Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Computer Programming

Featured Computer Programming Books


Beginning programming with Python
by Mueller, John

9781118891452John Paul MuellerBeginning Programming with Python for DummiesLearn Python--the fun and easy way--and get in the programming game today! Python is one of the fastest growing programming languages, and no wonder. It requires three to five times less time than developing in Java, is a great building block for learning both procedural and object-oriented programming concepts, and is an ideal language for data analysis. Beginning Programming with Python For Dummies is the perfect guide to this dynamic and powerful programming language--even if you've never coded before! Author John Paul Mueller draws on his vast programming knowledge and experience to guide you step-by-step through the syntax and logic of programming with Python and provides several real-world programming examples to give you hands-on experience trying out what you've learned. Provides a solid understanding of basic computer programming concepts and helps familiarize you with syntax and logic Explains the fundamentals of procedural and object-oriented programming Shows how Python is being used for data analysis and other applications Includes short, practical programming samples to apply your skills to real-world programming scenarios Whether you've never written a line of code or are just trying to pick up Python, there's nothing to fear with the fun and friendly Beginning Programming with Python For Dummies leading the way. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.73.P98 M839 2014
Online
Beginning programming with Python Book Cover




Java: an introduction to problem solving & programming
by Savitch, Walter J; Mock, Kenrick

9780133766264Walter SavitchJava: An Introduction to Problem Solving and ProgrammingNote: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyProgrammingLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyProgrammingLab search for ISBN-10: 0133862119/ISBN-13: 9780133862119. That package includes ISBN-10: 0133766268/ISBN-13: 9780133766264 and ISBN-10: 0133841030 /ISBN-13: 9780133841039. MyProgrammingLab is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor. Java: An Introduction to Problem Solving and Programming, 7e, is ideal for introductory Computer Science courses using Java, and other introductory programming courses in departments of Computer Science, Computer Engineering, CIS, MIS, IT, and Business. It also serves as a useful Java fundamentals reference for programmers. Students are introduced to object-oriented programming and important concepts such as design, testing and debugging, programming style, interfaces inheritance, and exception handling. The Java coverage is a concise, accessible introduction that covers key language features. Objects are covered thoroughly and early in the text, with an emphasis on application programs over applets. MyProgrammingLab for Java is a total learning package. MyProgrammingLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program that truly engages students in learning. It helps students better prepare for class, quizzes, and exams-resulting in better performance in the course-and provides educators a dynamic set of tools for gauging individual and class progress. Teaching and Learning Experience This program presents a better teaching and learning experience--for you and your students. Personalized Learning with MyProgrammingLab: Through the power of practice and immediate personalized feedback, MyProgrammingLab helps students fully grasp the logic, semantics, and syntax of programming. A Concise, Accessible Introduction to Java: Key Java language features are covered in an accessible manner that resonates with introductory programmers. Tried-and-true Pedagogy: Numerous case studies, programming examples, and programming tips are used to help teach problem-solving and programming techniques. Flexible Coverage that Fits your Course: Flexibility charts and optional graphics sections allow instructors to order chapters and sections based on their course needs. Instructor and Student Resources that Enhance Learning: Resources are available to expand on the topics presented in the text. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.73 .J38 S27 2015
Java: an introduction to problem solving & programming Book Cover




