Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

LGBTQ - Non-Fiction

LGBTQ Parenting and Families

Titles related to LGBTQ parenting and family life.




Gay Parenting (Procon)
by Beth Rosenthal

9780737764222Beth RosenthalGay ParentingEach title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This title explores the impact of gay parenting on children, the impact of gay families on society, what methods of parenthood should be available to same-sex partners, and what laws should regulate gay parenting.; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model...not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library & North HQ75.27 .G397 2013
Gay Parenting (Procon) Book Cover




Radical Relations: Lesbian Mothers, Gay Fathers, and Their Children in the United States Since World War II
by Daniel Winunwe Rivers

9781469607184Daniel Winunwe RiversRadical Relations: Lesbian Mothers, Gay Fathers, and Their Children in the United States since World War IIIn Radical Relations , Daniel Winunwe Rivers offers a previously untold story of the American family: the first history of lesbian and gay parents and their children in the United States. Beginning in the postwar era, a period marked by both intense repression and dynamic change for lesbians and gay men, Rivers argues that by forging new kinds of family and childrearing relations, gay and lesbian parents have successfully challenged legal and cultural definitions of family as heterosexual. These efforts have paved the way for the contemporary focus on family and domestic rights in lesbian and gay political movements. Based on extensive archival research and 130 interviews conducted nationwide, Radical Relations includes the stories of lesbian mothers and gay fathers in the 1950s, lesbian and gay parental activist networks and custody battles, families struggling with the AIDS epidemic, and children growing up in lesbian feminist communities. Rivers also addresses changes in gay and lesbian parenthood in the 1980s and 1990s brought about by increased awareness of insemination technologies and changes in custody and adoption law. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HQ75.28 .U6 R58 2013
Radical Relations: Lesbian Mothers, Gay Fathers, and Their Children in the United States Since World War II  Book Cover




Families Like Mine: Children of Gay Parents Tell it Like it Is
by Abigail Garner

9780060527570Abigail GarnerFamilies Like Mine: Children of Gay Parents Tell It Like It IsWhat is it really like to grow up with gay parents? Abigail Garner was five years old when her mother and father divorced and her dad came out as gay. Growing up immersed in gay culture, she now calls herself a "culturally queer" heterosexual woman. As a child, she often found herself in the middle of the political and moral debates surrounding lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) parenting. At the age of twenty-two, she began to speak publicly about her family and has since become a nationally recognized advocate for the estimated 10 million children growing up with LGBT parents. The creator of FamiliesLikeMine.com, Garner has written a deeply personal and much-needed book about gay parenting, from the seldom-heard perspective of grown children raised in these families. Based on eight years of activism, combined with interviews with more than fifty sons and daughters, Families Like Mine debunks the anti-gay myth that these children grow up damaged and confused. At the same time, Garner's book refutes the popular pro-gay sentiment that these children turn out "just like everyone else." In addition to the typical stresses of growing up, the unique pressures these children face are not due to their parents' sexuality, but rather to homophobia and prejudice. Using a rich blend of journalism and memoir, Garner offers empathetic yet unapologetic opinions about the gifts and challenges of being raised in families that are often labeled "controversial." As more LGBT people are pursuing parenthood and as the visibility of gay parenting is rapidly increasing, many of the questions about these families focus on the "best interests" of their children. Eloquent and sophisticated, Families LikeMine addresses these questions, providing an invaluable insider's perspective for LGBT parents, their families, and their allies. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ777.8 .G37 2004
Families Like Mine: Children of Gay Parents Tell it Like it Is  Book Cover













LGBTQ History and Culture

Titles related to LGBTQ History and Culture. 




