Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Books Resources

Search for Anthropology Books

This search limits just to those books labeled as Anthropology/Archaeology in the GCC Libraries and online: 

Limit to Archaeology

  
   

            




Online Reference Books







Encyclopedia of Archaeology

9780123739629Deborah M. Pearsall (Editor-In-Chief)Encyclopedia of ArchaeologyArchaeology is a subject that fascinates us. From Egyptian tombs to a frozen Alpine wayfarer, from cities buried under volcanic ash to stone arrow heads turned up by the plow, archaeology is in the news and in our backyards. It is paradoxical that a subject that so easily captures the imagination is so difficult for the serious layman to access. Superficial media treatments and picture-book atlases and site guides on the one hand, jargon-heavy scholarly books and narrowly focused articles on the other-there are few ways to learn about the real world of archaeology outside the college classroom or the dig site. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology changes this, in making all aspects of archaeology accessible to a broad audience of the general scientific community, educators, students, and avocational archaeologists. Professional archaeologists and anthropologists will also find the encyclopedia a ready source of up-to-date information on specialities outside their own expertise. The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline. Featured in the Encyclopedia of Archaeology are articles by leading authors that summarize archaeological knowledge at the beginning the 21st century, highlighting important sites and issues, and tracing the development of prehistoric cultures around the globe. No existing work provides the breadth and depth of coverage as the Encyclopedia of Archaeology . Also available online via ScienceDirect (2007) - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. The first and only reference work to cover all elements of archaeology, over 280 articles have been specifically commissioned for this reference work Distinguished Editorial Board headed by Editor-in-Chief Professor Deborah Pearsall, University of Missouri, along with many other prominent scientists serving as editorial advisors Breadth and depth of coverage ensures that professional archaeologists will find the Encyclopedia a ready source of up-to-date information on specialties outside their own expertise Each article has been reviewed to ensure accuracy, comprehensiveness, and up-to-date content Articles are written to be accessible to the educated general public with jargon-free presentation of subjects Beautiful 4-color photography and informational figures throughout Topics are arrange A-Z for easy reference Geographic overview articles are grouped by continent or region to allow easy reference Glossary entries explain key terms Further Reading lists appear at the end of each entry - Description from Syndetics
Online
Encyclopedia of Archaeology Book Cover




Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries

9781576071984Tim Murray (Editor)Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and DiscoveriesWritten by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasurehouse of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day. * Includes 500+ A-Z entries on pioneers such as J. Desmond Clark, sites including Chich#65533;n Itz#65533; in Mexico, remote sensing and other concepts and techniques, periods, regions, organizations, and museums * Contributors include some of the world's most eminent archaeologists * Includes maps depicting key points of reference like ethnic groups in the West Indies at the time of Columbus * Contains photographs of excavation sites such as an ancient burial ground in Chile, shields, petroglyphs, and other artifacts - Description from Syndetics
Online
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries Book Cover




Reference Books in the GCC Library

List of Print Reference Titles at GCC Libraries



Featured Titles

Check out some of our featured anthropology/archaeology titles below.  Please note: if you are looking for Southwester Archaeological titles, you will likely find more resources under the Archaeology of the Southwest portion or this research guide.

Digital Anthropology
by Horst, Heather A; Miller, Daniel

9780857852908Heather A. Horst (Editor); Daniel Miller (Editor)Digital AnthropologyAnthropology has two main tasks: to understand what it is to be human and to examine how humanity is manifested differently in the diversity of culture. These tasks have gained new impetus from the extraordinary rise of the digital. This book brings together several key anthropologists working with digital culture to demonstrate just how productive an anthropological approach to the digital has already become. Through a range of case studies from Facebook to Second Life to Google Earth, Digital Anthropology explores how human and digital can be defined in relation to one another, from avatars and disability; cultural differences in how we use social networking sites or practise religion; the practical consequences of the digital for politics, museums, design, space and development to new online world and gaming communities. The book also explores the moral universe of the digital, from new anxieties to open-source ideals. Digital Anthropology reveals how only the intense scrutiny of ethnography can overturn assumptions about the impact of digital culture and reveal its profound consequences for everyday life. Combining the clarity of a textbook with an engaging style which conveys a passion for these new frontiers of enquiry, this book is essential reading for students and scholars of anthropology, media studies, communication studies, cultural studies and sociology. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - P96.A56 D54 2013
Digital Anthropology Book Cover




