Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Background Information Sources

DSM V


Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5
by American Psychiatric Association

9780890425558American Psychiatric Association Staff; KernbergDiagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5#65533;), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5#65533; easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. - Description from Syndetics
This title may be picked up at the Library Reference Desk at both the GCC Main and GCC North Campuses.
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5 Book Cover




Links to Background Psychology Sources

Gale Reference

This reference collection contains a wealth of subject-specific encyclopedias on both medicine and psychology. These articles can give in-depth background information on numerous psychology topics.

Credo Reference: Psychology

Here is another collection of psychology encyclopedia titles from our database Credo Reference.

Psychology Reference Books in the Library

Here is a list of the different encyclopedia, dictionary, and reference resources that can be found at the GCC Libraries.



Featured Reference (Background Information) Titles





The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health

9781414490120GalèGale Encyclopedia of Mental Health"The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health presents authoritative and comprehensive information on 500 topics in mental health, including diseases and disorders, drugs, alternative treatments, psychiatric assessments, and related concepts. Written in language accessible to adult laypersons, it aims to fill the gap between basic consumer resources and highly technical professional materials such as the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM). The new edition reflects suggested additions and changes to the forthcoming DSM-5 and includes over 65 new entries, photos of common medications, and age- and gender-specific topics such as juvenile bipolar disorder, late-life depression, and conditions specific to men and women. " - Description from Syndetics
Online
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health Book Cover










Psychology and Mental Health

9781587655562Nancy A. Piotrowski; Paul Moglia (General Editor); Salem Press StaffPsychology and Mental HealthThe publication of this five-volume set represents a substantial revision and update of Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science: Psychology. The new encyclopedia covers not only the history of the field and the core aspects of behaviorism, cognitive psychology, and psychoanalytic psychology but also diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, notable people, and issues, including many popular concepts. Many of the newly added essays address how culture, ethnicity, and gender affect psychological theory and beliefs. They cover topics such as multicultural psychology and the effect of culture on diagnosis and look at groups as divergent as Latinos, Asian Americans/Pacific Islanders, and the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. Some examine gender differences, in particular gender roles and conflicts. Other essays examine important and developing issues in psychology, such as multiple intelligences, emotional intelligence, pharmaceuticals used in treatment, genetics, and the effects of hope, spirituality, and social support. - Description from Syndetics
Online
Psychology and Mental Health Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District