Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Literature, Art, and Movies

Featured Items at the Library


The Night Trilogy
by Wiesel, Elie

9780809073641Elie WieselThe Night Trilogy: Night; Dawn; Day Night is one of the masterpieces of Holocaust literature. First published in 1958, it is the autobiographical account of an adolescent boy and his father in Auschwitz. Elie Wiesel writes of their battle for survival and of his battle with God for a way to understand the wanton cruelty he witnesses each day. In the short novel Dawn (1960), a young man who has survived World War II and settled in Palestine joins a Jewish underground movement and is commanded to execute a British officer who has been taken hostage. In Day (previously titled The Accident , 1961), Wiesel questions the limits of conscience: Can Holocaust survivors forge a new life despite their memories? Wiesel's trilogy offers insights on mankind's attraction to violence and on the temptation of self-destruction. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - PQ2683.I32 Z467 1987
The Night Trilogy Book Cover




The Theatre of the Holocaust
by Various Artists

9780299090746Robert Skloot (Editor)The Theatre of the Holocaust: Four PlaysThis volume contains these four plays: Resort 76 by Shimon Wincelberg Will the relentless oppression of the starving workers in a ghetto factory destroy their faith in God? Their love of life? Their ability to resist? If a cat is more valuable than a human being, have hope and goodness been eliminated from the world? A moving and terrifying melodrama. Throne of Straw by Harold and Edith Lieberman Through the career of Mordechai Chaim Rumkowski, head of the Lodz, Poland Judenrat, we come to understand the horror of "choiceless choice," of how giving up some to save others was the worst nightmare for those who sought the responsibilities of ghetto leadership. An epic play with music and song. The Cannibals by George Tabori The children of murder victims assemble to enact ritually the destruction of their fathers in the presence of two survivors. As the sons become their fathers, the most profound ethical questions of the Holocaust are raised concerning the limits of humanity in a world of absolute evil. A daring tragicomedy. Who Will Carry the Word? by Charlotte Delbo (translated by Cynthia Haft) In the austere, degraded setting of a concentration camp, twenty-two French women attempt to keep their sanity and hope as, one by one, they fall victim to the Nazi terror. Will anyone believe the story of the survivors? A poetic drama of resistance and witness. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - PN6120.J4 T4 1982
The Theatre of the Holocaust Book Cover




Art from the Ashes: A Holocaust Anthology
by Langer, Lawrence

9780195077322Lawrence L. LangerArt from the Ashes: A Holocaust AnthologyArt from the Ashes provides the most far-reaching collection of art, drama, poetry, and prose about the Holocaust ever presented in a single volume. Through the works of men and women, Jews and non-Jews, this anthology offers a vision of the human reality of the catastrophe. Essays by familiarwriters like Primo Levi and Elie Wiesel accompany lesser-known efforts by Yankiel Wiernik and Frantisek Kraus; stories by Tadeusz Borowski and Ida Fink join fiction by neglected authors such as Isaiah Spiegel and Adolf Rudnicki; and extensive selections have been chosen from the works of sixpoets--the renowned Paul Celan, Nelly Sachs, and Abraham Sutzkever among them. Each selection (except for self-contained excerpts from ghetto journals and diaries) appears here in its complete form. Langer also includes in their entirety a novel by Aharon Appelfeld, a novella by Pierre Gascar, andJoshua Sobol's controversial drama Ghetto. In addition, this volume features a visual essay in the form of reproductions of twenty works of art created in the Terezin concentration camp. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - D804.3 .A78 1995
Glendale CC North Library - RESERVES - HUM245
Art from the Ashes: A Holocaust Anthology Book Cover




