Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Dance

Dance Books

Dance studies: the basics
by Butterworth, Jo

9780203156995Jo ButterworthDance Studies: the BasicsA concise introduction to the study of dance ranging from the practical aspects such as technique and choreography to more theoretical considerations such as aesthetic appreciation and the place of dance in different cultures. This book answers questions such as: Exactly how do we define dance? What kinds of people dance and what kind of training is necessary? How are dances made? What do we know about dance history? Featuring a glossary, chronology of dance history and list of useful websites, this book is the ideal starting point for anyone interested in the study of dance. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1594 .B88 2012 Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - GV1594 .B88 2012
Dance studies: the basics Book Cover




Dance anatomy
by Haas, Jacqui Greene

9780736081931Jacqui Greene HaasDance AnatomyPowerful, expressive, and compelling! Now you can see what it takes to be a stronger, more elegant dancer. Featuring over 200 full-color illustrations, Dance Anatomy visually depicts the unique relationship between muscle development and aesthetic movement as never before. Dance Anatomy features 82 of the most effective dance, movement, and performance exercises, each designed to promote perfect alignment, improved placement, proper breathing, and prevention of common injuries. In stunning detail, the accompanying illustration captures the dancer in motion and highlights the active muscles associated with each movement. You'll learn how to modify exercises to target specific areas to enhance flexibility and reduce muscle tension. You'll also learn to put it all together to personalize a program based on your style of dance, level of expertise, and individual needs and goals. Whether you seek to optimize performance, add a new movement to your repertoire, or minimize muscle fatigue, stress, and injury, Dance Anatomy is your perfect partner. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - RC1220 .D35 H33 2010
Dance anatomy Book Cover




Dance masters: interviews with legends of dance
by Roseman, Janet Lynn

9780415929523Janet Lynn RosemanDance Masters: Interviews with Legends of DanceDance Mastersis a lively ensemble of conversations with seven celebrated dancers and choreographers. In these intimate interviews, dance critic Janet Lynn Roseman probes the heart of dance: * The creative process * The role of dream and rituals * The interplay between dancer and audience * The spiritual aspects of performance These dance masters offer rare insights into the internal world of the artist as they reveal their philosophies on dance training, discuss their mentors, and speak candidly about the artistic process of dance-making and how it actually feels to dance. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1785.A1 R67 2001
Dance masters: interviews with legends of dance Book Cover




Dance: rituals of experience
by Highwater, Jamake

9780195112054Jamake HighwaterDance: Rituals of ExperienceThis book presents a powerful view of the history of dance, contrasting its role in Western civilization with its significance in other cultures. Highwater--a renowned critic, author, and lecturer on art, theater, music, and dance--links the history of dance to cultural forces as diverse asKarl Marx and Elvis Presley. Beginning with the original, ritualistic, and primal forms of dance, he traces its decline into empty ceremonial forms while all along insisting that dance is a fundamental life impulse made visible in motion--a spontaneous transformation of experience into metaphoricmeaning. Considering the historical and creative context from which dance emerged, Highwater goes on to point out the specific contributions and cultural influences of such 20th-century dance giants as Isadora Duncan, Twyla Tharp, Robert Wilson, George Balanchine, Martha Graham, Alwin Nikolais,Erick Hawkins, Jose Limon, Merce Cunningham, Meredith Monk, and Garth Fagan. Also examined are many newer artists, such as Bebe Miller and the Urban Bush Women. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1601 .H54 1996
Dance: rituals of experience Book Cover




Dance history: an introduction
by Lansdale, Janet; Layson, June

9780415090308Janet Adshead-Lansdale (Editor); June Layson (Editor)Dance History: IntroductionOriginally published in 1983 the first edition rapidly established itself as a core student text. Now fully revised and up-dated it remains the only book to address the rationale, process, techniques and methodologies specific to the study of dance history. For the main body of the text which covers historical studies of dance in its traditional and performance contexts, the editors have brought together a team of internationally known dance historians. Roger Copeland and Deborah Jowitt each take a controversial look at the modern American dance. Kenneth Archer and Millicent Hodson explain the processes they use when reconstructing 'lost' ballets, and Theresa Buckland and Georgina Gore write on traditional dance in England and West Africa respectively. With other contributions on social dance, ballet, early European modern dance and feminist perspectives on dance history this book offers a multitude of starting points for studying dance history as well as presenting examples of dance writing at its very best. Dance Historywill be an essential purchase for all students of dance. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1589 .D38 1994
Dance history: an introduction Book Cover




