Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Starting and Building a Business

Helpful Online Resources

Small Business Reference Center

This resource provides up-to-date information on relevant topics from starting a company, creating a business plan, managing operations and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.

Small Business Administration Website

The Small Business Administration has a wealth of information for those looking to start and build a business.



Books to Help Build Your Business

Write your business plan

9781599185576Entrepreneur Media, Inc. StaffWrite Your Business Plan: Get Your Plan in Place and Your Business off the Ground A comprehensive companion to Entrepreneur's long-time bestseller Start Your Own Business , this essential guide leads you through the most critical startup step next to committing to your business vision--defining how to achieve it. Coached by a diverse group of experts and successful business owners, gain an in-depth understanding of what's essential to any business plan, what's appropriate for your venture, and what it takes ensure success. Plus, learn from real-world examples of plans that worked, helping to raise money, hone strategy, and build a solid business. Whether you're just starting out or already running a business, to successfully build a company, you need a plan. One that lays out your product, your strategy, your market, your team, and your opportunity. It is the blueprint for your business. The experts at Entrepreneur show you how to create it. Includes sample business plans, resources and worksheets. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HD30.28 .W754 2015
Write your business plan Book Cover




Steps to Small Business Start-Up : Everything You Need to Know to Turn Your Idea Into a Successful Business
by Pinson, Linda

9780944205587Linda PinsonSteps to Small Business Start-Up: Everything You Need to Know to Turn Your Idea into a Successful BusinessA business classic that has been guiding new entrepreneurs through the process of launching their businesses for more than a quarter of a century, this book has now been revised to feature the most up-to-date information, forms, examples, and worksheets. It emphasizes all of the mechanics of the start-up, including choosing a business, legal structure, location, and DBAs. Additional chapters cover home-based business, proprietary rights, financing options, bookkeeping, and cash flow. Offering indispensable advice for marketing, Internet operation, and business planning, it is positioned to remain a favorite for business education by universities, colleges, technical schools, and small business development centers. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Steps to Small Business Start-Up : Everything You Need to Know to Turn Your Idea Into a Successful Business Book Cover




Minding my business: the complete, no-nonsense, start-to-finish guide to owning and running your own store
by Mignogna, Adeena

9781626360075Adeena MignognaMinding My Business: The Complete, No-Nonsense, Start-To-Finish Guide to Owning and Running Your Own StoreTaking a leap and making the choice to start a business can be hard, but all that comes after--the planning, loans, marketing--can be even harder. Every new business owner needs an easy, clear, and useful guide to follow when embarking on this venture, and Minding My Business will make the process as simple as possible. With no previous business experience, Adeena Mignogna decided to open up her own retail store, a paint-your-own pottery studio. In this part memoir, part handbook, she details all the things she did right, and wrong, so that anyone following in her footsteps won't make the same mistakes. Minding My Business explains how to: Deal with leasing and landlords Obtain loans and manage finances Hire, retain, and treat employees Market and advertise your business Deal with stressful situations Create an exit strategy if you decide to close Sell your business And everything in between Mignogna chronicles all that went into opening the doors to her store, successfully managing it for several years, and then finally deciding to close it. If you're ready to take the risk, you'll need this book to help you navigate through the tough and perplexing world of small business. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HF5429.3 .M534 2013
Minding my business: the complete, no-nonsense, start-to-finish guide to owning and running your own store Book Cover




Business plans kit for dummies
by Peterson, Steven; Jaret, Peter; Schenkc, Barbara Findlay

9781118725627Steven D. Peterson; Peter Jaret; Barbara Findlay SchenckBusiness Plans Kit for DummiesDiscover the ins and outs of constructing a winning business plan When you're establishing, expanding, or re-energizing a business, the best place to start is with your business plan. Whether you want start-up money from investors or are looking to expand or re-energize your business, a business plan will give you a defined road map to help you get your business moving. Business Plans Kit For Dummies, 4th Edition has been updated to give you the very latest information on today's current economy and its impact on business plans; dealing with venture capitalists; getting start-up money in any economy; incorporating social and ecological responsibility issues; and developing a plan conducive to marketplace changes and advancements. Refreshed examples and data sources for planning Updated "ten top plans" section CD includes new forms, worksheets, and resources If you're a small business owner, investor, or entrepreneur looking for expert guidance and friendly tips on developing and implementing a strategic plan to help your business succeed in any economy, Business Plans Kit For Dummies has you covered! Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of the e-book file, but are available for download after purchase. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HD30.28 .P374 2014
Business plans kit for dummies Book Cover