Art and Place: Site-Specific Art of the Americas
by Renshaw, Amanda

9780714865515Lawrence L. Loendorf; Phaidon Press Editors; Lucy Bowditch; Adrian Locke; Robert S. ShaneArt and Place: Site-Specific Art of the Americas" Art & Place is an extraordinary collection of site-specific art in the Americas. Featuring hundreds of powerful art works in 60 cities - from Albuquerque to Boston and Baja to Rio de Janeiro - the book is both an informative guide and a virtual bucket list of outstanding art destinations. Conceived and developed by Phaidon editors, Art & Place covers carving, painting, murals, frescos, earthworks, land art, and more. Each of the works has a dedicated entry pairing gorgeous, large‐format images with in‐depth descriptions. Maps pinpoint the sites' locations while specially commissioned plans reveal some of the more complex layouts. The book is organized geographically, offering fresh juxtapositions among familiar art works, such as Anish Kapoor's Cloud Gate and Robert Smithson's Spiral Jetty , alongside lesser-known revelations, such as Inhotim Centro de Arte Contempor#65533;nea in Brazil. Whether in the mountains, at the heart of a city, or on a remote island, the works in Art & Place are all inextricably linked with their environment. This is art to experience in an immersive way, presented together in a single book for the first time. " - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - NX456.5 .S57 A78 2013
Art and Place: Site-Specific Art of the Americas Book Cover




Blasphemy: Art That Offends
by Langer, Lawrence

9781904772538S. Brent PlateBlasphemy: Art That OffendsBlasphemy: Art that Offends is a prescient examination of the perpetually troubled, often explosive relationship between religion, politics and art. This book draws on a rich wealth of visual material, tracing both the history of blasphemy as a concept and re-positioning the term in the twenty-first century. Questions of censorship and freedom of expression are today extremely volatile, a fact evinced by the recent international backlash against the Danish newspaper Islamic caricatures and the murder of the Dutch filmmaker Theo Van Gogh following the release of his notorious Submission. Blasphemy: Art that Offends provides a vital vantage point from which to view the complicated, compelling interrelations between religion, politics and the visual arts. Religious and political authorities have burned, banned and banished blasphemous art for centuries. In 1627, Dutch political authorities tortured and imprisoned the painter Johannes Torrentius for creating blasphemous images - mostly pornographic renderings of mythological subjects - and publicly burned his paintings. In 1989, US Senator Jesse Helms decried Andres Serrano's Piss Christ calling it "blasphemy and insensitivity toward the religious community". In a reversal of Torrentius' artistic fate, Helms' accusations, accompanied by the tearing up of a copy of the offending picture, helped raise Serrano's status as a photographer, prompting both international visibility and an increase in sales of his work. God, Mohammed, Jesus, the Quran, the Bible and the Torah have all been at one point or another subjected to artistic interpretation, as have more liberal values, such as friendship, education and the nation-state. The book features a broad range of iconographic and textual material including painting, photography, calligraphy, illuminated manuscripts, advertisement, graphic design, and film. Works including Piss Christ and Dinos and Jake Chapmans' Hell , as well as the films Submission and Monty Python's Life of Brian are explored in detail by author and academic S Brent Plate. Also analysed are transgressive works of art, past and present, which walk the line between expression and incitement, by Francis Bacon, Banksy, Caravaggio, Marc Chagall, Marcus Harvey, Sarah Lucas, Edvard Munch, Herman Nitsch and Rembrandt amongst others. In the twenty-first century the boundary between artistic freedom and incitement is becoming ever more blurred, and the modes of objection by political and religious fundamentalists are becoming ever more extreme. B Blasphemy: Art that Offends is testament to the enduring power of images and words to provoke, challenge and engage, questioning the status of blasphemy in a world ever more divided as to what is acceptable and what is profane. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - N72.R4 P53 2006
Blasphemy: Art That Offends Book Cover