A Little Gay History: Desire and Diversity Across the World
by Max Carocci, Kate Smith, R.B Parkinson

When was the first chat-up line between men recorded? Who was the first "lesbian"? Were ancient Greek men who had sex with each other necessarily "gay," and what did Shakespeare think about crossdressing? A Little Gay History answers these questions and more through close readings of art objects from the British Museum's far-ranging collection. Consulting ancient Egyptian papyri, the Roman Warren Cup's erotic figures, David Hockney's vivid prints, and dozens of other artifacts, R. B. Parkinson draws attention to a diverse range of same-sex experiences and situates them within specific historical and cultural contexts. The first of its kind, A Little Gay History builds a complex and creative portrait of love's many guises.--From publisher description.
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ76.25 .P376 2013
A Little Gay History: Desire and Diversity Across the World Book Cover




Gay Life and Culture: A World History
by Robert Aldrich

9780789315113Robert Aldrich (Editor)Gay Life and Culture: A World HistoryIn the years since Stonewall, the world has witnessed an outpouring of research, critical inquiry, and re-interpretation of gay life and culture. This book draws on groundbreaking new material to present a comprehensive survey of all things gay, stretching back to ancient Sumeria and ranging to the present day. Critically acclaimed historian Robert Aldrich and ten leading scholars juxtapose thought-provoking essays with an extensive selection of images, many never before seen. This masterful combination reveals the story behind gay culture from the industrialized world to the remotest corners of tribal New Guinea. Among the contributors are noted names in GLBT studies such as Brett Beemyn (author of Bisexuality in the Lives of Men), Charles Hupperts (expert on classical antiquity at the University of Amsterdam), Helmut Puff (University of Michigan expert on the medieval world), and Florence Temagne (author of A History of Homosexuality in Europe). The book covers such topics as the Old Testament relationship between Jonathan and David, the Age of Confucius, Native American berdaches, Polynesian mahus, Berlin in the '20s, Stonewall and the disco-flavored hedonism that followed, and the advent of AIDS, Act Up, and Angels in America. This book is an important contribution to understanding what makes gay life and culture universal throughout human culture and across time. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ76 .G329 2006
Gay Life and Culture: A World History Book Cover




The Meaning of Matthew: My Son's Murder in Laramie, and a World Transformed
by Judy Shepard

9781594630576Judy ShepardThe Meaning of Matthew: My Son's Murder in Laramie, and a World TransformedThe mother of Matthew Shepard shares her story about her son's death and the choice she made to become an international gay rights activist Today, the name Matthew Shepard is synonymous with gay rights, but before his grisly murder in 1998, Matthew was simply Judy Shepard's son. For the first time in book form, Judy Shepard speaks about her loss, sharing memories of Matthew, their life as a typical American family, and the pivotal event in the small college town that changed everything. The Meaning of Matthew follows the Shepard family in the days immediately after the crime, when Judy and her husband traveled to see their incapacitated son, kept alive by life support machines; how the Shepards learned of the incredible response from strangers all across America who held candlelit vigils and memorial services for their child; and finally, how they struggled to navigate the legal system as Matthew's murderers were on trial. Heart-wrenchingly honest, Judy Shepard confides with readers about how she handled the crippling loss of her child, why she became a gay rights activist, and the challenges and rewards of raising a gay child in America today. The Meaning of Matthew not only captures the historical significance and complicated civil rights issues surrounding one young man's life and death, but it also chronicles one ordinary woman's struggle to cope with the unthinkable. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - HV6250.4 .H66 S54 2009 & Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HV6250.4 .H66 S54 2009
The Meaning of Matthew: My Son's Murder in Laramie, and a World Transformed Book Cover




Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
by Marc Stein

9780684312613Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaThis new three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 V.1
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America  Book Cover




