Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Religious Diversity

Sacred Texts

Each religion has the texts, which both serve to define the religion and outline its major tenents.  Below is a listing of some of the major sacred texts available either as physical books or ebook through the GCC Library, in order of religious population.  Another great place to find some of these primary religious texts would be the website Sacred Texts.  

 




The Qu'ran

9780814727232Majid Fakhry (Translator)An Interpretation of the Qur'an: English Translation of the MeaningsTo followers of Islam, the Qur'an is the literal word of God, revealed through Muhammad, the last of the line of prophets, containing all that is necessary to lead a life of righteousness. This new bilingual edition, approved by Al-Azhar University, the chief center of Islamic and Arabic learning in the world, offers a comprehensive and accurate rendering of the Qur'an into modern English. The clear, rigorous translation, one of the only English translations available by a native Arabic speaker, is laid out here in dual column format directly opposing the Arabic text to allow the reader to make careful verse by verse comparisons. * approved by Al-Azhar University, Cairo * easy-to-read translation into modern English * index of surahs (chapters) * English and Arabic headers * verse numbers within text in English and Arabic * explanatory footnotes in English - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BP109 2004
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BP109
Online
The Qu'ran Book Cover




The Portable Atheist

While there is not one book that defines the religiously non-affiliated such as atheists and agnostics, this book provides a collection of essays and writings of non-believers throughout time.
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BL2747.3 .P67 2007
Online
The Portable Atheist Book Cover










The Dhammapada

9780140449419Valerie Roebuck; Penguin Classics Library EditorsThe DhammapadaOne of the best-known and best-loved works of Buddhist literature, the Dhammapada forms part of the oldest surviving body of Buddhist writings, and is traditionally regarded as the authentic teachings of the Buddha himself, spoken by him in his lifetime, and memorized and handed on by his followers after his death. A collection of simple verses gathered in themes such as 'awareness', 'fools' and 'old age', the Dhammapada is accessible, instructional and mind-clearing, with lessons in each verse to give ethical advice and to remind the listener of the transience of life. For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BQ1372 .E5 R64 2010
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BQ1372 .E5 R64 2010
Online
The Dhammapada Book Cover




Online Research Resources

Philosophy and Religion Collection

This online resource contains a wealth of articles focused upon religion and philosophy.

Project Muse

This excellent resource also contains a wealth of articles and ebooks on a variety of topics including religion.

GVRL: Religion

This resource contains a wealth of encyclopedic information on religions throughout the world.



Online Video Collections

Films on Demand: Religion Collection

This is a collection of Films on Demand video collection focusing on religion and philosophy.

Religious Ted Talks

This is a collection of religious TedTalks.



Additional Books on Religion

Below are a number of religions books.  These are not considered sacred texts but instead are books that speak of both different religions and interreligious dialogue.

Changing faith: the dynamics and consequences of Americans' shifting religious identities
by Sherkat, Darren E

9780814741276Darren E. SherkatChanging Faith: The Dynamics and Consequences of Americans' Shifting Religious IdentitiesMore than anywhere else in the Western world, religious attachments in America are quite flexible, with over 40 percent of U.S. citizens shifting their religious identification at least once in their lives. In Changing Faith, Darren E. Sherkat draws on empirical data from large-scale national studies to provide a comprehensive portrait of religious change and its consequences in the United States. With analysis spanning across generations and ethnic groups, the volume traces the evolution of the experience of Protestantism and Catholicism in the United States, the dramatic growth of Hinduism, Buddhism, and Islam, and the rise of non-identification, now the second most common religious affiliation in the country. Drawing on that wealth of data, it details the impact of religious commitments on broad arenas of American social life, including family and sexuality, economic well-being, political commitments, and social values. Exploring religious change among those of European heritage as well as of Eastern and Western European immigrants, African Americans, Asians, Latin Americans, and Native Americans, Changing Faith not only provides a comprehensive and ethnically inclusive demographic overview of the juncture between religion and ethnicity within both the private and public sphere, but also brings empirical analysis back to the sociology of religion. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BL2525 .S535 2014
Online
Changing faith: the dynamics and consequences of Americans' shifting religious identities Book Cover