The creation of inequality: how our prehistoric ancestors set the stage for monarchy, slavery, and empire
by Flannery, Kent V; Marcus, Joyce

9780674064690Kent Flannery; Joyce MarcusThe Creation of Inequality: How Our Prehistoric Ancestors Set the Stage for Monarchy, Slavery, and EmpireOur early ancestors lived in small groups and worked actively to preserve social equality. As they created larger societies, however, inequality rose, and by 2500 bce truly egalitarian societies were on the wane. In The Creation of Inequality, Kent Flannery and Joyce Marcus demonstrate that this development was not simply the result of population increase, food surplus, or the accumulation of valuables. Instead, inequality resulted from conscious manipulation of the unique social logic that lies at the core of every human group. A few societies allowed talented and ambitious individuals to rise in prestige while still preventing them from becoming a hereditary elite. But many others made high rank hereditary, by manipulating debts, genealogies, and sacred lore. At certain moments in history, intense competition among leaders of high rank gave rise to despotic kingdoms and empires in the Near East, Egypt, Africa, Mexico, Peru, and the Pacific. Drawing on their vast knowledge of both living and prehistoric social groups, Flannery and Marcus describe the changes in logic that create larger and more hierarchical societies, and they argue persuasively that many kinds of inequality can be overcome by reversing these changes, rather than by violence. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GN740 .F54 2012
The creation of inequality: how our prehistoric ancestors set the stage for monarchy, slavery, and empire Book Cover




Singing for the dead: the politics of indigenous revival in Mexico
by Faudree, Paja

9780822354161Paja FaudreeSinging for the Dead: The Politics of Indigenous Revival in MexicoSinging for the Dead chronicles ethnic revival in Oaxaca, Mexico, where new forms of singing and writing in the local Mazatec indigenous language are producing powerful, transformative political effects. Paja Faudree argues for the inclusion of singing as a necessary component in the polarized debates about indigenous orality and literacy, and she considers how the coupling of literacy and song has allowed people from the region to create texts of enduring social resonance. She examines how local young people are learning to read and write in Mazatec as a result of the region's new Day of the Dead song contest. Faudree also studies how tourist interest in local psychedelic mushrooms has led to their commodification, producing both opportunities and challenges for songwriters and others who represent Mazatec culture. She situates these revival movements within the contexts of Mexico and Latin America, as well as the broad, hemisphere-wide movement to create indigenous literatures. Singing for the Dead provides a new way to think about the politics of ethnicity, the success of social movements, and the limits of national belonging. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - F1221 .M35 F38 2013
Singing for the dead: the politics of indigenous revival in Mexico Book Cover




The Oxford handbook of African archaeology
by Mitchell, Peter; Lane, Paul

9780199569885Peter Mitchell (Editor); Paul Lane (Editor)The Oxford Handbook of African ArchaeologyAfrica has the longest and arguably the most diverse archaeological record of any of the continents. It is where the human lineage first evolved and from where Homo sapiens spread across the rest of the world. Later, it witnessed novel experiments in food-production and unique trajectories tourbanism and the organisation of large communities that were not always structured along strictly hierarchical lines. Millennia of engagement with societies in other parts of the world confirm Africa's active participation in the construction of the modern world, while the richness of its history,ethnography, and linguistics provide unusually powerful opportunities for constructing interdisciplinary narratives of Africa's past. This Handbook provides a comprehensive and up-to-date synthesis of African archaeology, covering the entirety of the continent's past from the beginnings of human evolution to the archaeological legacy of European colonialism. As well as covering almost all periods and regions of the continent, itincludes a mixture of key methodological and theoretical issues and debates, and situates the subject's contemporary practice within the discipline's history and the infrastructural challenges now facing its practitioners. Bringing together essays on all these themes from over seventy contributors,many of them living and working in Africa, it offers a highly accessible, contemporary account of the subject for use by scholars and students of not only archaeology, but also history, anthropology, and other disciplines. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - REF - DT13 .O94 2013
The Oxford handbook of African archaeology Book Cover