Lesbian histories and cultures: An Encyclopedia
by Bonnie Zimmerman

9780815319207Bonnie Zimmerman (Editor)Lesbian Histories and CulturesA rich heritage that needs to be documented Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavours. It covers a long history and a dynamic and ever changing present, while opening up the academic profession to new scholarship and new ways of thinking. A groundbreaking new approach While gays and lesbians have shared many aspects of life, their histories and cultures developed in profoundly different ways. To reflect this crucial fact, the encyclopedia has been prepared in two separate volumes assuring that both histories receive full, unbiased attention and that a broad range of human experience is covered. Written for and by a wide range of people Intended as a reference for students and scholars in all fields, as well as for the general public, the encyclopedia is written in user-friendly language. At the same time it maintains a high level of scholarship that incorporates both passion and objectivity. It is written by some of the most famous names in the field, as well as new scholars, whose research continues to advance gender studies into the future. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - HQ75.5 .L4395 2000
Lesbian histories and cultures: An Encyclopedia  Book Cover










Law and the Gay Rights Story: The Long Search for Equal Justice In a Divided Democracy
by Walter M. Frank

9780813568720Walter FrankLaw and the Gay Rights Story: The Long Search for Equal Justice in a Divided DemocracyFor much of the 20th century, American gays and lesbians lived in fear that public exposure of their sexualities might cause them to be fired, blackmailed, or even arrested. Today, they are enjoying an unprecedented number of legal rights and protections. Clearly, the tides have shifted for gays and lesbians, but what caused this enormous sea change? In his gripping new book, Walter Frank offers an in-depth look at the court cases that were pivotal in establishing gay rights. But he also tells the story of those individuals who were willing to make waves by fighting for those rights, taking enormous personal risks at a time when the tide of public opinion was against them. Frank's accessible style brings complex legal issues down to earth but, as a former litigator, never loses sight of the law's human dimension and the context of the events occurring outside the courtroom. Chronicling the past half-century of gay and lesbian history, Law and the Gay Rights Story offers a unique perspective on familiar events like the Stonewall Riots, the AIDS crisis, and the repeal of "Don't Ask, Don't Tell." Frank pays special attention to the constitutional issues surrounding same-sex marriage and closely analyzes the two recent Supreme Court cases addressing the issue. While a strong advocate for gay rights, Frank also examines critiques of the movement, including some coming from the gay community itself. Comprehensive in coverage, the book explains the legal and constitutional issues involved in each of the major goals of the gay rights movement: a safe and healthy school environment, workplace equality, an end to anti-gay violence, relationship recognition, and full integration into all the institutions of the larger society, including marriage and military service. Drawing from extensive archival research and from decades of experience as a practicing litigator, Frank not only provides a vivid history, but also shows where the battle for gay rights might go from here. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - KF4754.5 .F73 2014
Law and the Gay Rights Story: The Long Search for Equal Justice In a Divided Democracy Book Cover




Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture
by Luca Prono

9780313335990Luca PronoEncyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular CultureDuring the 20th century through today, gay and lesbian artists, writers, political activists, and sports figures contributed their talents to all areas of popular culture. Authors such as E. Lynn Harris and Patricia Highsmith write bestselling novels. Rupert Everett follows in the footsteps of Rock Hudson and others who starred in multimillion dollar films. George Michael and k.d.lang have been the creative forces behind dozens of hit songs, and the TV programs of Ellen DeGeneres, Rosie O'Donnell, and the cast of "Queer Eye for the Straight Guy" are enjoyed in gay and straight households alike. The "Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture" identifies the people, films, TV shows, literature, and sports figures that have made significant contributions to both gay and lesbian popular culture, and American popular culture. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - HQ75.13 .P76 2008
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture Book Cover




