Skip to Content

GCC Logo

In This Guide


See Also


Feedback

We are always looking for feedback and suggestions on ways in which we could build a better guide. Therefore, if you have any resources you might suggest or things you would like to see in our guides, please let us know through the link below:

Background Information and Reference Resources

Online Background Information

Nursing Reference Center

Provides a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. This database offers the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full-text documents.

Health Reference Center Academic

Health Reference Center Academic is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics.

Nursing & Allied Health

Nursing & Allied Health Collection comes to the rescue of nursing students, physicians assistant students, and researchers in allied health fields who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment and management of all sorts of patients.

Nursing Made Incredibly Easy

This journal breaks down challenging clinical topics into easily understood formats. Articles are contributed by experienced clinicians.

Salem Health (including Magill's Medical Guide)

Magill's Medical Guide is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.

Gale Reference - Medicine

Our database Gale Virtual Reference Library also contains a wealth of background nursing information.



Nursing Reference Resources in the Library





2016 Oncology nursing drug handboo
by Wilkes, Gail M; Barton-Burke, Margaret

9781284091977Gail M. Wilkes; Margaret Barton-Burke2016 Oncology Nursing Drug HandbookWritten especially for nurses caring for patients with cancer, the 2016 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook uniquely expresses drug therapy in terms of the nursing process: nursing diagnoses, etiologies of toxicities, and key points for nursing assessment, intervention, and evaluation. Updated annually, this essential reference provides valuable information on effective symptom management, patient education, and chemotherapy administration. Completely revised and updated, the 2016 Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook includes a simplified chapter on molecular and biological targeted therapy that incorporates new information about immunotherapy, new indications, and the most important and common side effects. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - RC271.C5 W55 2016
2016 Oncology nursing drug handboo Book Cover




Global Health Nursing in the 21st Century
by Breakey, Suellen; Corless, Inge B; Meedzan, Nancy; Nicholas, Patrice K

9780826118714Suellen Breakey (Editor); Inge B. Corless (Editor); Nancy L. Meedzan (Editor); Patrice K. Nicholas (Editor)Global Health Nursing in the 21st CenturyThis text is designed specifically for nurses and nursing students who have an interest in global health as a specialty, regardless of experience or education level. It reflects both the unique contributions of the nursing profession and of other disciplines, which is in keeping with the editors¿ perspective on how to bring about lasting change. The text views global health through a nursing lens, but maintains this awareness and appreciation of interprofessionalism throughout. The editors and contributors have firsthand experience of the complex dynamics in achieving global health, and bring a wealth of knowledge to this important field, which has grown as a course and specialty. The text depicts the worldwide expansion of nursing partnerships between resource-rich and resource-limited countries, discusses challenges and obstacles, and provides cases and guidance on how to achieve global health. It will appeal to all nurses, from student nurses embarking on a global health experience to more experienced global health nurses who offer professional nursing expertise from around the world. The text responds to a recent WHO mandate, which seeks the input of nurses and midwives as part of an interprofessional team of key strategists for facilitating global health. The Lancet report is also an important document used throughout the text, and an interview with Dr. Julio Frenk, author of that report, is included. Social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental factors - including climate change - are integrated into determinants of global health. The text covers the foundations of global health, including the emerging concept of climate justice, the ethical context of global health, and the importance of interprofessional education. It addresses key issues of global health with a focus on poor and vulnerable individuals - particularly women and children - and those living in areas of conflict. In addition to describing notable accomplishments toward achieving global health, the book focuses on the need for increasing access to primary care, improving clinical practice through expanded education, and engaging interdisciplinary researchers in discovery of viable solutions. The book includes the perspectives of nurses and colleagues from other disciplines in both resource-rich and resource-limited countries. References provide resources for additional study, and PowerPoint slides and a test bank for instructors accompany the text. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - RT51 .G564 2015
Global Health Nursing in the 21st Century Book Cover




Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions

9780323074032MosbyMosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health ProfessionsSo much more than just a bestselling dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 9th Edition is a one-stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, 45 appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations - nearly three times more than any other dictionary available - making it an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. UNIQUE! More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. A Color Atlas of Human Anatomy contains 43 pages of clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P review and reference. Over 56,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions - including expanded definitions for selected entries, particularly major diseases, disorders, and procedures - offer the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. 23 appendixes - 13 in the dictionary and 10 on the companion Evolve website - offer quick access to useful reference information, such as lab values, symbols and abbreviations, language translation guides, pharmacology, infection control standards, conversion tables, and clinical calculations. A strict, common-sense alphabetical organization with no subentries makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. NEW! Over 300 new and updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions and reflect current health care practice and equipment. NEW! Approximately 11,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Editor Marie O'Toole, EdD, RN, FAAN lends her expertise to this new edition, reviewing and revising all definitions and assembling a team of leading consultants and contributors. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - R121 .M89 2013
Glendale CC North Library - REF - R121 .M89 2013
Online
Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions Book Cover




