Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Book Resources

Nursing & Medicine Book Search


  
   

Limit to Nursing/Medicine

         




Featured Nursing & Medicine Books





Nursing theories & nursing practice
by Smith, Marlaine C; Parker, Marilyn E

9780803633124Marlaine Smith; Marilyn E. ParkerNursing Theories and Nursing Practice The only nursing research and theory book with primary works by the original theorists! Noted nursing scholars explore the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. The 4th Edition of this popular book meets the needs of today's students with an expanded focus on the middle range theories and practice models that link theory to clinical practice. You'll explore their role in the real-world and learn how they are used to research and test the interventions with the best outcomes. Redeem the Plus Code inside new, printed texts to access your DavisPlus online resources, including the Davis Digital Version that lets you access the complete text online. You'll also have access to a wealth of learning and practice resources. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - RT84.5 .N8793 2015
Nursing theories & nursing practice Book Cover




Chicken soup for the nurse's soul: 101 stories to celebrate, honor, and inspire the nursing profession
by Canfield, Jack

9781558749337Jack Canfield; Mark Victor Hansen; Nancy Mitchell-Autio; LeAnn ThiemanChicken Soup for the Nurse's Soul: 101 Stories to Celebrate, Honor and Inspire the Nursing Profession"These stories cannot help but touch the hearts and souls of all who read it, nurses or not. The authors have done nursing a wonderful service by bringing to light the touching, funny, heartfelt anecdotes shared by those at the bedside." -Sally Russell, M.N., R.N. , Educational DirectorAcademy of Medical Surgical Nurses This collection of true stories champions the daily contributions, commitments and sacrifices of nurses and portrays the compassion, intellect and wit necessary to meet the challenging demands of the profession. Stories from student nurses recall why they entered the profession; stories from seasoned nurses reveal why they stay, and some stories reflect on the "good old days." Most important, as every fan of the series knows, each story shares hope for the future. Regardless of age or area of practice, health-care workers the world over will find their own hearts and souls in these stories as they discover the universality of what they do-and the power of their skillful hands and devoted hearts. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - RT61 .C376 2001
Chicken soup for the nurse's soul: 101 stories to celebrate, honor, and inspire the nursing profession Book Cover




Change Leadership in Nursing : How Change Occurs in a Complex Hospital System
by Hickey, Mairead; Kritek, Phyllis Beck

9780826108371Mairead Hickey; Phyllis Beck KritekChange Leadership in Nursing: How Change Occurs in a Complex Hospital SystemRecommended."-- Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries Brigham and Women's Hospital, a high-profile, complex, academic medical center in Boston, MA, is a founding member of the Partners HeathCare Sytem and is associated with Harvard Medical School and Dana Farber Cancer Institute. This truly unique volume chronicles the systemic efforts of the nursing department to make an already outstanding system even better. It provides access to a compelling story of institute-wide nursing practice today and how the opportunity for major change was embraced and successfully accomplished. Told from the perspective of ninety administrative and staff nurses, it serves as a model for change in similar institutions everywhere. Key Features Provides "real world" system level description of hospital-wide change initiated and implemented by nurses committed to safe quality patient care Serves as a roadmap for institution-wide change for aspiring nurse leaders, including values to support, tools to develop or use, resources to be managed, key personnel to employ, and more Offers nurse executives an array of catalytic ideas they can adapt to their own settings Acts as a model for administrators and students in Masters and Doctoral Programs who are interested in seeing how change occurs in complex systems through personal engagement at all levels" - Description from Syndetics
Online
Change Leadership in Nursing : How Change Occurs in a Complex Hospital System Book Cover




Family health care nursing: theory, practice, and research
by Kaakinen, Joanna Rowe; Coehlo, Deborah Padgett; Steele, Rose; Tabacco, Aaron; Hanson, Shirley M. H

9780803639218Joanna Rowe Kaakinen; Deborah Padgett Coehlo; Rose Steele; Aaron Tabacco; Shirley May Harmon HansonFamily Health Care Nursing: Theory, Practice, and Research Awarded first place in the 2014 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Child Health category! Prepare for the real world of family nursing care! Explore family nursing the way it is practiced today--with an evidence-based, clinical focus built on a firm foundation of theory and research. From health promotion to end of life, this text shows how caring for families can be planned based on current evidence of effectiveness. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - RT120 .F34 F35 2015
Family health care nursing: theory, practice, and research Book Cover




Maternal-newborn nursing care
by Nagtalon-Ramos, Jamille

9780803622463Jamille Nagtalon-RamosMaternal-Newborn Nursing Care: Best Evidence-Based PracticesAJN Book-of-the-Year Award-Winner! A comprehensive women's health reference guide, this "pocket brain" delivers all the practical, evidence-based clinical information you need to care for normal and high-risk pregnant mothers, newborns, and their families in diverse hospital and community settings. This book delves into other women's health issues that may impact the care of the mother-baby dyad, such as culture, substance abuse, family planning, violence against women and sexually transmitted infections. Perfect for students, new-to-practice, or expert practitioners, this guide provides concise, comprehensive assessments, easy-to-understand tables of lab work-ups and values, common treatment guidelines and the steps to implement and evaluate nursing care. As a special feature to assist with learning how to check a cervix, you can practice using the dilation milestone cut outs inside the book! - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - RG951 .N34 2014
Maternal-newborn nursing care Book Cover