Stonewall: The Riots That Sparked the Gay Revolution
by David Carter

9780312671938David CarterStonewall: The Riots That Sparked the Gay RevolutionThe basis of the PBS American Experience documentary Stonewall Uprising. In 1969, a series of riots over police action against The Stonewall Inn, a gay bar in New York City's Greenwich Village, changed the longtime landscape of the homosexual in society literally overnight. Since then the event itself has become the stuff of legend, with relatively little hard information available on the riots themselves. Now, based on hundreds of interviews, an exhaustive search of public and previously sealed files, and over a decade of intensive research into the history and the topic, Stonewall: The Riots That Sparked the Gay Revolution brings this singular event to vivid life in this, the definitive story of one of history's most singular events. A Randy Shilts / Publishing Triangle Award Finalist "Riveting...Not only the definitive examination of the riots but an absorbing history of pre-Stonewall America, and how the oppression and pent-up rage of those years finally ignited on a hot New York night." - Boston Globe - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ76.8 .U5 C37 2010
Stonewall: The Riots That Sparked the Gay Revolution   Book Cover




Queer media images: LGBT perspectives
by Jane Campbell and Theresa Carilli

9780739180280Theresa Carilli (Editor); Richard Kenney (Contribution by); Zoe Kenney (Contribution by); Adrianne Kunkel (Contribution by); Lori Montalbano (Contribution by); Kristin Norwood (Contribution by); Valarie Schweisberger (Contribution by); Rachel Silverman (Contribution by); Shannon Weber (Contribution by); John Wolf (Contribution by); Jason Zingsheim (Contribution by); Jane Campbell (Editor); Kristen Norwood (Contribution by); John M. Wolf (Contribution by); Kimiko Akita (Contribution by); Richard D. Besel (Contribution by); Kristin Comeforo (Contribution by); Bruce Drushel (Contribution by); Jennifer Guthrie (Contribution by); Brittani Hidahl (Contribution by); Kristel Hladky (Contribution by)Queer Media Images: LGBT PerspectivesQueer Media Images: LGBT Perspectives presents fifteen chapters that address how the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered communities are depicted in the media. This collection focuses on how the LGBT community has been silenced or given voice through the media. Through a study of queer media images, this book scrutinizes LGBT media representations and how these representations contribute to a dialogue about civil rights for this marginalized community. While the communication discipline has been open to the LGBT community, there has been an absence of published research and a marginalizing or tokenizing of the queer voice. Through a study of media representations, this unique collection provides a snapshot into the issues surrounding LGBT identity during a time when the Defense of Marriage Act is called into question and explores what it means to study images through a queer lens. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - P96 .S58 Q44 2013
Queer media images: LGBT perspectives Book Cover




Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Queer Psychology : An Introduction
by Victoria Clarke

This exciting and engaging textbook introduces students to the psychology of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and queer lives and experiences. It covers a broad range of topics including diversity, prejudice, health, relationships, parenting and lifespan experiences from youth to old age. The book includes 'key researcher' boxes, which outline the contributions of significant individuals and their motivations for conducting their research in their own words. Key issues and debates are discussed throughout the book, and questions for discussion and classroom exercises help students reflect critically and apply their learning. There are extensive links to further resources and information, as well as 'gaps and absences' sections, indicating major limitations of research in a particular area. This is the essential textbook for anyone studying LGBTQ psychology, psychology of sexuality or related courses. It is also a useful supplement to courses on gender and developmental psychology.
Glendale CC Library - RESERVES - PSY143
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Queer Psychology : An Introduction Book Cover




Before Stonewall: Activists for Gay and Lesbian Rights in Historical Context
by Vern L Bullough

