Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Find Books

Search for Book Resources


  
   

Limit to Computers

         




Featured Computer Science Books


Modern operating systems
by Tanenbaum, Andrew S

9780133591620Andrew S. Tanenbaum; Herbert BosModern Operating SystemsModern Operating Systems, Fourth Edition, is intended for introductory courses in Operating Systems in Computer Science, Computer Engineering, and Electrical Engineering programs. It also serves as a useful reference for OS professionals #65533; The widely anticipated revision of this worldwide best-seller incorporates the latest developments in operating systems (OS) technologies. The Fourth Edition includes up-to-date materials on relevant#65533;OS. Tanenbaum also provides information on current research based on his experience as an operating systems researcher. #65533; Modern Operating Systems, Third Editionwas the recipient of the 2010 McGuffey Longevity Award. The McGuffey Longevity Award recognizes textbooks whose excellence has been demonstrated over time.#65533; http://taaonline.net/index.html #65533;#65533; Teaching and Learning Experience This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience-for you and your students. It will help: #65533; Provide Practical Detail on the Big Picture Concepts: A clear and entertaining writing style outlines the concepts every OS designer needs to master. Keep Your Course Current: This edition includes information on the latest OS technologies and developments Enhance Learning with Student and Instructor Resources: Students will gain hands-on experience using the simulation exercises and lab experiments. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.77 .T359 2015
Modern operating systems Book Cover




Python programming: an introduction to computer science
by Zelle, John M

9781590282410John M. ZellePython Programming: An Introduction to Computer ScienceThis is the second edition of John Zelle's Python Programming, updated for Python 3. This book is designed to be used as the primary textbook in a college-level first course in computing. It takes a fairly traditional approach, emphasizing problem solving, design, and programming as the core skills of computer science. However, these ideas are illustrated using a non-traditional language, namely Python. Although Python is used as the language, teaching Python is not the main point of this book. Rather, Python is used to illustrate fundamental principles of design and programming that apply in any language or computing environment. In some places, I have purposely avoided certain Python features and idioms that are not generally found in other languages. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.73 .P98 Z98 2010
Python programming: an introduction to computer science Book Cover




JavaScript & JQuery: interactive front-end web development
by Duckett, Jon; Ruppert, Gilles; Moore, Jack

9781118871652Jon DuckettJavaScript and JQuery: Interactive Front-End Web DevelopmentA visual and accessible guide to JavaScript and jQuery in a built-to-last hardcover edition In JavaScript & jQuery renowned author Jon Duckett discards the traditional programming book template and approaches writing code in a more relevant, less intimidating way. Full-color and packed with instructional graphics and photos, his books have gained a loyal following by illustrating programming in a way both instructive for newcomers and invaluable for seasoned coders. By discussing JavaScript and jQuery in a single text, Duckett ensures you will quickly be writing your own working scripts. Yet the book doesn't assume you have experience in either JavaScript or jQuery. By making use of popular jQuery plugins, Duckett illustrates techniques that would require pages upon pages of detailed explanation if you were being taught to create the plugins yourself. This durable and attractive hardcover edition is a book you will have open on your desk as a reference for years to come. A timeless and lasting version of a classic "Duckett" book in a hardbound, dust-jacketed edition Completely accessible to those who feel intimidated by the subject matter and relevant to all front-end designers and developers who need to understand JavaScript Discusses applying responsive design techniques, leveraging APIs to save you time and work in coding, and identifying when to use CSS transforms over pure JavaScript Beautiful 4-color illustrations and examples make this a terrific academic resource for those of all experience levels JavaScript & jQuery clearly explains the jargon of programming, addressing the vocabulary without making it a prerequisite for readers. Duckett speaks directly to readers, making this an invaluable resource. This book is also available as a set, Web Design with HTML, CSS, JavaScript and jQuery Set 978119038634 along with HTML and CSS Design and Build Websites 9781118871645. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.73 .J39 D83 2014
JavaScript & JQuery: interactive front-end web development Book Cover




Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium classroom in a book
by Chavez, Conrad

