Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

MLA Style

MLA Online

MLA Style from Purdue University OWL

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Cite Site

The Cite Site is a new interactive tool designed to provide helpful tips on in-text and reference citations for both MLA and APA styles. To get started, click on the link provided below and then select the page with the style that your c requires to access style-specific tips and exercises. *Note: These exercises work best with Internet Explorer (8 or higher), Firefox, or Safari browsers. Chrome is NOT a supported browser and may cause exercise elements to display incorrectly.*

Modern Language Association (MLA)

Official site of the Modern Language Association.

Sample Page



MLA 7th Edition, Printable PDF Guides

Please note, this is not the most current version of MLA.  For the most current version, please see the MLA 8th Edition Guides.

MLA 7th Edition

MLA 7th Edition - Literature and Issues



Books

MLA Handbook 8th ed
by Modern Language Association of America.

9781603292627The Modern Language Association of AmericaMLA HandbookThe Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook . Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & GCC North-- LB2369 .G53 2016
MLA Handbook 8th ed Book Cover




Cite right : a quick guide to citation styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more
by Lipson, Charles

9780226484648Charles LipsonCite Right: A Quick Guide to Citation Styles - MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions, and MoreThousands of students have turned to veteran teacher Charles Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly--and avoid plagiarism--when writing their research papers. This new edition of Cite Right , the popular overview of all major systems of citation, has been updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books. Best of all, it's very easy to use. Lipson first explains why it is so important to use citations--and to present them accurately--in research writing. He then outlines the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work: Chicago; MLA; APA; AAA (anthropology and ethnography); CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy;and mathematics, computer science, and engineering. New sections have been added on IEEE and ASCE styles, often used in engineering. Each style is presented simply and clearly with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to the sciences and medicine. The second edition has also been updated to include a discussion of the merits and pitfalls of citation software, as well as new examples showing proper citation style for video blogs, instant messages, social networking sites, and other forms of digital media. Based on deep experience in the academic trenches, this thoroughly revised edition is intended to appeal to anyone--student, professional, or academic--who needs an efficient, authoritative guide for citing sources across a wide range of disciplines. - Description from Syndetics
GCC Main & GCC North-- PN171.F56 L55
Cite right : a quick guide to citation styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more  Book Cover








Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District