Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Music/Opera

Music/Opera Books







Getting opera: a guide for the cultured but confused
by Dobkin, Matt

9780671041397Matt DobkinGetting Opera: A Guide for the Cultured but ConfusedI like the idea of opera, I just don't know anything about it, is an all-too-common refrain among postcollegiate, culturally literate and musically savvy-but perhaps a little intimidated -- twenty- and thirtysomethings all over the country. Now author Matt Dobkin gives us the first real guide to an often mystifying art form.A witty, irreverent tour through opera land Getting Opera includes synopses of fifty operas; how to score cheap tickets; where to find opera information on the Web; sidebars with surprising facts and figures such as which operas you might like depending on your astrological sign; parallels between rock music and opera (like Radiohead? Maybe you'll like Wagner); top ten (or twenty) lists covering everything from the hottest singers and stars to the most overrated; opera jokes; a guide to opera all over the country; and where to begin your CD Collection.Getting Opera brings the elusive concepts of opera down to earth, making it accessible to fans and newcomers alike. It has everything the opera-shy reader needs to embark on a thoroughly delightful and instructive operatic journey. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - MT95 .D63 2000
Getting opera: a guide for the cultured but confused Book Cover




Operas in English: a dictionary
by Griffel, Margaret Ross

9780810882720Margaret Ross GriffelOperas in English: A DictionaryIn this revised and expanded edition of Operas in English: A Dictionary, Margaret Ross Griffel updates her work on operas written specifically to an English text, including not only works originally in English but also those set to new English librettos. Since the book's initial publication in 1999, Griffel has added nearly 900 new items, bringing the total number of entries in this new edition to 4,400, covering the world of opera in English from 1634 through 2011. The front matter includes a brief history of English opera, to "set the stage" for the dictionary entries that follow. Listed alphabetically, each opera entry includes alternative titles; a full, descriptive title; the number of acts; composer's name; librettist's name, with original language of the libretto; the source of the text (date, place, and cast of the first performance); date of composition (if it occurred substantially earlier than the premiere); similar information for the first U.S. (including colonial) and British (England, Scotland, Wales) performances; brief plot summary; main characters (names and vocal ranges, where known); names of noteworthy numbers; comments on special musical problems and techniques; other settings of the text, including non-English ones; other operas, if any, involving the same story or characters (cross references are indicated by asterisks). Entries include such information as first and critical editions of the score and libretto; a bibliography, ranging from scholarly studies to more informal journal articles and reviews; a discography; and information on video recordings. Operas in English features four appendixes, a selective bibliography, and two indexes. The first appendix lists composers, their places and years of birth and death, and their operas included in the text as entries; the second does the same for librettists; the third records authors whose works inspired or were adapted for the librettos; and the fourth comprises a chronological listing of the A-Z entries, including the date of first performance, the city of the premiere (or composition date if unperformed or performed much later), the short title of the opera, and the composer. There is a main character index and an index of singers, conductors, producers, composers of other settings, and other key figures. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - ML102 .O6 G74 2013 V.1 Glendale CC Library - REF - ML102 .O6 G74 2013 V.2
Operas in English: a dictionary Book Cover




Nine famous operas: what's really going on!
by Arnesen, Iris J.

9780786458967Iris J. ArnesenNine Famous Operas: What's Really Going On!Opera, for those not acquainted with its conventions, can be confounding. This book contains analyses of the stories and music of nine beloved operas, presented in chronological order from the late 1700s through the early 1900s. These works are most readily approached with an understanding of the conventions of the genres, as well as the social conditions that influenced the composers and librettists. In examining each work, the various genres are explained, and the popular and intellectual movements that influenced the operas are discussed, as well as the original source material. The operas covered in the text are Mozart's The Magic Flute, Beethoven's Fidelio, Donizetti's Lucia de Lammermoor, Wagner's The Flying Dutchman, Verdi's Rigoletto, Bizet's Carmen, Leonvacallo's Pagliacci, Strauss' Salome, and Brecht's The Threepenny Opera. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - ML1700 .A76 2010
Nine famous operas: what's really going on! Book Cover




The complete idiot's guide to music history
by Miller, Michael

9781592577514Michael MillerThe Complete Idiot's Guide to Music HistoryMusic history is a required course for all music students. Unfortunately, the typical music history book is dry and academic, focusing on rote memorization of important composers and works. This leads many to think that the topic is boring, but that isn't necessarily so. As he did with The Complete Idiot's Guide rm to Music Theory , best-selling author Michael Miller makes music history interesting and fun, for both music students and older music lovers. In The Complete Idiot's Guide to Music History , readers will find- Important composers and musical styles from the dawn of time through the modern era. Both classical and popular music - including the 20th century's greatest popular songwriters. The evolution of music as a continual historical flow. Examples of the most important musical works throughout history. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - ML160 .M547 2008 Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - ML160 .M547 2008
The complete idiot's guide to music history Book Cover