God: Central Problems in Philosophy
by W. Jay Wood

9780773538399W. Jay WoodGodThe first part of the book addresses the epistemological concerns, focusing on arguments for and against the claim that theism is rationally justifiable. These include discussion of cosmological arguments, the ontological argument, the argument from design, and the moral argument for God's existence. Metaphysical questions about God's nature, in particular God's knowledge and power, and the nature of religious experience constitute the second part of the book. Epistemological and metaphysical questions are shown to be related since, if the concept of a God perfect in wisdom, power, and goodness is incoherent, it cannot be reasonable to believe that God exists. Throughout his discussion Wood draws on the most recent writings in the field as well as classic arguments and offers readers a clear, balanced, and incisive analysis of the core philosophical arguments for the existence of God. The book equips readers with the necessary understanding of issues in natural theology that will enable them to tackle more specialized and complex questions in the philosophy of religion. - Description from Syndetics
Online
God: Central Problems in Philosophy Book Cover







The Big Questions in Science and Religion
by Ward, Keith

9781599471358Keith WardThe Big Questions in Science and ReligionCan religious beliefs survive in the scientific age? Are they resoundingly outdated? Or, is there something in them of great importance, even if the way they are expressed will have to change given new scientific context? These questions are among those at the core of the science-religion dialogue. An Anglican priest who was once an atheist offers compelling insights into the often contentious relationship between diverse religious views and new scientific knowledge. He identifies ten basic questions about the nature of the universe and human life. Among these are: Does the universe have a goal or purpose? Do the laws of nature exclude miracles? Can science provide a wholly naturalistic explanation for moral and religious beliefs? Has science made belief in God obsolete? Are there any good science-based arguments for God? Ward considers concepts from Buddhism, Confucianism, Taoism, Islam, Hinduism, Judaism, and Christianity, while featuring the speculations of cosmologists, physicians, mathematicians, and philosophers. - Description from Syndetics
Online
The Big Questions in Science and Religion Book Cover




God is not one: the eight rival religions that run the world--and why their differences matter
by Prothero, Stephen R

9780061571275Stephen R. ProtheroGod Is Not One: The Eight Rival Religions That Run the World--And Why Their Differences MatterAt the dawn of the twenty-first century, dizzying scientific and technological advancements, interconnected globalized economies, and even the so-called New Atheists have done nothing to change one thing: our world remains furiously religious. For good and for evil, religion is the single greatest influence in the world. We accept as self-evident that competing economic systems (capitalist or communist) or clashing political parties (Republican or Democratic) propose very different solutions to our planet's problems. So why do we pretend that the world's religious traditions are different paths to the same God? We blur the sharp distinctions between religions at our own peril, argues religion scholar Stephen Prothero, and it is time to replace naïve hopes of interreligious unity with deeper knowledge of religious differences. In Religious Literacy, Prothero demonstrated how little Americans know about their own religious traditions and why the world's religions should be taught in public schools. Now, in God Is Not One, Prothero provides readers with this much-needed content about each of the eight great religions. To claim that all religions are the same is to misunderstand that each attempts to solve a different human problem. For example: --Islam: the problem is pride / the solution is submission --Christianity: the problem is sin / the solution is salvation --Confucianism: the problem is chaos / the solution is social order --Buddhism: the problem is suffering / the solution is awakening --Judaism: the problem is exile / the solution is to return to God Prothero reveals each of these traditions on its own terms to create an indispensable guide for anyone who wants to better understand the big questions human beings have asked for millennia--and the disparate paths we are taking to answer them today. A bold polemical response to a generation of misguided scholarship, God Is Not One creates a new context for understanding religion in the twenty-first century and disproves the assumptions most of us make about the way the world's religions work. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BL80.3 .P76 2010
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - BL80.3 .P76 2010
God is not one: the eight rival religions that run the world--and why their differences matter Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District