Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Economics

Online Economic Resources

Business Source Premier

This premier library database contains a wealth of popular and scholarly resources covering areas of business and economics. This database also includes country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, and industry overviews.

Arizona's Economy: Economic & Business Research Center

Quarterly newsletter from the University of Arizona that reviews current economic conditions and trends in Arizona.

Bureau of Economic Analysis

From the U.S. Department of Commerce, the Bureau of Economic Analysis provides a wealth of economic data from both within the United States and beyond.



Economic Books

The book of money: everything you need to know about how world finances work
by Conaghan, Dan; Smith, Dan

9781770851986Daniel Conaghan; Dan SmithThe Book of Money: Everything You Need to Know about How World Finances Work A clear, concise, illustrated guide to the workings of the global economy. Money is big news. Banks have collapsed, the property bubble has burst and national debts are at unimaginable levels. The Book of Money will help readers understand what is happening and how it affects them. It is a practical, understandable guide to all the nuances of the world of finance written for the lay reader. Financial journalists Daniel Conaghan and Dan Smith present authoritative, insightful, insider knowledge in a clear manner. They provide up-to-date coverage of the most important economic issues that affect us all. Topics include: History of economics Supply and demand Bank collapses, the property bubble and the global meltdown Stock markets, hedge funds Inflation, deflation, hyperinflation Pensions Coinage and paper money Economic forecasting Interest rates Economic class, the welfare state How countries cope with debt Electronic trading Microfinance Personal finance and tax systems Globalization The International Monetary Fund and World Bank How credit ratings work Can money buy happiness? Explanations are presented in a uniquely visual style. Numerous color illustrations, graphs, charts, timelines and Jargon Buster boxes aid in comprehension. Profiles describe key figures, and panels focus on special topics such as the Global Meltdown and PayPal. The Book of Money is an authoritative, straightforward guide to the complex world of global finance. It is an ideal introduction for the average reader new to the topic and a reliable, up-to-date review for those with some knowledge. It is an essential purchase for a large audience eager to understand our complex world. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HG221 .C696 2013
The book of money: everything you need to know about how world finances work Book Cover




Mass flourishing: how grassroots innovation created jobs, challenge, and change
by Phelps, Edmund S

9780691158983Edmund S. PhelpsMass Flourishing: How Grassroots Innovation Created Jobs, Challenge, and ChangeIn this book, Nobel Prize-winning economist Edmund Phelps draws on a lifetime of thinking to make a sweeping new argument about what makes nations prosper--and why the sources of that prosperity are under threat today. Why did prosperity explode in some nations between the 1820s and 1960s, creating not just unprecedented material wealth but "flourishing"--meaningful work, self-expression, and personal growth for more people than ever before? Phelps makes the case that the wellspring of this flourishing was modern values such as the desire to create, explore, and meet challenges. These values fueled the grassroots dynamism that was necessary for widespread, indigenous innovation. Most innovation wasn't driven by a few isolated visionaries like Henry Ford and Steve Jobs; rather, it was driven by millions of people empowered to think of, develop, and market innumerable new products and processes, and improvements to existing ones. Mass flourishing--a combination of material well-being and the "good life" in a broader sense--was created by this mass innovation. Yet indigenous innovation and flourishing weakened decades ago. In America, evidence indicates that innovation and job satisfaction have decreased since the late 1960s, while postwar Europe has never recaptured its former dynamism. The reason, Phelps argues, is that the modern values underlying the modern economy are under threat by a resurgence of traditional, corporatist values that put the community and state over the individual. The ultimate fate of modern values is now the most pressing question for the West: will Western nations recommit themselves to modernity, grassroots dynamism, indigenous innovation, and widespread personal fulfillment, or will we go on with a narrowed innovation that limits flourishing to a few? A book of immense practical and intellectual importance, Mass Flourishing is essential reading for anyone who cares about the sources of prosperity and the future of the West. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HC51 .P44 2013
Mass flourishing: how grassroots innovation created jobs, challenge, and change Book Cover




Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Piketty, Thomas; Goldhammer, Arthur

