Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Important Philosophy Works & Movements

Featured Books

 Here is a collection of important philosophical works and movements outside of the ancient classical traditions.

Masterpieces of world philosophy
by Magill, Frank N; Roth, John K

9780062700513099455048958Frank N. Magill; John Roth (Editor); Frank MagillMasterpieces of World PhilosophyFor many, philosophy is a difficult, almost unapproachable field--just understanding it seems to require more knowledge than most students and general readers could possible have. That's how Masterpieces of World Philosophy can help you to truly grasp the ideas of Aristotle and Aquinas, Confucius and Camus: it examines and summarizes nearly one hundred influential works through critical essays that focus on their themes and major points. Based on the award-winning, five-volume reference, World Philosophy, each essay explains the historical background of the work, the life of its author, and its influence on modern thought. Alternative views of the philosopher's ideas are provided through reviews of important critical works, and reading lists help you find sources for additional information. With Masterpieces of World Philosophy, the ideas that have shaped our world--from the ancients to the thinkers of our time--are at your fingertips. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - B75 .M37 1990
Masterpieces of world philosophy Book Cover







Critique of pure reason
by Kant, Immanuel

9780140447477Max Muller (Translator); Marcus Weigelt (Foreword by, Translator, Introduction by, Notes by); Immanuel KantCritique of Pure ReasonIn the Critique of Pure Reason , Immanuel Kant laid out a framework upon which the whole of modern philosophy is based. This Penguin Classics edition is translated from the German and edited with an introduction by Marcus Weigelt, based on the translation by Max Muller. Kant's Critique of Pure Reason . It presents a profound and challenging investigation into the nature of human reason, its knowledge and illusions. Reason, Kant argues, is the seat of certain concepts that precede experience and make it possible, but we are not therefore entitled to draw conclusions about the natural world from these concepts. The Critique brings together the two opposing schools of philosophy: rationalism, which grounds all our knowledge in reason, and empiricism, which traces all our knowledge to experience. Kant's transcendental idealism indicates a third way that goes far beyond these alternatives. Marcus Weigelt's lucid re-working of Max Muller's classic translation makes the Critique accessible to a new generation of readers. His informative introduction places the work in context and elucidates Kant's main arguments. This edition also contains a bibliography and explanatory notes. Immanuel Kant (1724-1804), born in K#65533;nigsberg, East Prussia, was the most prominent thinker of the German Enlightenment, and one of the most influential philosophers of all time. His comprehensive and profound thinking on aesthetics, ethics and knowledge has had an immense impact on all subsequent philosophy. If you enjoyed the Critique of Pure Reason , you might enjoy Benedict Spinoza's Ethics , also available in Penguin Classics. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - B2778.E5 W45 2007
Critique of pure reason Book Cover




Thus spoke Zarathustra: a book for all and none
by Nietzsche, Friedrich

9780679601753Friedrich Nietzsche; Walter Kaufmann (Translator)Thus Spoke ZarathustraFriedrich Nietzsche's most accessible and influential philosophical work, misquoted, misrepresented, brilliantly original and enormously influential, Thus Spoke Zarathustra is translated from the German by R.J. Hollingdale in Penguin Classics. Nietzsche was one of the most revolutionary and subversive thinkers in Western philosophy, and Thus Spoke Zarathustra remains his most famous and influential work. It describes how the ancient Persian prophet Zarathustra descends from his solitude in the mountains to tell the world that God is dead and that the Superman, the human embodiment of divinity, is his successor. Nietzsche's utterance 'God is dead', his insistence that the meaning of life is to be found in purely human terms, and his doctrine of the Superman and the will to power were all later seized upon and unrecognisably twisted by, among others, Nazi intellectuals. With blazing intensity and poetic brilliance, Nietzsche argues that the meaning of existence is not to be found in religious pieties or meek submission to authority, but in an all-powerful life force: passionate, chaotic and free. Frederich Nietzsche (1844-1900) became the chair of classical philology at Basel University at the age of 24 until his bad health forced him to retire in 1879. He divorced himself from society until his final collapse in 1899 when he became insane. A powerfully original thinker, Nietzsche's influence on subsequent writers, such as George Bernard Shaw, D.H. Lawrence, Thomas Mann and Jean-Paul Sartre, was considerable. If you enjoyed Thus Spoke Zarathustra you might like Nietzsche's Beyond Good and Evil, also available in Penguin Classics. 'Enigmatic, vatic, emphatic, passionate, often breathtakingly insightful, his works together make a unique statement in the literature of European ideas' A. C. Grayling - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - B3313.A43 E4813 1995
Thus spoke Zarathustra: a book for all and none Book Cover




