of Gilgamesh like later epics? Why is the biblical flood story so like the Babylonian flood myth? What was the myth of Theseus, the Labyrinth, and the Minotaur? What are the Homeric Hymns? How and why are the Odyssey and the Iliad so different from each other? What is the popular appeal of the Odyssey? Did the Greeks see these myths as religion or as entertainment? What was the background myth of the Oedipus plays? What was the nature of Roman mythology during the Roman Republic? What was the Metamorphosis? How did Christian narrative and tradition fit into and come to dominate the Roman mythological tradition? How is Celtic culture and mythology related to the culture and mythology of Greek, Roman, and other cultures? How did the Vedas contribute to Hindu mythology? Who invented Chinese writing? What was the Aztec pantheon? What is the story of the Cherokee Grandmother Sun? Who are some Native American tricksters? What is the story of Schr#65533;dinger's Cat? How did Freud use myths? How is myth used in politics? A glossary of commonly used terms and an appendix of parallel mythology exploring universal themes, motifs, and archetypes from across various cultures further explains the world of mythology. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BL312 .L435 2015
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BL312 .L435 2015
The handy mythology answer book Book Cover







Handbook of Native American Mythology
by Bastian, Dawn E; Mitchell, Judy K

9781851095339Dawn E. Bastian; Judy K. MitchellHandbook of Native American MythologyPopular Hopi kachina dolls and awesome totem poles are but two of the aspects of the sophisticated, seldom-examined network of mythologies explored in this fascinating volume. * More than 40 photographs and illustrations portraying traditional customs and lifeways, antiquities, artwork (e.g., motifs, baskets, pottery, rugs, masks, totem poles), clothing and dress, and prominent places within traditional sacred geographies * Maps of Native American cultural areas and climates of North America, which are revealing because of the central role climate and weather play in a number of Native American myths - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - E98.R3 B26 2004
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - E98.R3 B26 2004
Handbook of Native American Mythology Book Cover




Egyptian Myths
by Hart, George

9780292720763George HartEgyptian MythsThe rich panorama of ancient Egyptian mythology has survived through tomb paintings, temple inscriptions, and papyri. This account begins with the creation legends of Heliopolis, Memphis, and Hermopolis and illustrates the intellectual struggles of the Egyptians to explain the beginning of the world. The myths that follow range from stories about the gods--the murder of Osiris and vengeance of Horus, Isis and the seven scorpions, Sakhmet and the virtual slaughter of mankind--to fables such as the Shipwrecked Sailor and the Enchanted Island. Through these delightful and often amusing tales, we can appreciate more fully the beliefs and imagination of the ancient Egyptians. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BL2441.2 .H38 1990 C4
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BL2441.2 H38 1990
Egyptian Myths Book Cover




Handbook of Japanese Mythology
by Ashkenazi, Michael

9780195332629Michael AshkenaziHandbook of Japanese MythologyJapanese gods, too numerous to count, are known collectively as yaoyorozu-no-kamigami--the eight million. They are the cast of a vast, complex mythology that encompasses two religions, three cultures, and three millennia, one whose ancient deities are still hard at work today. Handbook of Japanese Mythology makes it easy to travel this vast yet little-known mythological landscape. The book reveals the origins of Japan's myths in the very different realms of Buddhism, Shinto, and folklore, and explores related mythologies of the Ainu and Okinawan cultures and recentmyths arising from Japan's encounters with modernization. It then offers vivid retellings of the central Shinto and Buddhist myths, plus descriptions of major historical figures, icons, rituals, and events. For students or long-time enthusiasts, it is the ideal guide for investigating Japanese reverence for the sun, the imperial family, and the virtues of purity and loyalty. Readers will also learn why sumo wrestlers stomp before each match, how a fussy baby creates thunder, why Japan has a godfor soccer, and much more. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BL2203 .A86 2008
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BL2203 .A86 2008
Handbook of Japanese Mythology Book Cover




Norse mythology: a guide to the Gods, heroes, rituals, and beliefs
by Lindow, John

9780195153828John LindowNorse Mythology: A Guide to the Gods, Heroes, Rituals, and BeliefsNorse Mythology explores the magical myths and legends of Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Iceland and Viking-Age Greenland--outlining along the way the prehistoric tales and beliefs from these regions that have remained embedded in the imagination of the world. The book begins with an Introduction that helps put Scandinavian mythology in place in history, followed by a chapter that explains the meaning of mythic time, and a third section that presents in-depth explanations of each mythological term. These fascinating entries identify particular deitiesand giants, as well as the places where they dwell and the varied and wily means by which they forge their existence and battle one another. We meet Thor, one of the most powerful gods, who specializes in killing giants using a hammer made for him by dwarfs, not to mention myriad trolls, ogres,humans and strange animals. We learn of the ongoing struggle between the gods, who create the cosmos, and the jotnar, or giants, who aim to destroy it. In the enchanted world where this mythology takes place, we encounter turbulent rivers, majestic mountains, dense forests, storms, fierce winters,eagles, ravens, salmon and snakes in a landscape closely resembling Scandinavia. Beings travel on ships and on horseback; they eat slaughtered meat and drink mead. Spanning from the inception of the universe and the birth of human beings to the universe's destruction and the mythic future, these sparkling tales of creation and destruction, death and rebirth, gods and heroes will entertain readers and offer insight into the relationship between Scandinavianmyth, history, and culture. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BL860 .L56 2002
Online
Norse mythology: a guide to the Gods, heroes, rituals, and beliefs Book Cover