Various Types of Dance Books

Latin dance
by Drake-Boyt, Elizabeth

9780313376085Elizabeth Drake-BoytLatin DanceThis title in the American Dance Floor series provides an overview of the origins, development, and current status of Latin social dancing in the United States. * Provides information from interviews conducted with Latin social dancers in the United States * Contains photographs that illustrate the body alignment, mood, and wide variety of context of Latin social dancers, as well as Latin musicians and musical instruments * A bibliography contains entries useful for further investigation into the topic of Latin dances * Appendices indicate basic online resources for Latin social dancing in the United States and provide a filmography of Latin dances organized according to style - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1626 .D73 2011
Latin dance Book Cover




Caribbean dance from abakuá to zouk: how movement shapes identity
by Sloat, Susanna

9780813025490Susanna Sloat (Editor)Caribbean Dance from Abakuá to Zouk: How Movement Shapes IdentityCaribbean Dance from Abaku#65533; to Zouk is an unprecedented overview of the dances from each of this region's major islands and the complex, fused, and layered cultures that gave birth to them. The authors in this collection, from distinguished cultural leaders to highly innovative choreographers, reveal how dance shapes personal, communal, and national identity. They also show how Caribbean rhythms, dances, fragments of movement, and even attitudes toward movement reach beyond the islands and through the extensive West Indian diaspora communities in North America, Latin America, and Europe to be embraced by the world at large. From the anthropological to the literary and from the practical to the creative, these dances are explored in the contexts of social history, tradition, ritual, and performance. Connections are made among a fascinating array of dances, both familiar and little known, from culturally based to newly created performance pieces. Particular emphasis is placed on the African contribution in making Caribbean dance distinctive. An extensive glossary of terms and more than 30 illustrations round out the book to make it the most complete resource on Caribbean dance available. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1631 .C37 2002
Caribbean dance from abakuá to zouk: how movement shapes identity Book Cover







Aerial dance
by Bernasconi, Jayne C; Smith, Nancy E

9780736073967Jayne Bernasconi; Nancy Smith; Jayne C. Bernasconi; Nancy E. SmithAerial Dance Aerial Dance is the first book to showcase this newest dance genre. The book traces the historical roots of this latest art form, which is rapidly gaining in popularity. It also defines its place in the lineage of modern dance and addresses aesthetics, philosophical approaches to teaching, and safety issues. Aerial Dance will be of great interest to all those associated with or attracted to this emerging art form. Whether a novice or professional, a practitioner or educator, they will learn from those who helped shape aerial dance into what it is today. Through this book and DVD package, readers will -gain insight from essays written by leading choreographers in the field; -gain a greater understanding of and appreciation for aerial dance choreography through "Look Up!" features that provide cross-references to video performance clips on the DVD; and -view high-quality photographs that illustrate the origins of aerial dance. Part I details the evolution of aerial dance and its place in a postmodern world. It delves into the aesthetics of aerial dance and the differences between this genre and circus-based aerial arts. Part II presents a variety of essays from many of the top artists in the field who provide insight into their own approaches to aerial dance. The book also presents a variety of teaching applications, including ideas for working with special populations and related art forms. Part III is all about safety, including injury prevention, rigging, other safety-related issues. This part helps readers understand anatomical and physiological issues regarding safety. Note that Aerial Dance is not meant as an instruction book in choreographing or executing aerial dance moves. No book can ensure safe rigging or keep a dancer from falling. Those who are interested in learning and practicing aerial dance must first find a skilled and experienced teacher. The appendix includes contact information on aerial dancers, teachers, festivals, and aerial dance equipment. Readers will find great insight and direction from seasoned experts in this innovative dance form. Aerial Dancecaptures the passion of the genre and helps readers appreciate the creative possibilities it offers. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - GV1783 .B455 2008
Aerial dance Book Cover