9780674430006Thomas Piketty; Arthur Goldhammer (Translator)Capital in the Twenty-First CenturyWhat are the grand dynamics that drive the accumulation and distribution of capital? Questions about the long-term evolution of inequality, the concentration of wealth, and the prospects for economic growth lie at the heart of political economy. But satisfactory answers have been hard to find for lack of adequate data and clear guiding theories. In Capital in the Twenty-First Century , Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality. Piketty shows that modern economic growth and the diffusion of knowledge have allowed us to avoid inequalities on the apocalyptic scale predicted by Karl Marx. But we have not modified the deep structures of capital and inequality as much as we thought in the optimistic decades following World War II. The main driver of inequalityâe"the tendency of returns on capital to exceed the rate of economic growthâe"today threatens to generate extreme inequalities that stir discontent and undermine democratic values. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, Piketty says, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HB501 .P43613 2014
Online
Capital in the Twenty-First Century Book Cover







Made in the USA: the rise and retreat of American manufacturing
by Smil, Vaclav

9780262019385Vaclav SmilMade in the USA: The Rise and Retreat of American ManufacturingIn Made in the USA , Vaclav Smil powerfully rebuts the notion that manufacturing is a relic of predigital history and that the loss of American manufacturing is a desirable evolutionary step toward a pure service economy. Smil argues that no advanced economy can prosper without a strong, innovative manufacturing sector and the jobs it creates. Smil explains how manufacturing became a fundamental force behind America's economic, strategic, and social dominance. He describes American manufacturing's rapid rise at the end of the nineteenth century, its consolidation and modernization between the two world wars, its role as an enabler of mass consumption after 1945, and its recent decline. Some economists argue that shipping low-value jobs overseas matters little because the high-value work remains in the United States. But, asks Smil, do we want a society that consists of a small population of workers doing high-value-added work and masses of unemployed? Smil assesses various suggestions for solving America's manufacturing crisis, including lowering corporate tax rates, promoting research and development, and improving public education. Will America act to preserve and reinvigorate its manufacturing? It is crucial to our social and economic well-being; but, Smil warns, the odds are no better than even. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HD9725 .S57 2013
Made in the USA: the rise and retreat of American manufacturing Book Cover




Economics and Youth Violence
by Rosenfeld, Richard

9780814789308Richard Rosenfeld (Editor); Mark Edberg (Editor); Xiangming Fang (Editor); Curtis S. Florence (Editor)Economics and Youth Violence: Crime, Disadvantage, and CommunityHow do economic conditions such as poverty, unemployment, inflation, and economic growth impact youth violence? Economics and Youth Violence provides a much-needed new perspective on this crucial issue. Pinpointing the economic factors that are most important, the editors and contributors in this volume explore how different kinds of economic issues impact children, adolescents, and their families, schools, and communities.Offering new and important insights regarding the relationship between macroeconomic conditions and youth violence across a variety of times and places, chapters cover such issues as the effect of inflation on youth violence; new quantitative analysis of the connection between race, economic opportunity, and violence; and the cyclical nature of criminal backgrounds and economic disadvantage among families. Highlighting the complexities in the relationship between economic conditions, juvenile offenses, and the community and situational contexts in which their connections are forged, Economics and Youth Violence prompts important questions that will guide future research on the causes and prevention of youth violence. Contributors: Sarah Beth Barnett, Eric P. Baumer, Philippe Bourgois, Shawn Bushway, Philip J. Cook, Robert D. Crutchfield, Linda L. Dahlberg, Mark Edberg, Jeffrey Fagan, Xiangming Fang, Curtis S. Florence, Ekaterina Gorislavsky, Nancy G. Guerra, Karen Heimer, Janet L. Lauritsen, Jennifer L. Matjasko, James A. Mercy, Matthew Phillips, Richard Rosenfeld, Tim Wadsworth, Valerie West, Kevin T. Wolff - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HQ799.2.V56 E26 2013
Online
Economics and Youth Violence Book Cover




The body economic: why austerity kills : recessions, budget battles, and the politics of life and death
by Stuckler, David; Basu, Sanjay

