Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Books and eBooks

Search for Money Smart Book Titles


  
   

         




Featured Books and eBooks


Personal finance for dummies
by Tyson, Eric

9781118117859Eric TysonPersonal Finance for Dummies®The proven guide to taking control of your finances The bestselling Personal Finance For Dummies has helped countless readers budget their funds successfully, rein in debt, and build a strong foundation for the future. Now, renowned financial counselor Eric Tyson combines his time-tested financial advice along with updates to his strategies that reflect changing economic conditions, giving you a better-than-ever guide to taking an honest look at your current financial health and setting realistic goals for the future. Inside, you'll find techniques for tracking expenditures, reducing spending, and getting out from under the burden of high-interest debt. Tyson explains the basics of investing in plain English, as well as the risks, returns, and options for popular investment strategies. He also covers ways to save for college and special events, tame your taxes, and financially survive the twists and turns that life delivers. The bestselling, tried-and-true guide to taking control of finances, now updated to cover current economic conditions Provides concrete, actionable advice for anyone facing great financial hardship Helps you avoid or get out of debt and budget funds more successfully Eric Tyson, MBA, is a nationally recognized personal finance counselor and the author of numerous For Dummies titles, including Home Buying For Dummies, Investing For Dummies, and Mutual Funds For Dummies, among others There's no need to stress over an uncertain economy - just read Personal Finance For Dummies and protect your financial future! - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HG179 .T97 2012
Personal finance for dummies Book Cover




Paying for college without going broke
by Chany, Kalman A; Martz, Geoff

9781101881972Princeton Review; Kalman ChanyPaying for College Without Going Broke, 2016 EditionThe  only  annual college financial aid guide with line-by-line instructions for completing the FAFSA and CSS PROFILE aid forms! As seen in USA Today , the Wall Street Journal , Money , and the Los Angeles Times, Paying for College Without Going Broke will help you:     * Calculate the actual costs of college    * Increase your chances of receiving aid    * Compare aid offers and learn how to appeal if needed    * Plan strategically as an independent student or a divorced or single parent    * Understand long- and short-term money-saving tactics    * Avoid costly mistakes when applying Paying for College Without Going Broke includes a foreword by Bill Clinton as well as in-depth line-by-line strategies for filling out 2016-2017 aid forms, including the required federal FAFSA form. Praise for PAYING FOR COLLEGE WITHOUT GOING BROKE: "Get this book, and don't just read it. Study it." -- Chicago Tribune "A first-rate guide through the financial aid maze." -- Lynn Brenner , Newsday "...Kalman Chany's Paying For College Without Going Broke [is] a must-read now. It's loaded with tips that can save you thousands on college bills...when I got to the section on financial aid, my eyes lit up." --John Wasik, Forbes.com "One of my favorite financial-advice books. " -- Eric Tyson, author of Investing for Dummies and Personal Finance for Dummies - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - LB2337.4 .P744 2016
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - LB2337.4 .P744 2016
Paying for college without going broke Book Cover







The total money makeover: a proven plan for financial fitness
by Ramsey, Dave

9781595555274Dave RamseyThe Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness If you will live like no one else, later you can live like no one else. Build up your money muscles with America's favorite finance coach. Okay, folks, do you want to turn those fat and flabby expenses into a well-toned budget? Do you want to transform your sad and skinny little bank account into a bulked-up cash machine? Then get with the program, people. There's one sure way to whip your finances into shape, and that's with The Total Money Makeover: Classic Edition . By now, you've heard all the nutty get-rich-quick schemes, the fiscal diet fads that leave you with a lot of kooky ideas but not a penny in your pocket. Hey, if you're tired of the lies and sick of the false promises, take a look at this-it's the simplest, most straightforward game plan for completely making over your money habits. And it's based on results, not pie-in-the-sky fantasies. With The Total Money Makeover: Classic Edition , you'll be able to: Design a sure-fire plan for paying off all debt-meaning cars, houses, everything Recognize the 10 most dangerous money myths (these will kill you) Secure a big, fat nest egg for emergencies and retirement! - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HG179 .R31563 2013
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HG179 .R31563 2013
The total money makeover: a proven plan for financial fitness Book Cover




Investing for dummies
by Tyson, Eric

9781118884928Dummies Press Staff; Eric TysonInvesting for Dummies® Investing For Dummies, 7th Edition (9781118884928) is now being published as Investing For Dummies, 7th Edition (9781119293347). While this version features an older Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the new release and should not be considered a different product. Invest in your financial future with this valuable, popular, and easy-to-use guide This latest edition of  Investing For Dummies  is infused with new and updated material to help you ramp up your portfolio today! This includes time-tested advice, updates to investing recommendations, and strategies that reflect changing market conditions. Investing may be an intimidating prospect, but this resource will serve as your primer on all aspects of the topic, including how to develop and manage a portfolio, invest in stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and real estate, open a small business, and understand the critical tax implications of your investing decisions. Updates have been made to sections on investing resources, health insurance, retirement planning, and investment options, among others. Investing For Dummies, 7th Edition  will help ease you into investing confidently. Dive into the new content to get sage advice regardless of where you are in your investment planning stage--beginning to develop plans, investing through a company 401(k), or seeking to shore up your nest egg prior to retirement, this book covers it all. Addresses all aspects of investing, including how to develop and manage a portfolio that includes various investment instruments Features expanded and updated coverage on investing resources, retirement planning, tax laws, investment options, and real estate Offers time-tested advice and strategies from Eric Tyson, a nationally-recognized personal finance counselor and bestselling author If you're looking to get sound guidance and trusted investment strategies,  Investing For Dummies  sets you up to take control of your investment options. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HG4521 .T97 2014
Investing for dummies Book Cover