Noise/music: a history
by Hegarty, Paul

9780826417275Paul Hegarty; HegartyNoise/Music: A History Noise/Music looks at the phenomenon of noise in music, from experimental music of the early 20th century to the Japanese noise music and glitch electronica of today. It situates different musics in their cultural and historical context, and analyses them in terms of cultural aesthetics. Paul Hegarty argues that noise is a judgement about sound, that what was noise can become acceptable as music, and that in many ways the idea of noise is similar to the idea of the avant-garde. While it provides an excellent historical overview, the book's main concern is in the noise music that has emerged since the mid 1970s, whether through industrial music, punk, free jazz, or the purer noise of someone like Merzbow. The book progresses seamlessly from discussions of John Cage, Erik Satie, and Pauline Oliveros through to bands like Throbbing Gristle and the Boredoms. Sharp and erudite, and underpinned throughout by the ideas of thinkers like Adorno and Deleuze, Noise/Music is the perfect primer for anyone interested in the louder side of experimental music. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - ML3534 .H43 2007
Noise/music: a history Book Cover




The history of music in fifty instruments
by Wilkinson, Philip

9781770854284Philip WilkinsonThe History of Music in Fifty InstrumentsThe 400-year story of music told by the instruments that make an orchestra. The History of Music in 50 Instruments outlines musical history in well-written nuggets of information. Profiling one instrument at a time, it describes the history of music since the 1700s, when orchestras first took the formal shape familiar to us. The concise text explains the role of each instrument in the orchestra and its importance in the development of music in general. The book lists the 50 instruments chronologically in the woodwind, brass, percussion and string sections of an orchestra. The classic instruments are included -- violin, cello, flute, oboe, clarinet, harp and more. Some instruments reflect the musical period or context in which they were most popular, such as the harpsichord in the Baroque period, and the snare drum in military parades. Among the unusual instruments is the otherworldly theremin. A wide range of modern and archival photographs and paintings show the instruments. Entries outline their historical and country origins and the era in which they were played (e.g. Classical, Modern). Annotated illustrations explain the instrument's construction, how it is played and tuned, and its musical range. Composers, musical compositions and musicians that highlight the particular instrument are examined. For example, Baroque composer Antonio Vivalidi's contribution to the violin; inventor Adolphe Sax's tenacious promotion of his saxophone in the 1840s; and 20th century pianist Glenn Gould's controversial recordings of Bach's Goldberg Variations. For musicians, teachers and students, and all who enjoy music, this book is a beautiful and informative tour of the orchestra and beyond. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - ML460 .W55 2014
The history of music in fifty instruments Book Cover







Music/Opera databases

Gale Reference - Art, Film & Music

This database is a collection of Gale Virtual Reference's Art, Film, and Music reference books.

Opera in Video

Contains opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the worlds best performers, conductors, and opera houses.

Oxford Reference - Performing Arts

Provides access to 10 reference sources related to theatre, dance, music, and opera.

PBS Video

You have access over 401 core films from PBS.




Music/Opera Reference Materials

The encyclopedia of country music: the ultimate guide to the music
by Kingsbury, Paul

9780195116717Paul Kingsbury (Editor); Country Music Foundation Staff (Compiled by)The Encyclopedia of Country Music: The Ultimate Guide to the MusicTo its millions of fans, country music is America's music, offering a window on the sweet dreams and cruel disappointments of ordinary American lives. Now the renowned Country Music Foundation, custodian of Nashville's legendary Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, has compiled afascinating and infinitely useful guide to this beloved musical genre--The Encyclopedia of Country Music. Nearly 1,300 complete and up-to-the-minute alphabetical entries put eight decades of country music at readers' fingertips, from the earliest '20s recordings of the Carter Family and Jimmie Rodgers to the '90s chart-topping albums of LeAnn Rimes and Garth Brooks. A distinguished field of 137contributors provides an eminently readable and reliable guide to the singers, songwriters, record companies, and industry movers and shakers who have made country music the increasingly popular--and profitable--juggernaut it is today. There are entries for influential radio and televisionprograms, and for key country landmarks from Nashville's Music Row to Bakersfield's Blackboard nightclub. Ten longer essays probe the historical, cultural, religious, artistic, and financial forces shaping country music. Hundreds of photographs, some never before published, accompany the text,including 75 color photographs from the CMF Library's record collection, surveying the history of the country music album cover. Twelve appendices provide lists of country's all-time best-selling albums, country music stations nationwide, all the country music awards won over the years, and muchmore. Authoritative, accessible, and unerringly accurate, The Encyclopedia of Country Music will delight fans. It is an essential reference for libraries, radio stations, and the entertainment industry. - Description from Syndetics
eBook : Glendale CC Library - REF - ML102.C7 E54 1998
The encyclopedia of country music: the ultimate guide to the music Book Cover