The small business turnaround guide: take your business from troubled to triumphant
by Steinman, Sandy

9781614482574Sandy SteinmanThe Small Business Turnaround Guide: Take Your Business from Troubled to TriumphantThere is probably nothing more exhilarating, nothing that gets one's adrenalin flowing than when a business owner's plans come together and the business becomes a reality. The feeling of being "your own boss" brings on genuine euphoria.nbsp; The proud new business owner is walking on air. nbsp; Unfortunately, there is not always a happy ending.nbsp; All too soon reality sets in and it is not always pretty.nbsp;nbsp; Reality takes the form of bills that have to be paid, customers who have to be satisfied and payroll deadlines that have to be met. These shattered dreams are not unusual. According to the United States Census Bureau 10% of United States businesses close each year and with them come shattered dreams and shattered lives. But it doesn't have to end this way. In "The Small Business Turn Around Guide: Take Your Business From Troubled To Triumphant," Sandy Steinmannbsp; gives struggling business owners hope and he takes them through the steps to implement processesnbsp; that solve the most common small business problems. These are the same processes that Steinman has actually implemented and which have added millions of dollars to his client companies' bottom line.nbsp; Additionally, he makes available at no cost, the spreadsheets and forms that are integral to the successful turnaround of your individual business. If you are a small business owner and are struggling with: * cash shortfalls * employees who are unmotivated and have no idea what is expected of them * reports that are not actionable * or dozens of other issues common to other struggling business owners "The Small Business Turn Around Guide" is for you. From the moment you read the first chapter and learn how to stop the bleeding and how to get control of your cash, you will know that there is real hope for your situation. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HD62.7 .S74 2013
The small business turnaround guide: take your business from troubled to triumphant Book Cover




Small Business for Big Thinkers : Unconventional Strategies to Connect with and Win Big Business
by Kay, Cynthia

9781601632876Cynthia KaySmall Business for Big Thinkers: Unconventional Strategies to Connect with and Win Big Business"Not only is Cynthia a dynamic, successful small-business owner, she makes it a point to be at the center of the collective national debate on small-business issues. She brings a unique perspective to the debate and never loses sight of what truly matters: the importance of entrepreneurship and the ability for small businesses to start, run and grow." --Todd McCracken, President and CEO of the National Small Business Association "Small businesses succeed when their leaders think big. In her book, award-winning business owner and sought-after consultant Cynthia Kay shows us that small business is actually a big deal. With the right tools and techniques, small business leaders can reach the highest heights. Whether you're just starting out as an entrepreneur or captaining an existing business, this book is a must-read." --Jeff Beals, author of Self Marketing Power and Selling Saturdays "Cynthia Kay's creativity, drive, and not-so-common competence has made a real contribution to me and to Herman Miller'. There are lots of books written about business--too many, without anything new to say. This is one I actually read and can heartily recommend." --Brian Walker, CEO, Herman Miller, Inc. A small business is not just a scaled-down version of a big one. In fact, some of the strategies that work well for larger companies may actually be completely irrelevant for smaller firms. Small Business for Big Thinkers offers unconventional but proven strategies to run a better small business. It also provides a roadmap for owners looking to expand their small businesses by doing more business with Big Business. Cynthia's down-in-the-trenches stories, along with those from other small-business CEOs and Big Business experts, show you how to connect with highly sought-after customers and win them over! You'll learn how to: Create an organization that is operationally efficient, creative, and entrepreneurial Attract and win contracts from much larger companies Serve complex, global companies by forging strong relationships Evaluate Big Business opportunities and know when not to compete - Description from Syndetics
Online
Small Business for Big Thinkers : Unconventional Strategies to Connect with and Win Big Business Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District