9781560231929Vern L. Bullough; John P. DececcoBefore Stonewall: Activists for Gay and Lesbian Rights in Historical ContextExplore the early history of the gay rights movement! In the words of editor Vern L. Bullough: "Although there was no single leader in the gay and lesbian community who achieved the fame and reputation of Martin Luther King, there were a large number of activists who put their careers and reputations on the line. It was a motley crew of radicals and reformers, drawn together by the cause in spite of personality and philosophical differences. Their stories are told in the following pages." Before Stonewall: Activists for Gay and Lesbian Rights in Historical Context illuminates the lives of the courageous individuals involved in the early struggle for gay and lesbian civil rights in the United States. Authored by those who knew them (often activists themselves), the concise biographies in this volume examine the lives of pre-1969 barrier breakers like Harry Hay, Henry Gerber, Alfred Kinsey, Del Martin, Phyllis Lyon, Jim Kepner, Jack Nichols, Christine Jorgensen, Jose Sarria, Barbara Grier, Frank Kameny, and 40 more. To anyone with an interest in the history of the gay/lesbian rights movements in the United States, these names will be familiar, but did you know that in addition to their groundbreaking activism: Prescott Townsend was a Boston Brahman Dorr Legg was a Log Cabin Republican Harry Hay was at one time a member of the Communist party Jim Kepner was a boy preacher Troy Perry was removed from the ministry of his church for homosexuality--and then founded the gay-friendly Metropolitan Community Church Reed Erickson--a transsexual millionaire who gave millions to the cause--kept a pet leopard called Henry Barbara Gittings set up a kissing booth at the American Library Association convention and urged attendees to kiss a gay or lesbian! Before Stonewall is a perfect ancillary text for any gay/lesbian studies course, but more to the point, no one interested in these heroic figures and the movements they ignited should be without this book, which received an honorable mention in the 2004 Stonewall Book Awards. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ76.5 .B43 2002
Before Stonewall: Activists for Gay and Lesbian Rights in Historical Context Book Cover




Beyond the Closet: The Transformation of Gay and Lesbian Life
by Steven Seidman

With startlingly insightful and sophisticated analysis based on empirical data and cogent logic, Seidman (SUNY Albany) gives an overview of the recent changes in the status of lesbians and gays in the US. Before the 1950s, the author says lesbians and gays were mostly invisible except during the 1920s in New York City, where they were grudgingly accepted. The federal government began to legally persecute them during the Red Scare of the 1950s, when the closet opened. In the 1960s and later, lesbians and gays achieved some legal rights, and US culture evolved to tolerate (but not accept) the "normal" gays and lesbians (those who were gender conventional, monogamous, pair-bonded). This allowed some lesbians and gays to emerge from the closet, but they are still not at all socially equal. Distinguishing lesbian and gay rights activists from liberationist activists, Seidman suggests strategies that might help lesbians and gays become more nearly equal. The writing style is clear and easy to understand. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All levels/collections.
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ76.25 .S485 2002
Beyond the Closet:  The Transformation of Gay and Lesbian Life Book Cover




The New York Times on Gay and Lesbian Issues
by Susan Burgess

9781604265934Susan BurgessThe New York Times on Gay and Lesbian IssuesIn The New York Times on Gay and Lesbian Issues author and gender studies professor Susan Burgess showcases relevant news stories, editorials, and letters to the editor to present the major political, social, and cultural issues that have affected gays and lesbians in the U.S. over the past 150 years. The book includes twelve chapters covering topics such as the Stonewall Uprising, gays in the military, youth and education, and AIDS. Each chapter features an overview of the issue at hand, introduction to each of the articles selected, and profiles of key events and personalities. This unique title allows students and researchers access to authoritative and engaging information, giving historical context to contemporary issues. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ76.3 .U5 B87 2011
The New York Times on Gay and Lesbian Issues Book Cover




Boots of Leather, Slippers of Gold: The History of a Lesbian Community
by Elizabeth Lapovsky Kennedy & Madeline Davis

9781138785854Elizabeth Lapovsky Kennedy; Madeline D. DavisBoots of Leather, Slippers of Gold: The History of a Lesbian CommunityBoots of Leather, Slippers of Gold traces the evolution of the lesbian community in Buffalo, New York from the mid-1930s up to the early 1960s. Drawing upon the oral histories of 45 women, it is the first comprehensive history of a working-class lesbian community. These poignant and complex stories show how black and white working-class lesbians, although living under oppressive circumstances, nevertheless became powerful agents of historical change. Kennedy and Davis provide a unique insider's perspective on butch-fem culture and argue that the roots of gay and lesbian liberation are found specifically in the determined resistance of working-class lesbians. This 20th anniversary edition republishes the book for a new generation of readers. It includes a new preface in which the authors reflect on where the last 20 years have taken them. For anyone interested in lesbian life during the 1940s and 1950s, or in the dynamics of butch-fem culture, this study remains the one that set the highest standard for all oral histories and ethnographies of lesbian communities anywhere. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ75.6 .U5 K47 2014
Boots of Leather, Slippers of Gold: The History of a Lesbian Community Book Cover