Anthropology of religion: the basics
by Bielo, James S

9780415731256James S. BieloAnthropology of Religion: the BasicsAnthropology of Religion: The Basics is an accessible and engaging introductory text organized around key issues that all anthropologists of religion face. This book uses a wide range of historical and ethnographic examples to address not only what is studied by anthropologists of religion, but how such studies are approached. It addresses questions such as: How do human agents interact with gods and spirits? What is the nature of doing religious ethnography? Can the immaterial be embodied in the body, language and material objects? What is the role of ritual, time, and place in religion? Why is charisma important for religious movements? How do global processes interact with religions? With international case studies from a range of religious traditions, suggestions for further reading, and inventive reflection boxes, Anthropology of Religion: The Basics is an essential read for students approaching the subject for the first time. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GN470 .B488 2015
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - GN470 .B488 2015
Anthropology of religion: the basics Book Cover




The statues that walked: unraveling the mystery of Easter Island
by Hunt, Terry L; Lipo, Carl P

9781619020207Terry Hunt; Carl LipoThe Statues That Walked: Unraveling the Mystery of Easter IslandThe monumental statues of Easter Island, so magisterial and so forlorn, gazing out in their imposing rows over the island's barren landscape, have been the source of great mystery ever since first discovered by Europeans on Easter Sunday 1722. How could the ancient people who inhabited this tiny speck of land, the most remote in the vast expanse of the Pacific islands, have built such monumental works? No such astonishing numbers of massive statues are found anywhere else in the Pacific. How could the islanders possibly have moved so many multi-ton monoliths from the quarry inland, where they were carved, to their posts along the coastline? And most intriguing and vexing of all, if the island once boasted a culture developed and sophisticated enough to have produced such marvelous edifices, what happened to that culture? Why was the island the Europeans encountered a sparsely populated wasteland? The prevailing accounts of the island's history tell a story of self-inflicted devastation: a glaring case of eco-suicide. The island was dominated by a powerful chiefdom that promulgated a cult of statue making, exercising a ruthless hold on the island's people and rapaciously destroying the environment, cutting down a lush palm forest that once blanketed the island in order to construct contraptions for moving more and more statues, which grew larger and larger. As the population swelled in order to sustain the statue cult, growing well beyond the island's agricultural capacity, a vicious cycle of warfare broke out between opposing groups, and the culture ultimately suffered a dramatic collapse. In this lively and fascinating account, Hunt and Lipo offer a definitive solution to the mystery of what really happened on the island. Far from irresponsible environmental destroyers, they show, the Easter Islanders were remarkably inventive environmental stewards, devising ingenious methods to enhance the island's agricultural capacity. They did not devastate the palm forest, and the culture did not descend into brutal violence. Perhaps most surprising of all, the making and moving of their enormous statutes did not require a bloated population or tax their precious resources; their statue building was actually integral to their ability to achieve a delicate balance of sustainability. The Easter Islanders, it turns out, offer us an impressive record of masterful environmental management rich with lessons for confronting the daunting environmental challenges of our own time. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - F3169 .H86 2012
The statues that walked: unraveling the mystery of Easter Island Book Cover




An archaeology of the cosmos: rethinking agency and religion in ancient America
by Pauketat, Timothy R

9780415521291Timothy R. PauketatAn Archaeology of the CosmosAn Archaeology of the Cosmos seeks answers to two fundamental questions of humanity and human history. The first question concerns that which some use as a defining element of humanity: religious beliefs. Why do so many people believe in supreme beings and holy spirits? The second question concerns changes in those beliefs. What causes beliefs to change? Using archaeological evidence gathered from ancient America, especially case material from the Great Plains and the pre-Columbian American Indian city of Cahokia, Timothy Pauketat explores the logical consequences of these two fundamental questions. Religious beliefs are not more resilient than other aspects of culture and society, and people are not the only causes of historical change. An Archaeology of the Cosmos examines the intimate association of agency and religion by studying how relationships between people, places, and things were bundled together and positioned in ways that constituted the fields of human experience. This rethinking theories of agency and religion provides readers with challenging and thought provoking conclusions that will lead them to reassess the way they approach the past. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - E98 .C79 P38 2013
An archaeology of the cosmos: rethinking agency and religion in ancient America Book Cover




