Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Racial/Cultural Diversity

Online Videos

Danger of a Single Story -- Chimamanda Adichie

Our lives, our cultures, are composed of many overlapping stories. Novelist Chimamanda Adichie tells the story of how she found her authentic cultural voice  and warns that if we hear only a single story about another person or country, we risk a critical misunderstanding.





Diversity Ted Talks

This page has listings of numerous TedTalks that speak on topics of diversity.

Films on Demand: African American Studies

This African American Studies Film Collection is from Films on Demand and it includes educational, documentary, and archival resources from popular publishers such as PBS, ABC, NBC, BBC, First Run Features, and more...

Films on Demand: Latino American Studies

This Latino American Studies Film Collection is from Films on Demand and it includes educational, documentary, and archival resources from many popular publishers.

Films on Demand: Native American Studies

This Native American Studies Film Collection is from Films on Demand and it includes educational, documentary, and archival resources from many popular publishers.

Films on Demand: Asian American Studies

This Native American Studies Film Collection is from Films on Demand and it includes educational, documentary, and archival resources from many popular publishers



Online Databases

African American Experience Online

Provides access to numerous reference materials and primary resources related to African American history and culture.

American Indian Experience Online

REFERENCE ARTICLES and MORE: Includes thousands of reference articles, hundreds of primary documents and thousands of images. The Perspectives sections pose historic quandaries that invite learners to examine issues from all angles.

Gale Reference - Multicultural Studies

This database consists of Gale Virtual Reference's collection of multi-cultural and ethnic studies reference resources.

Global Road Warrior

This resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.

Latino American Experience Online

Dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos; explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the US.

National Geographic Virtual Library

Now National Geographic and Gale, part of Cengage Learning, have partnered to bring vast resources to digital life with our National Geographic Virtual Library. This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine  every page of every issue  along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.




DVDs in the Library





Selma
by Ava DuVernay (Director)

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s historical struggle to secure voting rights for all people. A dangerous and terrifying campaign that culminated with an epic march from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama in 1964.
Glendale CC Library - VIDEO - PN1997.2 .S45 2015C
Selma Book Cover




Gandhi
by Richard Attenborough (Director)

Tells the story of Gandhi's adult life, when he led an entire country to freedom, using non-violent methods.
Glendale CC Library - VIDEO - PN1997 .G3552 2001
Gandhi Book Cover




Books and eBooks

Ripples of hope: great American civil rights speeches
by Gottheimer, Josh

9780465027521Joshua Gottheimer; Bill Clinton (Foreword by)Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights SpeechesRipples of Hope brings together the most influential and important civil rights speeches from the entire range of American history-from the colonial period to the present. Gathered from the great speeches of the civil rights movement of African Americans, Asian Americans, gays, Hispanic Americans, and women, Ripples of Hope includes voices as diverse as Sister Souljah, Spark Matsui, and Harvey Milk, which, taken as a whole, constitute a unique chronicle of the modern civil rights movement.Featuring a foreword by President Bill Clinton and an afterword by Mary Frances Berry, this collection represents not just a historical first but also an indispensable resource for readers searching for an alternative history of American rhetoric. Edited and with an introduction by former Clinton speechwriter Josh Gottheimer, the stirring speeches that make up this volume provide an important perspective on our nation's development, and will inform the future debate on civil rights. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - E184.A1 R53 2003
Online
Ripples of hope: great American civil rights speeches Book Cover







Between the world and me
by Coates, Ta-Nehisi

9780812993547Ta-Nehisi CoatesBetween the World and Me#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD * Hailed by Toni Morrison as "required reading," a bold and personal literary exploration of America's racial history by "the single best writer on the subject of race in the United States" ( The New York Observer ) "This is your country, this is your world, this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it." In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation's history and current crisis. Americans have built an empire on the idea of "race," a falsehood that damages us all but falls most heavily on the bodies of black women and men--bodies exploited through slavery and segregation, and, today, threatened, locked up, and murdered out of all proportion. What is it like to inhabit a black body and find a way to live within it? And how can we all honestly reckon with this fraught history and free ourselves from its burden? Between the World and Me is Ta-Nehisi Coates's attempt to answer these questions in a letter to his adolescent son. Coates shares with his son--and readers--the story of his awakening to the truth about his place in the world through a series of revelatory experiences, from Howard University to Civil War battlefields, from the South Side of Chicago to Paris, from his childhood home to the living rooms of mothers whose children's lives were taken as American plunder. Beautifully woven from personal narrative, reimagined history, and fresh, emotionally charged reportage, Between the World and Me clearly illuminates the past, bracingly confronts our present, and offers a transcendent vision for a way forward. Praise for Between the World and Me "Powerful and passionate . . . profoundly moving . . . a searing meditation on what it means to be black in America today." --Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times "Brilliant . . . [Coates] is firing on all cylinders, and it is something to behold: a mature writer entirely consumed by a momentous subject and working at the extreme of his considerable powers at the very moment national events most conform to his vision." -- The Washington Post "I've been wondering who might fill the intellectual void that plagued me after James Baldwin died. Clearly it is Ta-Nehisi Coates. The language of Between the World and Me, like Coates's journey, is visceral, eloquent, and beautifully redemptive. And its examination of the hazards and hopes of black male life is as profound as it is revelatory." --Toni Morrison "A brilliant thinker at the top of his powers, Coates has distilled four hundred years of history and his own anguish and wisdom into a prayer for his beloved son and an invocation to the conscience of his country. An instant classic and a gift to us all." --Isabel Wilkerson, author of The Warmth of Other Suns "I know that this book is addressed to the author's son, and by obvious analogy to all boys and young men of color as they pass, inexorably, into harm's way. I hope that I will be forgiven, then, for feeling that Coates was speaking to me, too, one father to another, teaching me that real courage is the courage to be vulnerable." --Michael Chabon "A work of rare beauty . . . a love letter written in a moral emergency, one that Coates exposes with the precision of an autopsy and the force of an exorcism." -- Slate - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - LEIREAD - NONFICTION COA
Between the world and me Book Cover




