Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Graphic Design

Graphic Design Titles


Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium classroom in a book
by Chavez, Conrad

9780321822604Adobe Creative Team Staff; Adobe Creative TeamAdobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Classroom in a BookCreative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Creative Suite 6 choose Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium Classroom in a Book from the Adobe Creative Team at Adobe Press. The 6 project-based lessons show readers step-by-step the key techniques for working with the applications in the Creative Suite. Readers learn what they need to know to create engaging layouts for print or web publishing. This completely revised Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium edition covers new tools and essential performance and workflow enhancements, including how to set up basic assets in Bridge CS6, use Content-Aware tools on images and edit video in Photoshop CS6, create accurate image tracings in Illustrator CS6, design print layouts and documents for mobile devices in InDesign CS6, and protoype and build a website in Dreamweaver CS6. nbsp; The companion DVD includes all the lesson files readers need to work along with the book. Each chapter contains a single project that builds on the reader's growing knowledge of the suite and how to use the suite applications together. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - T385 .C6545 2013
Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium classroom in a book Book Cover




Digital Classroom : Adobe Photoshop CS6 Digital Classroom
by Smith, Jennifer AGI Creative Team

9781118123898AGI Creative Team; Jennifer SmithAdobe Photoshop CS6 A complete training package on the newest version of Photoshop! The Digital Classroom series combines a full-color book with a full-featured DVD, resulting in a complete training package written by expert instructors. Photoshop is the industry standard for image editing, and this guide gets photographers, commercial designers, web developers, fine artists, and serious hobbyists up to speed on the newest version. It includes 13 self-paced lessons that allow you to progress at your own speed, with complete lesson files and tutorials on the DVD. Topics include Camera RAW, masks and layers, retouching, and much more. A self-paced way to learn the newest version of Photoshop, the essential image-editing software used by professional photographers, web developers, and graphic designers Features full-color, step-by-step instructions in the book plus additional tutorials and lesson files on the DVD Developed by a team of Adobe Certified Instructors and Photoshop experts who have created many of the official training titles for Adobe Systems Covers Adobe Bridge, Camera RAW, masks and layers, painting and retouching, and selections and layers, taking you through basic and intermediate-level topics Photoshop CS6 Digital Classroom is like having your own personal tutor teaching you the newest version of Photoshop. Note: DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of the e-book file, but are available for download after purchase. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Digital Classroom : Adobe Photoshop CS6 Digital Classroom Book Cover




Graphic design thinking: beyond brainstorming
by Lupton, Ellen

9781568989792Phillips Lupton; Ellen Lupton (Editor); Steven Heller; Jennifer Cole PhillipsGraphic Design Thinking: Beyond BrainstormingCreativity is more than an inborn talent; it is a hard-earned skill, and like any other skill, it improves with practice. Graphic Design Thinking: How to Define Problems, Get Ideas, and Create Form explores a variety of informal techniques ranging from quick, seat-of-the-pants approaches to more formal research methods for stimulating fresh thinking, and ultimately arriving at compelling and viable solutions. In the style with which author Ellen has come tobeen known hands-on, up-close approach to instructional design writing brainstorming techniques are grouped around the three basic phases of the design process: defining the problem, inventing ideas, and creating form. Creative research methods include focus groups, interviewing, brand mapping, and co-design. Each method is explained with a brief narrative text followed by a variety of visual demonstrations and case studies. Also included are discussions with leading professionals, including ArtChantry, Ivan Chermayeff, Jessica Helfand, Steven Heller, Abott Miller, Christoph Niemann, Paula Scher, and Martin Venezky, about how they get ideas and what they do when the well runs dry. The book is directed at working designers, design students, and anyone who wants to apply inventive thought patterns to everyday creative challenges. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - NC997 .G674 2011
Online
Graphic design thinking: beyond brainstorming Book Cover




The Elements of Graphic Design: Space, Unity, Page Architecture, and Type
by White, Alex W