Celestial geometry: understanding the astronomical meanings of ancient sites
by Taylor, Ken

9781780283869Ken TaylorCelestial Geometry: Understanding the Astronomical Meanings of Ancient SitesThis book travels the world to explore over 60 archaeological sites that enshrine the remarkable achievements of ancient astronomers. In many cultures, an early understanding of the cosmos is expressed through architecture--stone circles that act as giant computers for the timing of eclipses or connections with the rising or setting of planets. The author's focus ranges broadly--from the great stone circles of Europe to the pyramids of Egypt and the pyramid-temples of Central America, from the medicine wheels of North America to the carved monoliths of Easter Island. In part, however, the book's value lies in its revelation of astronomical alignments in lesser-known structures, such as the vast sun clock of Goseck in Germany and the ancient rock art of Australia. The book is organized by key celestial events including lunar and solar eclipses, and features original artwork showing key alignments and the movements of the planets and stars. The book offers beautiful and fascinating insights into the mysteries of the ancient world--and a vision of mankind's efforts to integrate our sense of spiritual belonging with the mysteries of space and time. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GN799 .A8 T39 2012
Celestial geometry: understanding the astronomical meanings of ancient sites Book Cover




The shaman's mirror: visionary art of the Huichol
by MacLean, Hope

9780292728769Hope MacLeanThe Shaman's Mirror: Visionary Art of the HuicholHuichol Indian yarn paintings are one of the world's great indigenous arts, sold around the world and advertised as authentic records of dreams and visions of the shamans. Using glowing colored yarns, the Huichol Indians of Mexico paint the mystical symbols of their culture--the hallucinogenic peyote cactus, the blue deer-spirit who appears to the shamans as they croon their songs around the fire in all-night ceremonies deep in the Sierra Madre mountains, and the pilgrimages to sacred sites, high in the central Mexican desert of Wirikuta. Hope MacLean provides the first comprehensive study of Huichol yarn paintings, from their origins as sacred offerings to their transformation into commercial art. Drawing on twenty years of ethnographic fieldwork, she interviews Huichol artists who have innovated important themes and styles. She compares the artists' views with those of art dealers and government officials to show how yarn painters respond to market influences while still keeping their religious beliefs. Most innovative is her exploration of what it means to say a tourist art is based on dreams and visions of the shamans. She explains what visionary experience means in Huichol culture and discusses the influence of the hallucinogenic peyote cactus on the Huichol's remarkable use of color. She uncovers a deep structure of visionary experience, rooted in Huichol concepts of soul-energy, and shows how this remarkable conception may be linked to visionary experiences as described by other Uto-Aztecan and Meso-American cultures. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - F1221 .H9 M22 2012
Online
The shaman's mirror: visionary art of the Huichol Book Cover




Wired for culture: origins of the human social mind
by Pagel, Mark D

9780393344202Mark PagelWired for Culture: Origins of the Human Social MindA unique trait of the human species is that our personalities, lifestyles, and worldviews are shaped by an accident of birth--namely, the culture into which we are born. It is our cultures and not our genes that determine which foods we eat, which languages we speak, which people we love and marry, and which people we kill in war. But how did our species develop a mind that is hardwired for culture--and why?Evolutionary biologist Mark Pagel tracks this intriguing question through the last 80,000 years of human evolution, revealing how an innate propensity to contribute and conform to the culture of our birth not only enabled human survival and progress in the past but also continues to influence our behavior today. Shedding light on our species' defining attributes--from art, morality, and altruism to self-interest, deception, and prejudice--Wired for Culture offers surprising new insights into what it means to be human. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GN281 .P32 2013
Wired for culture: origins of the human social mind Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District