Ethics
by Spinoza, Benedictus de

9780140435719Edwin M. Curley (Translator); Stuart Hampshire (Introduction by); Benedict de SpinozaEthicsA profoundly beautiful and uniquely insightful description of the universe, Benedict de Spinoza's Ethics is one of the masterpieces of Enlightenment-era philosophy. This Penguin Classics edition is edited and translated from the Latin by Edwin Curley, with an introduction by Stuart Hampshire. Published shortly after his death, the Ethics is undoubtedly Spinoza's greatest work - an elegant, fully cohesive cosmology derived from first principles, providing a coherent picture of reality, and a guide to the meaning of an ethical life. Following a logical step-by-step format, it defines in turn the nature of God, the mind, the emotions, human bondage to the emotions, and the power of understanding - moving from a consideration of the eternal, to speculate upon humanity's place in the natural order, the nature of freedom and the path to attainable happiness. A powerful work of elegant simplicity, the Ethics is a brilliantly insightful consideration of the possibility of redemption through intense thought and philosophical reflection. The Ethics is presented in the standard translation of the work by Edwin Curley. This edition also includes an introduction by Stuart Hampshire, outlining Spinoza's philosophy and placing it in context. Baruch Spinoza (1632-77), later known as Benedict de Spinoza, was born in Amsterdam, where his orthodox Jewish family had fled from persecution in Portugal. Ethics was published in 1677 after his death, and his influence spread to the nineteenth century: inspiring the Romantic poets, winning the respect of Flaubert and Matthew Arnold, and moving George Eliot, who admired him as the enemy of superstition and the hero of scientific rationalism, to begin a translation of his works. If you enjoyed Ethics , you might like Rene Descartes' Meditations and Other Metaphysical Writings, also available in Penguin Classics. 'The noblest and most lovable of the great philosophers ... ethically he is supreme' Bertrand Russell - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - B3973.E5 C8 1996
Ethics Book Cover




Tractatus logico-philosophicus
by Wittgenstein, Ludwig

9781551119809Ludwig Wittgenstein; Marc A. Joseph (Editor)Tractatus Logico-PhilosophicusLudwig Wittgenstein's Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus is among the most ambitious and influential philosophical works of the early twentieth century, and in recent years it has again occupied a central position in discussions of Wittgenstein's philosophy. Written in an austere and meticulous style, the Tractatus addresses questions in the philosophy of language, logic, and metaphysics, and, according to its author, provides a solution to all the problems of philosophy. This Broadview Edition contains the original English translation by C.K. Ogden and Frank P. Ramsey, annotated and revised by the editor for improved accuracy and clarity. Appendices include important material by Gottlob Frege and Bertrand Russell, as well as excerpts from Wittgenstein's other writings. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - B3376.W563 T7313 2014
Tractatus logico-philosophicus Book Cover







Utilitarianism
by Mill, John Stuart

9781551115016John Stuart Mill; Colin Heydt (Editor)UtilitarianismJohn Stuart Mill's Utilitarianism is a philosophical defense of utilitarianism, a moral theory stating that right actions are those that tend to promote overall happiness. The essay first appeared as a series of articles published in Fraser's Magazine in 1861; the articles were collected and reprinted as a single book in 1863. Mill discusses utilitarianism in some of his other works, including On Liberty and The Subjection of Women, but Utilitarianism contains his only sustained defence of the theory. In this Broadview Edition, Colin Heydt provides a substantial introduction that will enable readers to understand better the polemical context for Utilitarianism. Heydt shows, for example, how Mill's moral philosophy grew out of political engagement, rather than exclusively out of a speculative interest in determining the nature of morality. Appendices include precedents to Mill's work, reactions to Utilitarianism, and related writings by Mill. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - B1571 .M6 2011
Utilitarianism Book Cover




The social contract
by Rousseau, Jean-Jacques

9780140442014Maurice Cranston (Foreword by, Translator); Jean-Jacques RousseauThe Social Contract'Man was born free, and he is everywhere in chains' These are the famous opening words of a treatise that has not ceased to stir vigorous debate since its first publication in 1762. Rejecting the view that anyone has a natural right to wield authority over others, Rousseau argues instead for a pact, or 'social contract', that should exist between all the citizens of a state and that should be the source of sovereign power. From this fundamental premise, he goes on to consider issues of liberty and law, freedom and justice, arriving at a view of society that has seemed to some a blueprint for totalitarianism, to others a declaration of democratic principles. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - JC179 .R86 1968
The social contract Book Cover