The object-oriented thought process
by Weisfeld, Matt A

9780321861276Matt WeisfeldThe Object-Oriented Thought Process The Object-Oriented Thought Process, Fourth Edition An introduction to object-oriented concepts for developers looking to master modern application practices Object-oriented programming (OOP) is the foundation of modern programming languages, including C++, Java, C#, Visual Basic .NET, Ruby, and Objective-C. Objects also form the basis for many web technologies such as JavaScript, Python, and PHP. It is of vital importance to learn the fundamental concepts of object orientation before starting to use object-oriented development environments. OOP promotes good design practices, code portability, and reuse-but it requires a shift in thinking to be fully understood. Programmers new to OOP should resist the temptation to jump directly into a particular programming language (such as Objective-C, VB .NET, C++, C# .NET, or Java) or a modeling language (such as UML), and instead first take the time to learn what author Matt Weisfeld calls "the object-oriented thought process." Written by a developer for developers who want to make the leap to object-oriented technologies, The Object-Oriented Thought Process provides a solutions-oriented approach to object-oriented programming. Readers will learn to understand the proper uses of inheritance and composition, the difference between aggregation and association, and the important distinction between interfaces and implementations. While programming technologies have been changing and evolving over the years, object-oriented concepts remain a constant-no matter what the platform. This revised edition focuses on interoperability across programming technologies, whether you are using objects in traditional application design, in XML-based data transactions, in web page development, in mobile apps, or in any modern programming environment. "Programmers who aim to create high quality software-as all programmers should-must learn the varied subtleties of the familiar yet not so familiar beasts called objects and classes. Doing so entails careful study of books such as Matt Weisfeld's The Object-Oriented Thought Process." -Bill McCarty, author of Java Distributed Objects, and Object-Oriented Design in Java Contents at a Glance 1 Introduction to Object-Oriented Concepts 2 How to Think in Terms of Objects 3 Advanced Object-Oriented Concepts 4 The Anatomy of a Class 5 Class Design Guidelines 6 Designing with Objects 7 Mastering Inheritance and Composition 8 Frameworks and Reuse: Designing with Interfaces and Abstract Classes 9 Building Objects and Object-Oriented Design 10 Creating Object Models 11 Objects and Portable Data: XML and JSON 12 Persistent Objects: Serialization, Marshaling, and Relational Databases 13 Objects in Web Services, Mobile Apps, and Hybrids 14 Objects and Client/Server Applications 15 Design Patterns - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.64 .W436 2013
The object-oriented thought process Book Cover




C++ programming: program design including data structures
by Malik, D. S

9781285852751D. S. MalikC++ Programming: Program Design Including Data StructuresC++ PROGRAMMING: PROGRAM DESIGN INCLUDING DATA STRUCTURES, Sixth Edition remains the definitive text for the CS1/CS2 course sequence. D.S. Malik's time-tested, student-centered methodology uses a strong focus on problem-solving and full-code examples to vividly demonstrate the how and why of applying programming concepts and utilizing C++ to work through a problem. This new edition includes updated end-of-chapter exercises, new debugging exercises, an earlier introduction to variables and a streamlined discussion of user-discussion of user-defined functions. Malik's text ensures students learn how to apply the C++ programming language, and are motivated to understand the "why?" behind key C++ concepts. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.73 .C153 M27 2015
C++ programming: program design including data structures Book Cover




Learning Object-Oriented Programming in C#
by Harwani, B.M

9781285854564B. M. HarwaniLearning Object-Oriented Programming in C# 5. 0LEARNING OBJECT-ORIENTED PROGRAMMING IN C# 5.0 is a uniquely practical, hands-on guide to the powerful features of C# 5.0, one of the most common, general-purpose object-oriented programming languages in use today. The examples and projects in this book progress from easy to advanced, covering the principles and benefits of object-oriented programming for developing real-world applications. With the expert guidance of programmer, author, and teacher B.M. Harwani, you will explore: object-oriented programming fundamentals; advanced class features such as generics and operator overloading; web services, LINQ, multiple threading, and security features; .NET features, including assemblies, interfaces, delegates, events; web application development, and ADO.NET; and much more. Expand your programming skills today with LEARNING OBJECT-ORIENTED PROGRAMMING IN C# 5.0, a refreshingly helpful guide to developing with C#. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Learning Object-Oriented Programming in C# Book Cover




Programming logic and design
by Farrell, Joyce

9781111969752Joyce FarrellProgramming Logic and Design, ComprehensivePrepare beginning programmers with the most important principles for developing structured program logic with Farrell's highly effective PROGRAMMING LOGIC AND DESIGN, COMPREHENSIVE, 7E. This popular text takes a unique, language-independent approach to programming with a distinctive emphasis on modern conventions. The book's clear, concise writing style eliminates highly technical jargon while introducing universal programming concepts and encouraging a strong programming style and logical thinking. Clear revised explanations utilize flowcharts, pseudocode, and diagrams to ensure even readers with no prior programming experience fully understand modern programming and design concepts. Farrell's proven learning features help students gain a better understanding of the scope of programming today while common business examples help illustrate key points. Readers can use this proven book alone or paired with a language-specific companion text that emphasizes C++, Java or Visual Basic. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.63 .F372 2013
Programming logic and design Book Cover




SQL Server 2014 : A Step by Step Guide to Learning SQL
by Earp, Richard, Bagui, Sikha

