Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

News/Media Jobs

News/Media Jobs Databases

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Known for its unprecedented depth of coverage, this comprehensive career research database is organized into three main sections: through Industries and Careers, users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions.

Films on Demand: Career & Job Search

This collection contains hundreds of videos with focused collections on career exploration, career fields and industries, career success skills, and a substantive job searching skills section (including portions on job searching, resume/cover letter building, interviewing, and following-up).

Occupational Outlook Handbook Online

The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide the overwhelming majority of jobs in the United States.




News/Media Jobs Books

Media career guide: preparing for jobs in the 21st century
by Seguin, James A.

9780312469146James SeguinMedia Career Guide: Preparing for Jobs in the 21st CenturyDeveloped to bridge the gap between what students learn in the classroom and how it applies to the real world, theMedia Career Guidehelps students prepare for and conduct a successful communication-related job search. The manual includes an overview of the employment prospects for today's student and provides a comprehensive directory of media jobs including positions in print, radio, broadcast, online, new media, and advertising. In addition, guidelines for what to do when hired make this an ideal resource for students looking for and getting started in careers in mass communication or journalism. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - P91.6 .S44 2008
Media career guide: preparing for jobs in the 21st century Book Cover




Career opportunities in journalism
by Burns, Jennifer Bobrow

9780816064199Jennifer Bobrow Burns; Janice Castro (Foreword by)Career Opportunities in JournalismAs technology advances and expands the ways the world communicates, new media such as the Internet have become a major outlet for journalism, providing unlimited access to a world of information. Today, journalistic opportunities abound for those passionate about sharing the truth and enlightening the public, whether they are writers, reporters, editors, or behind-the-scenes producers, directors, photographers, or engineers. ""Career Opportunities in Journalism"" covers more than 70 careers in a variety of contexts, from newspapers and broadcasting to education and new media. Extensive appendixes include listings of related educational programs, professional associations and publications, companies, and internship and scholarship resources. The career profiles include: Advertising copywriter; Broadcast meteorologist; Field producer; Film critic; Foreign correspondent; News editor; Online editor; Reporter, radio; Staff writer; and, Travel writer. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - PN4797 .B87 2007 Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - PN4797 .B87 2007
Career opportunities in journalism Book Cover










Career opportunities in radio
by Field, Shelly

9780816050888Shelly FieldCareer Opportunities in RadioRadio is a high-profile and exciting field that attracts many aspiring workers throughout the United States. As radio stations are now broadcast globally via the Internet, and new technology, such as satellite radio, becomes available, many new opportunities are emerging for those who want to get into the industry. Providing insight into a field that is fairly accessible for those willing to start out in small markets and work their way up to the big time, Career Opportunities in Radio profiles more than 70 jobs that are available in the field, both for those just starting out and for more seasoned professionals alike. Among the jobs profiled are on-air personality/disc jockey, business reporter, sportscaster, advertising account representative, billing specialist, publicist, studio engineer, program director, website content producer, and more. Profiles are grouped into a number of different categories, including News, Sports, Sales, Management, Public Relations, Traffic, Engineering, and Programming. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HE8689.4 .F54 2004
Career opportunities in radio Book Cover




Career opportunities in television and cable
by Taylor, T. Allan; Parish, James Robert

9780816063123T. Allan Taylor; James Robert Parish; Nat Segaloff (Foreword by)Career Opportunities in Television and CableThere were more than 1,700 television stations in the United States as of 2004, and the industry is expected to continue growing through 2012. Television has been the top advertising medium in the U.S. for more than a decade. For potential employees, the field offers a wide variety of jobs ranging from those in front of the camera to behind the scenes to working with high technology or working live in remote locations. Television offers jobs in production, art, writing, advertising, sales, technical areas, public relations, finance, office management, and many other areas. ""Career Opportunities in Television and Cable"" details 100 jobs in this exciting field and provides extensive appendixes of resources and other useful information. Career profiles include: Advertising account executive - sales; Art director; Casting director; Chief engineer; Cinematographer; Director of instructional television; Editor; Film/tape/digital librarian; Sound editor; Scriptwriter; Sportscaster; and more. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLR - HE8700.4 .T39 2007
Career opportunities in television and cable Book Cover










Public relations: the basics
by Smith, Ronald D.

9780415675833Ron SmithPublic Relations: the BasicsPublic Relations: The Basics is a highly readable introduction to one of the most exciting and fast-paced media industries. Both the practice and profession of public relations are explored and the focus is on those issues which will be most relevant to those new to the field: The four key phases of public relations campaigns: research, strategy, tactics and evaluation. History and evolution of public relations. Basic concepts of the profession: ethics, professionalism and theoretical underpinnings. Contemporary international case studies are woven throughout the text ensuring that the book is relevant to a global audience. It also features a glossary and an appendix on first steps towards a career in public relations making this the book the ideal starting point for anyone new to the study of public relations. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HM1221 .S769 2013 Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HM1221 .S769 2013
Public relations: the basics Book Cover




Making it in public relations: an insider's guide to career opportunities
by Mogel, Leonard

9780805840223Leonard MogelMaking It in Public Relations: An Insider's Guide to Career OpportunitiesMaking It in Public Relations is a comprehensive, realistic guide to everything one needs to know when pursuing a successful career in public relations. It is an introduction to public relations, written for students who want or need a definition of the profession to understand what they are moving into as a career. A thorough overview of the various roles and responsibilities involved in PR work, the different types of PR functions and activities, and its application in a variety of settings and scenarios are provided. In fulfilling the book's editorial role, author Leonard Mogel profiles the 10 largest public relations firms, life on the fast track at a small PR firm, how corporate communications is carried on at a large financial institution, and public relations for diverse organizations. It will be of interest to those studying public relations at the university level; recent mass communication, journalism, and public relations graduates; interns in public relations firms; and employees in other fields contemplating a move to this profession. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HM1221 .M64 2002
Making it in public relations: an insider's guide to career opportunities Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District