Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Linux/Unix

Featured Linux / Unix Books


Linux All-in-One For Dummies
by Dulaney, Emmett

9781118844359Emmett DulaneyLinux All-in-One for Dummies®Eight minibooks in one volume cover every important aspect of Linux and everything you need to know to pass level-1 certification Linux All-in-One For Dummies explains everything you need to get up and running with the popular Linux operating system. Written in the friendly and accessible For Dummies style, the book ideal for new and intermediate Linux users, as well as anyone studying for level-1 Linux certification. The eight minibooks inside cover the basics of Linux, interacting with it, networking issues, Internet services, administration, security, scripting, and level-1 certification. Covers every major topic for anyone just getting familiar with Linux Includes a test-prep section for passing the level-1 Linux certification exam Written by the expert author of more than thirty books, including CompTIA Security+ Study Guide, 3rd Edition Including everything beginners need to know to get started with Linux, Linux All-in-One For Dummies, 5th Edition is the ultimate resource and reference for aspiring professionals. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Linux All-in-One For Dummies Book Cover




Mastering Unix/Linux Shell Scripting
by Michael, Randal K.

9780470183014Randal K. MichaelMastering Unix Shell Scripting: Bash, Bourne, and Korn Shell Scripting for Programmers, System Administrators, and UNIX GurusUNIX expert Randal K. Michael guides you through every detail of writing shell scripts to automate specific tasks. Each chapter begins with a typical, everyday UNIX challenge, then shows you how to take basic syntax and turn it into a shell scripting solution. Covering Bash, Bourne, and Korn shell scripting, this updated edition provides complete shell scripts plus detailed descriptions of each part. UNIX programmers and system administrators can tailor these to build tools that monitor for specific system events and situations, building solid UNIX shell scripting skills to solve real-world system administration problems. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Mastering Unix/Linux Shell Scripting Book Cover




Unix/Linux Survival Guide
by Keller, Erik M.

9781584504337Erik M. KellerUnix/Linux Survival GuideAll Unix/Linux systems, regardless of manufacturer, have inherent similarities for an administrator. Unix/Linux Survival Guide details these similarities and gives SysAdmins an approach to tackle jobs on all systems. Mixing administrator knowledge and best practices, it walks readers through getting to know a system that they didn't install to setting up a new system. Intended as a quick and dirty reference for administrators to use in their daily work, the book contains a lot of hints on where to look and what to look for to get a Unix/Linux system up to speed and running smoothly. Administrators will also learn preventative maintenance techniques to extract and evaluate baseline data and create a warning system, which enables the SysAdmin to proactively react to problems before users notice them. Daily task checklists are provided, and other key topics such as backup, security, and documentation are covered in detail. This book provides the knowledge, skill set, and approach needed to quickly administer a wide range of *NIX systems. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Unix/Linux Survival Guide Book Cover




Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Administration : Real World Skills for Red Hat Administrators
by van Vugt, Sander

9781118301296Sander van VugtRed Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Administration: Real World Skills for Red Hat Administrators The definitive guide to administering a Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 network Linux professionals who need a go-to guide on version 6 of Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) will find what they need in this comprehensive Sybex book. It covers RHEL administration in detail, including how to set up and manage web and mail services, use RHEL in enterprise environments, secure it, optimize storage, configure for virtualization and high availability, and much more. It also provides a great study aid for those preparing for either the RHCSA or RHCE certification exam. Red Hat is the Linux market leader, and Red Hat administrators are in demand This Sybex guide is a comprehensive resource on Red Hat Enterprise Linux administration and useful for those preparing for one of the Red Hat certification exams Covers setting up and managing web and mail services, using RHEL in enterprise environments, securing RHEL, and optimizing storage to fit your environment Explores advanced RHEL configurations, including virtualization and high availability Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Administration is the guide Linux professionals and Red Hat administrators need to stay current on the newest version. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Administration : Real World Skills for Red Hat Administrators Book Cover




LPIC-1/CompTIA Linux+ certification: exam guide (exams LPIC-1/LX0-101 & LX0-102) : all-in-one
by Tracy, Robb H

9780071771573Robb TracyLPIC-1/CompTIA Linux+ Certification: Exams LPIC-1/LX0-101 and LX0-102LPIC-1/CompTIA Linux+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Exams LPIC-1/LXO-101 & LXO-102 Get complete coverage of all the objectives included on the LPIC-1 and CompTIA LXO-101 and LXO-102 exams inside this comprehensive resource. Written by a Linux expert and technology trainer, LPIC-1/CompTIA Linux+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide includes learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, exam tips, practice exam questions, and in-depth explanations. Designed to help you pass all three exams with ease, this comprehensive guide also serves as an essential on-the-job reference. COVERS ALL EXAM TOPICS, INCLUDING HOW TO: Work with the Linux shell Use the vi text editor Manage Linux files and directories Install Linux and manage the boot process Configure the graphical environment Manage software and hardware Manage users, groups, file systems, and processes Administer ownership, permissions, and quotas Write shell scripts Manage network settings and services Secure Linux and use encryption CD-ROM FEATURES: 150+ practice exam questions PDF copy of the book 50+ video training clips from the author Robb Tracy , CNE, CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, CompTIA Linux+, has designed and implemented technical training products and curricula for major hardware and software vendors, including Novell, Micron Technology, and Messaging Architects, Inc. He has also served on industry-wide certification committees and is a cofounder of Nebo Technical Institute, Inc., a leading provider of information technology training and consulting. Robb is the author of CompTIA Linux+ Certification Study Guide and other books. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - QA76.76 .O63 T718 2012
LPIC-1/CompTIA Linux+ certification: exam guide (exams LPIC-1/LX0-101 & LX0-102) : all-in-one Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District