Medical-surgical nursing: assessment and management of clinical problems
by Lewis, Sharon Mantik; Dirksen, Shannon Ruff; Heitkemper, Margaret M; Bucher, Linda; Harding, Mariann

9780323086783Sharon L. Lewis; Shannon Ruff Dirksen; Margaret M. Heitkemper; Linda BucherMedical-Surgical Nursing: Assessment and Management of Clinical Problems, Single VolumeOver the past three decades, more and more nursing educators have turned to Lewis: Medical-Surgical Nursing for its accurate and up-to-date coverage of the latest trends, hot topics, and clinical developments in the field of medical-surgical nursing - and the new ninth edition is no exception! Written by a dedicated team of expert authors led by Sharon Lewis, Medical-Surgical Nursing, 9th Edition offers the same easy-to-read style that students have come to love, along with the timely and thoroughly accurate content that educators have come to trust. Completely revised and updated content explores patient care in various clinical settings and focuses on key topics such as prioritization, critical thinking, patient safety, and NCLEX#65533; exam preparation. Best of all - a complete collection of interactive student resources creates a more engaging learning environment to prepare you for clinical practice. Highly readable format gives you a strong foundation in medical-surgical nursing. Content written and reviewed by leading experts in the field ensures that the information is comprehensive, current, and clinically accurate. Bridge to NCLEX Examination review questions at the end of each chapter reinforce key content while helping you prepare for the NCLEX examination with both standard and alternate item format questions. UNIQUE! "Levels of Care" approach explains how nursing care varies for different levels of health and illness. More than 50 comprehensive nursing care plans in the book and online incorporate NIC, NOC, and current NANDA diagnoses, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, specific nursing interventions with rationales, evaluation criteria, and collaborative problems. Over 800 full-color illustrations and photographs clearly demonstrate disease processes and related anatomy and physiology. NEW! Unfolding case studies included throughout each assessment chapter help you apply important concepts and procedures to real-life patient care. NEW! Managing Multiple Patients case studies at the end of each section give you practice applying your knowledge of various disorders and help you prioritize and delegate patient care. NEW! Informatics boxes discuss how technology is used by nurses and patients in health care settings. NEW! Expanded coverage of evidence-based practice helps you understand how to apply the latest research to real-life patient care. NEW! Expanded Safety Alerts throughout the book cover surveillance for high-risk situations. NEW! Separate chapter on genetics expands on this key topic that impacts nearly every condition with a focus on the practical application to nursing care of patients. NEW! Expanded coverage of delegation includes additional Delegation Decisions boxes covering issues such as hypertension and postoperative patient care. NEW! Genetic Risk Alerts and Genetic Link headings highlight specific genetic issues related to body system assessments and disorders. NEW! Revised art program enhances the book's visual appeal and lends a more contemporary look throughout. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - RT41 .M488 2014
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - RT41 .M488 2014
Medical-surgical nursing: assessment and management of clinical problems Book Cover




Public health nursing: population-centered health care in the community
by Stanhope, Marcia; Lancaster, Jeanette

9780323080019Marcia Stanhope; Jeanette LancasterPublic Health Nursing: Population-Centered Health Care in the CommunityNow in its 8th edition, the "gold standard" in community health nursing provides comprehensive and up-to-date content to keep you at the forefront of the ever-changing community health climate and prepare you for an effective nursing career. In addition to a solid foundation in concepts and interventions for individuals, families, and communities, you will find real-life applications of the public nurse's role, Healthy People 2020 initiatives, new chapters on forensics and genomics, plus timely coverage of disaster management and important client populations such as pregnant teens, the homeless, immigrants, and more. Evidence-Based Practice boxes illustrate how the latest research findings apply to public/community health nursing. Separate chapters on disease outbreak investigation and disaster management describe the nurse's role in surveilling public health and managing these types of threats to public health. Separate unit on the public/community health nurse's role describes the different roles and functions of the public/community health nurse within the community. Levels of Prevention boxes show how community/public health nurses deliver health care interventions at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels of prevention. What Do You Think? , Did You Know? , and How To? boxes use practical examples and critical thinking exercises to illustrate chapter content. The Cutting Edge highlights significant issues and new approaches to community-oriented nursing practice. Practice Application provides case studies with critical thinking questions. Separate chapters on community health initiatives thoroughly describe different approaches to promoting health among populations. Appendixes offer additional resources and key information, such as screening and assessment tools and clinical practice guidelines. Linking Content to Practice boxes provide real-life applications for chapter content. NEW! Healthy People 2020 feature boxes highlight the goals and objectives for promoting health and wellness over the next decade. NEW! The Nurse in Forensics chapter focuses on the unique role of forensic nurses in public health and safety, interpersonal violence, mass violence, and disasters. NEW! Genomics in Public Health Nursing chapter includes a history of genetics and genomics and their impact on public/community health nursing care. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - RT98 .C6562 2012
Public health nursing: population-centered health care in the community Book Cover




Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
by Katzung, Bertram G

9780071825054Bertram G. Katzung; Susan Masters; Anthony J. TrevorBasic and Clinical Pharmacology 13 EGain a full understanding of the basic science and clinical use of drugs with the most up-to-date and comprehensive pharmacology text in the health sciences 400 ILLUSTRATIONS--MANY IN FULL COLOR A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Coverage that spans every aspect of medical pharmacology: Encompasses every aspect of medical pharmacology including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs New chapter on pharmacogenomics with important examples Emphasis is placed on discussion of drug groups and prototypes Clinically relevant, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects Full-color presentation with more than 400 illustrations Case studies introduce clinical problems in most chapters Summary tables and diagrams encapsulate important information Includes many new drugs A Generic Name/Trade Name Table appears at the end of most chapters for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years of experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - RM301.28 .B37 2015
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology Book Cover




Health assessment in nursing
by Weber, Janet; Kelley, Jane

9781451142808Janet R. Weber; Jane H. KelleyHealth Assessment in NursingHealth Assessment in Nursing, 5e provides all of the background needed for interviewing the client and performing assessment making this the perfect text for students learning Assessment. The unique 3-column format used for teaching students assessment techniques (Assessment Procedures/Normal Findings/Abnormal Findings) breaks the process down into easy-to-understand units. The COLDSPA mnemonic (Character, Onset, Location, Duration, Severity, Pattern, and Associated factors) provides logical structure for the patient interview helping students to remember the most essential questions to ask a client. A new chapter "Assessing Developmental Levels Across the Lifespan" focuses on psychosexual, psychosocial, cognitive, and moral development of young adults, middle-age adults, and older adutls ensuring that the nurse will perform a holistic nursing assessment. New integrated case study guides students through the assessment process helping them to develop the diagnostic reasoning skills every nurse needs. New Evidence-Based Practice Health Promotion and Disease Prevention boxes include Healthy People 2020 goals ensuring best practice. The new art program and interior design enhance readability allowing students to develop the necessary skills needed to perform accurate and timely health assessments. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - RT48 .W43 2014
Health assessment in nursing Book Cover




Quick reference to critical care
by Diepenbrock, Nancy H

9781608314645Nancy H. DiepenbrockQuick Reference to Critical CareThe fourth edition of this pocket-sized reference guide to procedures, treatments, and stabilization techniques for disorders, injuries, and patient situations commonly seen in the critical care setting is now updated for use by nursing students as well practicing critical care nurses.  Featuring new  information on new drugs, defibrillators and EECP therapy, this useful reference offers two sections providing quick access to need-to-know information. The first section is organized by body system, with problems of each system alphabetized. The second section contains essential information on drugs, dosing, conversions, calculations, compatibilities, laboratory tests, and more. This edition features over 200 images and tables, as well as Fast Facts and mnemonics to foster knowledge retention. Cross-references include page numbers, which provides quick access to information without the need to search the index.  - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - REF - RC86.8 .D54 2012
Quick reference to critical care Book Cover







Physicians' desk reference

9781563638343PDR Staff2016 Physicians' Desk Reference, 70th EditionPhysicians' Desk Reference has been the authoritative source on prescription drugs for 70 years. Found in virtually every physician's office, pharmacy, clinic, and library, no medical reference is more current, more recognized, or more respected. Now in its 70th edition, PDR contains full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information, such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, and interactions with other drugs, food, and alcohol. Data on clinical trials are also included. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - RDYREF - RS75 .P5 2016
Glendale CC North Library - GENERAL - RS75 .P5 2016
Physicians' desk reference Book Cover




The Merck index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals
by O'Neil, Maryadele J

9781849736701Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and BiologicalsThe Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It has been the leading source of information on chemical compounds for generations of scientists and professionals, selling over one million copies since its publication in 1889. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact. The 15th edition, available from Royal Society of Chemistry publishing for the first time, is fully revised and updated and contains over 500 new monographs. Over 35% of the existing entries have been updated since the last edition, molecular weights have been recalculated with the latest IUPAC standards and there are revised periodic table and atomic weight tables. The Merck Index is an essential reference for all scholarly and professional chemists, biochemists, pharmacists and toxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada. - Description from Syndetics
Glendale CC Library - RDYREF - RS51 .M4 2013
Glendale CC North Library - REF - RS51 .M4 2013
The Merck index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals Book Cover





Building: Library Media Center (LMC)
Circulation: (623) 845-3109
Reference: (623) 845-3112

Site Index:  A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

   

Building: (GCN B) "Beshbito"
Circulation: (623) 888-7109
Reference: (623) 888-7112

My Maricopa Link Glendale Community College - 6000 West Olive Avenue - Glendale Arizona 85302 - (623) 845-3000
Glendale Community College - North Campus - 5727 West Happy Valley Road - Phoenix Arizona 85310 - (623) 845-4000
Legal Disclaimer | Accreditation | Policies & Disclosures
Page maintained by Library Web Group
Maricopa County Community College District