Ballet and modern dance
by Au, Susan

9780500203521Susan AuBallet and Modern DanceAnyone with an interest in dance has felt the need for a guide to the art's rich history and complex present state. Susan Au's lucid text covers the entire spectrum of dance, vividly describing the great performers and performances of the past as well as exploring in detail the dance world of today. A generous selection of illustrations completes the picture, taking the reader from the palaces of the Medici to the lofts of Manhattan, from the dancing of Louis XIV to the experimental choreography of Twyla Tharp and Pina Bausch. A completely new final chapter documents the work of the chief dancers and choreographers from the 1980s to the present, covering offshoots of modern dance such as Tanztheater and Butoh, and recent developments such as performance art and site-specific choreography. The author discusses the upsurge in the popularity of dances of the past, among them ballroom dancing and the Argentine tango, and notes the revival of tap dancing as well as the successful adaptation of Irish stepdancing to the theater. In addition, she records the uses dance and dancers have made of recent technological advances, including cinedance and videodance, CD-ROMs, and the Internet. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1787 .A79 2002
Ballet and modern dance Book Cover







Frank Hatchett's jazz dance
by Hatchett, Frank; Gitlin, Nancy Myers

9780736000253Frank Hatchett; Nancy Myers GitlinFrank Hatchett's Jazz Dance A unique blend of energy, expressiveness, individual interpretation, and physical conditioning, VOP is the hot style of jazz dance that's captivating dancers and audiences alike. Frank Hatchett--one of the most well-known, influential teachers and choreographers in the world--coined the term VOP while teaching his students how to accent a step and stylize a movement. Since that time, VOP has become synonymous with Hatchett's style of jazz dance. Hatchett perfected his unique style while teaching stars such as Madonna, Brooke Shields, Naomi Campbell, Vanessa Williams, Olivia Newton-John, MTV's Downtown Julie Brown, Justine Bateman, and Savion Glover. All documented in this one-of-a-kind book, Frank Hatchett's Jazz Dance gives you a behind-the-scenes look at Frank Hatchett and his exciting style of dance, with an in-depth look at what VOP is and where it came from. After you gain a basic understanding of the Hatchett style, it's time to lace up your jazz shoes. Warm-ups include rhythmic, center, floor, and isolation exercises that not only increase flexibility, strength, and control but also get you in the mood to move. Whether you're a beginner or a professional, you'll easily follow the step-by-step approach that's accompanied by 242 photographs demonstrating the proper movements and techniques. Frank Hatchett's Jazz Dance is divided into four levels of difficulty, allowing you to easily progress through the stages of basic, beginner, advanced beginner, and intermediate/advanced. Hatchett hints accompany each step to address proper alignment, technique, common areas for improvement, and how to stylize the movement. Once you've learned this unique approach, you can add your own artistic interpretation, creating jazz movements and combinations to make the style come alive. Then you will truly understand the innovation and spirit in this magnificent art form. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1753 .H38 2000
Frank Hatchett's jazz dance Book Cover







May O'Donnell: modern dance pioneer
by Horosko, Marian

9780813028576Marian Horosko; Jennifer Dunning (Foreword by)May O'Donnell: Modern Dance PioneerThe story of how modern dance developed in America as told by one of its premier performers, teachers, and choreographers. May O'Donnell (1906-2004) was one of the Martha Graham Contemporary Dance Company's most successful soloists during its pioneer days. Because of her strong presence and equally strong technique, Graham entrusted O'Donnell to create her own roles in such notable Graham works as Appalachian Spring and H#65533;riodiade . As a choreographer, O'Donnell was the first American to create dances of musical abstraction (before such a word was used in the world of dance), freeing the modern dancer from themes, storylines, and dramatic passion. She was also a sought-after teacher, and her famous students include Robert Joffrey, Ben Vereen, Gerald Arpino, Dudley Williams, and many others. Today, more than 50 of her documented works are performed and her technique is taught throughout Europe and the United States. Based on extensive interviews with O'Donnell herself, Marian Horosko brings the story of this extraordinary yet unheralded 60-year career to light for the first time. O'Donnell's personal memories--from her early training in California, to tours with Jos#65533; Lim#65533;n, to the creation of her signature work, Suspension, to her collaborations with composer-husband Ray Green--and unpublished photographs from the artist's personal archives provide a first-hand account of American modern dance coming into its own during the crucial period of the 1920s through the1980s. Horosko has also included the first available syllabus of O'Donnell's technique as an intermediate class. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1785.O42 H67 2005
May O'Donnell: modern dance pioneer Book Cover