Beyond Magenta: A Transgender Teen Speaks Out
by Susan Kuklin

9780763656119Susan KuklinBeyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak OutA 2015 Stonewall Honor Book A groundbreaking work of LGBT literature takes an honest look at the life, love, and struggles of transgender teens. Author and photographer Susan Kuklin met and interviewed six transgender or gender-neutral young adults and used her considerable skills to represent them thoughtfully and respectfully before, during, and after their personal acknowledgment of gender preference. Portraits, family photographs, and candid images grace the pages, augmenting the emotional and physical journey each youth has taken. Each honest discussion and disclosure, whether joyful or heartbreaking, is completely different from the other because of family dynamics, living situations, gender, and the transition these teens make in recognition of their true selves. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ77.9 .K85 2014
Beyond Magenta: A Transgender Teen Speaks Out Book Cover




Why a Gay Person Can't be Made Un-gay: The Truth About Reparative Therapies
by Martin Kantor

9781440830747MD, Martin KantorWhy a Gay Person Can't Be Made Un-Gay: The Truth about Reparative TherapiesDespite an abysmal "success rate," practitioners still use reparative therapy in an attempt to turn gays and lesbians straight. This text exposes the pitfalls that should be considered before gays embark on this journey that typically leads nowhere. * Presents thorough descriptions of the various reparative therapies, contrasts these techniques with traditional therapy, and exposes the faulty theoretical bases of this form of treatment * Details the author psychiatrist's unsuccessful 5-year-long therapeutic attempt to change his own homosexuality * Provides essential information that gays and their parents need to know before embarking on what the author feels is a futile course of changing sexual orientation. The content will enlighten politicians and reparative therapists themselves as well * Supplies an essential, informed counterpoint to the existing literature on reparative therapy - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - RC558 .K36 2014
Why a Gay Person Can't be Made Un-gay: The Truth About Reparative Therapies Book Cover




Legalizing LGBT Families
by Amanda Baumle & D'Lane Compton

9781479857647Amanda K. Baumle; D'Lane R. ComptonLegalizing LGBT Families: How the Law Shapes ParenthoodThe decision to have a child is seldom a simple one, often fraught with complexities regarding emotional readiness, finances, marital status, and compatibility with life and career goals. Rarely, though, do individuals consider the role of the law in facilitating or inhibiting their ability to have a child or to parent. For LGBT individuals, however, parenting is saturated with legality - including the initial decision of whether to have a child, how to have a child, whether one's relationship with their child will be recognized, and everyday acts of parenting like completing forms or picking up children from school. Through in-depth interviews with 137 LGBT parents, Amanda K. Baumle and D'Lane R. Compton examine the role of the law in the lives of LGBT parents and how individuals use the law when making decisions about family formation or parenting. Baumle and Compton explore the ways in which LGBT parents participate in the process of constructing legality through accepting, modifying, or rejecting legal meanings about their families. Few groups encounter as much variation in access to everyday legal rights pertaining to the family as do LGBT parents. This complexity and variation in legal environments provides a rather unique opportunity to examine the manner in which legal context affects the ways in which individuals come to understand the meaning and utility of the law for their lives. The authors conclude that legality is constructed through a complex interplay of legal context, social networks, individual characteristics, and familial desires. Ultimately, the stories of LGBT parents in this book reflect a rich and varied relationship between the law, the state, and the private family goals of individuals. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - DISPLAY - HQ1034.U5 B38 2015
Legalizing LGBT Families Book Cover