9781634635431Sikha Bagui; Richard EarpSQL Server 2014: A Step by Step Guide to Learning SQLWritten for readers who have little or no previous experience with databases, SQL, or Microsoft SQL Server database software, this book provides a systematic approach to learning SQL (Structured Query Language) using SQL Server database software. It starts with simple SQL concepts, and progresses to more complex query development. Each chapter is written in a step-by-step manner and has examples that can be executed using SQL Server. Using the sample database, readers can experience hands-on SQL programming in SQL Server. This text also presents exercises at the end of the chapters to help readers gain proficiency in SQL. - Description from Syndetics
Online
SQL Server 2014 : A Step by Step Guide to Learning SQL Book Cover




Oracle SQL : A Beginner's Tutorial
by Darmawikarta, Djoni

9780980839647Djoni DarmawikartaOracle SQLThis introduction to SQL for the Oracle database begins by discussing exactly how data is stored and maintained in a relational database, familiarizing readers with SQL INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE statements. The guide then discusses how to construct basic queries, choose an appropriate output, and how to create and use groups. Readers will also learn how to use joins to query data from multiple tables, how to create predefined views that can be stored in a database, and how to utilize the metadata of a database. Appendices round out the book, covering the various indexing techniques available in the Oracle database and discussing how to install Oracle Database Express Edition and list the Oracle built-in data types. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Oracle SQL : A Beginner's Tutorial Book Cover




Data science from scratch: first principles with Python
by Grus, Joel

9781491901427Joel GrusData Science from ScratchData science libraries, frameworks, modules, and toolkits are great for doing data science, but they're also a good way to dive into the discipline without actually understanding data science. In this book, you'll learn how many of the most fundamental data science tools and algorithms work by implementing them from scratch . If you have an aptitude for mathematics and some programming skills, author Joel Grus will help you get comfortable with the math and statistics at the core of data science, and with hacking skills you need to get started as a data scientist. Today's messy glut of data holds answers to questions no one's even thought to ask. This book provides you with the know-how to dig those answers out. Get a crash course in Python Learn the basics of linear algebra, statistics, and probability--and understand how and when they're used in data science Collect, explore, clean, munge, and manipulate data Dive into the fundamentals of machine learning Implement models such as k-nearest Neighbors, Naive Bayes, linear and logistic regression, decision trees, neural networks, and clustering Explore recommender systems, natural language processing, network analysis, MapReduce, and databases - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.73.P98 G78 2015
Data science from scratch: first principles with Python Book Cover




Programming interviews exposed: secrets to landing your next job
by Mongan, John; Giguère, Eric; Kindler, Noah

9781118283400Eric Giguère; John Mongan; Noah Suojanen; Noah KindlerProgramming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next JobBe prepared for your next job interview with this tried-and-true advice In today's tight job market, competition for programming jobs is hotter than ever. This third edition of a popular guide to programming interviews includes new code examples, information on the latest languages, new chapters on sorting and design patterns, tips on using LinkedIn, and a downloadable app to help prepare applicants for the interview. Like its earlier editions, this guide covers what software companies and IT departments want their programmers to know and includes plenty of helpful hints to boost your confidence. Looks at current job search and hiring processes, such as the rise of LinkedIn and other social networks as recruiting resources Addresses the most important languages for a programmer to know and features examples in multiple languages Includes new programming questions designed to sharpen your knowledge Features all-new chapters on design patterns and sorting, including how to deal with memory constraints and mobility issues Walk into your next job interview with confidence, knowing you have thoroughly studied this newest edition of Programming Interviews Exposed . - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - HF5549.5 .I6 M664 2013
Online
Programming interviews exposed: secrets to landing your next job Book Cover




Programming PHP
by Tatroe, Kevin; Lerdorf, Rasmus; MacIntyre, Peter

9781449392772Rasmus Lerdorf; Kevin Tatroe; Peter MacIntyreProgramming PHPThis updated edition teaches everything you need to know to create effective web applications with the latest features in PHP 5.x. You'll start with the big picture and then dive into language syntax, programming techniques, and other details, using examples that illustrate both correct usage and common idioms. If you have a working knowledge of HTML, the authors' many style tips and practical programming advice will help you become a top-notch PHP programmer. Get an overview of what's possible with PHP programs Learn language fundamentals, including data types, variables, operators, and flow control statements Understand functions, strings, arrays, and objects Apply common web application techniques, such as form processing, data validation, session tracking, and cookies Interact with relational databases like MySQL or NoSQL databases such as MongoDB Generate dynamic images, create PDF files, and parse XML files Learn secure scripts, error handling, performance tuning, and other advanced topics Get a quick reference to PHP core functions and standard extensions - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.73 .P224 L472 2013
Programming PHP Book Cover








Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District