Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Exploring Countries and Cultures

Online Databases and Resources

Global Road Warrior

This database is a fantastic place to learn about the cultural practices and customs of nations across the globe.

Countries, Peoples, and Cultures

Countries, Peoples & Cultures series is complete with specific information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments and 10 major world religions.

National Geographic Virtual Library

This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine  every page of every issue  along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

World Folklore and Folklife

Resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides access to subject specialized encyclopedias and resources in a variety of disciplines including anthropology, history and social science.



The American Cultural Experience

Publisher ABC-CLIO has put together an extraordinary set of resources dedicated to the cultural experiences of various cultures throughout the history of the United States.  Below are a few of these collections:

African American Experience

Provides access to numerous reference materials and primary resources related to African American history and culture.

American Indian Experience

This online collection features reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images on the experience of American Indians throughout U.S. history.

Latino American Experience

Dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos; explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the US.




Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District