Transgender 101
by Nicholas Teich

9780231157131Nicholas M. TeichTransgender 101: A Simple Guide to a Complex IssueWritten by a social worker, popular educator, and member of the transgender community, this well-rounded resource combines an accessible portrait of transgenderism with a rich history of transgender life and its unique experiences of discrimination. Chapters introduce transgenderism and its psychological, physical, and social processes. They describe the coming out process and its effect on family and friends, the relationship between sexual orientation, and gender and the differences between transsexualism and lesser-known types of transgenderism. The volume covers the characteristics of Gender Identity Disorder/Gender Dysphoria and the development of the transgender movement. Each chapter explains how transgender individuals handle their gender identity, how others view it within the context of non-transgender society, and how the transitioning of genders is made possible. Featuring men who become women, women who become men, and those who live in between and beyond traditional classifications, this book is written for students, professionals, friends, and family members. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - HQ77.9 .T45 2012
Transgender 101 Book Cover







The Moral Defense of Homosexuality: Why Every Argument Against Gay Rights Fails
by Chris Meyers

9781442249318Chris MeyersThe Moral Defense of Homosexuality: Why Every Argument Against Gay Rights FailsChris Meyers takes the reader on a careful, rational, sustained criticism of arguments about the immorality of homosexuality. Meyers refutes anti-gay arguments by showing that they are based on unreasonable or demonstrably false ideas about the nature of morality. Working through the morality arguments against homosexuality, Meyers shows how the nature of morality demands impartial, overriding reasons to act. He argues that morality is not grounded in visceral feelings of disgust, commands from the scriptures, or mysterious Platonic essences. In clear, convincing discussion, Meyers examines morality to promote the moral logic of granting rights to all people, no matter their sexual orientation. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - HQ76.5 .M49 2015
The Moral Defense of Homosexuality:  Why Every Argument Against Gay Rights Fails Book Cover




Becoming Nicole
by Amy Ellis Nutt

9780812995411Amy Ellis NuttBecoming Nicole: The Transformation of an American FamilyNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK * NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PEOPLE AND ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MEN'S JOURNAL * A STONEWALL HONOR BOOK IN NONFICTION * FINALIST FOR THE LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FOR TRANSGENDER NONFICTION The inspiring true story of a transgender girl, her identical twin brother, and an ordinary American family's extraordinary journey to understand, nurture, and celebrate the uniqueness in us all, from the Pulitzer Prize-winning science reporter for The Washington Post When Wayne and Kelly Maines adopted identical twin boys, they thought their lives were complete. But it wasn't long before they noticed a marked difference between Jonas and his brother, Wyatt. Jonas preferred sports and trucks and many of the things little boys were "supposed" to like; but Wyatt liked princess dolls and dress-up and playing Little Mermaid. By the time the twins were toddlers, confusion over Wyatt's insistence that he was female began to tear the family apart. In the years that followed, the Maineses came to question their long-held views on gender and identity, to accept and embrace Wyatt's transition to Nicole, and to undergo an emotionally wrenching transformation of their own that would change all their lives forever. Becoming Nicole chronicles a journey that could have destroyed a family but instead brought it closer together. It's the story of a mother whose instincts told her that her child needed love and acceptance, not ostracism and disapproval; of a Republican, Air Force veteran father who overcame his deepest fears to become a vocal advocate for trans rights; of a loving brother who bravely stuck up for his twin sister; and of a town forced to confront its prejudices, a school compelled to rewrite its rules, and a courageous community of transgender activists determined to make their voices heard. Ultimately, Becoming Nicole is the story of an extraordinary girl who fought for the right to be herself. Granted wide-ranging access to personal diaries, home videos, clinical journals, legal documents, medical records, and the Maineses themselves, Amy Ellis Nutt spent almost four years reporting this immersive account of an American family confronting an issue that is at the center of today's cultural debate. Becoming Nicole will resonate with anyone who's ever raised a child, felt at odds with society's conventions and norms, or had to embrace life when it plays out unexpectedly. It's a story of standing up for your beliefs and yourself--and it will inspire all of us to do the same. Praise for Becoming Nicole "A profoundly moving true story about one remarkable family's evolution." -- People "Fascinating and enlightening." --Cheryl Strayed "Exceptional . . . 'Stories move the walls that need to be moved,' Nicole told her father last year. In telling Nicole's story and those of her brother and parents luminously, and with great compassion and intelligence, that is exactly what Amy Ellis Nutt has done." -- The Washington Post "If you aren't moved by Becoming Nicole, I'd suggest there's a lump of dark matter where your heart should be." --Jennifer Senior, The New York Times "Extraordinary . . . a wonderful and inspiring story." --Minneapolis Star Tribune "A downright necessary book--and a remarkable act of generosity by the Maines family." -- BuzzFeed - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - LGBT NUT
Becoming Nicole Book Cover