9780321822604Adobe Creative Team Staff; Adobe Creative TeamAdobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Classroom in a BookCreative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Creative Suite 6 choose Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Classroom in a Book from the Adobe Creative Team at Adobe Press. The 6 project-based lessons show readers step-by-step the key techniques for working with the applications in the Creative Suite. Readers learn what they need to know to create engaging layouts for print or web publishing. This completely revised Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium edition covers new tools and essential performance and workflow enhancements, including how to set up basic assets in Bridge CS6, use Content-Aware tools on images and edit video in Photoshop CS6, create accurate image tracings in Illustrator CS6, design print layouts and documents for mobile devices in InDesign CS6, and protoype and build a website in Dreamweaver CS6. nbsp; The companion DVD includes all the lesson files readers need to work along with the book. Each chapter contains a single project that builds on the reader's growing knowledge of the suite and how to use the suite applications together. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - T385 .C6545 2013
Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium classroom in a book Book Cover




Java: the complete reference
by Schildt, Herbert

9780071808552Herbert SchildtJavaThe Definitive Java Programming Guide Fully updated for Java SE 8, Java: The Complete Reference , Ninth Edition explains how to develop, compile, debug, and run Java programs. Bestselling programming author Herb Schildt covers the entire Javalanguage, including its syntax, keywords, and fundamental programming principles, as well as significant portions of the Java API library. JavaBeans, servlets, applets, and Swing are examined and real-world examples demonstrate Java in action. New Java SE 8 features such as lambda expressions, the stream library, and the default interface method are discussed in detail. This Oracle Press resource also offers a solid introduction to JavaFX. Coverage includes: Data types, variables, arrays, and operators Control statements Classes, objects, and methods Method overloading and overriding Inheritance Interfaces and packages Exception handling Multithreaded programming Enumerations, autoboxing, and annotations The I/O classes Generics Lambda expressions String handling The Collections Framework Networking Event handling AWT and Swing The Concurrent API The Stream API Regular expressions JavaFX JavaBeans Applets and servlets Much, much more - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - QA76.73.J38 S334 2014
Java: the complete reference Book Cover




Learning PHP, MySQL & JavaScript: with jQuery, CSS & HTML5
by Nixon, Robin

9781491918661Robin NixonLearning PHP, MySQL and JavaScript: With JQuery, CSS and HTML5Build interactive, data-driven websites with the potent combination of open-source technologies and web standards, even if you have only basic HTML knowledge. With this popular hands-on guide, you'll tackle dynamic web programming with the help of today's core technologies: PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, and HTML5. Explore each technology separately, learn how to use them together, and pick up valuable web programming practices along the way. At the end of the book, you'll put everything together to build a fully functional social networking site, using XAMPP or any development stack you choose. Learn PHP in-depth, along with the basics of object-oriented programming Explore MySQL, from database structure to complex queries Use the MySQLi Extension, PHP's improved MySQL interface Create dynamic PHP web pages that tailor themselves to the user Manage cookies and sessions, and maintain a high level of security Master the JavaScript language--and enhance it with jQuery Use Ajax calls for background browser/server communication Acquire CSS2 and CSS3 skills for professionally styling your web pages Implement all of the new HTML5 features, including geolocation, audio, video, and the canvas - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.73 .P224 N593
Learning PHP, MySQL & JavaScript: with jQuery, CSS & HTML5 Book Cover




Node.js the right way: practical, server-side JavaScript that scales
by Wilson, Jim R

9781937785734Jim R. WilsonNode.js the Right Way: Practical, Server-Side JavaScript That ScalesGet to the forefront of server-side JavaScript programming by writing compact, robust, fast, networked Node applications that scale. Ready to take JavaScript beyond the browser, explore dynamic languages features and embrace evented programming? Explore the fun, growing repository of Node modules provided by npm. Work with multiple protocols, load-balanced RESTful web services, express, 0MQ, Redis, CouchDB, and more. Develop production-grade Node applications fast.JavaScript is the backbone of the modern web, powering nearly every web app's user interface. Node.js is JavaScript for the server. This book shows you how to develop small, fast, low-profile, useful, networked applications. You'll write asynchronous, non-blocking code using Node's style and patterns. You'll cluster and load balance your services with Node core features and third-party tools. You'll work with many protocols, creating RESTful web services, TCP socket clients and servers, and more.This short book packs a hefty dose of Node.js. You'll test your code's functionality and performance under load. You'll learn important aspects of Node development--from its architecture and core, to its ecosystem of third-party modules. You'll discover how Node pairs a server-side event loop with a JavaScript runtime to produce screaming fast, non-blocking concurrency. Through a series of practical programming domains, you'll use the latest available ECMAScript Harmony features and harness key Node classes such as EventEmitter and Stream. Throughout the book, you'll develop real programs that are small, fast, low-profile, and useful.Get ready to join a smart community that's rapidly advancing the state of the art in web development. What You Need: Latest stable release of Node.js, this book was written with 0.12.x in mind.The 0MQ (ZeroMQ) library, version 3.2 or higher. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.73.J38 W557 2013
Node.js the right way: practical, server-side JavaScript that scales Book Cover