Visual Shock: A History of Art Controversies
by Kammen, Michael G

9781400041299Michael G. KammenVisual Shock: A History of Art Controversies in American CultureFrom the early years of the American Republic to the present, art and architecture have consistently aroused major disputes among artists, critics, scholars, politicians, and ordinary citizens. Now one of our most respected cultural historians chronicles these clamorous debates about the public appropriateness of paintings, sculpture, memorials, and monuments.Michael Kammen examines the nature, diversity, and persistence of major disputes generated by art and artists and shows what has changed since the 1830s and why. He looks at the role of artists and patrons, local and national governments, conservatives and liberals, and the media in creating and sustaining heated controversies. We see the notable acceleration of such episodes since the 1960s; the effect of the democratization of American museums; the quest for provocative shows to attract crowds; the increased visibility resulting from the public art movement that has stirred anger and created some of our stormiest battles; the desire of many artists and galleries to shock, provoke, and contest, engendering the perplexity, if not outright hostility, of audiences; the use of art as social criticism; the effort to include and appeal to minorities; the threat of litigation and the role of courts; and the commercialization stemming from dependence on corporate sponsorship.Kammen's central themes include such questions as, What kind of art is most appropriate for a democratic society? What should our relationship be to Old World criteria of excellence in the arts? How can we achieve a distinctively American art? Why have so many controversies hinged upon issues of nudity, decency, and sexuality? Why has public art (most notably sculpture) become so politicized that began in the late 1960s? He explores the "death-of-art" debate since the 1970s and issues of censorship that have arisen over time. Finally, he asks whether art controversies have invariably had a negative effect--noticing the interesting ways in which minds have been changed and museums have overcome difficult episodes. He also reminds us that when New York's Museum of Modern Art celebrated its twenty-fifth anniversary, President Dwight Eisenhower declared "as long as artists are at liberty to feel with high personal intensity, as long as our artists are free to create with sincerity and conviction, there will be healthy controversy and progress in art." Kammen agrees. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - N72.S6 K225 2006
Visual Shock: A History of Art Controversies Book Cover




The Continuum encyclopedia of Children's Literature
by Cullinan, Bernice E Person, Diane Goetz

9780826412713Bernice E. Cullinan (Editor); Diane G. Person (Editor)The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's LiteratureWith 1,100 biographical-critical entries and 100 topical articles, written by some 150 contributors, The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature is the most complete and up-to-date reference source ever produced on the subject. The work covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures: the United States, Britain, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, continental Europe, Israel, Africa, and the Far East. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators and artists. The board of advisers, made up of scholars, editors, librarians, authors, and artists, has helped to make this encyclopedia even more user-friendly. Also featured are photographs of the best-known figures and samples of classic artwork, many in full color. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - PN1008.5 .C66 2001
Online
The Continuum encyclopedia of Children's Literature Book Cover




Man's Search for Meaning
by Frankl, Viktor E

9780807014271046442014274Viktor E. Frankl; Ilse Lasch (Translator); Harold S. Kushner (Foreword by); William J. Winslade (Afterword by); Viktor E. FranklMan's Search for MeaningPsychiatrist Viktor Frankl's memoir has riveted generations of readers with its descriptions of life in Nazi death camps and its lessons for spiritual survival. Between 1942 and 1945 Frankl labored in four different camps, including Auschwitz, while his parents, brother, and pregnant wife perished. Based on his own experience and the experiences of others he treated later in his practice, Frankl argues that we cannot avoid suffering but we can choose how to cope with it, find meaning in it, and move forward with renewed purpose. Frankl's theory-known as logotherapy, from the Greek word logos ("meaning")-holds that our primary drive in life is not pleasure, as Freud maintained, but the discovery and pursuit of what we personally find meaningful. At the time of Frankl's death in 1997, Man's Search for Meaning had sold more than 10 million copies in twenty-four languages. A 1991 reader survey for the Library of Congress that asked readers to name a "book that made a difference in your life" found Man's Search for Meaning among the ten most influential books in America. Beacon Press, the original English-language publisher of Man's Search for Meaning, is issuing this new paperback edition with a new Foreword, biographical Afterword, jacket, price, and classroom materials to reach new generations of readers. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - D810.J4 F72713 1984
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - D810.J4 F72713 2006
Man's Search for Meaning Book Cover




Holocaust Poetry
by Schiff, Hilda

9780312130862Hilda Schiff (Editor)Holocaust PoetryHolocaust Poetry is a lasting and solemn tribute to the memory of the past and to the hope of the future. Behold, God of Abraham, God of mercy, Open your eyes as you have opened mine, Open your eyes and see what I have seen... --Elie Wiesel She felt a kind of envy for Those who stood naked in their truth: Where to be one of her people was To be one of those millions killed. --Stephen Spender And death looks on with a casual eye and picks at the dirt under his fingernail. --Anne Sexton Consider whether this is a man. Who labors in the mud Who knows no peace Who fights for a crust of bread Who dies at a yes or a no. --Primo Levi The volume includes 119 poems and the voices of 59 poets. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - PN6110.H45 H65 1995
Glendale CC North Library - RESERVES - HUM245
Holocaust Poetry Book Cover