Spirituality in nursing: standing on holy ground
by O'Brien, Mary Elizabeth

9781449694678Mary Elizabeth O'BrienSpirituality in NursingSpirituality in Nursing: Standing on Holy Ground, Fifth Edition explores the relationship between spirituality and the practice of nursing from a variety of perspectives, including: * Nursing assessment of patients' spiritual needs * The nurse's role in the provision of spiritual care * The spiritual nature of the nurse-patient relationship * The spiritual history of the nursing profession * Contemporary interest in spirituality within the nursing profession This Fifth Edition includes a new chapter titled, "Prayer in Nursing" which includes information on topics such as the history of prayer in nursing, finding time for prayer in nursing, prayer and nursing practice, and the ethics of praying with patients. A second new chapter titled, "The Spirituality of Caring: A Sacred Covenant Model of Caring for Nursing Practice", explores the history of spirituality in nurse caregiving and spiritual concepts in nursing theories of caring. A concept analysis of nurses' caring as a sacred covenant includes the "Sacred Covenant Model of Caring for Nursing Practice", a model for clinical practice developed by the author. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - RT85.2 .O37 2014
Spirituality in nursing: standing on holy ground Book Cover




Evidence-based geriatric nursing protocols for best practice
by Boltz, Marie

9780826171290Marie BoltzEvidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best PracticeNamed a 2013 Doody's Core Title "The evidence-based protocols are designed as a primary reference and are useful, substantive, and timely...The broader contributions of useful format and succinct review of the evidence make it likely that this text will continue to be the leading resource in nursing education and practice."--The Gerontologist"Now more than ever, nurses are called upon to lead efforts to embed evidence-based practice in daily operations. As the IOM report states, 'nurses have key roles to play as team members and leaders for a reformed and better-integrated, patient-centered health care system.' The process of implementing sweeping change in health care will likely take years; however, nurses must start pragmatically and focus on these critically important protocols that have demonstrated improved outcomes for older adults. Simply stated, 'Pick this book up and use it.'"From the Foreword, Susan L. Carlson, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, GNP-BC, FNGNAPresident, National Gerontological Nursing Association"As a gerontological clinical educator/research nurse, I will often use this as a reference. The format and the content are good, and the explanations of how to best use the evidence simplify the process of sifting through mountains of information to figure the best practice." Score: 97, 5 Stars. --Doody'sOne of the premier reference books for geriatric nurses in hospital, long-term, and community settings, this 4th edition has been thoroughly updated to provide the most current, evidence-based protocols for care of common clinical conditions and issues in elderly patients. Designed to improve the quality, outcomes, and cost-effectiveness of health care, these guidelines are the result of collaboration between leading practitioners and educators in geriatric nursing and New York University College of Nursing.Protocols for each clinical condition have been developed by experts in that particular area, and most have been systematically tested by over 300 participating hospitals in "Nurses Improving Care for Health System Elders" (NICHE). Evidence is derived from all levels of care, including community, primary, and long-term care. A systematic method in compliance with the AGREE appraisal process was used to rate the levels of evidence for each protocol. Protocols are organized in a consistent format for ease of use, and each includes an overview, evidence-based assessment and intervention strategies, and an illustrative case study with discussion. Additionally, each protocol is embedded within chapter text, which provides the context and detailed evidence for the protocol. Each chapter contains resources for further study.Key Features: Updated to provide a wide range of evidence-based geriatric protocols for best practices Contains new chapters on function-focused care, catheter-associated urinary tract infections, mistreatment detection, acute care models, and transitional careIllustrates application of clinical protocols to real-life practice through case studies and discussionEdited by nationally known leaders in geriatric nursing education and practice, who are endorsed by the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing and NICHE Encompasses the contributions of 58 leading practitioners of geriatric careWritten for nursing students, nurse leaders, and practitioners at all levels, including those in specialty roles - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - RC954 .G465 2012
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - RC954 .G465 2012
Online
Evidence-based geriatric nursing protocols for best practice Book Cover




The nursing America: one year behind the nursing stations of an inner-city hospital
by Balfour, Sandy

9781585422814Sandy BalfourNursing America: One Year Behind the Nursing Stations of an Inner-City HospitalThe world of nursing as seen through the prism of eight nurses' lives over the course of a year working at the Regional Medical Center in Memphis, Tennessee. Nursing is one of the fastest-growing occupations in the United States. What draws people to this most challenging of professions? And what is it like to return, day after day, to a place where lives hang in the balance? In Nursing America, Sandy Balfour describes the daily joy and discouragement, hope and despair experienced by eight nurses, each from one of the different specialty units of an inner-city hospital. "Nobody ever came to the hospital to see a nurse," points out one of the nurses in this book. Yet it is often the nurses whom the patients never forget. From the painstaking job of providing people with care and compassion to the intricate doctor-nurse relationships, the nursing profession brings new meaning to the term "people skills." Balfour addresses the current climate in hospitals, in which funding is becoming more and more scarce, and its effects on nursing. In this refreshingly candid and intriguing account, Balfour takes readers to the front lines of nursing to reveal the men and women who work in this fascinating field. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - GENERAL - RT34 .B34 2005
The nursing America: one year behind the nursing stations of an inner-city hospital Book Cover








Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District