9781581157628Alex W. WhiteThe Elements of Graphic DesignThis very popular design book has been wholly revised and expanded to feature a new dimension of inspiring and counterintuitive ideas to thinking about graphic design relationships. The Elements of Graphic Design, Second Edition is now in full color in a larger, 8 x 10-inch trim size, and contains 40 percent more content and over 750 images to enhance and better clarify the concepts in this thought-provoking resource. The second edition also includes a new section on web design and new discussions of modularity, framing, motion and time, rules of randomness, and numerous quotes supported by images and biographies. This pioneering work provides designers, art directors, and students--regardless of experience--with a unique approach to successful design. Veteran designer and educator Alex. W. White has assembled a wealth of information and examples in his exploration of what makes visual design stunning and easy to read. Readers will discover White's four elements of graphic design, including how to: define and reveal dominant images, words, and concepts; use scale, color, and position to guide the viewer through levels of importance; employ white space as a significant component of design and not merely as background; and use display and text type for maximum comprehension and value to the reader. Offering a new way to think about and use the four design elements, this book is certain to inspire better design.Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - Z246 .W56 2011
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - Z246 .W56 2011
The Elements of Graphic Design: Space, Unity, Page Architecture, and Type Book Cover




Foundations of digital art and design with the Adobe Creative Cloud
by Burrough, Xtine

9780321906373xtine burroughFoundations of Digital Art and Design with the Adobe Creative Cloud Fuses design fundamentals and software training into one cohesive book ! Teaches art and design principles with references to contemporary digital art alongside basic digital tools in Adobe's Creative Cloud Addresses the growing trend of compressing design fundamentals and design software into the same course in universities and design trade schools. Lessons are timed to be used in 50 to 90 minute class sessions with additional materials available online Free video screencasts demonstrate key concepts in every chapter All students of digital design and production--whether learning in a classroom or on their own--need to understand the basic principles of design. These principles are often excluded from books that teach software. Foundations of Digital Art and Design reinvigorates software training by integrating design exercises into tutorials fusing design fundamentals and core Adobe Creative Cloud skills. The result is a comprehensive design learning experience. This book is organized into six sections that focus on vector art, photography, image manipulation, typography, web design, and effective habits. Design topics and principles include: Bits, Dots, Lines, Shapes, Rule of Thirds, Zone System, Color Models, Collage, Appropriation, Gestalt, The Bauhaus Basic Course Approach, The Grid, Remix, Automation, and Revision. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - T385 .B86439 2014
Foundations of digital art and design with the Adobe Creative Cloud Book Cover




Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium all-in-one for dummies
by Smith, Jennifer; Smith, Christopher; Gerantabee, Fred

9781118168608Christopher Smith; Fred Gerantabee; Jennifer SmithAdobe Creative Suite 6 Design and Web Premium All-in-One for Dummies The must-have book on the leading suite of software for graphic and web designers Fully revised and updated this hands-on resource offers a one-stop learning opportunity through eight minibooks dedicated to each product inside Adobe's Design & Web Premium Suite. The minibooks include Adobe Creative Suite Basics, InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop, Acrobat, Dreamweaver, Flash, Fireworks. The book contains information on new image enhancements to After Effects, 64-bit versions of Illustrator and Flash Professional, and a new tool, dubbed Helium, that will enable designers to create content using HTML5 and CSS3. Offers the depth needed by novices and long-time professionals Covers the key features and tools users need to master individual programs to their fullest capacities Helps designers to be more creative and productive Filled with tips and techniques for using the 8 design programs This popular package gives designers a full review of the most popular design and development tools on the market. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - T385.S65 2012
Adobe Creative Suite 6 Design & Web Premium all-in-one for dummies Book Cover




Adobe InDesign CC: classroom in a book
by Adobe

9780321926975Adobe Creative TeamClassroom in a BookThe fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe InDesign CC Classroom in a Book#65533;, the best-selling series of hands-on software training workbooks, offers what no other book or training program does--an official training series from Adobe Systems Incorporated, developed with the support of Adobe product experts. Adobe InDesign CC Classroom in a Book contains 16 lessons that cover the basics, providing countless tips and techniques to help you become more productive with the program. You can follow the book from start to finish or choose only those lessons that interest you. Purchasing this book gives you access to the downloadable lesson files you need to work through the projects in the book, and to electronic book updates covering new features that Adobe releases for Creative Cloud customers. For access, go to www.peachpit.com/redeem and redeem the unique code provided inside this book. "The Classroom in a Book series is by far the best training material on the market. Everything you need to master the software is included: clear explanations of each lesson, step-bystep instructions, and the project files for the students." Barbara Binder, Adobe Certified Instructor Rocky Mountain Training - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - Z253.532 .A34 A36345 2013
Adobe InDesign CC: classroom in a book Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District