The Odyssey
by Homer

9780801868542Edward McCrorie (Translator); Homer; Richard P. Martin (Introduction by); Erwin CookThe Odyssey"Tell us, Goddess, daughter of Zeus, start in your own place: when all the rest at Troy had fled from that steep doom and gone back home, away from war and the salt sea, only this man longed for his wife and a way home." Homer's Odyssey , at once an exciting epic of strife and subterfuge and a deeply felt tale of love and devotion, stands at the very beginning of the Western literary tradition. From ancient Greece to the present day its influence on later literature has been unsurpassed, and for centuries translators have approached the meter, tone, and pace of Homer's poetry with a variety of strategies. Chapman and Pope paid keen attention to color, drama, and vivacity of style, rendering the Greek verse loosely and inventively. In the twentieth century, translators such as Lattimore kept rigorously close to the sense of each word in the original; others, including Fitzgerald and Fagles, have departed further from the language of the original, employing their own inventive modern style. Poet and translator Edward McCrorie now opens new territory in this striking rendition, which captures the spare, powerful tone of Homer's epic while engaging contemporary readers with its brisk pace, idiomatic language, and lively characterization. McCrorie closely reproduces the Greek metrical patterns and employs a diction and syntax that reflects the plain, at times stark, quality of Homer's lines, rather than later English poetic styles. Avoiding both the stiffness of word-for-word literalism and the exaggeration and distortion of free adaptation, this translation dramatically evokes the ancient sound and sense of the poem. McCrorie's is truly an Odyssey for the twenty-first century. To accompany this innovative translation, noted classical scholar Richard Martin has written an accessible and wide-ranging introduction explaining the historical and literary context of the Odyssey , its theological and cultural underpinnings, Homer's poetic strategies and narrative techniques, and his cast of characters. In addition, Martin provides detailed notes--far more extensive than those in other editions--addressing key themes and concepts; the histories of persons, gods, events, and myths; literary motifs and devices; and plot development. Also included is a pronunciation glossary and character index. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - PA4025.A5 M43
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - PA4025.A5 M43 2004
The Odyssey Book Cover




The encyclopedia of Celtic mythology and folklore
by Monaghan, Patricia

9780816075560Patricia MonaghanThe Encyclopedia of Celtic Mythology and FolkloreThis book helps you discover the rich world of Celtic mythology and folklore. Celtic peoples were talented storytellers, and their stories provide a rich, panoramic view of Celtic culture.""The Encyclopedia of Celtic Mythology and Folklore"" is a fascinating reference to the myths and folklore originating from the people of the Celtic lands - Ireland, Scotland, Celtic Britain, Wales, Brittany and central France, Galicia, and the smaller islands where the Celts lived. This accessible book offers a broad overview of the elements that make up Celtic mythology and folklore, including figures, deities, events, stories, and places. Concise A-to-Z entries provide brief descriptions of the subjects, emphasizing the original sources of myths and traditions and including bibliographic references.It has approximately 1,000 entries covering: Heroic figures; Historical places; Mythic figures; Narrative and epic cycles; Sacred places and objects; Themes and religious concepts; Theories and controversies; and more. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BL900 .M66 2008
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BL900 .M66 2008
The encyclopedia of Celtic mythology and folklore Book Cover










Mythology
by Hamilton, Edith

9780316341141Edith Hamilton; Steele Savage (Illustrator); Aphrodite Trust Staff; Apollo Trust StaffMythologyThe world-renowned classic that has enthralled and delighted millions of readers with its timeless tales of gods and heroes. Edith Hamilton's mythology succeeds like no other book in bringing to life for the modern reader the Greek, Roman and Norse myths that are the keystone of Western culture-the stories of gods and heroes that have inspired human creativity from antiquity to the present. We follow the drama of the Trojan War and the wanderings of Odysseus. We hear the tales of Jason and the Golden Fleece, Cupid and Psyche, and mighty King Midas. We discover the origins of the names of the constellations. And we recognize reference points for countless works for art, literature and culture inquiry-from Freud's Oedipus complex to Wagner's Ring Cycle of operas to Eugene O'Neill's Mourning Becomes Electra Both a reference text for scholars of all ages and a book to simply enjoy, Mythology is a classic not to be missed. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BL310 .H3 1998
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BL310 .H3 1998
Mythology Book Cover




Hero of a Thousand Faces
by Campbell, Joseph

9781577315933Joseph CampbellHero with a Thousand FacesSince its release in 1949, The Hero with a Thousand Faces has influenced millions of readers by combining the insights of modern psychology with Joseph Campbell's revolutionary understanding of comparative mythology. In these pages, Campbell outlines the Hero's Journey, a universal motif of adventure and transformation that runs through virtually all of the world's mythic traditions. He also explores the Cosmogonic Cycle, the mythic pattern of world creation and destruction. As part of the Joseph Campbell Foundation's Collected Works of Joseph Campbell, this third edition features expanded illustrations, a comprehensive bibliography, and more accessible sidebars. As relevant today as when it was first published, The Hero with a Thousand Faces continues to find new audiences in fields ranging from religion and anthropology to literature and film studies. The book has also profoundly influenced creative artists--including authors, songwriters, game designers, and filmmakers--and continues to inspire all those interested in the inherent human need to tell stories. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BL313 .C28 2008
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BL313 .C28 2008
Hero of a Thousand Faces Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District