Classical music: a chronology
by Paxman, Jon; Barfoot, Terry; Hamilton, Katy; Lydon, Thomas (Writer on music); Rawson, Robert

9781468312720Jon PaxmanClassical Music: A ChronologyThis book charts four centuries of Western classical music, from the Baroque era through to the end of the 20th century. The Chronology presents information on all aspects of classical music from 1600 to the 2000s, including biographies of composers, patrons, publishers, impresarios, conductors, and performers. Births, deaths, compositions, performances, and many biographical highs and lows are included to give the reader a complete and varied look at what happened, when, with a particular emphasis on the stories surrounding a piece of music's first performance.More than just a chronology, though, this book includes narrative chapters that examine musical developments over the course of four centuries, looking at how style, genre, and location have all influenced Western classical music since its inception. Composers operate first and foremost in the day-to-day of their artistic, social, economic, and political environment, and this book aims to immerse readers in those contexts, to help music lovers more fully appreciate the history of classical music.Monumental in scope but lucid in style, this book will prove invaluable to anyone--student, enthusiast, or newcomer--who wants to comprehend the overwhelmingly rich and sometimes complex evolution of Western classical music. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - ML161 .P39 2015 Glendale CC Library - REF - ML161 .P39 2015
Classical music: a chronology Book Cover




Dictionary of music education
by Collins, Irma H.

9780810886513Irma H. Collins; Carolynn A. Lindeman (Foreword by)Dictionary of Music EducationIrma Collins's Dictionary of Music Education is more than just a lexicon. It is a journey through time and the story of the evolution of music education, including entries on notable individuals, crucial terms, important events, and key organizations--a broad survey of the field. Collins includes information about a variety of English-speaking countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia, emphasizing the impact music education researchers and organizations have had on one another across the globe. Biographical entries profile musicians and music educators who were among the founders or first implementers of significant pedagogical tools and methods. Terms include standard concepts in the field of music education. Event and organization entries are those crucial to the advancement of music education regionally, nationally, and internationally. Dictionary of Music Education also includes a timeline, cross-references, and a significant bibliography. This work will interest anyone involved in the field of music education, from students and faculty to administrators and private instructors. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - ML102 .M76 C65 2013
Dictionary of music education Book Cover







Icons of rock: an encyclopedia of the legends who changed music forever
by Schinder, Scott; Schwartz, Andy

9780313338458Scott Schinder; Andy SchwartzIcons of Rock: An Encyclopedia of the Legends Who Changed Music ForeverMore than half a century after the birth of rock, the musical genre that began as a rebellious underground phenomenon is now acknowledged as America's-and the world's-most popular and influential musical medium, as well as the soundtrack to several generations' worth of history. From Ray Charles to Joni Mitchell to Nirvana, rock music has been an undeniable force in both reflecting and shaping our cultural landscape. "Icons of Rock" offers a vivid overview of rock's pervasive role in contemporary society by profiling the lives and work of the music's most legendary artists. Most rock histories, by virtue of their all-encompassing scope, are unable to cover the lives and work of individual artists in depth, or to place those artists in a broader context. This two-volume set, by contrast, provides extensive biographies of the 24 greatest rock n' rollers of all time, examining their influences, innovations, and impact in a critical and historical perspective. Entries inside this unique reference explore the issues, trends, and movements that defined the cultural and social climate of the artists' music. Sidebars spotlight the many iconic elements associated with rock, such as rock festivals, protest songs, and the British Invasion. Providing a wealth of information on the icons, culture, and mythology of America's most beloved music, this biographical encyclopedia will serve as an invaluable resource for students and music fans alike. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - ML3534 .S336 2008 V.1 Glendale CC Library - REF - ML3534 .S336 2008 V.2
Icons of rock: an encyclopedia of the legends who changed music forever Book Cover







Encyclopedia of Native American music of North America
by Keillor, Elaine; Archambault, Tim; Kelly, John M. H

9780313336003Elaine Keillor; Tim Archambault; John M. H. KellyEncyclopedia of Native American Music of North AmericaThis book is a one-stop reference resource for the vast variety of musical expressions of the First Peoples' cultures of North America, both past and present. * Provides print and Internet resources with each entry * Presents exclusive information derived from the personal research and fieldwork of the editors * Includes a timeline that highlights important developments in First Peoples' musical expressions * Supplies an index that allows users to easily look up all of the relevant information on a topic - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - ML102 .N37 K45 2013
Encyclopedia of Native American music of North America Book Cover








Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District