Multicultural America
by Ronald H. Bayor, Editor

9780313357862Ronald H. Bayor (Editor)Multicultural America: An Encyclopedia of the Newest AmericansThis encyclopedia contains 50 thorough profiles of the most numerically significant immigrant groups now making their homes in the United States, telling the story of our newest immigrants and introducing them to their fellow Americans. * Comprises contributions from 50 sociologists, anthropologists, historians, social scientists, and political scientists, many of whom are from the countries they discuss * Offers appealing sidebars featuring young people who represent the newest generation of American immigrants throughout the book * Provides maps showing where each country is located and photographs that accompany each essay, depicting cultural events and a young immigrant from that nation * Includes a glossary of important terms, a bibliography of sources, and a "Further Reading" section with each essay * Contains appendices of census statistics on American immigration * Presents a chronology of major historical events in each of the sending country's history - Description from Syndetics
Online
Multicultural America Book Cover




Americanah: a novel
by Adichie, Chimamanda Ngozi

9780307271082Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieAmericanah One of The New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of the Year From the award-winning author of Half of a Yellow Sun, a dazzling new novel: a story of love and race centered around a young man and woman from Nigeria who face difficult choices and challenges in the countries they come to call home. As teenagers in a Lagos secondary school, Ifemelu and Obinze fall in love. Their Nigeria is under military dictatorship, and people are leaving the country if they can. Ifemelu--beautiful, self-assured--departs for America to study. She suffers defeats and triumphs, finds and loses relationships and friendships, all the while feeling the weight of something she never thought of back home: race. Obinze--the quiet, thoughtful son of a professor--had hoped to join her, but post-9/11 America will not let him in, and he plunges into a dangerous, undocumented life in London. Years later, Obinze is a wealthy man in a newly democratic Nigeria, while Ifemelu has achieved success as a writer of an eye-opening blog about race in America. But when Ifemelu returns to Nigeria, and she and Obinze reignite their shared passion--for their homeland and for each other--they will face the toughest decisions of their lives. Fearless, gripping, at once darkly funny and tender, spanning three continents and numerous lives, Americanah is a richly told story set in today's globalized world: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's most powerful and astonishing novel yet. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - LEIREAD - MULTICULTURAL / INTERNATIONAL ADI
Glendale CC North Library - LEIREAD - LEISURE READING FICTION ADI
Americanah: a novel Book Cover




The autobiography of Malcolm X
by X, Malcolm; Haley, Alex

9780345379757Malcolm X; Alex Haley (As told to)The Autobiography of Malcolm XONE OF TIME 'S TEN MOST IMPORTANT NONFICTION BOOKS OF THE TWENTIETH CENTURY In the searing pages of this classic autobiography, originally published in 1964, Malcolm X, the Muslim leader, firebrand, and anti-integrationist, tells the extraordinary story of his life and the growth of the Black Muslim movement. His fascinating perspective on the lies and limitations of the American Dream, and the inherent racism in a society that denies its nonwhite citizens the opportunity to dream, gives extraordinary insight into the most urgent issues of our own time. The Autobiography of Malcolm X stands as the definitive statement of a movement and a man whose work was never completed but whose message is timeless. It is essential reading for anyone who wants to understand America. Praise for The Autobiography of Malcolm X "Malcolm X's autobiography seemed to offer something different. His repeated acts of self-creation spoke to me; the blunt poetry of his words, his unadorned insistence on respect, promised a new and uncompromising order, martial in its discipline, forged through sheer force of will." --Barack Obama, Dreams from My Father "Extraordinary . . . a brilliant, painful, important book." -- The New York Times "A great book . . . Its dead level honesty, its passion, its exalted purpose, will make it stand as a monument to the most painful truth." -- The Nation "The most important book I'll ever read, it changed the way I thought, it changed the way I acted. It has given me courage I didn't know I had inside me. I'm one of hundreds of thousands whose lives were changed for the better." --Spike Lee "This book will have a permanent place in the literature of the Afro-American struggle." --I. F. Stone - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BP223.Z8 L57943 1992
Glendale North CC Library - GENERAL - BP223.Z8 L57943 1992
The autobiography of Malcolm X Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District