How Linux Works : What Every Superuser Should Know
by Ward, Brian

9781593275679Brian WardHow Linux Works: What Every Superuser Should KnowUnlike some operating systems, Linux doesn t try to hide the important bits from you it gives you full control of your computer. But to truly master Linux, you need to understand its internals, like how the system boots, how networking works, and what the kernel actually does. In this completely revised second edition of the perennial best seller How Linux Works, author Brian Ward makes the concepts behind Linux internals accessible to anyone curious about the inner workings of the operating system. Inside, you ll find the kind of knowledge that normally comes from years of experience doing things the hard way. You ll learn: How Linux boots, from boot loaders to init implementations (systemd, Upstart, and System V) How the kernel manages devices, device drivers, and processes How networking, interfaces, firewalls, and servers work How development tools work and relate to shared libraries How to write effective shell scripts You ll also explore the kernel and examine key system ta - Description from Syndetics
Online
How Linux Works : What Every Superuser Should Know Book Cover




Big data for dummies
by Hurwitz, Judith; Nugent, Alan; Halper, Fern; Kaufman, Marcia

9781118504222Judith Hurwitz; Fern Halper; Marcia Kaufman; Dan Kirsch; Alan NugentBig Data for Dummies Find the right big data solution for your business or organization Big data management is one of the major challenges facing business, industry, and not-for-profit organizations. Data sets such as customer transactions for a mega-retailer, weather patterns monitored by meteorologists, or social network activity can quickly outpace the capacity of traditional data management tools. If you need to develop or manage big data solutions, you'll appreciate how these four experts define, explain, and guide you through this new and often confusing concept. You'll learn what it is, why it matters, and how to choose and implement solutions that work. Effectively managing big data is an issue of growing importance to businesses, not-for-profit organizations, government, and IT professionals Authors are experts in information management, big data, and a variety of solutions Explains big data in detail and discusses how to select and implement a solution, security concerns to consider, data storage and presentation issues, analytics, and much more Provides essential information in a no-nonsense, easy-to-understand style that is empowering Big Data For Dummies cuts through the confusion and helps you take charge of big data solutions for your organization. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.9.D343 H87 2013
Online
Big data for dummies Book Cover




Gray hat hacking: the ethical hacker's handbook
by Regalado, Daniel; Harris, Shon; Harper, Allen; Eagle, Chris; Ness, Jonathan; Spasojevic, Branko; Linn, Ryan; Sims, Stephen

9780071832380Daniel Regalado; Shon Harris; Allen Harper; Chris Eagle; Jonathan Ness; Branko Spasojevic; Michael Baucom; Ryan Linn; Stephen SimsGray Hat Hacking the Ethical Hacker's HandbookCutting-edge techniques for finding and fixing critical security flaws Fortify your network and avert digital catastrophe with proven strategies from a team of security experts. Completely updated and featuring 12 new chapters, Gray Hat Hacking: The Ethical Hacker's Handbook , Fourth Edition explains the enemy's current weapons, skills, and tactics and offers field-tested remedies, case studies, and ready-to-deploy testing labs. Find out how hackers gain access, overtake network devices, script and inject malicious code, and plunder Web applications and browsers. Android-based exploits, reverse engineering techniques, andcyber law are thoroughly covered in this state-of-the-art resource. Build and launch spoofing exploits with Ettercap and Evilgrade Induce error conditions and crash software using fuzzers Hack Cisco routers, switches, and network hardware Use advanced reverse engineering to exploit Windows and Linux software Bypass Windows Access Control and memory protection schemes Scan for flaws in Web applications using Fiddler and the x5 plugin Learn the use-after-free technique used in recent zero days Bypass Web authentication via MySQL type conversion and MD5 injection attacks Inject your shellcode into a browser's memory using the latest Heap Spray techniques Hijack Web browsers with Metasploit and the BeEF Injection Framework Neutralize ransomware before it takes control of your desktop Dissect Android malware with JEB and DAD decompilers Find one-day vulnerabilities with binary diffing - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - QA76.9 .A25 G743 2015
Gray hat hacking: the ethical hacker's handbook Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District