Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Books

The Thirties in America
by Thomas Tandy Lewis (editor)

These volumes offer an innovative approach to North America during the 1930s that can be used by advanced students and scholars alike. It features long overviews and short entries discussing people, books, films, plays, and other important topics.
Glendale CC Library Reference E169.1 .T475 2011 V.1-3
The Thirties in America Book Cover




The 1930s
by William H. Young with Nancy K. Young

Most historical studies bury us in wars and politics, paying scant attention to the everyday effects of pop culture. Welcome to America's other history--the arts, activities, common items, and popular opinions that profoundly impacted our national way of life.
Glendale CC Library Reference E169.1 .Y59 2002
The 1930s Book Cover




American Decades
by Vincent Tompkins (editor)

Intended as a reference source for American social history, this volume discusses the people, events and ideas of the period.
Glendale CC Library Reference E169.12 .A419 1994
American Decades Book Cover




Dictionary of American History
by Stanley I. Kutler (editor)

The third edition of the "Dictionary of American History" is the first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source originally published in 1940. Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised in light of historical developments and current scholarship, and more than 800 new entries cover recent events and topics not covered previously.
Glendale CC Library Reference E174 .D52 2003
Dictionary of American History Book Cover




International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
by William A. Darity, Jr. (editor)

This study of social sciences is a successor to the Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (ESS, 1930-1935) and the initial set of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (IESS, 1968) -- two groundbreaking MacMillan works that "established standards for knowledge in social science research and practice". The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition
Glendale CC Library Reference H40.A2 I5 2008
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences Book Cover




The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence Blume (eds.)

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics is established as the leading reference work in the field. The second edition retains many individual classic essays of enduring importance from its predecessor and includes one thousand new or heavily revised articles.
Glendale CC Library Reference HB61 .N49 2008
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Book Cover




The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2014
by Scott Derks

This fifth edition of the highly successful The Value of a Dollar records the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present, along with facts about investment options and income opportunities.
Glendale CC Library Reference HB235 .U6 D47 2014
The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2014 Book Cover




The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
by Cynthia Clark Northrup (editor)

A comprehensive collection of entries, essays, and primary source documents emphasizing the importance of economic policy in all aspects of life in the United States.
Glendale CC Library Reference HC102 .A66 2003
The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia Book Cover




Encyclopedia of American Economic History: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas
by Glenn Porter (editor)

A selective reference work containing specially commissioned articles that explore concepts, themes, institutions and distinctive trends in the American economic experience.
Glendale CC Library Reference HC103 .E52
Encyclopedia of American Economic History: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas Book Cover




Dancing in the Dark: A Cultural History of the Great Depression
by Morris Dickstein

Hailed as one of the best books of 2009 by the New York Times and the Los Angeles Times, this vibrant portrait of 1930s culture masterfully explores the anxiety and hope, the despair and surprising optimism of distressed Americans during the Great Depression.
Glendale CC Library E806 .D57 2010
Dancing in the Dark: A Cultural History of the Great Depression Book Cover




The Great Depression and the New Deal
by Kevin Hillstrom

Provides a detailed account of the Stock Market Crash of 1929 and the Great Depression, as well as President Franklin D. Roosevelt's ambitious program of New Deal reforms. Includes a narrative overview, biographical profiles, primary source documents, and other helpful features.
Glendale CC Library E806 .H555 2009
The Great Depression and the New Deal  Book Cover




The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression
by Amity Shlaes

It's difficult today to imagine how America survived the Great Depression. Only through the stories of the common people who struggled during that era can we really understand how the nation endured. These are the people at the heart of Amity Shlaes's insightful and inspiring history of one of the most crucial events of the twentieth century.
Glendale CC Library E806 .S52 2007
The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression Book Cover




The Hungry Years: A Narrative History of the Great Depression in America
by T.H. Watkins

The acclaimed author of Righteous Pilgrim delivers this dramatic account of the Great Depression as seen by those who lived through it.
Glendale CC Library E806 .W35 1999
The Hungry Years: A Narrative History of the Great Depression in America Book Cover




The Great Crash, 1929
by John Kenneth Galbraith

Of Galbraith's classic examination of the 1929 financial collapse, the Atlantic Monthly said:"Economic writings are seldom notable for their entertainment value, but this book is. Galbraith's prose has grace and wit, and he distills a good deal of sardonic fun from the whopping errors of the nation's oracles and the wondrous antics of the financial community."
Glendale CC Library HB3717 1929 .G32 1997
The Great Crash, 1929  Book Cover




Endangered Dreams: The Great Depression in California
by Kevin Starr

California, Wallace Stegner observed, is like the rest of the United States, only more so. Indeed, the Golden State has always seemed to be a place where the hopes and fears of the American dream have been played out in a bigger and bolder way. And no one has done more to capture this epic story than Kevin Starr, in his acclaimed series of gripping social and cultural histories. Now Starr carries his account into the 1930s, when the political extremes that threatened so much of the Depression-ravaged world--fascism and communism--loomed large across the California landscape.
Glendale CC Library HB3717 1929 .S73 1996
Endangered Dreams: The Great Depression in California  Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District