9780465063987David Stuckler; Sanjay BasuThe Body Economic: Why Austerity KillsPoliticians have talked endlessly about the seismic economic and social impacts of the recent financial crisis, but many continue to ignore its disastrous effects on human health--and have even exacerbated them, by adopting harsh austerity measures and cutting key social programs at a time when constituents need them most. The result, as pioneering public health experts David Stuckler and Sanjay Basu reveal in this provocative book, is that many countries have turned their recessions into veritable epidemics, ruining or extinguishing thousands of lives in a misguided attempt to balance budgets and shore up financial markets. Yet sound alternative policies could instead help improve economies and protect public health at the same time. In The Body Economic , Stuckler and Basu mine data from around the globe and throughout history to show how government policy becomes a matter of life and death during financial crises. In a series of historical case studies stretching from 1930s America, to Russia and Indonesia in the 1990s, to present-day Greece, Britain, Spain, and the U.S., Stuckler and Basu reveal that governmental mismanagement of financial strife has resulted in a grim array of human tragedies, from suicides to HIV infections. Yet people can and do stay healthy, and even get healthier, during downturns. During the Great Depression, U.S. deaths actually plummeted, and today Iceland, Norway, and Japan are happier and healthier than ever, proof that public wellbeing need not be sacrificed for fiscal health. Full of shocking and counterintuitive revelations and bold policy recommendations, The Body Economic offers an alternative to austerity--one that will prevent widespread suffering, both now and in the future. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HM548 .S78 2013
The body economic: why austerity kills : recessions, budget battles, and the politics of life and death Book Cover




GDP: a brief but affectionate history
by Coyle, Diane

9780691156798Diane CoyleGDP: A Brief but Affectionate HistoryWhy did the size of the U.S. economy increase by 3 percent on one day in mid-2013--or Ghana's balloon by 60 percent overnight in 2010? Why did the U.K. financial industry show its fastest expansion ever at the end of 2008--just as the world's financial system went into meltdown? And why was Greece's chief statistician charged with treason in 2013 for apparently doing nothing more than trying to accurately report the size of his country's economy? The answers to all these questions lie in the way we define and measure national economies around the world: Gross Domestic Product. This entertaining and informative book tells the story of GDP, making sense of a statistic that appears constantly in the news, business, and politics, and that seems to rule our lives--but that hardly anyone actually understands. Diane Coyle traces the history of this artificial, abstract, complex, but exceedingly important statistic from its eighteenth- and nineteenth-century precursors through its invention in the 1940s and its postwar golden age, and then through the Great Crash up to today. The reader learns why this standard measure of the size of a country's economy was invented, how it has changed over the decades, and what its strengths and weaknesses are. The book explains why even small changes in GDP can decide elections, influence major political decisions, and determine whether countries can keep borrowing or be thrown into recession. The book ends by making the case that GDP was a good measure for the twentieth century but is increasingly inappropriate for a twenty-first-century economy driven by innovation, services, and intangible goods. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HC79 .I5 C725 2014
GDP: a brief but affectionate history Book Cover




Economics for everyone: a short guide to the economics of capitalism
by Stanford, Jim; Biddle, Tony

9780745335773Jim Stanford; Tony Biddle (Illustrator)Economics for Everyone: A Short Guide to the Economics of CapitalismEconomics is too important to be left to the economists. This book provides the information you need to understand how capitalism works (and how it doesn't).Through clear bite-sized chapters interspersed with illuminating illustrations, this is an antidote to the abstract and ideological way that economics is normally taught and reported on in in media. Key concepts such as finance, competition and wages are explored, and their importance to everyday life is revealed. It answers questions such as 'Do workers need capitalists?', 'Why does capitalism harm the environment?', and 'What really happens on the stock market?'.The book is supported with a comprehensive set of web-based course materials including videos for popular economics courses. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HB501 .S8922 2015
Economics for everyone: a short guide to the economics of capitalism Book Cover




Economics: the user's guide
by Chang, Ha-Joon

9781620408124Ha-Joon ChangEconomics: The User's GuideIn his bestselling 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism , Cambridge economist Ha-Joon Chang brilliantly debunked many of the predominant myths of neoclassical economics. Now, in an entertaining and accessible primer, he explains how the global economy actually works-in real-world terms. Writing with irreverent wit, a deep knowledge of history, and a disregard for conventional economic pieties, Chang offers insights that will never be found in the textbooks. Unlike many economists, who present only one view of their discipline, Chang introduces a wide range of economic theories, from classical to Keynesian, revealing how each has its strengths and weaknesses, and why there is no one way to explain economic behavior. Instead, by ignoring the received wisdom and exposing the myriad forces that shape our financial world, Chang gives us the tools we need to understand our increasingly global and interconnected world often driven by economics. From the future of the Euro, inequality in China, or the condition of the American manufacturing industry here in the United States- Economics: The User's Guide is a concise and expertly crafted guide to economic fundamentals that offers a clear and accurate picture of the global economy and how and why it affects our daily lives. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HB171 .C484 2014
Economics: the user's guide Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District