The truth about retirement plans and IRAs
by Edelman, Ric

9781476739854Ric EdelmanThe Truth about Retirement Plans and IRAsFrom the #1 independent financial advisor in America, ranked three times by Barron's : a guide to making the most of your retirement plans and assuring long-term financial security. Everyone knows that saving for your retirement is important. Yet only half of all eligible Americans contribute to a retirement plan. That's because all plans-including the 401(k), 403(b), 457, and even the IRA-are complicated, confusing, and costly. New York Times bestselling author and acclaimed financial advisor Ric Edelman has counseled thousands of savers and retirees and has accumulated his advice in this book. Edelman has created a step-by-step guide. With illuminating prose and simple explanations, he shares everything you need to know as a plan participant: how to contribute even when you think you can't afford to, how to make wise choices among your investment options, and how to convert your 401(k) into income so you can provide yourself with the lifestyle you want in retirement. Along the way, he debunks the myths and clears up the confusion. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HG179 .E3472 2014
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HG179 .E3472 2014
The truth about retirement plans and IRAs Book Cover




Don't break the bank: college edition
by Petersons

9780768937657Peterson's Publishing StaffDon't Break the Bank: College EditionCollege students spend more money than ever these days, but most have very little (if any) knowledge when it comes to personal finances. The truth is that most schools don't have time to teach a Personal Finances 101 course. So what are today's students (and their parents) to do? Peterson's Don't Break the Bank comes to the rescue! It's a brand new, easy-to-comprehend guide to help students become financially savvy. Readers will find such financially relevant chapters as Saving for a Rainy Day, Making Cents Out of Banking, and Charge It-Paying with Plastic. Book has a student-friendly design, with short chapters, fun graphics, and insightful sidebars-easy for busy students to read in their on-the-go lives. Expert guidance on ways to make extra money, saving vs. spending, ways to budget, the ins and outs of credit and credit cards, financial aid and scholarships, and more. Valuable advice from finance experts and from students, who share their own stories of financial woes and triumphs Glossary of important financial terms-to help students succeed on their road to financial literacy Helpful appendix of additional resources, including links to Web sites for further information - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HG179 .D66 2013
Don't break the bank: college edition Book Cover




Stock Investing for Dummies
by Mladjenovic, Paul

9781118376782Paul MladjenovicStock Investing for Dummies®The fast and easy way to grow your stock investments in today's changing market The changes, events and conditions affecting stock investors since the recent economic crisis have been dramatic. Today's economic and financial landscape offers new challenges and opportunities for investors and money managers. This new edition of Stock Investing For Dummies provides you with the information you need to protect and grow your stock investments in today's changing market. Stock Investing For Dummies contains 25 percent new and revised material designed to help investors navigate an ever-changing stock market with: information on ETFs, a safer way to be more diversified in the stock market; new rules, exchanges, and investment vehicles; the latest on the European debt crisis; and much more. Explores how technological changes mean new products, services, and ways of doing business Shows you how to use the latest research and information available Covers how (and why) to protect yourself Stock Investing For Dummies is for anyone new to investing in the stock market who is looking for a trusted, comprehensive reference to make sure their investments grow. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Stock Investing for Dummies Book Cover




The community college career track: how to achieve the American Dream without a mountain of debt
by Snyder, Thomas

9781118271698Thomas SnyderThe Community College Career Track: How to Achieve the American Dream Without a Mountain of DebtGet a good education without massive debt, and enter a field that′s actually hiring In coming years, millions of great jobs will be opening up in growth areas like advanced manufacturing, biotechnology, health care, information technology, and sustainable energy. These jobs can pay as well as, or much better than, the average income for four-year college graduates. They generally offer high levels of day-to-day satisfaction. And the path to all of them begins in the community colleges. In The Community College Career Track , Tom Snyder gives young people and their parents, as well as mid-life career changers, a practical, inspiring guide to taking that path and completing it successfully. The old model of a bachelor′s degree leading to a good job and career has broken down for large numbers of young people, many of whom graduate college only to work in a career that doesn′t require a degree. Meanwhile, millions of productive American white collar and blue-collar workers have been laid off and need retraining for second careers. This book helps you find a new way forward. Offers insights on how to save money over a lifetime through an affordable college education that provides high-paying jobs Author Tom Snyder is the president of Ivy Tech Community College, Indiana′s statewide community college system and the largest singly accredited community college system in the country Author Tom Snyder has confronted the education-jobs mismatch from both sides, first as a highly successful business executive and now as an award-winning educator. Follow his efficient, affordable, and rewarding path to a great career and a satisfying life. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - CARCOLL - LB2328 .S61 2012
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - LB2328 .S61 2012
The community college career track: how to achieve the American Dream without a mountain of debt Book Cover




The money class: learn to create your new American dream
by Orman, Suze

9780679604709Suze OrmanThe Money Class: Learn to Create Your New American Dream#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Revised & updated WHAT WILL YOU LEARN IN THE MONEY CLASS? How to find the courage to stand in your truth and why it is a place of power. What daily actions will restore the word "hope" to your vocabulary. Everything you need to know about taking care of your family, your home, your career, and planning for retirement--no matter where you are in your life or where the economy is heading. In nine electrifying, empowering classes, Suze Orman teaches us how to navigate these unprecedented financial times. With her trademark directness, she shows us how to tackle the complicated mix of money and family, how to avoid making costly mistakes in real estate, and how to get traction in your career or rebuild after a professional setback. And in what is the most comprehensive retirement resource available today, Suze presents an attainable strategy, for every reader, at every age. The Money Class is filled with tools and advice that can take you from a place of financial fear to a place of financial security. In The Money Class you will learn what you need to know in order to feel hopeful, once again, about your future. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - HG179 .O75764 2011
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - HG179 .O75764 2011
The money class: learn to create your new American dream Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District