A Brief History of Analytic Philosophy
by Schwartz, Steve

9780470672082Stephen P. SchwartzA Brief History of Analytic Philosophy: From Russell to RawlsA Brief History of Analytic Philosophy: From Russell to Rawls presents a comprehensive overview of the historical development of all major aspects of analytic philosophy, the dominant Anglo-American philosophical tradition in the twentieth century. Features coverage of all the major subject areas and figures in analytic philosophy - including Wittgenstein, Bertrand Russell, G.E. Moore, Gottlob Frege, Carnap, Quine, Davidson, Kripke, Putnam, and many others Contains explanatory background material to help make clear technical philosophical concepts Includes listings of suggested further readings Written in a clear, direct style that presupposes little previous knowledge of philosophy - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - B808.5 .S39 2012
A Brief History of Analytic Philosophy Book Cover




Existentialism: an introduction
by Aho, Kevin

9780745651422Kevin AhoExistentialism: An IntroductionExistentialism: An Introduction provides an accessible and scholarly introduction to the core ideas of the existentialist tradition. Kevin Aho draws on a wide range of existentialist thinkers in chapters centering on the key themes of freedom, being-in-the-world, alienation, nihilism, anxiety and authenticity. He also addresses important but often overlooked issues in the canon of existentialism, with discussions devoted to the role of embodiment, the movement's contribution to ethics, politics, and environmental and comparative philosophies, as well as its influence on contemporary psychiatry and psychotherapy. The enduring relevance of existentialism is shown by applying existentialist ideas to contemporary philosophical discussions of interest to a wide audience. The book covers secular thinkers such as Heidegger, Merleau-Ponty, Nietzsche, Sartre, Camus, and Beauvoir as well as religious authors, such as Buber, Dostoevsky, Marcel, and Kierkegaard. In this engaging and accessible text Aho shows why existentialism cannot be easily dismissed as a moribund or outdated movement. In the aftermath of 'God's death', existentialist philosophy engages questions with lasting philosophical significance, questions such as 'Who am I?' and 'How should I live?' By showing how existentialism offers insight into what it means to be human, the author illuminates existentialism's enduring value. Existentialism: An Introduction provides the ideal introduction for upper level students and anyone interested in knowing more about one of the most vibrant and important areas of philosophy today. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - B819 .A4 2014
Existentialism: an introduction Book Cover




Stoicism: Traditions and Transformations
by Strange, Steven K; Zupko, Jack

9780521827096Steven K. Strange (Editor); Jack Zupko (Editor)Stoicism: Traditions and TransformationsStoicism is now widely recognised as one of the most important philosophical schools of ancient Greece and Rome. But how did it influence Western thought after Greek and Roman antiquity? The question is a difficult one to answer because the most important Stoic texts have been lost since the end of the classical period, though not before early Christian thinkers had borrowed their ideas and applied them to discussions ranging from dialectic to moral theology. Later philosophers became familiar with Stoic teachings only indirectly, often without knowing that an idea came from the Stoics. The contributors recruited for this volume, first published in 2004, include some of the leading international scholars of Stoicism as well as experts in later periods of philosophy. They trace the impact of Stoicism and Stoic ideas from late antiquity through the medieval and modern periods. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Stoicism: Traditions and Transformations Book Cover







A theory of justice
by Rawls, John

9780674017726John RawlsA Theory of JusticeThough the Revised Edition of A Theory of Justice, published in 1999, is the definitive statement of Rawlsýs view, so much of the extensive literature on Rawlsýs theory refers to the first edition. This reissue makes the first edition once again available for scholars and serious students of Rawlsýs work.ýJohn Rawls draws on the most subtle techniques of contemporary analytic philosophy to provide the social contract tradition with what is, from a philosophical point of view at least, the most formidable defense it has yet received ý [and] makes available the powerful intellectual resources and the comprehensive approach that have so far eluded antiutilitarians.ýýMarshall Cohen, New York Times Book ReviewýI mean ý to press my recommendation of [this book] to non-philosophers, especially those holding positions of responsibility in law and government. For the topic with which it deals is central to this countryýs purposes, and the misunderstanding of that topic is central to its difficulties.ýýPeter Caws, New RepublicýThe most substantial and interesting contribution to moral philosophy since the war.ýýStuart Hampshire, New York Review of Books - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - JC578 .R38 2005
Online
A theory of justice Book Cover




Mind: A Brief Introduction
by Searle, John R

9780195157345John R. SearleMind: A Brief Introduction"The philosophy of mind is unique among contemporary philosophical subjects," writes John Searle, "in that all of the most famous and influential theories are false." One of the world's most eminent thinkers, Searle dismantles these theories as he presents a vividly written, comprehensiveintroduction to the mind. He begins with a look at the twelve problems of philosophy of mind--which he calls "Descartes and Other Disasters"--problems which he returns to throughout the volume, as he illuminates such topics as materialism, consciousness, the mind-body problem, intentionality, mentalcausation, free will, and the self. The book offers a refreshingly direct and engaging introduction to one of the most intriguing areas of philosophy. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - BD418.3 .S4 2004
Online
Mind: A Brief Introduction Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District