Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Books

American National Biography
by John A. Garraty and Mark C. Carnes (eds.)

American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years. The ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by an expert in the field and completed with a bibliography.
Glendale CC Library Reference CT213 .A68 1999
American National Biography Book Cover




The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives
by Kenneth T. Jackson (editor)

This set of books profiles prominent American individuals.
Glendale CC Library Reference CT213 .S37 1998
The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives Book Cover




Profiles in World History: Significant Events and the People Who Shaped Them
by Joyce Moss and George Wilson (eds.)

This comprehensive eight-volume resource presents the life stories of more than 175 individuals who have played key roles in world history.
Glendale CC Library Reference D21 .P94 1996
Profiles in World History: Significant Events and the People Who Shaped Them Book Cover




Asian and Pacific Islander Americans
by Gary Y. Okihiro (editor)

Great Lives from History: Asian and Pacific Islander Americans features 485 essays about people from the late eighteenth through the early twenty-first centuries.
Glendale CC Library Reference E184.A75 A85 2013
Asian and Pacific Islander Americans Book Cover




Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary
by Matt S. Meier

U.S. Latinos have made important contributions to American society, and this biographical dictionary is devoted to celebrating those contributions. All 127 men and women profiled in this work have immigrated to or been born in the United States and have made major contributions to American life and culture.
Glendale CC Library Reference E184.S75 M435 1997
Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary  Book Cover




Great Lives From History: African Americans
by Carl L. Bankston III (editor)

Great Lives from History: African Americans covers more than 770 people from colonial times through the present, offering fascinating perspectives on black American history.
Glendale CC Library Reference E185.96 .G736 2011
Great Lives From History: African Americans  Book Cover




American Sports: A History of Icons, Idols, and Ideas
by Murry R. Nelson (editor)

America loves sports. This book examines and details the proof of this fascination seen throughout American society--in our literature, film, and music; our clothing and food; and the iconography of the nation.
Glendale CC Library Reference GV583 .A637 2013
American Sports: A History of Icons, Idols, and Ideas Book Cover




Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia
by Anne Commire and Deborah Klezmer (eds)

This encyclopedia features women from all walks of life, including: royalty, lawyers, politicians, soldiers, heroines, pacifists, resistance fighters, financiers, philanthropists, and authors.
Glendale CC Library Reference HQ1115 .W6 1999
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia Book Cover




American Villains
by Salem Press

American Villains explores the lives, deeds and punishments of 177 of the most infamous villains of our time. What makes this set unique is that it focuses on U.S. criminals who are not generally covered in American biographical surveys.
Glendale CC Library Reference HV6785 .A44 2008
American Villains Book Cover




The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
by Stanley Sadie (editor)

This is as much an encyclopedia as a dictionary. Its 20 volumes embrace the entire world of musical knowledge, offering over 22,500 alphabetically arranged articles, by 2,300 contributors.
Glendale CC Library Reference ML100 .N48 C1
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Book Cover




American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies
by Leonard Unger (editor)

This collection of critical and biographical articles covers hundreds of notable authors from the 17th century to the present day.
Glendale CC Library Reference PS129 .A55
American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies Book Cover




New Dictionary of Scientific Biography
by Noretta Koertge (editor)

This reference source includes thousands of biographies of mathematicians and natural scientists from all regions and historic periods.
Glendale CC Library Reference Q141 .N45 2008
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography Book Cover




Dictionary of Medical Biography
by W.F. Bynum and Helen Bynum (eds)

The Dictionary of Medical Biography provides authoritative biographical coverage of major medical practitioners in all times and cultures.
Glendale CC Library Reference R134 .D57 2007
Dictionary of Medical Biography Book Cover




Amazons to Fighter Pilots: A Biographical Dictionary of Military Women
by Reina Pennington (editor)

Entries profile of 300 remarkable women of the military. Covering such groups as the Amazons, women in the Spanish Civil War and Native Americans.
Glendale CC Library Reference U52 .A44 2003
Amazons to Fighter Pilots: A Biographical Dictionary of Military Women Book Cover




Medal of Honor Recipients, 1863-1994
by George Lang, Raymond L. Collins, and Gerard F. White

Organized chronologically by war, conflict, or campaign, and then alphabetically by recipient within his/her conflict, this reference lists the names of 3,399 Medal of Honor recipients, along with their ranks and organizations, their places and dates of birth, the date each entered the service, military unit, battle or place of action for which the award was given, General Order Number for the medal, and complete citation explaining the reason for awarding the medal.
Glendale CC Library Reference UB433 .L36 1995
Medal of Honor Recipients, 1863-1994 Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District