Breaking the Surface
by Greg Louganis

9781402206665Greg Louganis; Eric Marcus (As told to)Breaking the SurfaceThis is a new edition of Greg Louganis's 1995 #1 New York Times bestselling autobiography and Literary Guild Selection. It is the unflinchingly honest first-person account of a man breaking free of a lifetime of silence and isolation. Born to a young Samoan father and Northern European mother, and adopted at nine months, Greg began diving at age nine, and at sixteen won a silver medal at the 1976 Montreal Olympics. But despite his astonishing athletic skill, Greg struggled with late-detected dyslexia, prejudice toward his dark skin coloring and anguish over his homosexuality, which he felt compelled to hide. Being in the spotlight intensified his difficulties with relationships and substance abuse. However, Louganis went on to win double gold medals at the 1984 and 1988 Olympics. His triumph at the 1988 Olympics came several months after he tested positive for HIV. This is the haunting, searingly candid story of the world's greatest diver. This new edition includes a new foreword. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GV838.L68 A3 2006
Breaking the Surface Book Cover




Queer: The Ultimate LGBT Guide for Teens
by Kathy Belge & Marke Bieschke

9780981973340Marke Bieschke; Kathy Belge; Christian Robinson (Illustrator)Queer: The Ultimate LGBT Guide for TeensTeen life is hard enough with all of the pressures kids face, but for teens who are LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender), it's even harder. When do you decide to come out? To whom? Will your friends accept you? And how on earth do you meet people to date? Queer is a humorous, engaging, and honest guide that helps LGBT teens come out to friends and family, navigate their new LGBT social life, figure out if a crush is also queer, and rise up against bigotry and homophobia. Queer also includes personal stories from the authors and sidebars on queer history. It's a must-read for any teen who thinks they might be queer - or knows someone who is. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - HQ76.27 .Y68 B45 2011
Queer: The Ultimate LGBT Guide for Teens Book Cover




The Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life
by John Baez, Jennifer Howd & Rachel Pepper

9780375766237John Baez; Jennifer Howd; Rachel Pepper; Princeton Review StaffThe Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life: A Comprehensive Resource for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Students and Their AlliesFeaturing advice from students and administrators at more than seventy of the nation's top colleges, the Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life lets you know how to how to thrive on campus as a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and/or questioning student. Including tons of student testimonials and dozens of parent tips, the Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life offers no-nonsense guidance to LGBT students, their families, and allies on how to make the most of their college experience. Learn how you can: ·Find an LGBT-friendly school ·Evaluate administrative policies related to LGBT student life ·Deal with homo/bi/transphobia on campus ·Participate in LGBT student activism ·Get support for your health and safety needs ·Fully integrate yourself into the campus community - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - HQ76.25 .B33 2007
The Gay and Lesbian Guide to College Life Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District