Schindler's List
by Spielberg, Steven (Director)

This Academy Award Winning movie tells the story of an opportunistic German industrialist who saves hundreds of Jews from the death campus during World War II by giving them jobs in his factory.
Glendale CC Library - VIDEO - PN1997 .S3743 2013
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - PN1997 .S3743 2004
Schindler's List Book Cover




Maus: A Survivor's Tale
by Spiegelman, Art

9780394747231Art SpiegelmanMy Father Bleeds HistoryThe first installment of the Pulitzer Prize-winning graphic novel acclaimed as "the most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust" ( Wall Street Journal ) and "the first masterpiece in comic book history" ( The New Yorker ). A brutally moving work of art--widely hailed as the greatest graphic novel ever written-- Maus recounts the chilling experiences of the author's father during the Holocaust, with Jews drawn as wide-eyed mice and Nazis as menacing cats. Maus is a haunting tale within a tale, weaving the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father into an astonishing retelling of one of history's most unspeakable tragedies. It is an unforgettable story of survival and a disarming look at the legacy of trauma. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - DS135.P63 S68 1997
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - D810 .J4 S65 2008
Maus: A Survivor's Tale Book Cover




The Boy in the Striped Pajamas: A Fable
by Boyne, John

9780385751537John BoyneThe Boy in the Striped Pajamas"Powerful and unsettling. . . . As memorable an introduction to the subject as The Diary of Anne Frank ." -- USA Today Berlin, 1942: When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family must move to a new house far, far away, where there is no one to play with and nothing to do. A tall fence stretches as far as the eye can see and cuts him off from the strange people in the distance. But Bruno longs to be an explorer and decides that there must be more to this desolate new place than meets the eye. While exploring his new environment, he meets another boy whose life and circumstances are very different from his own, and their meeting results in a friendship that has devastating consequences. From the Hardcover edition. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - JUV - PZ7.B69677 BOY 2007
Glendale CC North Library - JUV - PZ7.B69677 BOY 2007
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas: A Fable Book Cover




The Diary of a Young Girl: Definitive Edition
by Frank, Anne

9780385480338Ana Frank; Otto H. Frank (Editor); Mirjam Pressler (Editor); Susan Massotty (Translator); Otto M. Frank (Editor)The Diary of a Young GirlDiscovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank's remarkable diary has since become a world classic--a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit. In 1942, with Nazis occupying Holland, a thirteen-year-old Jewish girl and her family fled their home in Amsterdam and went into hiding. For the next two years, until their whereabouts were betrayed to the Gestapo, they and another family lived cloistered in the "Secret Annex" of an old office building. Cut off from the outside world, they faced hunger, boredom, the constant cruelties of living in confined quarters, and the ever-present threat of discovery and death. In her diary Anne Frank recorded vivid impressions of her experiences during this period. By turns thoughtful, moving, and amusing, her account offers a fascinating commentary on human courage and frailty and a compelling self-portrait of a sensitive and spirited young woman whose promise was tragically cut short. Praise for The Diary of a Young Girl "A truly remarkable book." -- The New York Times "One of the most moving personal documents to come out of World War II." -- The Philadelphia Inquirer "There may be no better way to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the end of World War II than to reread The Diary of a Young Girl, a testament to an indestructible nobility of spirit in the face of pure evil." -- Chicago Tribune "The single most compelling personal account of the Holocaust . . . remains astonishing and excruciating." -- The New York Times Book Review "How brilliantly Anne Frank captures the self-conscious alienation and na#65533;ve self-absorption of adolescence." -- Newsday - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - DS135.N6 F73313 1996
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - DS135.N6 F73313 1996
The Diary of a Young Girl: Definitive Edition Book Cover








Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District