Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Database and Online Resources

Databases for Mythological Research

One Search

  

            

 

 

 

*Databases by Subject

*World Folklore & Folklife

Resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary database with more extensive full text holdings than Academic Search Premier, including over 9,000 full text journals. Includes 459 unique titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.

ARTstor

Access to artistic images including African-American, American, Classical, and Literary Studies collections as well as Music history, Photography and many more collections.

Films On Demand

Provides access to more than 6000 films in various subjects from Films for the Humanities & Sciences and other leading educational film vendors.

Humanities Source

Developed through a merger of EBSCO & H.W. Wilson databases, it contains more than 1520 full text journals pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes 591 unique titles (40.8% of its collection), as compared to current GCC Library databases.

Kanopy

An on demand streaming video service providing more than 26,000 educational films each year. It contains works from distributors such as BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, Criterion Collection and more.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

Provides literary overviews, biographies, and criticism for more the 128,000 writers; includes index to extensive Gale literary series.

Project Muse

Project MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.

Religion & Philosophy Collection

Provides fulltext articles from more than 300 journals, 250 peer-reviewed, covering topics of religious and philosophical studies.




Additional Website Sources

 

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

A comprehensive collection of sacred and mythological texts from around the globe and public domain mythological resources.

Encyclopedia Mythica

Encyclopedia Mythica is an award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between. The mythology section is divided to six geographical regions: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania. Each region has many clearly defined subdivisions that will ease your search.

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts

A collection of mythological texts from the University of Pittsburgh.

Greek Mythology and the Theater

Article on Greek Theater with helpful links to other mythological resources.



Great Mythologies of the World Video Courses

Four esteemed professors, renowned experts in their fields, will transport you to exotic locations and ancient civilizations in this 60-lecture series. You'll become immersed in the geographies and cultures each section features, aided by stories and characters created by the indigenous people of each region, which are still reflected in our tales today. You'll come away from this course with a deeper appreciation for these remarkable cultures and the immense power of the mythologies of the world.

Course 1 - Ancient Europe

1. The Titans in Greek Mythology; 2. Complex Goddesses: Athena, Aphrodite, Hera; 3. Gods and Humanity in Greek Thought; 4. Herakles and the Greek Hero; 5. Odysseus, Master of Schemes; 6. The Golden Fleece and the Heros Return; 7. Romulus, Remus, and Romes Origins; 8. Roman Heroes and Traitors; 9. The Mother Goddess in Rome and Beyond; 10. The Dagdas Harp and Other Celtic Myths; 11. Norse Tales of Odin and Thor; 12. Hammers, Rings, and Other Norse Magic. Running Time - 6 hours 28 mins.

Course 2 - The Middle East and South Asia

1. The Worlds Oldest Myth: Gilgamesh; 2. The Babylonian Creation Story; 3. Chaos and Order in Egypt; 4. Horus, Osiris, and Ra 5. Myths of the Pharaohs 6. The Book of Job 7. The Great Indian Epics; 8. The Bhagavad Gita; 9. Stories of the Buddha; 10. Persias Book of Kings; 11. One Thousand and One Nights; 12. Tales of Flood and Fire. Running Time - 6 hours.

Course 3 - Africa

1. The Beauty of African Mythology; 2. African Creation Stories; 3. African Religious Cosmology ; 4. Tricksters of Africa; 5. Africas Gods and Humanity; 6. Close Encounters with African Divinities; 7. Culture Heroes of African Myth; 8. The African Morality Tale; 9. The Dausi and African Epics; 10. The Epic of Bakaridjan Kone; 11. Death and the Afterlife in African Myth; 12. African Heroes in the Underworld. Running Time - 6 hours 17 mins.

Course 4 - Asia and the Pacific

1. Culture and Cosmos in Chinese Mythology; 2. Chinese Heroes, Kings, and Destroyers; 3. Peasant Folktales and Chinese Scholarship; 4. Spirits and Syncretism in Korean Myth; 5. Koreas Warring Kingdoms and Flying Dragons; 6. Japanese Tales of Purity and Defilement; 7. Gods, Rice, and the Japanese State ; 8. Nature Gods and Tricksters of Polynesia ; 9. Creation and Misbehavior in Micronesia; 10. Melanesian Myths of Life and Cannibalism; 11. Origins in Indonesia and the Philippines; 12. Aboriginal and Colonial Myths of Australia. Running Time - 6 hours 17 mins.

Course 5 - The Americas

1. Nature in Native American Myth ; 2. Inuit and Northern Forest Mythology; 3. Tales and Rituals of the Iroquois League; 4. Southeast Amerindian Origin Stories; 5. Mythology of the Plains Peoples; 6. Amerindian Tales from the Northwest; 7. The Navajo Emergence Myth ; 8. Stories of the Pueblo; 9. Native American Tricksters ; 10. The Maya and the Popol Vuh; 11. Aztec Myth Meets Hernán Cortés; 12. Inca Myth as Imperial Mandate. Running Time - 6 hours 10 mins.






Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District