The Erick Hawkins modern dance technique
by Celichowska, Renata; Hawkins, Erick

9780871272133Renata Celichowska; Lucia Dlugoszewski (Contribution by); Leon Belokon (Illustrator)The Erick Hawkins Modern Dance TechniqueThe Hawkins dance technique embodies the philosophy that dance should integrate the body, mind, and soul while always following scientific principles. This system of dance training--an approach that continues to influence dancers around the world--is examined through a variety of illustrations. Photographs of dancers illustrate the technique in action. Drawings demonstrate the relationship between movements of the body and everyday objects, such as the similarities between a spiral action of the spine and a barber's pole or winding staircase. This vibrant text examines Hawkins's originality, philosophical thinking, and teaching methods. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1783 .C39 2000
The Erick Hawkins modern dance technique Book Cover




Popular dance: from ballroom to hip-hop
by Smith, Karen Lynn

9781604134841Popular Dance: From Ballroom to Hip-Hop Popular Dance: From Ballroom to Hip-Hop takes readers on a journey through the trends and developments in popular dancing from European nobles during the Renaissance and early Baroque periods in Europe through 21st-century America. Discover how social and historical elements influenced the development of the waltz, the Charleston, jitterbug, and urban street dancing (such as krumping), and learn about the continuous crossover between theatrical performance and dancing for pleasure. Plus, look inside the artistic process to see how dancers not only invent new ways to express themselves, but also borrow, refine, and embellish existing forms to widen the scope of popular dance. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - GV1596.5 .S55 2010
Popular dance: from ballroom to hip-hop Book Cover




Ballroom, boogie, shimmy sham, shake: a social and popular dance reader
by Malnig, Julie

9780252075650Julie Malnig (Editor)Ballroom, Boogie, Shimmy Sham, Shake: A Social and Popular Dance ReaderThis dynamic collection documents the rich and varied history of social dance and the multiple styles it has generated, while drawing on some of the most current forms of critical and theoretical inquiry. The essays cover different historical periods and styles; encompass regional influences from North and South America, Britain, Europe, and Africa; and emphasize a variety of methodological approaches, including ethnography, anthropology, gender studies, and critical race theory. While social dance is defined primarily as dance performed by the public in ballrooms, clubs, dance halls, and other meeting spots, contributors also examine social dance's symbiotic relationship with popular, theatrical stage dance forms. Contributors are Elizabeth Aldrich, Barbara Cohen-Stratyner, Yvonne Daniel, Sherril Dodds, Lisa Doolittle, David F. Garc#65533;a, Nadine George-Graves, Jurretta Jordan Heckscher, Constance Valis Hill, Karen W. Hubbard, Tim Lawrence, Julie Malnig, Carol Martin, Juliet McMains, Terry Monaghan, Halifu Osumare, Sally R. Sommer, May Gwin Waggoner, Tim Wall, and Christina Zanfagna. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - GV1781 .B35 2009
Ballroom, boogie, shimmy sham, shake: a social and popular dance reader Book Cover













Everynight life: culture and dance in Latin/o America
by Delgado, Celeste Fraser; Muñoz, José Esteban

