Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Reference Resources

Children, Adolescents & Families

Children, Adolescents & Families Image

Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Dictionaries

Adolescence in America: an encyclopedia
by Lerner, Lerner & Finkelstein

A survey of the social, psychological, and physical development of American teenagers. Two volumes of A-Z entries provide an authoritative view of teen-related subjects--from bullying to learning styles to risk perception. - Description from Syndetics
GCC
Adolescence in America: an encyclopedia Book Cover




Adoption Law Handbook: Practice, Resources nad Forms for Family Law Professionals
by Fairfax, Jennifer

9781614381150Jennifer Fairfax; American Bar Association, Section of Family Law Staff (Contribution by)Adoption Law Handbook: Practice, Resources, and Forms for Family Law ProfessionalsAdoption is a process that can require both time and patience. This guide helps you efficiently handle all steps in an adoption case, from consultation through finalization. Jennifer Fairfax, an experienced adoption attorney covers the primary types of adoption, both domestic and international, and examines the full range of issues impacting the adoption process, including the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children, special needs, adult, and stepparent adoptions, financing and tax issues, open records, and wrongful adoption. - Description from Syndetics
GCC
Adoption Law Handbook: Practice, Resources nad Forms for Family Law Professionals Book Cover







Child Abuse and Neglect Worldwide
by Conte, Jon R

In this comprehensive three-volume set, experts from around the globe provide an understanding of child abuse knowledge and healing, detailing current therapeutic practices and policy issues. Covers important topics ranging from Trauma Focused Cognitive Behavior Therapy (TF-CBT) to non-Western approaches to treatment of child trauma. Examines child maltreatment incidence today in the United States, Canada, Europe, Spanish-speaking countries, Arab nations, and Asia

- Description from Syndetics
GCC
Child Abuse and Neglect Worldwide Book Cover




Contemporary Youth Culture: an International Encyclopedia
by Steinberg, Parmar & Richard

Youth as a unique group is a 20th century idea. The changes wrought worldwide by World War II, propelled adolescence to a status and identity that coincided with unparalleled economic growth. An international and inter-disciplinary roster of experts shed light by exploring such topics as hip hop culture; punk culture; social justice movements; video games; political activism; language and identity; post-feminism; television; rites of passage; heterosexuality and homosexuality; race and ethnicity; social class; poetry and literature; visual art; conceptions of beauty and body image; academics; sports; drugs; families; refugee youth; the Internet; youth journalism; fashion; and violence. In short, this work brings new understanding to the complex and fluid phenomenon of youth culture. - Description from Syndetics
Print & eBook
Contemporary Youth Culture: an International Encyclopedia Book Cover




The Encyclopedia of Adoption
by Adamec & Miller

Addresses the Adoption and Safe Families Act, a federal law that was created to encourage the adoption of foster children, laws concerning adoptions by gays and lesbians, tax issues, school and adopted children, birthfather rights, transracial adoptions, and international adoptions. New entries include: Adoption subsidy; Child Citizenship Act of 2000; Early intervention; Eating disorders; Fraud in adoption; Helicobacter pylori; Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV); Iron deficiency anemia; Language delays; Paternity testing; Sleep disorders; Substance abuse; and Tuberculosis. - Description from Syndetics
GCC
The Encyclopedia of Adoption Book Cover




Encyclopedia of Human Development
by Salkind, Neil J

9781412904759Neil J. Salkind (Editor)Encyclopedia of Human DevelopmentSAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Human Development , Three-Volume Set . Whether charting the emotional attachment of an infant to his or her parents and its long-term effects on well-being, media violence and adolescents' behaviour, or factors moderating the natural decline in physical and mental abilities associated with aging, the cross-disciplinary field of human development is one that captures interest among and holds practical relevance for the general public as well as academia. The Encyclopedia of Human Development presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies and education. From A to Z, 600 entries cover topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament and more. Key features and benefits include: - cross-disciplinary coverage, with contributions from and applications to the fields of psychology, education, human development and family studies and gerontology; - highlighting classic studies and theories and will provide brief biographies of notable researchers and theorists; - an introduction explaining the scope, rationale and audience for this Encyclopedia ; - entries, organized A to Z, followed by a brief list of further readings and cross-references to other entries. Whilst entries are organized in the classical A to Z format, an alternative table of contents, a `reader's guide' is organized around themes or specific topic areas that allows readers interested in specific topics to find relevant encyclopedia entries more easily. Several `anchor essays' cover specific phases of the lifespan, for example: prenatal; infancy; childhood; adolescence; early and middle adulthood; later adulthood; and aging. A general bibliography builds from the further reading sections of the individual entries. Key Themes include: Abuse Adolescence Aging and Older Development Biographies Birth and Infancy Cognitive Development Death and Dying Early Childhood Development and Education Education Emotional Development Families and Family Development Genetics/Genetic Testing Health & Well Being Intelligence, Ability and Aptitude Language and Communications Laws and Policies Learning and Memory Mental Disorders Middle Adulthood Milestones Moral Development Older Adulthood and Old Age Parenting Personality Physical and Biological Development Professional Organizations Race and Ethnicity Religion Sexuality and Sex Social Development and Social Behavior Social Learning Theory Special Groups Statistics, Research Methods, and Measurement Substance Abuse Theories and Ideas About Development - Description from Syndetics
Print at GCC & eBook
Encyclopedia of Human Development Book Cover




Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development
by Haith & Benson

This major reference work provides a comprehensive entry point into all of the existing literature on child development from the fields of psychology, genetics, neuroscience, and sociology. The scope of this work is to understand the developmental changes, when they occur, why they occur, how they occur, and those factors that influence that development. Although some medical information is included, the emphasis is on normal growth and is primarily from a psychological perspective. - Description from Syndetics
GCC & GCC North
Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development Book Cover







The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide
by Epstein & Limage

From the skyrocketing AIDS rate in Haiti to the oppressive pollution in industrial China, from the violent street culture of Nigeria to the crippling poverty in Nicaragua, from child trafficking in Thailand to child marriages in India, this jam-packed six-volume set explores all these issues and more in an unprecedented look at the world's children at the dawn of the 21st century. The UN's codification of children's rights has done much to expand our understanding of what is needed for healthy growth and development of children and youth. Current data on key topics, including education, play and recreation, child labor, family, health, laws and legal status, religious life, abuse and neglect, and growing up in the 21st century. - Description from Syndetics
GCC
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide Book Cover




International Encyclopedia of Adolescence
by Arnett, Jeffrey Jensen

This is an exhaustive socio-cultural survey of young people around the world. The focus is cultural and historical, and does not stress biological or psycho-pathological issues. It addresses myths and realities of adolescence by looking at the actual life of young people in regions as varied as Iran, India, France, the USA, or Japan. Country coverage examines cultural beliefs, gender, personal and cultural identity, relationships (familial), friends and peers, love and sexuality, education, work, media, problems, and outlook for the future, plus topics particular to the culture or region discussed. - Description from Syndetics
GCC
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence Book Cover










Social History of the American Family: An Encyclopedia
by Coleman & Ganong

Chronicles the social, cultural, economic, and political aspects of American families from the colonial period to the present. Key themes include families and culture (including mass media), families and religion, families and the economy, families and social issues, families and social stratification and conflict, family structures (including marriage and divorce, gender roles, parenting and children, and mixed and non-modal family forms), and family law and policy. - Description from Syndetics
GCC
Social History of the American Family: An Encyclopedia Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District