9780822319191Celeste Fraser Delgado (Editor); José Esteban Muñoz (Editor); Jane C. Desmond (Contribution by); Mayra S. Febres (Contribution by); Ana López (Contribution by); José Piedra (Contribution by); Augusto Puleo (Contribution by)Everynight Life: Culture and Dance in Latin-O AmericaThe function of dance in Latin/o American culture is the focus of the essays collected in Everynight Life . The contributors interpret how Latin/o culture expresses itself through dance, approaching the material from the varying perspectives of literary, cultural, dance, performance, queer, and feminist studies. Viewing dance as privileged sites of identity formation and cultural resistance in Latin/o America, Everynight Life translates the motion of bodies into speech, and the gestures of dance into a provocative socio-political grammar. This anthology looks at many modes of dance--including salsa, merengue, cumbia, rumba, mambo, tango, samba, and norte#65533;o--as models for the interplay of cultural memory and regional conflict. Barbara Browning's essay on capoeira, for instance, demonstrates how dance has been used as a literal form of resistance, while Jos#65533; Piedra explores the meanings conveyed by women of color dancing the rumba. Pieces such as Gustavo Perez F#65533;rmat's "I Came, I Saw, I Conga'd" and Jorge Salessi's "Medics, Crooks, and Tango Queens" illustrate the lively scope of this volume's subject matter. Contributors . Barbara Browning, Celeste Fraser Delgado, Jane C. Desmond, Mayra Santos Febres, Juan Carlos Quintero Herencia, Josh Kun, Ana M. L#65533;pez, Jos#65533; Esteban Mu#65533;oz, Jos#65533; Piedra, Gustavo Perez F#65533;rmat, Augusto C. Puleo, David Rom#65533;n, Jorge Salessi, Alberto Sandoval - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - GV1626 .E84 1997
Everynight life: culture and dance in Latin/o America Book Cover







Dance Databases

Biography In Context

Over 1.5 million biographies of people from throughout history, around the world and across all disciplines; includes audio, video, and images.

Credo Reference

Provides full-text access to ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS and other reference sources. WORD COUNT of EACH ARTICLE is available when browsing.

Dance in Video

Contains hundreds of hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th and 21st centuries, featuring ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.

Gale Reference - Art, Film & Music

This database is a collection of Gale Virtual Reference's Art, Film, and Music reference books.

Project Muse

Project MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.




Dance Reference Books

International encyclopedia of dance: a project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc.
by Cohen, Selma Jeanne

9780195094626Selma J. Cohen; Perspectives Foundation Inc., Staff (Editor)International Encyclopedia of DanceSince the dawn of human history, dance has been a vital form of expression in virtually every culture. From the minuet to the tango to kabuki theater to square dancing, it is a part of the social fabric of all societies, as well as an important art form. Now, Oxford presents the firstreference to document all types of dance around the world and throughout history. In six volumes, with nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from over fifty countries, the International Encyclopedia of Dance offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical dance, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensivehistorical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, dance performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set is alphabetically arranged, with an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than2,000 illustrations. Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the International Encyclopedia of Dance is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it will be an essential addition to any arts and humanities collection. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - GV1585 .I586 1998
International encyclopedia of dance: a project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc. Book Cover







The Oxford dictionary of dance
by Craine, Debra; Mackrell, Judith

9780199563449Debra Craine; Judith MackrellThe Oxford Dictionary of DanceWith over 2,600 entries, the second edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Dance is a unique single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance written by two leading dance writers, Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. The work covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classicalballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies. During the last thirty years the boundaries of dance have been radically redrawn. There has been an explosion of new activity within traditional forms like ballet, a stream of new dance languages invented by fresh generations of choreographers, and there is a growing appreciation of cultural danceforms from around the world. Fans today are likely to attend performances as varied as Spanish flamenco, Indian bharata natyam, Japanese butoh, classical ballet, and post-modern dance. With an emphasis on performance - the dance we see in our theatres today - readers will find both fact and analysison a wide range of subjects, from styles of dance and the history of dance companies and their productions, to dancers, choreographers, and technical terms.With 150 new entries, this new edition charts developments that have occurred over the last ten years, including the rise of new digital technology in the creation and staging of dance and the move to the mainstream of formerly fringe genres such as hip-hop, as well as the arrival of a newgeneration of dancers and choreographers to the scene. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - GV1585 .C78 2010
The Oxford dictionary of dance Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District